01:58 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Sudais Qasim is on a distinguished road
Default Css reforms 2020

I have query about css new reforms. Which fields are eligible for attempting css exam 2020. And which are ineligible?

A list of eligibility courses is in circle I want to know about its accuracy.

Here is the list:
Engineering ineligible
(Railways belongs Mechanical Engineer only this one)

MBBS ineligible
Pharmacy ineligible
BDS ineligible
Psychology ineligible
Msc Physics ineligible
Msc Maths inelgible
Msc Chemistry ineligible
MSc Biology ineligible
Msc Biotech ineligible
M.A Urdu ineligible
M.A English ineligible
M.A Farsi ineligible
M.A Pashto ineligible
M.A Sihdi ineligible
M.A Arabic ineligible
MBA H.R ineligible
MBA Marketing ineligible

Msc Computer Science and IT Eligible for IT GROUP

MBA Finance M.A Economics Eligible for IRS Inland Group and PAAS Audit account Group Commerce & Trade Group (PCG)

M.A IR eligible for Forieng Services FSP.

M.A Criminolgy and Law for Police

M.A Political Science, Public AD are eligible for

Pakistan Customs Services (PCS)
Military Lands & Cantonment Group (MLCG)
Office Management and Secretariat Group (OMG)
Pakistan Administrative Service (PAS)
Postal Group (PG)

kingfalcon will become famous soon enough

I think Engineering will be and should be eligible for each and every group. All over the world Engineers get adjusted in just about any job/profession.

Obaidd is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by kingfalcon View Post
I think Engineering will be and should be eligible for each and every group. All over the world Engineers get adjusted in just about any job/profession.
For example, UN Secretary General Antonio Guterres studied Electrical Engineering.
Old Saturday, July 20, 2019

anzabb is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Sudais Qasim View Post
I have query about css new reforms. Which fields are eligible for attempting css exam 2020. And which are ineligible?

A list of eligibility courses is in circle I want to know about its accuracy.

Here is the list:

Engineering ineligible

(Railways belongs Mechanical Engineer only this one)

MBBS ineligible

Pharmacy ineligible

BDS ineligible

Psychology ineligible

Msc Physics ineligible

Msc Maths inelgible

Msc Chemistry ineligible

MSc Biology ineligible

Msc Biotech ineligible

M.A Urdu ineligible

M.A English ineligible

M.A Farsi ineligible

M.A Pashto ineligible

M.A Sihdi ineligible

M.A Arabic ineligible

MBA H.R ineligible

MBA Marketing ineligible

Msc Computer Science and IT Eligible for IT GROUP

MBA Finance M.A Economics Eligible for IRS Inland Group and PAAS Audit account Group Commerce & Trade Group (PCG)

M.A IR eligible for Forieng Services FSP.

M.A Criminolgy and Law for Police

M.A Political Science, Public AD are eligible for

Pakistan Customs Services (PCS)

Military Lands & Cantonment Group (MLCG)

Office Management and Secretariat Group (OMG)

Pakistan Administrative Service (PAS)

Postal Group (PG)
Is this official. As long as something is not offical, please don't worry

Sent from my SM-G615F using Tapatalk

Originally Posted by kingfalcon View Post
Unfortunately, in Pakistan we study natural sciences in isolation of social sciences. For Public Policy degrees around the work science and engineering courses are very important. In fact, the problem is that we don't have a system to selecting and appreciating the technocrats. Engineers must be allowed to do CSS, but in capacity of their technocratic abilities. Unfortunately, our education system is outdated. All modern challenges are associated with science and technology, and with the help of disciplines like public policy we can understand our world better. However, the poor educational quality and lack of vision leads to such silly reforms.

Before CSS fix education! Give career counseling!

The Following User Says Thank You to anzabb For This Useful Post:
Muhammadwd (Friday, August 30, 2019)

Originally Posted by Obaidd View Post
For example, UN Secretary General Antonio Guterres studied Electrical Engineering.
To be honest, a lot of engineers do public policy these days and do technocratic jobs. The problem is our outdated educational system!

Old Sunday, July 21, 2019

Mindless~Genius is on a distinguished road

These reforms are useless. Doctors/Engineers, they put their 100% effort in FSC/A levels to get such titles definitely, they compete in CSS exams because they put effort on it. now why dr/engr do not want to pursue his/her career? because almost 90% belongs to the middle class and we become Engr/dr just bcoz of our parent's wishes or jab unki khuwahish puri ho jati hy tb hmain ehsas hota hy k we are on a wrong road.
A person who played cricket for about 20 years later he became PM, do you think he can run a country ?? ( Our PM !). if he can then it's not a big deal for Engr/Dr to run beaurocracy as there study plan in bachelor is tougher then any other degree. I can Bet on this! especially engineers because jis ka 2.5 cgpa bhi hy uska analysis bhi baqi sab sy acha hi hota hy
moreover, if you want reforms in beaurocratic dept. then reforms should be made within beaurocracy, not in CSS applicable criteria like related degrees etc.
note: aur ye reforms walon sy ye poochna chahiye k army k qouta pr jo aty hain wo to fsc kr k army join krty hain nd throughout war courses parhty hain un k lia kia reforms hon gi ? atleast hum log 16 year ki education to lety hain.
sorry for my english as i am a beginner. thanks
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mindless~Genius For This Useful Post:
kosam zahra 222 (Saturday, September 21, 2019), MonstarAshar (Sunday, September 22, 2019)

They won't do it, and it is just a rumour. People shouldn't post such things until they are confirmed. This only distracts serious candidates

Saira khattak is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by anzabb View Post
They won't do it, and it is just a rumour. People shouldn't post such things until they are confirmed. This only distracts serious candidates

Really? I am so worried. I even thought of enrolling for another degree as my current one won't be valid for taking exam after said reforms.

To be honest, I can't say much about how will they change around things in the next 4 years. I was assuring the candidates appearing in 2020 not to worry.
I don't think that they will make medical and engineering ineligible because think about it, how many good social sciences universities do we have in this country? I have a degree in P ad, and I can't find a good masters degree in this country, plus all the social sciences degrees in this country are based on rote learning. I want to do a degree that allows me to specialize, but the P AD or MPP degrees in Pakistan are basic, and most of them focus on 50yold issues. Even css papers of these subjects are pathetic. Most of the PhDs in these areas mock their questions.
Furthermore, you should see what your life goal is and plan accordingly. The p ad degree did help me in having the knowledge for CSS, but I had to put in a lot of effort as in universities we are not required to study on CSS levels. Doing a specific degree will help you, but you have to keep yourself on track and develop a critical mind yourself. Do a lot of readings on your own. Also pick a degree like P ad that can land you in corporate sector as well as NGOs if CSS doesn't work out.
The Following User Says Thank You to anzabb For This Useful Post:
Saira khattak (Monday, July 22, 2019)