10:30 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Banking & Finance > Banking Jobs

Old Sunday, November 10, 2013

student is on a distinguished road

To put it simply , Bank 's job is not worth doing . There are many reasons . Timings , nature of work , financial transactions , swinging mood of customers , ever changing attitude of your boss , lack of future prospects , monotony and job insecurity make it the worst job to do . However , if one has natural inclination to pay , recieve ,record ,and maintain the INTEREST PAYMENTS , the prime function of A BANK then move ahead .

miss ali is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by TheWaqas View Post
Agreed dear,
I am also working in a commercial bank since last 7 months in cash however I am MBA/4-year BBA (H). At the begining I worked really hard whole day & with the passage of time I have been suffering some breathening & alergic problem with the soiled notes smell.
I requested my ROM to shift me from cash as it would be deadful for me but gave no response & now I am Asthmic Patient.

What they gave me reward of my health issue ?
They de-rated my appraisal,
Extend my training period,
Stop my confirmation,
Stop my ful salary,
Daily ask me for resignation or work in cash,
Threaten me to transfer to some remote area etc

what should I do ? They never communicate with me officially. There is alot of politics,favortism in the bank.
Sochta hon Sue ker don bank ko or Banking Mohtasib ko 1 khatarnak complaint ker don.
well getting out of cash department is always a tough job, normally cash staff spend their whole career in cash and they cant get out of it. i think your problem is not bank job but bank job in cash dept, as it is the least favored, least rewarded and very much risky job, plus your health problem,
however, all other problems mentioned above is associated with any job you go for,
performance appraisal depends on your performance, whereever you go they will demand 100 rather 200% performance from you
other issues are consequences of your performance appraisal,
- you will face organizational politics and favoritism everywhere
-customer is always right in corporate culture

and you cant sue your bank or complain to banking mohtasib unless your bank is violating any clause of your appointment letter and even if you do, i dont think you can prove it.

on positive note you can see that you are employed which is a BIG positive at current unemployment rate, plus perks of banking job have already been mentioned by other members, like payment of salary before time (normally 25th/26th of each month) staff loans at nominal rates, and rapid job growth

my suggestion is dont resign from your job but start hunting for a better job, meanwhile change your attitude, it will be real hard for you to stay there if you keep thinking about negative points all the time
Originally Posted by Jetpack2 View Post
Really feel bad about what you wrote.

As per my knowledge I don't think Banking Mohtasib considers such complaints as this does not pertains to customers. What you need to do is to file a lawsuit against the Bank ASAP, and claim damages for both your physical and mental suffering.

This is no way an employee needs to be treated, if you don't have any financial constraint, resign from the bank and burn it down (not literally but destroy its reputation by taking it to the court). No one would ever want to work for a bank which does not makes proper safety precaution for cash handling.

Disclaimer. All expressed opinions are my own. Use your best judgment.

My empathy and regards are with you.
i dont agree, you cant sue your bank as bank has not kept you hostage to work for them, you can always quit (which i will not suggest) further banks are considered to be one of the safest work places (in paksitan talking of safe work environment sounds like a little joke)

find a better job and then resign, believe me there will be hundreds of people ready to replace you.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to miss ali For This Useful Post:
Uzma Bano (Wednesday, November 13, 2013), Warraich (Wednesday, November 13, 2013)

abidkhan is on a distinguished road

Agreed dear,
I am also working in a commercial bank since last 7 months in cash however I am MBA/4-year BBA (H). At the begining I worked really hard whole day & with the passage of time I have been suffering some breathening & alergic problem with the soiled notes smell.
I requested my ROM to shift me from cash as it would be deadful for me but gave no response & now I am Asthmic Patient.

Stop my confirmation,
Stop my ful salary,

what should I do ? They never communicate with me officially. There is alot of politics,favortism in the bank.
Sochta hon Sue ker don bank ko or Banking Mohtasib ko 1 khatarnak complaint ker don.
Mr Waqas I think you are working with Allied bank as a Teller MG 12 am I right .If yes then there is no chance of changing your cadre till you passed the internal written exam and interview of the bank to become banking services officer.Which is almost based on (parchi system) I think you got it.If your problem is serious than contact Group head of HR department got his contact number from head office and discuus your problem with him .secoand if this dont work then make good relation with your BSM and Branch Manager in order to work in general banking rather than cash but if Mr, Group head HR has not resolve your issue and you have no financial problem then case in a court against bank before resignation and then resign because you have no other choice and switiching is a difficult job for cashier because other banks also hire you on same position.ok best of luck It is one of the wrost bank for its employess.I will also request from other members to give their sugesstion regarding your problem.Espacially to Mr,RAZZ and other senior members.

TheWaqas will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Jetpack2 View Post
Really feel bad about what you wrote.

As per my knowledge I don't think Banking Mohtasib considers such complaints as this does not pertains to customers. What you need to do is to file a lawsuit against the Bank ASAP, and claim damages for both your physical and mental suffering.

This is no way an employee needs to be treated, if you don't have any financial constraint, resign from the bank and burn it down (not literally but destroy its reputation by taking it to the court). No one would ever want to work for a bank which does not makes proper safety precaution for cash handling.

Disclaimer. All expressed opinions are my own. Use your best judgment.

My empathy and regards are with you.
Originally Posted by miss ali View Post
well getting out of cash department is always a tough job, normally cash staff spend their whole career in cash and they cant get out of it. i think your problem is not bank job but bank job in cash dept, as it is the least favored, least rewarded and very much risky job, plus your health problem,
however, all other problems mentioned above is associated with any job you go for,
performance appraisal depends on your performance, whereever you go they will demand 100 rather 200% performance from you
other issues are consequences of your performance appraisal,
- you will face organizational politics and favoritism everywhere
-customer is always right in corporate culture

and you cant sue your bank or complain to banking mohtasib unless your bank is violating any clause of your appointment letter and even if you do, i dont think you can prove it.

on positive note you can see that you are employed which is a BIG positive at current unemployment rate, plus perks of banking job have already been mentioned by other members, like payment of salary before time (normally 25th/26th of each month) staff loans at nominal rates, and rapid job growth

my suggestion is dont resign from your job but start hunting for a better job, meanwhile change your attitude, it will be real hard for you to stay there if you keep thinking about negative points all the time

i dont agree, you cant sue your bank as bank has not kept you hostage to work for them, you can always quit (which i will not suggest) further banks are considered to be one of the safest work places (in paksitan talking of safe work environment sounds like a little joke)

find a better job and then resign, believe me there will be hundreds of people ready to replace you.
Originally Posted by abidkhan View Post
Mr Waqas I think you are working with Allied bank as a Teller MG 12 am I right .If yes then there is no chance of changing your cadre till you passed the internal written exam and interview of the bank to become banking services officer.Which is almost based on (parchi system) I think you got it.If your problem is serious than contact Group head of HR department got his contact number from head office and discuus your problem with him .secoand if this dont work then make good relation with your BSM and Branch Manager in order to work in general banking rather than cash but if Mr, Group head HR has not resolve your issue and you have no financial problem then case in a court against bank before resignation and then resign because you have no other choice and switiching is a difficult job for cashier because other banks also hire you on same position.ok best of luck It is one of the wrost bank for its employess.I will also request from other members to give their sugesstion regarding your problem.Espacially to Mr,RAZZ and other senior members.
Thank you all for your suggestions,
No dear I am not working in ABL. I already started searching a better job other than banking sector whenever I found it I'll definitely leave the banking sector forever.

Actually I am being faced severe Narrow Mindedness (Sindhi-Mahajir) by my Operational manager who is Sindh speaking I am the only Urdu Speaking in the region appointed for cash. I requested him several times to put me in general banking but he always replied

"cash mein hi kaam kerna parega warna resign do kyun kay tum cash kay liae hi appoint huwe ho kisi or department mein shift hone ka sawal hi paida nahi hota"

also says "tum pehle se bimar ho bank ne tumhain bimar nahi kiya" (tell me agar main pehle se bimar hota tou cash mein jahan ab 5 minutes nahi ruk sakta wahan 3-4 months kese sara sara din kaam ker sakta tha video recording hoti hai check ki ja sakti hai as a proof)

However there are many of my batch-mates who also appointed for the same are working in general banking,customer services,remittances and account opening some of them never worked in cash ever since their appointment. He just want my resignation I don't know what wrong with him I never misbehaved anyone especially with him. Everyone one can go after bank official timing if they complete their work except me I don't know why.

He emailed for extension of 1 month in my probation period and the letter issued by HR on 9th Oct for it but he kept it and gave it to me on 7th after finishing the additional extension I don't know why. I also emailed the HR when I received the letter by him after one month to asked why he kept my letter.

@Razz
Kindly guide me what should I do now ?
Old Monday, November 11, 2013

abidkhan is on a distinguished road

No dear I am not working in ABL. I already started searching a better job other than banking sector whenever I found it I'll definitely leave the banking sector forever.

Actually I am being faced severe Narrow Mindedness (Sindhi-Mahajir) by my Operational manager who is Sindh speaking I am the only Urdu Speaking in the region appointed for cash. I requested him several times to put me in general banking but he always replied

"cash mein hi kaam kerna parega warna resign do kyun kay tum cash kay liae hi appoint huwe ho kisi or department mein shift hone ka sawal hi paida nahi hota"

also says "tum pehle se bimar ho bank ne tumhain bimar nahi kiya" (tell me agar main pehle se bimar hota tou cash mein jahan ab 5 minutes nahi ruk sakta wahan 3-4 months kese sara sara din kaam ker sakta tha video recording hoti hai check ki ja sakti hai as a proof)

However there are many of my batch-mates who also appointed for the same are working in general banking,customer services,remittances and account opening some of them never worked in cash ever since their appointment. He just want my resignation I don't know what wrong with him I never misbehaved anyone especially with him. Everyone one can go after bank official timing if they complete their work except me I don't know why.

He emailed for extension of 1 month in my probation period and the letter issued by HR on 9th Oct for it but he kept it and gave it to me on 7th after finishing the additional extension I don't know why. I also emailed the HR when I received the letter by him after one month to asked why he kept my letter.

@Razz
Brother e-mail se kaam nahi chalta call karo hr group head/cheif they will reslove this issue.Higher level pe baat karo ROM/RG head se kamm nahi chale ga.Narrow minded log har jaga hote hain ap un se baat karo k us ko app se kia problem hai wo kyon ye saab kr raha ha ap k sath its too bad yar aur haan HR waloon ko ye bi bata do k aur bhi app k batch fellows different department me kaam kr rahe hain to me kyon nahi mera tu genuine case hai.
TheWaqas (Wednesday, November 13, 2013)
Old Wednesday, November 13, 2013

TheWaqas will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by abidkhan View Post
Brother e-mail se kaam nahi chalta call karo hr group head/cheif they will reslove this issue.Higher level pe baat karo ROM/RG head se kamm nahi chale ga.Narrow minded log har jaga hote hain ap un se baat karo k us ko app se kia problem hai wo kyon ye saab kr raha ha ap k sath its too bad yar aur haan HR waloon ko ye bi bata do k aur bhi app k batch fellows different department me kaam kr rahe hain to me kyon nahi mera tu genuine case hai.
yehi socha hai kay is month salary puri nahi aai tou phir final stroke lagaonga ya tou ye log nahi ya meri job nahi

The biggest problem of private sector is the late sitting in the offices especially in banks. Managers are desparately sit late in the offices/banks just to irritate others. Some of them want to be proud themselves so subordinates wait for his/her approval to leave the bank/office.
I am strongly criticise the late sitting in offices either in banking or non banking sector. Manageriopoly (my created word ) and favoritism had made the private sector worst then ever before the more flatterer and liar you are the more progress you will get and recognition and fame.

Last edited by Amna; Wednesday, November 13, 2013 at 02:21 AM. Reason: merged

muhammadtahir is on a distinguished road

Dear all,
i have left ABL on 21-06-2013 after 3 years service because i was totally fed up from bank service rules. There are no rules for transfer, increament, promotion etc. I got job in education department of govt of punjab. Now i am satisfied with my job.

Falak Ali is on a distinguished road

what can be the problems for females in banking sector? i am fresh graduate and trying to get job in banks and already has given tests of ypip, bok's mto and khushali's BDO test... which bank or department is suitable for females?

Warraich is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by titan View Post
In banks you dont have position security.Like,You have been promoted as Branch Manager after a lot of performance.But if you failed to procure deposit in one annual,you will be thrown off from your seat.
Exactly. No security of position and no surity of posting in any city. I have a staff member who is two grades senior than me and has served as manager for 15 years but working under me. Only becuase he couldn't perform good deposit wise in one decemebr closing. Surprisingly, he was toper of region an year before.

Agreed dear,

Stop my confirmation,
Stop my ful salary,

You refused to work in cash? I don't want to offend you but if you are not working for what you were hired for, they will never confirm you. You are at very early age of your career. Right now, you can't afford all this direct conflicts. Secondly you are yet to be confirmed. Wise decision would be, either, work in cash and get confirmed and then try this thing by making some good 'relation' with the regional office . Otherwise you are wasting time.
You are working in ABL?

Originally Posted by mani g View Post
I fell really sorry for you Waqas. Alla taleem yafta logo ka yeh hall ha to oro ka kia hoga.
Thanks God I did not join Bank Job and refused at last minute, however received a hirroble reaction from family, freinds but am very much satisfied by my decision.
You did very good. Bank job for life time, no way.

Originally Posted by Falak Ali View Post
what can be the problems for females in banking sector? i am fresh graduate and trying to get job in banks and already has given tests of ypip, bok's mto and khushali's BDO test... which bank or department is suitable for females?
Bank job is not bad for females. Better than many other jobs. Good and safe work place. But BDO job is not that easy specially for females. You have to go and visit the customers and market them. Join as MTO. BOK is way better than Khushkhali.

@Waqas
I am manager, and believe me, it's not 'mangerolgy' kind of thing in bank. Actually managers have huge pressure which you can not see and feel. I have been working as manager almost since an year. Before that, I was in general banking and credits. And beleive me, I had exactly same views like yours. I can not tell you how much we managers are insulted on daily (thrice) on phones), in meetings, in emails etc. In morning, deposit figure is asked, expected rise of the day. In noon and before leaving the branch. Now every million counts. If a cheuqe of good amount gets passed in cash, in clearing , a customer buys property or invests soewhere or gets marketed by some other bank, MANAGER is RESPONSIBLE. There isn't any excuse that customer bought property and so he paid this 15 Million and he bought a petrol pump so he gave a cheque of 100 Million..
This pressure is even less. The pressure/ demands/ nakhrey/ phteeks/ anger of customers are way big issue than the bosses for a amanger. You have to resolve their issues of every nature any time in 24 hours. You are responsible for every wrong working of staff.
As for as matter of late sitting is concern, it is also due to the customers. Every day, any customer calls and aks for a cash that is coming in some time or have to make a DD and for that they have to ask the staff.
It is way more difficult for a manager and operation manager than a cashier or general banker. Head cashier job is also not that easy.

Last edited by Amna; Wednesday, November 13, 2013 at 10:52 PM. Reason: merged
The Following User Says Thank You to Warraich For This Useful Post:
Falak Ali (Thursday, November 14, 2013)
Old Friday, November 15, 2013

loveshakeh is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Falak Ali View Post

Never go for the BDO . You are graduate and you deserve better job than BDO always evaluate your worth and set your goals high.

For girls i think banking job is good but it depends if you are posted in normal traffic branch then u will be at your home till 6 pm max 7 otherwise if there is a high traffic branch and you have got any assignment which is very time consuming there will be no chance you going home till 8 9

there are many areas in the branch

1: cash *NO GO AREA :P
In cash there are Teller ( cashiers ) and chief teller
2: Customer service representative / Personal banker
Clearing , Account opening , online transfers etc
3: Operation manager
OM corresponds to higher management and do assignments and over all supervision of the branch activity from ledgers to all stuff
4: Branch manager
branch manager try to accomodate customers and they are basically sales staf so they have got targets for month ends and years ends

then there are other staff which includes BDO in UBL bank they are called LSO ( Liability sales officer )

@Razz

Almost every organization have this kind of employees who just do nothing but harass other good working employees to get there frustration level going down ..

in Ubl there is a policy which is call whisle blow policy in which there is pro forma which we have to fill what ever wrong is happening in the branch and send it to HR .. Hr will contact you in 7 days if not then the same copy will be dispatch of Head of operations

it is a very good policy to secure the employees from being harassed

i dont know in which bank are you but if you want to change your TAG which is cashier now then you have to visit Area Manager or District Customer Service Manager whatever your bank call it and talk to him

but frankly speaking in cash area specially Cashier are very hard to relocate to other assignment than Chief teller and other staff

in UBL chief teller next assignment is Operation manager but Cashier to Chief teller path is very difficult

Last edited by Amna; Friday, November 15, 2013 at 06:18 PM. Reason: merged
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to loveshakeh For This Useful Post:
Falak Ali (Friday, November 15, 2013), TheWaqas (Friday, November 15, 2013)