03:36 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Wednesday, October 03, 2007

Noman has a spectacular aura aboutNoman has a spectacular aura about
Default CSP and Not-CSP Civil Service Officers - The Difference

@ Respected Seniors, CSPs and Officers Civil Service

I have an important query in my mind about the difference of a civil service officer in grade 17 who comes via CSS as CSP and one who comes to civil service via some other exam or interview etc.

I'm posting the case of a Not-CSP officer (who's my first uncle as well); kindly put some light on my query in this context.

My uncle joined civil service in 1994 as Assistant Director (Information) bps-17 govt. of Punjab in Bahawalpur[he was M.A. Mass Communication+M.A. History]; from the very first year of his service he had a govt vehicle and house (in officers colony Bwp).
In 1998, he was transferred to Multan as Assistan Director (P.I.D.); the very next year in 1999 he was sent abroad officialy to U.S.A. for 1 year from where he did a Post Graduate Diploma in Mass Communication.
ON his return in 2000 he was promoted to Deputy Director(D.D.) bps-18 but amazingly was posted as D.D. (Wild Life) in Bahawalpur Zoo for a year till 2001.
And then he become DD culture & turisom in Bwp. and was assigned the various task of Arts Council Bahawalpur.
After 2 year at this post he was promoted to Director bps-19 under punjab govt in 2003 and was posted in Bahawalpur Museum.
Now he is Director (Bwp Museum) and have two official vehicles wd petrol, a honda city & suzuki potohar jeep (1 for personal use & other for office); and the official bunglow of an acre almost within museum premises wd almost 8 private servants (2 drivers, 2 guard[each works in morning night shifts], a sweeper, gardener, and pion); + almost 100-150 human resource he is heading, working in the Museum. An air conditioned office he holds wd office phone for use nationaly or for international calls & local free for home phone.
Not only this, almost at least once a year he got invitations from art galleries, museums etc. from overseas via the concerned ministry in Pk & enjoys his foreign trip on state expenses.

And despite of his service; he's also doing PhD(research) in evening in History & Museology; and according to my uncle he'll get MP(Management Payscale) instead of bps after completing his PhD.

He neither hv done PCS nor CSS ! & holds a masters degree each in History & Mass Com(PAK) wd a PGD from USA(via official channel).

Now my query in this regard is that what possible difference lies in a CSP officer and a Not-CSP civil servant with respect to facilities, priviledges & diversity of work. Kindly put some light on it.

yours respectfully & truly,
Noman !
The Following User Says Thank You to Noman For This Useful Post:
Hira Butt (Friday, October 05, 2007)
35th Common
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: 19th positon 2006Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

ihs has a spectacular aura aboutihs has a spectacular aura aboutihs has a spectacular aura about

it is the modern trend to facilitate all the officers whether csp or not.
the only difference is in the nature of job

Nature of Job?
I mean if a CSP in Information group is posted as A.D. (P.I.D.); will his task and nature of job be different than of the officers coming the other way? Plust does he enjoys some extra priviledges or more authority in the office or sm benefits in promotion trend etc. ?

++ Can an officer of one cadre may easily switch between different govt bodies in his career? or he must serve most of his/her time in the cadre assigned to him/her.

And is it also possible for CSPs to stay at one station of posting for 10-15 years, if they wish ?

++ My query is that what possible is the edge of a CSP over a Not-CSP officer in civil service (but serving in same capacity and grade e.g. the above example of AD PID) !
Of course the top 3 PSP, DMG, FSP (& in past C&E but now its becoming more equal to ITG) have their extra benefits which are evident to everyone; my query is regarding officers in Information, Postal, Commerce & Trade, Audit n A/C + Railways.

I am thinking that even if I cleared CSS and allocated one of either
Commerce & Trade
Information
Postal
Railways
& Audit n A/c
will these groups are better than my current job in the short-run and in the long run. If they are better than in which respect.

Kindly put some light on it so that I may take the right decision. Suggestions from CSPs n civil service officers r awaited.

regards,
yours very sincerely,

Last edited by Last Island; Monday, March 23, 2009 at 09:51 PM.
35th Common
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: 3rd position in css 2006

LuCkYdEvIl is on a distinguished road

noman

well there are many positions where CSPs
are posted
but there are many posts which are fiiled
by a percentage of CSPs and rest through other way of induction

its nature of the job
n the rules to fill that particular vacancy thatmatter!

if u stay as ur uncle
u''ll be not be moving very much
but if u get in throgh css
u'll b moving around in diverse position

i think u should stay where u are
instead of wasting time on chance

good luck

sincerly

thinking is on a distinguished road
Default just a personal view

Personally I think you should re-join NADRA once again..... as CSS is a game of luck and no one can predict your luck.
Second, I would like you to try for CSS 2008,(you can do it with you job, as I know many people who did CSS along with their job). If you're selected for DMG, PSP or PFS(if you wish, I, personally, being a research living in Europe, don't like PFS), then go for it. You can pay some money to NADRA(for which you have signed a bond with them) or you can go to a court against NADRA(as writing a bond is equivalent to bonded labour). I think DMG and PSP are worth joining.
But if you are selected for, say, IC, CE etc, then don't leave your luxurious job as you can do no good to the nation in these cadres nor you will enjoy that much as you enjoy now in NADRA...................

Decision rests with you,

@ thinking
But Sir problem arises wn i've to submit my css forms via official channel wd N.O.C. and i don't think so this time (after leaving once the job last year) Director (Personel & HR - who's a Lt. Col as well) they'll let me go this way! At least upto next year i.e. 2009.
+ the other major problem is that I've to travel allot in this job e.g. smtimes going rahim yaar khan, d.g.khan, muzzafarghar [where ever sm software/technical problem arises or for IT audit as the case may be] & to stay there as well if on MRV's and then u'v left wd no energy at weekend or even in nights to study; however after 2 ,3 years of service wn i'll be considered senior then I may find time to study in office or may shift myself from Regional HQ (technical n MRV branch) to NSRC(hwever in that case my my salary will be reduced by half(cuz of cut in ta/da i get in field work) n also i'll loose the official vehicle wd petrol) n authority upto sm extent as well i.e. moreover i'll be under sm boss for IT audit n daily reporting to him for the activity in NSRC which i really not wish. So for the time being i'v to make a choice: leave css or leave the rejoin opportunity !
people around me (frnds, family) most hv the advice to rejoin !

Thnx allot anyways, for valuable advice n legal aspect about surety service bonds. hwever, even if u goto court, as the case may be, they people hv professional legal dept in all headquarters (at federal, provincial n regional HQs) n its a headache as well; as in Pk these govt bodies are very strong and one may not wish that he/she has a fare chance to win in most cases!
ln 2005 1 AM(assistan manager) n other non gazetted officer lost the case cuz they joined Bank Alfalah hq, abdali rd, mnt branch without the noc of rhq nadra mnt where they signed a contract of 3 years out of which smtime was left & resigned from govt service; after loosing the case they both hv lost their jobs in bank alfalah via court orders + they r barred for 3 years for any govt service; so ministry of interior won that case!
So, thats y i usually, personally, dont prefer any thing which may create such big troubles, specially in career!

hope so, i'll come up with the decision in two days. Thnx once again ( respected all)Thinking, MS LuckyDevi & Sir Ihs.

regards,
Noman !

Omer will become famous soon enough

looking at ur post it is assumed that the big problem is that u cant sort out ur problems and think that they r huge.
css is not a piece of cake and u will hav to devote time and concentration to it.
u want to clear css and same time u want that u remain in ur current position and somebody from FPSC come to u wen u r sitting on ur seat and tell u that u hav passed it and then u resign fron NADRA and join DMG,PSP or FSP.
U r living in fools paradise brother!
"A man can be as great as he wants to be. If you believe in yourself and have the courage, the determination, the dedication, the competitive drive and if you are willing to sacrifice the little things in life and pay the price for the things that are worthwhile, it can be done."

@ Omer

Dear brother, perhaps, you did not hv gone through my query n posts.
I also know that its very tough to do job n css at the same time. Thats y I asked CSPs n Officers in Civil Service at the forum to guide me that
which path i should choose
CSS 2008
or
rejoin nadra

Perhaps, u got through this thread in such a hurry that u hv repeated my query as answer of my post. Anyways, thnx for ur advice bro.

take care
best regards,
Noman !
Old Thursday, October 04, 2007

Omer will become famous soon enough

dear brother,
if u think that ur preperation is upto the level,then u should go for css2008.
Bt my personal opinion for u is to rejoin NADRA and keep ur preperation side by side,in a year or some more time wen u feel that u r ready ,u can take 4-6 months vacation and then prepare with full concentration,then u should go for CSS.
It is the pattern that i may try for myself.As i work 11-12 hrs a day in a multinational firm and u know the pressure of clients and bosses in big firms,bt keep it sisde by side and then after some time go for it.

We can only giv u the options,the decision is only urs!
"A man can be as great as he wants to be. If you believe in yourself and have the courage, the determination, the dedication, the competitive drive and if you are willing to sacrifice the little things in life and pay the price for the things that are worthwhile, it can be done."
Old Thursday, October 04, 2007

After the opinion n advice of respected csps at forum n seniors + family mates since 24th september; i've decided once again to take high risk as i did last year to appear in css 2007 by leaving my regular job.

This time for css 2008, I'v decided to burn the last ship as well in my fleet for going back. Omer rightly said keh css is not a cup of tea hwever thinking, lucky devi n ihs are also correct in saying keh luck does matter !

So, I concluded by reamaining awake the last whole night......... that "High Risk High Return" ! ya aar ya phir paar. As Tariq Bin Ziad, the great general, hv ordered to burn the ships in his fleet and he was successful afterwards.

Perhaps I'm not right or perhaps its the factor of inexperience & or perhaps its my attitude and the way to deal matters in life; but frankly speaking "Aisa Hee Hon Mein". I know, now I've to bear pressure from home n family and titles like: "wela", "time waster" & "foolish" by my elders; so I've decided not to go home even on eid so that to save me from this burst from family mates, which may pressurize me allot to go the other way ! So, I"m turning my cell phones off & changing my current residence; IN short ro-posh hona he ab for css prep of 2008 !

I'm 24 years old & perhaps mere pass aisa adventure kerne ke lye time he abhee ! By the way it'll be my last attempt in 2008 for css cuz I already hv availed 2 chance each in the year 2006 & 2007 (n both by sm sacrifice to the jobs at that time i was doing).

Last edited by Last Island; Monday, March 23, 2009 at 09:47 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Noman For This Useful Post:
Fatima Tahir (Wednesday, August 26, 2009), Hira Butt (Friday, October 05, 2007)