03:05 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Saturday, March 04, 2017

Subhan Ahmad is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb Career guidance. Seniors, plz help!

Assalam-o-Alaikum,

I have recently completed my MPhil in Economics and Finance from PIDE. I am currently at cross-roads and see two paths for myself. One option for me is to go abroad on scholarship and pursue PhD in Economics. For that, I have to prepare for GRE, TOEFL and a good research proposal. On the other hand, I want to be a civil servant (foreign service is my preferred group); this choice is intriguing me since my college life. I guess it is right time for prepare for it with full zeal. Currently I am trying to take both these options with me but I think to get desirable results, I should solely focus on one area.

I am a very calculating person and have no civil servant in my circle to guide me. I can't come to decide which path is best. One good rationale someone gave me was that I can go for PhD even after CSS. There are many opportunities for civil servants to improve their education. But AGAIN!! my biggest concern is, if I take this choice and God forbid fail, it will cost me at least one year that I could spent on PhD. I am 27 now, and loosing one year means completing my PhD at 32 (if i loose a year).

My respected seniors, my question is, is CSS worth it to be willing to give up one or two years before going for PhD.. ? Kindly guide me, I really am having sleepless nights in comping up with a decision .

Thank You..
Old Sunday, March 05, 2017

Communist is on a distinguished road

Economics is a very broad and interesting field. Almost every good university in Pakistan has Faculty of economics and Management sciences wh ere a Phd economics can be easily employed at a good salary. Moreover, you can also join public and private sector as a co nsultant.
CSS, on the other hand, is a very uncertain and ted ious path. Competition is extremely tough with very thin margin of success. After investing two years (in some cases even more), one is not fully sure of succeess.
You have a great opportunity of pursuing education abroad.
So, in my opinion and given your circumstances, I would suggest you to go for higher studies. Time and life is very precious please don't waste it for some goal in which one has a very remote chance of success. You could be a Phd doctor at 32 years of age, what could be better than this?

Sent from my SM-J200H using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Communist For This Useful Post:
Subhan Ahmad (Sunday, March 05, 2017)