-   CSS Competitive Examination (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/css-competitive-examination/)
-   -   Need expert opinion in subject selection (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/css-competitive-examination/123824-need-expert-opinion-subject-selection.html)

Muhammad Umair Malik Thursday, May 16, 2019 03:33 PM

Need expert opinion in subject selection

I have a commerce background, (M com)
Initially i have selected following optional subjects for further analysis and advice:

1) Accountancy & Auditing (200)
2) Public Administration (100)
3) US History (100)
4)Gender studies (100)
5)Punjabi (100)

please guide me if i have chosen not good scoring subject or the combination is not good.

i) I am confused between Punjabi and criminology
ii) I am confused between Accountancy & Auditing and International relations.

please suggest why I shouldn't take criminology over Punjabi and why I shouldn't take International relation over Accountancy & Auditing.

looking forward for precious advice.

Urooj rajput Thursday, May 16, 2019 07:37 PM

[QUOTE=Muhammad Umair Malik;1091170]I have a commerce background, (M com)

Initially i have selected following optional subjects for further analysis and advice:

3) US History (100)

4)Gender studies (100)

5)Punjabi (100)

please guide me if i have chosen not good scoring subject or the combination is not good.

please suggest why I shouldn't take criminology over Punjabi and why I shouldn't take International relation over Accountancy & Auditing.

looking forward for precious advice.[/QUOTE]Salam.
I.r is a vast subject but also it's helpful in many other papers e.g. current affairs and pak affairs. Criminology is to the point subject. It's syllabus is short. And also it's scoring subject. I don't know about accounting and auditing since I don't have this background. But the people from any background can prepare i.r. and criminology. I advise you to choose these subjects. Rest is on you.

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk

Urooj rajput Thursday, May 16, 2019 07:41 PM

[QUOTE=Muhammad Umair Malik;1091170]I have a commerce background, (M com)

3) US History (100)

4)Gender studies (100)

5)Punjabi (100)

looking forward for precious advice.[/QUOTE]The syllabus of punjabi is also short and it's also a scoring subject but you should choose it if you speak punjabi at home. I picked it up and then left it because I felt it difficult to prepare. Also punjabi in everyday use and punjabi in the books by the poets is very very different. Punjabi in books is very difficult. Some words look toooooo alien to memorize. I selected criminology and sociology. But if you're really interested in punjabi then you can prepare it well. Good luck!

Muhammad Umair Malik Friday, May 17, 2019 09:38 AM

Thanks Urooj !
what about criminology, is it a scoring subject? the subject survey don't suggest that. I have never studied this subject but i am interested in it.

Urooj rajput Friday, May 17, 2019 03:14 PM

[QUOTE=Muhammad Umair Malik;1091188]Thanks Urooj !

what about criminology, is it a scoring subject? the subject survey don't suggest that. I have never studied this subject but i am interested in it.[/QUOTE]Yes it's scoring subject. Also it's too the point. No excessive information is needed. Just terms to understand and it's done. I've studied it when I prepared for css 2019.

Urooj rajput Friday, May 17, 2019 03:14 PM

[QUOTE=Muhammad Umair Malik;1091188]Thanks Urooj !

what about criminology, is it a scoring subject? the subject survey don't suggest that. I have never studied this subject but i am interested in it.[/QUOTE]My pleasure 👍

RMKamran Friday, May 17, 2019 10:31 PM

[QUOTE=Urooj rajput;1091207]Yes it's scoring subject. Also it's too the point. No excessive information is needed. Just terms to understand and it's done. I've studied it when I prepared for css 2019.

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

AoA,

Which book you consulted for criminology?

Urooj rajput Saturday, May 18, 2019 12:45 PM

[QUOTE=RMKamran;1091226]AoA,

Which book you consulted for criminology?[/QUOTE]Slides by Sir Asmatullah Junejo from kips were helpful. Along with that, I prepared from the book "advanced criminology".

RMKamran Saturday, May 18, 2019 04:42 PM

[QUOTE=Urooj rajput;1091246]Slides by Sir Asmatullah Junejo from kips were helpful. Along with that, I prepared from the book "advanced criminology".

Sent from my SM-G935T using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

Advanced criminology by whom ? There are a couple of books with this title. Kindly mention its author. Could you please email those slides to me ?

Urooj rajput Saturday, May 25, 2019 01:00 PM

[QUOTE=RMKamran;1091262]Advanced criminology by whom ? There are a couple of books with this title. Kindly mention its author. Could you please email those slides to me ?[/QUOTE]Advanced criminology by nasir khan but to be honest I didn't like that book.

02:42 PM (GMT +5)