01:47 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Thursday, March 30, 2017

Ekhalil is on a distinguished road
Default Views About CSS Forum And Queries

The whole management of this group, the respected mentors, moderators, CSP's and the dear members, Assalam O Alaikum!
I hope you'll be enjoying good state of health and wealth
Though I've joined this forum some days ago, but It's my very first post on the forum. I appeared in CE-17 but never believed the instructions of this forum by heart, also visited it rarely. But after getting disappointment I came to know the worth of #SENIORS suggestions... It is the Almighty Allah who owns sole power of endowments though I found some CSP's and some other experienced people guiding public here. JAZZAK ALLAH
But, still I'm NOT a BIG FAN of this forum rather I believe the winners don't like to help out people in a much desirable way rather they feel uncomfortable to answer the queries . The reason May be their busy schedule or something else... I request all of these blessed people to pay heed on the new comers queries ... thus I raise my hand to ask:
1) Suggest me the BEST English teacher
2) Suggest me My optionals, in CE-17, they are as
2A. Physics (Disaponted in phy-2 besides owing engineering background , decided not to opt it )
2B. Economics , overall satisfied yet I think a lot of improvements are needed especially in paper-1. Trying to retain and not to replace it with IR as I think IR is a low scoring subject despite ultimate efforts.
2C. Indo-Pak history, going to replace it with US history
2D. Muslim Law, thinking to replace it with either criminology (seems to be interesting) or International Law (Recommended )
3. Other 2 optional are a) Environmental sciences (scoring ?) / Agriculutre and Forestry.
B) Punjabi / journalism and mass communication (scoring?)
NOW, it's your turn #SENIORS to suggest my queries seriously otherwise I may not be even able to recommend my children to this forum :P
JAZAKK ALLAH

Sent from my HUAWEI SCL-U31 using Tapatalk

Ahmad Abbas is on a distinguished road

Salam,
Hope you're good! Well, subject selection is a difficult task as we all have background of the few optionals. I'll try to answer your queries from my experiences other members can disagree.

English: I believe there's no need for English teacher. He can't make you a specialist in essay. As far as composition paper is concerned an English teacher might help but again CSS composition is different. I'll suggest few books to read for mastering that paper.

For English Precis and questions answers part; read 'Write Better, Speak Better' by Reader's Digest. This is a 1972 edition but still valid precis expalined on page 163. New versions might not be available so you'll find it in some old book shop. (The same book is recommended by FPSC)

For sentence structuring and other grammatical issues; two books are very useful and these are recommended by FPSC. These are 'Practical English Usage' (Michael Swan, Oxford, 2005) and 'English Grammer in Use' (Murphy, Cambridge, 2015). Interestingly, these are designed for students without the help of instructors.

And for writing there's a book 'Little Brown' by Pearson. It will answer all of your queries about essay writing.

Read these and start practicing writing. Now comes the important most element that is editing. Give your essays to experienced editors to look for mistakes. Editors could be English teachers or Journals editors or someone with experience in research sector. That's because CSS essay is research based, taken from different disciplines.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ahmad Abbas For This Useful Post:
Ekhalil (Thursday, March 30, 2017)

Ahmad Abbas is on a distinguished road

As far as your optionals are concerned you're the best decision maker. It is a tough process. Go through the syllabus of the subjects of your choice, narrow down the subjects. After revised syllabus optionals are turned into majors and minors. Major being of 200 and minors 100 marks. Try to opt minor subjects related to your majors. For instance; political science 200 (Minors could be constitutional law, India Pak History, Public Ad, or Governance and Public policy). For IR minors could be US/European History, IL, GS and Anthro. Similarly, economics too has related minor subjects.

Whatever major you choose, be it IR, Eco or any other. Try to collect six to seven recommended books by FPSC for your major and similarly as many as you can collect for your minors. Now keeping in mind the syllabus make your notes accordingly from these books for every subject. No single book would help these days. Please don't rely on Urdu Bazar or Dogar books as you might pass the subject but marks would be no more than 45.

Now write in the papers following 'Little Brown' instructions. Reference your material using APA or MLA style. After reading all these books knowledge for essay won't be a big problem just follw little brown, reference your essay and score more than 80.

Keep around 50 to 60 thousand budget for your books. After all it's a great investment.

Humne to time zaya kia jab pata laga to last attempt the... Ap k pas acha khasa time hai books lo parho or top kar lo css.

Best of luck.. Fi aman Allah
The Following User Says Thank You to Ahmad Abbas For This Useful Post:
Ekhalil (Thursday, March 30, 2017)

Ekhalil is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Ahmad Abbas View Post
As far as your optionals are concerned you're the best decision maker. It is a tough process. Go through the syllabus of the subjects of your choice, narrow down the subjects. After revised syllabus optionals are turned into majors and minors. Major being of 200 and minors 100 marks. Try to opt minor subjects related to your majors. For instance; political science 200 (Minors could be constitutional law, India Pak History, Public Ad, or Governance and Public policy). For IR minors could be US/European History, IL, GS and Anthro. Similarly, economics too has related minor subjects.

Whatever major you choose, be it IR, Eco or any other. Try to collect six to seven recommended books by FPSC for your major and similarly as many as you can collect for your minors. Now keeping in mind the syllabus make your notes accordingly from these books for every subject. No single book would help these days. Please don't rely on Urdu Bazar or Dogar books as you might pass the subject but marks would be no more than 45.

Now write in the papers following 'Little Brown' instructions. Reference your material using APA or MLA style. After reading all these books knowledge for essay won't be a big problem just follw little brown, reference your essay and score more than 80.

Keep around 50 to 60 thousand budget for your books. After all it's a great investment.

Humne to time zaya kia jab pata laga to last attempt the... Ap k pas acha khasa time hai books lo parho or top kar lo css.

Best of luck.. Fi aman Allah
Wa Alikum Assalam Dear Ahmad Abbas! Thank you so much for your kind and valuable suggestions... As per Holy Quran, as early stated, It is the Benificient Allah who either make a person respected or hatred one... that's what I believe too. Thank you again for your brief guidelines. May God bless you Ameen

Sent from my HUAWEI SCL-U31 using Tapatalk