Old Saturday, July 01, 2006
34th Commons
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Information Group

zubaloch is on a distinguished road
Arrow Some comments

Respected members!

AOA!

May these lines find you in the best of your conditions (Aameen)

While considering the present situation of Pakistan's socio-econo-administrative system, we will have to ponder whether all this what is happening in and to Pakistan is absolutely novel or are there any precedents available? Of course history is full of such instances when a nation had been deprived and they eventually evolved.
Why go far? Take USA for example (Not to mention UK or Germany or France since their roots are deep and they are the bearers of some very ancient cultures)
In 17th century, USA was nothing; it had got no culture as we see today, even the Americans we know today, as we all realize, are not the indigenous and bona fide residents of the American continent. The convicted criminals a.k.a. the scum-of-the-British-society were rebuked to be exiled to the American continent. As the no. of residents grew in the Americas, logically a social system was born afresh. In this system the true explanation of the proverb “MIGHT IS RIGHT” was present. Gradually, according to the rationale and logic, some of the laws were crafted and others were borrowed from the different nations of the world and manners of administration were molded. For almost 3 centuries, the Americans have strived for a moderate and reasonable society. It is the result of those endeavors that we today, unequivocally, refer to this nation as “THE SOLE SUPER-POWER” (willingly or unwillingly, that’s a separate issue).
When we compare the facts of early America and today’s Pakistan, this turns out to be almost a complete analogous situation. Present geo-physical piece of land known as Pakistan has been a “guinea pig or a lab rat” of foreign invaders to experiment their cultural expansions. These include Greeks, Aryas, Arabs, Turks, Afghans, British, and Indians etc. Frankly there has never been prevailing a thing named pure local culture here! The pseudo-Pakistani culture is a disproportionate mixture (not compound, since we can easily identify which ingredient is from which culture) of all the invading cultures. All this has made the people of Pakistan too confused to even choose “a direction” what to say of “right direction”.
A regime, which is morally incapacitated, decides to follow the western society as-such without interpolating and customizing for our specific needs and requirements (e.g. Bhutto regime, which even promoted the culture of night-clubs and liqueur).
Another, politically handicapped regime, tries to impose the rules and regulations per se which were prevalent some one and a half thousand years ago in the name of Islamization without tailoring it to the modern needs. For God’s sake you do not think of providing a piece of cloth to a ragged woman and impose the sentence of “Sungsaar” on her, or instead of arranging some bread for a starving child you order to cut his hands if he steals to subdue his hunger and you call it “AN ISLAMIC SYSTEM”.
At present we are undergoing the age of another experiment under the supreme-command of a leader who is the master of himself and a servant of himself at the same time “Khaadim bhi hum hain aur Makhdoom bhi hain khud” but we are not static, we are advancing. Of course it is an era in which the world is not enough but just a small global village. We have got direct access to what is good in the elite societies and also what is worst there. Moreover they have already poked their noses in not only our businesses but also in our households. We maintained ourselves as a herd of ignorant for so long for which we will have to pay a very harsh penalty. Nevertheless we will have to remain chin-up while facing the lash of mightier and instead of complaining against what we have been doing, we will have to be ambitious for a bright future which we, or at least our lineage, will see after a couple of centuries or so. Meanwhile the method of “reverse engineering” may be very useful for us but we should not, while copying a model of car from Russia, design it according to Siberian weather but we should consider the climate conditions which prevail here in Pakistan and so on.

With best of regards!

AH.