-   Banking Jobs (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/banking-finance/banking-jobs/)
-   -   Bank's Job Vs University Job (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/banking-finance/banking-jobs/56358-banks-job-vs-university-job.html)

HumayunM Friday, November 11, 2011 10:41 AM

Bank's Job Vs University Job

Will it be good for me to quit job from Bank as Management Trainee and join a University as Program Co-Ordinator. I was selected as MTO in Jan 2011 in ABL. Kindly suggest.:huh:

Hasan Raza Awan Friday, November 11, 2011 10:55 AM

[QUOTE=HumayunM;371795]Will it be good for me to quit job from Bank as Management Trainee and join a University as Program Co-Ordinator. I was selected as MTO in Jan 2011 in ABL. Kindly suggest.:huh:[/QUOTE]

i suggest u to continue ur bank job..cz u will be having more benifits in ban than that of uni..both in short run n in long run

Saleeqa Batool Friday, November 11, 2011 11:22 AM

[QUOTE=HumayunM;371795]Will it be good for me to quit job from Bank as Management Trainee and join a University as Program Co-Ordinator. I was selected as MTO in Jan 2011 in ABL. Kindly suggest.:huh:[/QUOTE]

MTO Position in ABL carries bright career growth opportunities. Besides after gaining experience, you can switch over to other bank. Banking Industry is one of the the most rapidly growing and highly profitable industry in Pakistan. Being MTO in ABL , i ll suggest you to polish your expertise, diversify your exposure and if you are working in Branch , take the challenge of becoming Branch manger as you know your management is in search of competent Branch managers.

waqhasn Friday, November 11, 2011 11:35 AM

Bank's Job Vs University Job

Dear If u want to do MS then university job is better for the time being provided University is of good Repute in higher Education Otherwise Bank job is good to get practical exposure then to grab better opportunity in the same Banking industry.

HumayunM Friday, November 11, 2011 11:55 AM

Thanks to all of you. Well, Management Trainees, for sure, have a pre-defined career path, benifits, edge and progression in any organization. ABL to me is also a good and progressive bank. But, I don't want to do the job that just spoils your social life. Apart from that the satisfaction factor makes me to quit this job. Satisfaction related to my JD and most importantly from the religious point of view. On the other hand i want to continue my studies. The University that I am talking about is Air University, Islamabad. I have tried many times to just say good bye to ABL without having any future plans but didn't do so and waited for an opportunity to arise for me.

Muhammadian Friday, November 11, 2011 12:46 PM

Brother i posted something in another thread, just pasting it here for you....

[B][U]First Post:[/U][/B]

I do not intend to dis-heart some one in this thread (forum), but these are very basic Islamic things, and every Muslim needs to know following before considering a bank job...please do read as it is a matter of all eternity and not just this world of few days. Why would any one of us want to be at war with Allah (S.W.T)...please do read the whole Q&A once.....jazak Allah kher

Question:

Aslamoaliakum.

I have been offered a job at a Bank, and I am not sure whether I should work there or not, because the bank makes money from interest (Riba). Please tell me whether working there is allowed (Jaaiz), or not.

Answer:

jazaakum-Allah-khair.

Praise be to Allaah.

You will find the answer in the hadeeth of Jaabir, may Allaah be pleased with him, who said: "The Messenger of Allaah cursed the one who consumes riba (interest or usury), the one who gives it, the one who writes it down and the one who witnesses it. He said: 'All of them are equal in sin.'" (Reported by Muslim, may Allaah have mercy on him, in his Saheeh, no. 1598)

Commenting on this hadeeth, al-Nawawi, may Allaah have mercy on him, said: This is clearly a prohibition of the writing down or witnessing of a contract between the two parties involved in a riba-based deal. It also includes a prohibition of helping others to commit wrong acts. And Allaah knows best.

It is inevitable that the employee in a riba-based bank will play a part in riba dealings one way or another, even if he is just a security guard. Maybe Allaah will help you, my brother, if you are patient, to find halaal employment. (Interpretation of the meaning) "… And whosoever fears Allaah and keeps his duty to Him, He will make a way for him to get out (from every difficulty)." [al-Talaaq 65:2]

Shaykh al-Barraak

References:
[url=http://islamqa.com/en/ref/866]Islam Question and Answer - Working in a riba-based (interest-based) bank[/url]
[url=http://www.questionsonislam.com/question/it-permissible-work-banks-and-insurance-companies]Is it permissible to work in banks and insurance companies? | Questions on Islam[/url]

[U][B]Second Post:[/B][/U]

Assalamo Alaikum, brother the Financial system proposed by Islam is a magnificent system, and this 'Interest' is the reason that poor are getting poorer and rich are getting richer, all due to this 'UNJUST DISTRIBUTION OF WEALTH THROUGH INTEREST BASED INSTITUTIONS'. Now by being a part of such organizations you are not only contributing in making the poor more poorer but also disturbing the whole financial balance of this world thereby causing more un-employment. I Guess this is the reason that very severe words are used in Quran against any one involved in such bushinesses.

Person doing theft is dealt by cutting his hand or some other punishments suggested for other crimes, but for this ALLAH (S.W.T) himself said that he who do this would be at war with ME. Just tell me if your name is on ECL (exit control list) how much would you be worried and may be Police is looking for you, this would make your life a living hell, but imagine the supreme power declaring war against you. My friend just think about it, and do anything else, any other means of earning Halal, as this would all be Haram, and you would be feeding your family Haram too...and that may lead to total devastation (naoo zo billah).....jazak Allah kher

hope this helped

Hasan Raza Awan Friday, November 11, 2011 12:52 PM

[QUOTE=HumayunM;371826]Thanks to all of you. Well, Management Trainees, for sure, have a pre-defined career path, benifits, edge and progression in any organization. ABL to me is also a good and progressive bank. But, I don't want to do the job that just spoils your social life. Apart from that the satisfaction factor makes me to quit this job. Satisfaction related to my JD and most importantly from the religious point of view. On the other hand i want to continue my studies. The University that I am talking about is Air University, Islamabad. I have tried many times to just say good bye to ABL without having any future plans but didn't do so and waited for an opportunity to arise for me.[/QUOTE]

if u r not satisfied thaen quit ur job...Air uni is very good uni n if u want to continue ur studies thaen bank job doesn't stop u to do this but u have t menage it.. n rhi baat social life ki to bro practical life main aa k social life khaan rhti hai...so now p to u wt u r gonna decide.
we people have given our opinions.

ahmed8ty9 Friday, November 11, 2011 05:37 PM

Dear as you said yourself, you want to do masters and have some time for yourself, to satisfy your religion. Consider that the university job wont consume long hours, weekends, etc. etc. And what better than to be involved in the education system and helping to organize/coordinate for the students and teachers?

final decision is urs, if I may suggest, please try and do Istikhara may Allah guide us all to the right path, Ameen

Deemi86 Friday, November 11, 2011 05:45 PM

go gor uni job dear i am working as mto in leading govt bank more benefits than abl, but you should go for uni job and also pray for me,,,

Hasan Raza Awan Friday, November 11, 2011 08:27 PM

[QUOTE=ahmed8ty9;371928]Dear as you said yourself, you want to do masters and have some time for yourself, to satisfy your religion. Consider that the university job wont consume long hours, weekends, etc. etc. And what better than to be involved in the education system and helping to organize/coordinate for the students and teachers?

final decision is urs, if I may suggest, please try and do Istikhara may Allah guide us all to the right path, Ameen[/QUOTE]

university job consume more hours then bank job..i ma working in uni n my working hours are from 9 am to 10 pm sometimes 1am to 2am bhi ho jate hain but it depends k job nature kesi hai..faculty main ye sb nai hota wo to 4 ya 4:30 k baaad bethtte e nai hain.

01:05 PM (GMT +5)