View Single Post
Old Saturday, March 01, 2014

waqas izhar will become famous soon enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by saadqureshi View Post
This is my personal opinion based on my recent experience of applied mathematics in CE-2014. Lets have a conclusive discussion about this subject, so that the newbies can save their time and energy.

First of all, let me introduce myself. I have done Electrical Engineering and have given the 2014 exam with Applied Mathematics, Physics and British History.

Although, throughout my academic career i was an average student in mathematics, yet when i first checked the syllabus for Applied Mathematics it seemed very compelling. I had studied Differential Equations, Vectors and Numerical Analysis portion during by degree and by the first look i thought i can do it easily. I had never studied mechanics and tensors, but i was sure i can do it.

But now that i have given the exam, i have realized that it was just a trap because of following reasons:

1. The course is enormous and requires a lot of time. Completing the course for 3 times ( at least 3 times for mechanics ) requires minimum 3 months with 5-6 hrs daily.

2. There is no objective and you have to solve 10 questions in each paper. So on average you have got only 18 min for one question which is not enough. As the questions are very lengthy, and if you are stuck in any question it may take much more time.

3. Another attraction in Applied Mathematics is that it gives solid marks if the answer is completely correct, but for this you need much much practice, so only opt it if you have ample time for the preparation and you are really strong in mathematics.