05:42 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Banking & Finance > Banking Jobs > MCB Limited

Old Saturday, October 23, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no. 2638Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 3,870 Times in 1,441 Posts
Raz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant future

Originally Posted by umairshahzad View Post
can anyone plz tell me tat if the interviewer ask me the demand.. what I say????
Demand in Economics?
or

Salary Demand?
Old Saturday, October 23, 2010
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no. 2638Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Raz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant future

hahaha aray champion salary demand????????
Ask current salary of same position in MCB Bank from your contacts.
Show your willingness over = current salary of MCB Bank officer of the same position + 5000.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Raz For This Useful Post:
itsmefraz (Saturday, October 23, 2010), umairshahzad (Sunday, October 24, 2010)
Old Sunday, October 24, 2010

umairshahzad is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Muhammad Arif Shah View Post
bro whats ur interview timing and place ??? mine is 2moro at 2pm rawalpindi.......
karachi 9 am

zohaib038 is on a distinguished road

yar 23 oct ko jin bhaio ka interview tha plz share ur experience
I was asked just basic questions related to family, what is your specialization area?, difference between authorized and issued capital?

Originally Posted by zohaib038 View Post
I was asked just basic questions related to family, what is your specialization area?, difference between authorized and issued capital?
Authorized Capital: Maximum Number of shares / amount of share capital authorized under companies Ordinance 1984 via memorandum and articles of association of the Company at the time of incorporation. Registered Capital.

Issued Capital: Portion of that authorized capital which is actually issued to the shareholders and remains outstanding.

Issued Capital can not exceed authorized capital.

Last edited by Andrew Dufresne; Sunday, October 24, 2010 at 07:46 AM. Reason: BBC code
PMS - S&GAD
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no 5865PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: 2011 - Merit No. 43

rishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nice

Well i had my interview here at MCB Moon Market Branch at 2pm today.

I thought i am getting late but when i reached time was exactly 20pm. I had to wait almost 3 hours and 27 minutes then came my turn at 5:30pm...
I entered the room, there were three people one was quite senior and others were around 40s....

Interviewer: G Rashid bethain!!
Me: Thank u sir
Interviewer: tell us about ur self your background biography wtever you can tell about urself....
Me: Kept on telling laikin wo 3no log pages pe hi kuch likhte rahay....kuch
Interviewer: MCB hee q?
Me: One of the prestigious institution of pakistan and full of opportunities to excel
Interviewer:Aap ki hobbies kiya kiya hain
Me: Used to play cricket but now i rarely find time to play sports, internet browsing, current affairs, political debates
Interviewer: or
Me: Articles reading etc etc...
Interviewer:kon sa newspaper parhte ho aaj ki headline batao
Me: Dawn, aaj ki headline me Hillary and Qureshi sb ki press conference k dialogues hain or same parrliament vs judiciary tabsray
Interviewer:Itna interest tha tou phir aapko MBA nahin MA pol science ya LLB karna chaye tha
Me: Interests are part of personality which is quite related to nature and job or profession is entirely different thing
Interviewer:hmmmm Logical (seemed not impressed)
Interviewer: Do u expect we ll give you job
Me: I dont expect frm anybody, cz it hurts when somebody doesnt bear it
Interviewer: aap ne hailey college se MBA kiya hai old hailey college se.....us ki tou reputation kesi hai (yeh bohat ruk ruk k jumla mukammal kiya)
Me: Its good, Hailey's faculty and education system is strict and disciplined, yes its tru their management is poor
Interviewer:aap k father....wt does he do
Me: Govt servant
Interviewer: aap se aik bond sign karwaya jaye ga 3 years ka if u failed to complete the trm u ll haveto pay for it.... r u ready to sign it
Me: Yeah sure
Interviewer: Banking timing kar lo gay handle or crowd ko jo MCB me aata hai itna
Me: yes i will manage, Timing internship me practice ho gye hai how to sit from 9am to 7pm n even more
Interviewer:Ap ne MCB se he ki internship or staff college k neche wali branch me hi ki, iski demrits n merits batao
Me: Bohat customers hain huge deposit base and hectic operations, demerits me system hack ho jata hai or genrator nahin
Interviewer: Smiled a bit n then said hmmm Nice Ur strengths n weknesses tell each
Me: i speak truth and bluntly very straight forward
Interviewer:2nd one is also somehow strength, i asked for a weakness as well
Me: I trust everybody v easily
Interviewer:(interupted me) OH BANKER k lye tu phir ye adat bohat problematic ho jayegi na...how can you do then
Me: I have changed a lot in these 5 years in uni
Interviewer:Ap ka koi relative frnd ho MCB me?
Me: Frnd hain.
Interviewer: wt the telll u abt it
Me: k bohat opoortunity hai un logon k lye who want to go up
Interviewer:Koi burai karain mcb ki
Me: safarish ka culture MCB me khatam hona chahye
Interviewer: Any one whom u like in MCB as a leader
Me: I myself
Interviewer: (3no log aik dum husay) aap
Me: yes atleast i think so
Interviewer:Thank You Rashid
Me: Its nice talking to u sir

Max it took 11 minutes...
smartboy9211 (Thursday, July 21, 2011)

It was a nice interview and funny as well. Some of the weak areas which I found in your responses are as follows:

Originally Posted by rishzzz View Post
Interviewer:Aap ki hobbies kiya kiya hain
Me: Used to play cricket but now i rarely find time to play sports, internet browsing, current affairs, political debates
Avoid showing your political tendency in any professional interview in financial sector for no one likes it. Person tilted towards political issues is unwanted in financial sector because it is perceived and most of the time proved that such employees cannot deliver what is required from them. They spoil corporate culture and they keep engaged other officers in useless talks.
This is discouraged in banking sector but you may make the most of this tendency in CSS interview. Both the interviews are based on different dynamics.

Interviewer:kon sa newspaper parhte ho aaj ki headline batao
Me: Dawn, aaj ki headline me Hillary and Qureshi sb ki press conference k dialogues hain or same parrliament vs judiciary tabsray
Again same tendency. You could name yellow pages, business pages, business recorder, financial times etc to impress them and to match your interests with the position applied.
You drew totally a different picture and that lead them assume that you are not fit for MBA discipline or financial sector job. Your political tendency was reconfirmed from the headline which you quoted in the response of next question.

Though you were trapped here by the interviewers but you could still impress them and get out of that dilemma had you explained to them the details of Hillary & Qureshi's press conference economic details like: they agreed upon trainings for Pakistani's, .......jobs for female Pakistani's in US, financial aid to boost the economy etc. These were the plus points which were discussed in that conference and you could capitalize these points and provide them a strong counter argument. Had you pointed out these issues you would have left no room for interviewers to believe that you are not fit MBA field. Aaap un ko lajawab kar sakty thy. It is an art to come out of such googlies in any interview, such intervals do come in each interview but it is the efficiency of interviewee to mold them towards his strength and win the ground.

Interviewer:Itna interest tha tou phir aapko MBA nahin MA pol science ya LLB karna chaye tha
Me:Interests are part of personality which is quite related to nature and job or profession is entirely different thing
Their comment on your interests and MBA/MA Political science was the outcome of previous responses which I have explained already.
Your response regarding no correlation among personality interests and Job/profession was irrational. You would have nullified their comment by narrating economic and financials points of that conference which I have discussed already.

Your interests do have relation with your job performance. Contradiction in your interests and your job result in job stress /demotivation and inefficiency. Deviant behavior erupts in such situations where right person is not on the right job. Mismatch of skills and interests is never desired in any Job.

Interviewer: Do u expect we ll give you job
Me: I dont expect frm anybody, cz it hurts when somebody doesnt bear it
Your response about not excepting anything from anybody suites only in social talks/love maters and friendly environment but it never suites in any job interview. Your response shows either your indifference for the job or your past discouragement/sadness which has taught you to be indifferent and not excepting anything from others.

Remember, whenever interviewer asks you about your expectation or your suitability or deserving level he excepts from you a logical and convincing response that you really deserve this position as evident from your education, your skills, your aptitude, your attitude, and experience. Excepts from you that you have required set of skills which are essential for the said position. You are supposed to describe your all relevant plus points which directly meet the requirement of that position.

You could respond in this way: "Yes, I am hopeful to .......or I am optimistic for...................I feel,................I believe,................I see myself suitable..............
Start with these words and lead this response by narrating your key plus points which really make you suitable candidate and which provide you an edge over other applicants.

Interviewer: Smiled a bit n then said hmmm Nice Ur strengths n weknesses tell each
Me: i speak truth and bluntly very straight forward
Interviewer:2nd one is also somehow strength, i asked for a weakness as well
Me: I trust everybody v easily

You could disclose any other weakness, because in financial matters blind trust is not a good sign.

You could overcome this situation by adding one more thing after their comment that: I do trust but I am not blind. Rationality is also a part of my personality in financial matters, my blind trust is prevalent in social and family relations. Though this response might not impress them but you could compensate the loss which you have borne by this weakness to reasonable level.

Interviewer: Any one whom u like in MCB as a leader
Me: I myself
Overconfident. Avoid this.

Do you remember, I posted few days back some general areas to be covered for the interview. On of these areas was : "Know the organization in which you are going to be inducted". Bird's eye view of MCB Bank from its website could help you in this question. You could pick any personality from the MCB Bank's history for his any plus point as a leader. It could be CEO/President, any group head, or even Chairman etc.

Confining ideal personality to yourself without any solid reason is not a sign of confidence rather a sign of over confidence and shortsightedness.

Your response could well serve in the section of "my ideal member" cssforum's Autograph's thread but that doesn't work in Job interview.

Remember, these may be weak areas in an interview for banking job but same weaknesses may prove strengths in any other sort of job / civil services etc. Always groom yourself in accordance to the position applied. You should look like a situational leader. Try to comprehend the context of question and act accordingly.

You could make this interview more successful by overcoming these grey areas.

Purpose of my comments is not to discourage you but to groom you for upcoming interviews because you have long way to go. This is starting of your career journey. Do not get disappointed from my comments because these highlighted weaknesses are not that grave negative points which God forbid can cost you your job.

Wish you good luck.

Last edited by Raz; Sunday, October 24, 2010 at 09:52 PM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Raz For This Useful Post:
itsmefraz (Monday, October 25, 2010), mubi (Tuesday, October 26, 2010), rishzzz (Sunday, October 24, 2010), sibgakhan (Tuesday, October 26, 2010)
PMS - S&GAD
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010 - Roll no 5865PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: 2011 - Merit No. 43

rishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nicerishzzz is just really nice

Originally Posted by Raz View Post
It was a nice interview and funny as well. Some of the weak areas which I found in your responses are as follows:
Avoid showing your political tendency in any professional interview in financial sector for no one likes it. Person tilted towards political issues is unwanted in financial sector because it is perceived and most of the time proved that such employees cannot deliver what is required from them. They spoil corporate culture and they keep engaged other officers in useless talks.
Yes i know i have committed few very general mistakes that would have been resolved very easily or i would have tackled them quite nicely. But what in my mind was that firstly i was mentally not prepared for this interview as i took it very light and had no preparation for it at all. 2ndly all the motivational level they had killed by making us wait for more than 3 and half hours....But i accept this is my mistake

actually i kept very straightforward talks though i should have worked a bit on it....again same was the reason....they were dull and tired so was i....so i didn't even take any interest.....but yes as i told them already that i speak truth i kept on following that but it would have been extremely technical if i would have told the about financial pages with a little sane mind...

Yes it luks like little childlike reply wt i said Like me but he had said before that how u luk urself after 20 years in banking and then he asked this question with bit of space, i forrgtote to mention it here....Then on that reply i said i woud like to se me as an ideal leader personality in mcb. I never am overconfident but i m staritfwd n thats somehow i need to cover up...

i ll inshallah work on all weaker areas which you pointed out....Thanx a lot Fayzan bhai!!!

My sole purpose for this interview was to have check on all my weak areas and that's what i have got from u as well and hope that i will keep on getting inputs from u. i m not discouraged at all. i give you full liberty wherever you find rectifying me, do it strait without any reluctance as i consider you my elder brother....You're a guide for me....

Last edited by Andrew Dufresne; Monday, October 25, 2010 at 12:40 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to rishzzz For This Useful Post:
Raz (Sunday, October 24, 2010)
Old Monday, October 25, 2010

Muhammad Arif Shah will become famous soon enough

i had interview yesterday at rawalpindi staff colg............i was supposed to be intervwd at 2pm but i was intervwd at 11:10 pm...........my intervw lasted more than 30 minuts and at the end i was offerd CHARSADDA......they stoped me while i was coming out of the room.......and said we keep you for charsadda +3 year bond+18000 pay................i simply refused !!!!

i told them abt my prefference would be ,PESHAWAR,RAWALPINDI,ISLAMABAD
Old Monday, October 25, 2010

touqeer2010 will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Muhammad Arif Shah View Post
i had interview yesterday at rawalpindi staff colg............i was supposed to be intervwd at 2pm but i was intervwd at 11:10 pm...........my intervw lasted more than 30 minuts and at the end i was offerd CHARSADDA......they stoped me while i was coming out of the room.......and said we keep you for charsadda +3 year bond+18000 pay................i simply refused !!!!

i told them abt my prefference would be ,PESHAWAR,RAWALPINDI,ISLAMABAD
i think u shuld show willingness ..and when u got offer letter then it is your choice either join or not ...!!

i've also Done this Mistake in my Very First interview :s