01:13 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Banking & Finance > Banking Jobs

Old Monday, January 04, 2010

Babakhan is on a distinguished road
Default For sis Saleeqa

Sis Saleeqa,

Assalam O Alaikum,

I would like you to please make us understand the career path of contractual jobs in National Bank of Pakistan. Except MTOs all other jobs are being given on contract initially for three years as per bank's hiring policy. What happens after three years? Will they be given regular or permamnant placement? Please throw light on this issue and anybody you know got permanant slot hired through contractual placement. Somebody told me that once you are hired nobody throws you out specially from govt. organizations. Your observations in this regard will help us immensely.

Old Monday, January 04, 2010

Saleeqa Batool is a splendid one to beholdSaleeqa Batool is a splendid one to beholdSaleeqa Batool is a splendid one to beholdSaleeqa Batool is a splendid one to beholdSaleeqa Batool is a splendid one to beholdSaleeqa Batool is a splendid one to beholdSaleeqa Batool is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by Babakhan View Post
Sis Saleeqa,

Assalam O Alaikum,

I would like you to please make us understand the career path of contractual jobs in National Bank of Pakistan. Except MTOs all other jobs are being given on contract initially for three years as per bank's hiring policy. What happens after three years? Will they be given regular or permamnant placement? Please throw light on this issue and anybody you know got permanant slot hired through contractual placement. Somebody told me that once you are hired nobody throws you out specially from govt. organizations. Your observations in this regard will help us immensely.

Well brother contractual jobs in nbp are meant for expericed professionals required to work in back office normaly.jobs are advertised in national press with out disclosure of bank's identity.
below is the standard format of advertisement by NBP

Margin Finance Product OfficerPosted on Thursday, September 10th 2009categories: Accounts

Pursue an Excellent Career in Banking with a Leading Pakistani Commercial Bank
One of the largest commercial bank in Pakistan highly profitable and a global presence. In order to support our high growth banking business, we are inviting applications from dynamic professionals for the following positions who are team individuals may apply for the following position:

Margin Finance Product Officer (OG-II/III)

Age Limit: Upto 35 years

Academic / Professional Qualification:

Minimum Graduate preferably MBA / M.Com / M.Sc / M.A. Econ) or equivalent from any HEC recognized institute / University

Experience:

Minimum (One) year in the Equity/Share security market operations. Having good communication and inter-personal skills, ability to adjust & work in a team environment.

Main Duties & Responsibilities (Job Profile)

Responsible for providing assistance in product development, approval, launch & mobilization according to market environment, preparing credit proposal of brokers, Margin & DP monitoring of client’s account, timely issuance of margin & selling calls in accounts, preparing / monitoring internal & external MIS reports, liaison with MF branches for product operations & share exposures control, arranging product training & handling correspondence from the field business partner.

As per policy all hiring in the organization is done on contractual basis initially for three years renewable with mutual consent. Selected candidates will be offered compensation package according to market, commensurate with their qualification / experience and all fringe benefits including Medical facility, House and Car Finance as per bank’s policy. Placement of the selected candidate will be made at Head Office Karachi. However, place of posting may be changed / revised from time to time if the nature and scope of duties and responsibilities so require.

Please apply in confidence to the SEVP / Group Chief Human Resources Management & Administration Group and send CVs / Applications C/O Box No. 78048 Daily DAWN Karachi. The candidates should clearly mention their Name, Father’s Name, Date of Birth, CNIC Number, Qualification with percentage / GPA / Division, Place of Domicile and Complete Mailing / Residential Address with Telephone Numbers PTCL / Mobile in their resumes / application alongwith one recent passport size photograph.
As for as job security is concerned ,one of my former colligue is working on contractual position in treasury department as a dealer.In prinicpal there is no written agreement for turning the job in to permanent , however untill recently none of the contractual employees have been dnied extention (Subject to satisfactory performance).Normaly the canidates are inducted in to permanent cadre after expiry of contractual period but still it is not guranted.

It may also be kept in mind that the contactual employees are highered for specilised field such as credit risk mangement,treasury,credit analysits,forexs etc.as NBP is the largest bank in pakistan, the exposure gainend in NBP serve as a strong addition to experince profile of the employee.such employees are in high demand by other banks.

it is also imperative to mention here that contractual employees are entitled to all the monetray benfits in par with the other employees of the bank.
The Following User Says Thank You to Saleeqa Batool For This Useful Post:
Babakhan (Monday, January 04, 2010)
Old Thursday, May 10, 2012

arooj11 is on a distinguished road

miss saleeqa batool plz tell if anyone join nbp on contract basis then is he or she bound for 3 year to continue job in nbp or he has the opportunity to apply in any other bank and can he leave job during the contract period when he has any good opportunity in any other bank. plz must reply

Lodhi Bhai is on a distinguished road

You will have to pay plenty for breaching the contract, if any.
The Following User Says Thank You to Lodhi Bhai For This Useful Post:
arooj11 (Sunday, May 13, 2012)

Jetpack2 is on a distinguished road
Question Banking in the government sector.

I would like to know the benefits of working in a government owned bank as compared to a private bank.

I believe , NBP and Sindh bank are the only fully state-owned banks.

How is Sindh bank for a career in banking , job security , monetary benefits etc. ?

Thank you.
Old Friday, May 11, 2012

arooj11 is on a distinguished road

plz tell that in case of nbp is there any penalty for breaching contract kindly seniors its most urgent.
Old Sunday, May 13, 2012

bilal713 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by arooj11 View Post
plz tell that in case of nbp is there any penalty for breaching contract kindly seniors its most urgent.
It will be mentioned on terms and condition that if some body want to leave the job during contract, how much time before you will have to intimate the bank. Normally one to three months prior intimation is required.
And If you have signed any kind of bond you will have to pay the amount mentioned on bond on breaching the contract.
The Following User Says Thank You to bilal713 For This Useful Post:
Old Sunday, May 13, 2012

Originally Posted by arooj11 View Post
you will have to pay plenty for breaching the contract if any.
The Following User Says Thank You to Lodhi Bhai For This Useful Post:
Old Sunday, May 13, 2012

Originally Posted by Jetpack2 View Post
I would like to know the benefits of working in a government owned bank as compared to a private bank.

I believe , NBP and Sindh bank are the only fully state-owned banks.

How is Sindh bank for a career in banking , job security , monetary benefits etc. ?

Thank you.
There are six banks rather then two operating under provincial and federal government

1- National Bank of Pakistan

2- Sindh Bank

3- Bank of punjab

4- Bank of Khyber

5- First women bank

6- Central Bank (Sbp)

govenment Banks = job security, monetary benefits are satisfactory but growth is slow and lack of profesionalism, political influence.

private banks = Growth is well enough, monetary benefits varies from bank to bank job security is always an issue in private sector.
Old Sunday, May 13, 2012

saimakhan is on a distinguished road

Lodhi Bhai, There are not only 6 Banks under federal/provincial Govts.

1 First Women Bank Limited
2 National Bank of Pakistan
3 The Bank of Khyber
4 The Bank of Punjab
5 Sindh Bank Limited
6 SME Bank Limited
7 Zarai Taraqiati Bank Limited
8. State bank Of Pakistan

and I M note sure about Khushhali Bank Limited & The House Building Finance Company Limited (HBFCL)