05:33 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Banking & Finance > Banking Jobs

Old Friday, November 15, 2013

TheWaqas will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by loveshakeh View Post
Never go for the BDO . You are graduate and you deserve better job than BDO always evaluate your worth and set your goals high.

For girls i think banking job is good but it depends if you are posted in normal traffic branch then u will be at your home till 6 pm max 7 otherwise if there is a high traffic branch and you have got any assignment which is very time consuming there will be no chance you going home till 8 9

there are many areas in the branch

1: cash *NO GO AREA :P
In cash there are Teller ( cashiers ) and chief teller
2: Customer service representative / Personal banker
Clearing , Account opening , online transfers etc
3: Operation manager
OM corresponds to higher management and do assignments and over all supervision of the branch activity from ledgers to all stuff
4: Branch manager
branch manager try to accomodate customers and they are basically sales staf so they have got targets for month ends and years ends

then there are other staff which includes BDO in UBL bank they are called LSO ( Liability sales officer )

Almost every organization have this kind of employees who just do nothing but harass other good working employees to get there frustration level going down ..

in Ubl there is a policy which is call whisle blow policy in which there is pro forma which we have to fill what ever wrong is happening in the branch and send it to HR .. Hr will contact you in 7 days if not then the same copy will be dispatch of Head of operations

it is a very good policy to secure the employees from being harassed

i dont know in which bank are you but if you want to change your TAG which is cashier now then you have to visit Area Manager or District Customer Service Manager whatever your bank call it and talk to him

but frankly speaking in cash area specially Cashier are very hard to relocate to other assignment than Chief teller and other staff

in UBL chief teller next assignment is Operation manager but Cashier to Chief teller path is very difficult
Dear I don't want to reveal the name of my bank because of some reasons. Last Monday my bank also introduce the same Whistle Blow Policy with the same proforma fill up and send it to HR there are many things I can identify with solid evidence supported by bank camera videos but I don't want to fight with them personally its a bank problem not my personal. However, this is the option for me now to Blow the Whistle if somethings wrong going with me and want to keep it for my last weapon . There is a saying in urdu "Hum to doobay hain sanum tum ko bhi lay doobaingay"
Old Friday, November 15, 2013

abidkhan is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Warraich View Post
Exactly. No security of position and no surity of posting in any city. I have a staff member who is two grades senior than me and has served as manager for 15 years but working under me. Only becuase he couldn't perform good deposit wise in one decemebr closing. Surprisingly, he was toper of region an year before.

You refused to work in cash? I don't want to offend you but if you are not working for what you were hired for, they will never confirm you. You are at very early age of your career. Right now, you can't afford all this direct conflicts. Secondly you are yet to be confirmed. Wise decision would be, either, work in cash and get confirmed and then try this thing by making some good 'relation' with the regional office . Otherwise you are wasting time.
You are working in ABL?

You did very good. Bank job for life time, no way.

Bank job is not bad for females. Better than many other jobs. Good and safe work place. But BDO job is not that easy specially for females. You have to go and visit the customers and market them. Join as MTO. BOK is way better than Khushkhali.

@Waqas
I am manager, and believe me, it's not 'mangerolgy' kind of thing in bank. Actually managers have huge pressure which you can not see and feel. I have been working as manager almost since an year. Before that, I was in general banking and credits. And beleive me, I had exactly same views like yours. I can not tell you how much we managers are insulted on daily (thrice) on phones), in meetings, in emails etc. In morning, deposit figure is asked, expected rise of the day. In noon and before leaving the branch. Now every million counts. If a cheuqe of good amount gets passed in cash, in clearing , a customer buys property or invests soewhere or gets marketed by some other bank, MANAGER is RESPONSIBLE. There isn't any excuse that customer bought property and so he paid this 15 Million and he bought a petrol pump so he gave a cheque of 100 Million..
This pressure is even less. The pressure/ demands/ nakhrey/ phteeks/ anger of customers are way big issue than the bosses for a amanger. You have to resolve their issues of every nature any time in 24 hours. You are responsible for every wrong working of staff.
As for as matter of late sitting is concern, it is also due to the customers. Every day, any customer calls and aks for a cash that is coming in some time or have to make a DD and for that they have to ask the staff.
It is way more difficult for a manager and operation manager than a cashier or general banker. Head cashier job is also not that easy.
Dear brother but one thing I have noticed that in banking sector Branch Manager has no control over Operation Manager although he knows well that OM harrass the subordinates every time (Narrow minded people) a good Manager has the quality of dealing with all employes in good and polite manner whether he is cashier or OM.
Old Saturday, November 23, 2013

Warraich is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by abidkhan View Post
Dear brother but one thing I have noticed that in banking sector Branch Manager has no control over Operation Manager although he knows well that OM harrass the subordinates every time (Narrow minded people) a good Manager has the quality of dealing with all employes in good and polite manner whether he is cashier or OM.
It is too due to the conflicts between operations and sales, as the OM has totally different preferences and targets than BM. OM has to look for good audit category and for smooth and mistake free working of operation but a BM is mainally concerned with depsoit figure. Some banks have very power full role of manager and he can make any one transfer just by one call but some banks have left the BM with very minimum powers. I as a manager, never used harsh tone or even loud voice with any staff member ranging from gaurds and tea boys to OM. And I never faced any problem from them. The previous manager before me, used to make complains about them to regional office but the same staff is working perfectly fine with me. It is all due to the preferences and the way you look the things.
abidkhan (Saturday, November 23, 2013)
Old Monday, November 25, 2013

abidkhan is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Asim252 View Post
i think u r in HBL (used to make complains about them to regional office ) because this thing mostly happen in hbl other than any bank
Happen almost in every bank.
Old Monday, November 25, 2013

Originally Posted by abidkhan View Post
Happen almost in every bank.
I did internships in UBL and ZTBL and enjoy a lot as they gave me full access even as a internee that's why I really wanted do join bank but after join my career first bank I totally fed up with the politics and now wanted to leave the banking sector forever again want to join any multinational company or organization where people just come on time work whole day of their own and leave the office after 5 or 6. I was quit happy in my previous company job.
Old Saturday, December 14, 2013

Bank Timings is one of the basic cause of frustration of bankers. Must read the artical written by Mohammad Jameel from Karachi.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?f...type=1&theater

State Bank ne apni timing tou wohi rahkhi hui hai or enjoy ker rahay hain government job and hamsome salaries but private bankers kay sath ye salook ziadati hai kya ye khulla tazaad nahi hai ? I am as a banker absolutely agreed with him Are you ?
Warraich (Monday, December 16, 2013)
Old Monday, December 16, 2013

Warraich is on a distinguished road

Banking on cost of social life.