-   CSS Competitive Examination (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/css-competitive-examination/)
-   -   Central Superior Services of Pakistan (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/css-competitive-examination/15493-central-superior-services-pakistan.html)

fahad269 Thursday, January 17, 2008 09:43 PM

Central Superior Services of Pakistan

[B][U][COLOR="Blue"]The Central Superior Services of Pakistan[/COLOR][/U][/B] (or commonly known as [B][COLOR="Blue"]CSS[/COLOR][/B]) is the name given to a group of highly prestigious and powerful Pakistani Federal Government Departments. Recruitment to the officer’s cadre (Basic Pay Scale 17) of these services is extremely competitive and it usually takes a year to complete the written examination and the subsequent psychological tests as well as interviews. Federal Public Service Commission of Pakistan or FPSC ([url]http://www.fpsc.gov.pk/[/url]) is entrusted with this task and it is a general perception that it conducts the task of Competitive Examinations with full honesty. The minimum age and educational qualification for appearance in this examination is 21 years and a Bachelors (14 years of education) respectively while the maximum age limit is 28 years. According to the estimates of FPSC a total of 8,000 – 10,000 candidates apply for an appearance in its annual Competitive Examination. On an average 5,000 – 6,000 actually appear and approximately 250-500 candidates qualify the written portion of CSS Examination. Out of these successful candidates a total of 100-150 (roughly 2% of the actual applicants) make it to this sacred corps of bureaucrats.

Currently CSS includes the following Occupational Groups.

[B][COLOR="Blue"]Pakistan Audit and Accounts Service[/COLOR][/B]
[B][COLOR="Blue"]
Police Service of Pakistan (PSP)[/COLOR][/B]

[B][COLOR="Blue"]District Management Group (DMG)[/COLOR][/B]
[B][COLOR="Blue"]
Income Tax Group (ITG)[/COLOR][/B]

[B][COLOR="Blue"]Customs and Excise Group (CEG)[/COLOR][/B]
[B][COLOR="Blue"]
Foreign Service of Pakistan (FSP)[/COLOR][/B]

[B][COLOR="Blue"]Postal Group (PG)[/COLOR][/B]

[B][COLOR="Blue"]Commerce & Trade Group (CTG)[/COLOR][/B]

[B][COLOR="Blue"]Railways Group (RG)[/COLOR][/B]

[B][COLOR="Blue"]Information Group (IG)[/COLOR][/B]

[B][U][COLOR="DarkRed"]History of Civil Services in Pakistan[/COLOR][/U][/B]

The civil Bureaucracy is a colonial legacy in this part of the world. The British used to rule the native population through Indian Civil Service (ICS) and most of the officers in ICS were British themselves. It was in the early 20th Century that the Indians also started competing against the British and many Indians eventually made it to the ICS. With the partition of India in 1947, the term 'Central Superior Services' was used in Pakistan and the concept of All-Pakistan Services continued. The latter consisted of the Civil Service of Pakistan and the Police Service of Pakistan, whereas the Central Services included the Pakistan Foreign Service and a broad category of Finance and other services. The Finance category included the Pakistan Audit and Accounts Service, Pakistan Railway Accounts Service,Pakistan Military Accounts Service, Pakistan Taxation Service, and the Pakistan Customs and Excise Service. The Central Services other than these included the Pakistan Postal Service,Pakistan Military Land and Cantonment Service, Central Secretariat Service, and Central Information Service. Each of these services had its own cadre and composition rules, specifying the total cadre strength in terms of its number of positions.

With the Civil Services Reforms of 1973 a new system of Common Training Program or CTP was introduced and all of these occupational groups (12 at that time) were required to go through a mandatory combined training at Civil Services Academy (CSA), Lahore. The batch of officers who attended CSA in 1973 is recognized as “1st Common”. Up till 5th Common the allocation of occupational groups was done after the culmination of Common Training Program but from 6th Common onwards this task has also been assumed by FPSC. Even till this day it is an official procedure that once the Probationary Officers successfully complete their CTP then they undergo some further Specialized Training Program (STP) in their own professional academies

[B][U][COLOR="DarkRed"]Armed Forces and Civil Services of Pakistan[/COLOR][/U][/B]

Commissioned officers of Pakistan Army, Pakistan Air Force, and Pakistan Navy have their own quota of 10% in District Management Group (DMG), Foreign Service of Pakistan (FSP), and Police Service of Pakistan (PSP). Usually officers of Captain Rank are short listed by General Head Quarters (GHQ) and selected against this quota after the permission directly by Chief of Army Staff before interview process.

[B][U][COLOR="DarkRed"]Reform of Civil Services[/COLOR][/U][/B]

Despite the fact that Civil Services of Pakistan have been still running on the pattern set out by British Raj (no major change has been performed), the Musharraf government started a major reform process of it. The task was to be performed by National Commission of Government Reforms (NCGR) under the chairmanship of Dr. Ishrat Hussain, the former governor of State Bank of Pakistan. The final report that was published in September 2007 stated that four CSS cadres i.e., Pakistan Railway Service, Pakistan Postal Service, Commerce and Trade Group, and the Information Service of Pakistan, should be axed. According to the recommendation, Postal and Railway Service should be made autonomous commercial bodies, with Information Service be suspended till further notice. The report also highlighted broad changes in the examination system, with the recommendation of a personality test be made part of the selection process.

shezzdp Monday, May 07, 2012 11:07 PM

But all of you i ask a question; is a group of services is not missing here? or has been replaced with Customs & Excise group, i.e. "Inland Revenue Services" anybody can explain.

umar riaz Sunday, July 08, 2012 08:57 PM

[B]There are two other services as well

1) Office Management Group (OMG)

2) Military Lands and Cantonment (MLCG)[/B]

Anila26 Sunday, August 10, 2014 12:23 AM

Someone asked me this questions I replied in my own words but after that I urged to know views of seniors, question was:
" CSPs are not paid much plus facilities are also subject to position then what is so special about being CSS officer, why not become banker, doctor? why to put so much hard work ?

Maroon Beret Sunday, August 10, 2014 01:57 AM

well,a banker,doctor or an engineers have a minute circle of peoples and their authority is only upon them whereas a CSP has a huge circle with greater opportunities,power and authority,he can even change the policies running and implemented in motherland.
Its all about priorities and grounds.....
Now a days Pak Sarzameen wants technocrats and audacious bureaucrats so that country may run much better.
What is the destiny of Pakistan?
Pakistan itself a destiny......!
Good luck

Muhammad Hammad Mangi Sunday, August 31, 2014 08:31 AM

Aslam O Alaikum My Friend I Consider Postal Group And Office Management Group Are Missing?????:pipe

KSSuk Sunday, February 14, 2016 05:46 PM

Can anyone please guide about the books for Islamiat (in light of the new syllabus by FPSC).

adan zahra Sunday, February 14, 2016 06:03 PM

where is MLCG???

Nageen Baig Monday, October 17, 2016 02:45 AM

Aoa
I am new kindly guide me
I want to apply for css
But don't know the last date for applying
I am done my bba from virtual University
Am I eligible for this papers

mrarsalankhan Monday, October 17, 2016 03:44 AM

[QUOTE=Nageen Baig;979380]Aoa
I am new kindly guide me
I want to apply for css
But don't know the last date for applying
I am done my bba from virtual University
Am I eligible for this papers[/QUOTE]
I am not very much familiar with your university, but if it is recogonised by HEC, than you are eligible. Last day to apply is 31 october. Good Luck

Sent from my ALE-L21 using Tapatalk

10:54 AM (GMT +5)