11:10 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Monday, February 01, 2016

Zainab S is on a distinguished road
Default Which book do you think a css aspirant MUST read?

Recently, to improve my vocabulary for CSS examination, I started reading English literature especially George Orwell. He blew me away. His book "Animal farm" though so short, delivered a hard hitting picture of reality that changed my perception about almost all aspects of human society.

Of course, I am aware that this is not literature exam and one needs to read lots of history, facts and dry books to attempt it but I feel that my recent books, especially "Animal Farm" help me to take in all information from eclectic sources and piece it together to form a bigger picture.

Mine would be "Animal Farm" by George Orwell and "The age of deception-nuclear diplomacy in treacherous times" by Mohamed Elbaradei. (It is also FPSC's recommended book) The latter is essential to get a glimpse over how governments handle stuff, has lots of personal accounts, UN proceedings, US's manner of dealing with dissent and above all, presents behind the scene facts about the events that unfolded themselves in 00's which were, if you are a 90's kid like me, were the events we witnessed in our teen years. (Other decades just seem so far and so mutaliya-e-Pakistan). The book is written very well too. I laughed many times and got all teared up when IAEA and writer got Nobel Prize.

What is your absolutely "must-read" book for css aspirants? It can be from any genre. I will surely read it if not any one else. I am in love with books these days and have a year to prepare for css. Throw away
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Zainab S For This Useful Post:
aneelbachwani (Friday, February 05, 2016), aroojmalik6 (Monday, February 01, 2016), ayeshaf (Friday, October 14, 2016), Man Jaanbazam (Monday, February 01, 2016), Raheel Mughal (Thursday, January 03, 2019)
Old Monday, February 01, 2016

qublai khan is on a distinguished road

if you want to enjoy book,my recommendation will be marriages and morals by Bertrand Russel.......my other favourite book is shahabnaama by qudratullah shahab

also read the guide(novel) by R.K narayan sir....great work

if you like fictional works than feodor Dostoevsky can show real life in his works......once you entered into the world of Dostoevsky,only a miracle can stop you from telling and facing "truth"

read Angus deaton for knowledge about economy
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to qublai khan For This Useful Post:
Bilal Hassan Mughal (Tuesday, May 31, 2016), Man Jaanbazam (Monday, February 01, 2016), Zainab S (Tuesday, February 02, 2016)
Old Tuesday, February 02, 2016

I have read Shahab-nama. I will definitely read your other suggested books.

Fyodor Dostoyevsky is a whole universe in himself and he always has fascinated me. He has written a lot of books, which one would you suggest I should read first?

Same is the case with Angus Deaton. Which book?

Interesting that you mentioned R.K. Narayan books. I recently finished Arundhati Roy's "Gods of small things" and was looking for another book from Indian author and this just seems to be the one. I can't thank you enough for stopping by.

Qublai Khan is an interesting name to go with. Why do I feel I am talking to another Marco Polo series fan? I hope I am not wrong.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Zainab S For This Useful Post:
MadeForSuccess (Wednesday, June 22, 2016), qublai khan (Tuesday, February 02, 2016)

azmatullah will become famous soon enough

Also read Zia ul Nabi (SAWW), written by Mohammad Karam Shah, Al-Azhari Rahmat Ullah e Taala Alaih.
The Following User Says Thank You to azmatullah For This Useful Post:
Man Jaanbazam (Tuesday, February 02, 2016)

Waqar Afzal is on a distinguished road

If you liked Animal Farm then you should also give a read to Orwell's other masterpiece 1984.

Catch 22 is also an enjoyable read, not necessarily for a CSS aspirant though.

To Kill a mocking bird is another book to broaden your perspective.
Zainab S (Wednesday, February 03, 2016)

qublai khan is on a distinguished road

nice to find someone who read for itself....I mean we read textbooks for profession,fame,wealth etc.

the idiot by fyodor Dostoevsky remind me the harsh winter of our lives and also the winter of 2013 when I read it.it tells you dear the double standards of our world,people changing with change in value of person.it captivates you from the start when prince muishkin is entering the city........

also crime and punishment by same writer is good but its very disturbing; shows you only sorrows in world

if you want to read a 300 hundred page book in single day,read the guide by sir r .k narayan.it wouldn't give you time for reading SMS.

the astrologer's day is the short story collection of sir r .k narayan.must read

if you want to read which would be helpful for CSS than read the diary of a young girl by Anna frank,but before reading that book you have make your mind unbiased towards Jews.......the narrative is clear like someone talking to you directly

the great escape health,wealth and the origins of inequality by Nobel laureate Angus deaton is an unconventional book on economics,it does not perturb you by ecomical laws,but tells you the real life economics in lucid and fictional-autobiographical way.
you will find this book in epub format on bookzz.org ..better download epub reader

and you are right about name "qublai khan"
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to qublai khan For This Useful Post:
Rashida Fazal (Wednesday, February 03, 2016), Zainab S (Wednesday, February 03, 2016)

Nazish Hina is on a distinguished road

Ahhh! So many books, so little time. I'll just recommend the ones I've read recently

I lean more towards non fiction so .

George Orwell's 1984

Lean in by Sheryl Sandberg

Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell

Seven Habits of highly effective people by Stephen Covey

Born Standing up by Steve Martin.

And my all time favorites:

Jinnah my brother.

I am Malala.

Shuhab Naama.

Zaavia by Ishfaq Ahmad

Quiet: The power of introverts in a world that won't stop talking.
aneelbachwani (Friday, February 05, 2016), Zainab S (Wednesday, February 03, 2016)

Assasin is on a distinguished road
Default books to read

AOA dear members ,
kindly suggest me some good literature books which have excellent style and expression .i want to improve my expression and vocabulary..

Many thanks !

Xcalibre is on a distinguished road

I would recommend you to read Ar Raehooq UL Makhtoom, the best award wining book on Prophet PBUH life. It 'll broadened your views about the challenges we are facing. How to get out of it? Practical application in modern era. Also it 'll help in islamiyat topics. we give so much time on reading different author's book, But we don't want to give time to the most important one like Quran's translation and Seerat. We know everything about Engineering, IT and Medicine but didn't give few days to understand the message of our creator about life.What was the purpose of life. How to live life to succeed here and hereafter. How to deal with modern challenges as a Muslim nation we are facing. I don't means we shouldn't read them but we spent decades to familiarize with different theories, read novels and others books for entertainment but don't want to give few days to know about theory of life by Quran. we read the Arabic in our childhood and consider it we fulfill our duty. But the main thing is its translation.
azmatullah (Friday, February 05, 2016), MADIHA IRFAN (Sunday, April 24, 2016), Man Jaanbazam (Wednesday, February 03, 2016), Raheel Mughal (Thursday, January 03, 2019)
Old Wednesday, February 03, 2016

Originally Posted by Waqar Afzal View Post
If you liked Animal Farm then you should also give a read to Orwell's other masterpiece 1984.

Catch 22 is also an enjoyable read, not necessarily for a CSS aspirant though.

To Kill a mocking bird is another book to broaden your perspective.
Way ahead of you here. I read 1984 right after Animal Farm. Catch-22 after 1984 so to wash out the feeling of despair-loved reading it but despair stayed.
To kill a mocking bird is one of my most favorite books. You have great taste.

Originally Posted by qublai khan View Post
nice to find someone who read for itself....I mean we read textbooks for profession,fame,wealth etc.
Well to be honest, I started reading to improve English for CSS and now I am a book lover and hence the thread to find out which books other CSS folks read during the course of their studies that helped them paint a broad picture, so to speak. So the journey for reading for myself has only begun recently.
the idiot by fyodor Dostoevsky remind me the harsh winter of our lives and also the winter of 2013 when I read it.it tells you dear the double standards of our world,people changing with change in value of person.it captivates you from the start when prince muishkin is entering the city........

also crime and punishment by same writer is good but its very disturbing; shows you only sorrows in world
The Idiot and Crime and Punishment, got it. One of my optionals is criminology, I guess the latter one would be helpful in that regard. Will it be?
if you want to read a 300 hundred page book in single day,read the guide by sir r .k narayan.it wouldn't give you time for reading SMS.

the astrologer's day is the short story collection of sir r .k narayan.must read
Got it. I started Lord of Flies, will start his book right after I finish this little gem.

if you want to read which would be helpful for CSS than read the diary of a young girl by Anna frank,but before reading that book you have make your mind unbiased towards Jews.......the narrative is clear like someone talking to you directly
Read it in November and cried my eyes out. What a tragedy. I seriously think it should also be read by all CSS aspirants.

the great escape health,wealth and the origins of inequality by Nobel laureate Angus deaton is an unconventional book on economics,it does not perturb you by ecomical laws,but tells you the real life economics in lucid and fictional-autobiographical way.
you will find this book in epub format on bookzz.org ..better download epub reader
Ok, I'll get it for my kindle. It seems very interesting read especially for a non-economist such as myself.
and you are right about name "qublai khan"
Aha! I knew it!
Are you on twitter? Would like to follow you and keep in touch

Originally Posted by Nazish Hina View Post

George Orwell's 1984, Lean in by Sheryl Sandberg, Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell, Seven Habits of highly effective people by Stephen Covey,Born Standing up by Steve Martin.

And my all time favorites:

Jinnah my brother, I am Malala, Shuhab Naama,Zaavia by Ishfaq Ahmad, Quiet: The power of introverts in a world that won't stop talking.
Nazish had I met you in life, I probably would have hugged you for mentioning Quiet: The power of introverts and a world that won't stop talking. I never thought anyone else would ever mention it to me. It is such beautiful book. You rock!
1984, Shahab Nama, Zaavia, Quiet I have read.
I am going to skip I am malala and watch her movie instead. I love her but just because of time constraint and already long list of books, I am going to side with her movie-unless you have watched/read both and advise against it.
I quickly searched other books because I am not familiar with them and Lean in, Outliers, Jinnah my brother and Born Standing seem very interesting. I am going to leave Seven Habits because it seems similar to former two books I mentioned. You have very interesting taste

Originally Posted by azmatullah View Post
Also read Zia ul Nabi (SAWW), written by Mohammad Karam Shah, Al-Azhari Rahmat Ullah e Taala Alaih.
found it. https://archive.org/details/ZiaUnNabi Will read it soon. Thanks

Originally Posted by Xcalibre View Post
I would recommend you to read Ar Raehooq UL Makhtoom, the best award wining book on Prophet PBUH life. It 'll broadened your views about the challenges we are facing. How to get out of it? Practical application in modern era. Also it 'll help in islamiyat topics.
We study Islamiyat in our bachelors and masters and give written exam on it even for CSS. aur kitna Islam perwana hai? lol Please spare this self-righteousness and sadness.
https://archive.org/details/Ar-raheeqAl-makhtumurdu I found it. I skimmed through it for a while. I know quite a lot of history and it seems interesting if not new so thank you for recommending it.