11:29 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Thursday, May 19, 2011

fitman is on a distinguished road
Red face CSS Prep With Job

AA all,

Requesting seniors to rply my query, wil try 2 b as precise as psble.
im a frsher comp engg and hired by a top class company of my domain. As my ultimate goal is PSP, being a punjab candidate i already know the competition im gona face.

im a CE2013 aspirant, 20+months to go and im in preperation from now.
Now im feeling confused as i asked my friends and wana ask u all is...

should i pursue css prep with my 9-5 job or not?

Way1
sacrifice my comp engg degree. resign from job, stay home the whole day and keep on preparing as best as i can till a period of 20months to make sure i get into PSP in my initial attempt.
what if i make my way? till allocation i have to wait at home for a huge time will be frusterating too.
Drawback: its like burn all boats behind, if im hit with a bad luck despite of my determination then i may not pursue as a comp engg in field again.

Way2
Dont resign from this million$ precious job n for a period of 20months pursue css prep as part time. Seniors let me believe on this strategy if they think its do-able to study with a long job daily.
advantage:this way i will be having a backup plan.

Seniors please reply!!! will be 1K times grateful.

Last edited by Predator; Monday, May 23, 2011 at 12:44 PM.
Old Thursday, May 19, 2011

Usman Cheema is a glorious beacon of lightUsman Cheema is a glorious beacon of lightUsman Cheema is a glorious beacon of lightUsman Cheema is a glorious beacon of lightUsman Cheema is a glorious beacon of lightUsman Cheema is a glorious beacon of light

Mine suggestion to you is do not burn your boats because in CSS you need along with hard work a lot of luck also, so if God forbid you are not able to qualify CSS due to any reason then you will not be a man who has nothing in hand then. 20 plus months are too much for preparation dude. I am sure you can even perform your best in 2012 attempt along with job if you are able to give 4 hours to your study per day from now on. Take it normally and do not let it ride upon your nerves. Most of the candidates of CSS are those who have completed their studies and are employed somewhere so its quite possible to qualify with a 9 to 5 job. All the success!

fitman (Thursday, May 19, 2011), Shikva (Sunday, May 22, 2011), sozano123 (Monday, May 23, 2011), Utmanian (Wednesday, May 25, 2011)
Old Monday, May 23, 2011

Ali Bodla is on a distinguished road
Default Suggest me, CSS with Job

I am also doing job in Ministry of na Water and na Power.....
I am very much interested to appear in CSS exam 2012.
Please recommend me either to do CSS with job or should leave the job........
One thing more...........
Either to join any academy or do self preparation...........
Friends, I will wait for your response..................................
Old Monday, May 23, 2011
40th CTP (MLCG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason:

Suman is a jewel in the roughSuman is a jewel in the roughSuman is a jewel in the roughSuman is a jewel in the rough

@ Ali Bodla
well bro it depends on ur choice.for css preparation u should study atleast for 6-7 hours a day.if u can manage this time with job u can prepare for exam along with ur job.infact concentration matters more for preparation than how many hours u study.
for ur second question it is also ur choice.but guidance is must for this exam in my opinion.this forum will also provide u alot of guidance.don't rely on the academies only they will provide u only guideline.if u need it go for one otherwise u can prepare well at home.
Good luck
Old Tuesday, May 24, 2011

Malmeena Khan is a name known to allMalmeena Khan is a name known to allMalmeena Khan is a name known to allMalmeena Khan is a name known to allMalmeena Khan is a name known to allMalmeena Khan is a name known to all

Originally Posted by fitman View Post
AA all,

im a frsher comp engg and hired by a top class company of my domain. As my ultimate goal is PSP, being a punjab candidate i already know the competition im gona face.

Way1
sacrifice my comp engg degree. resign from job, stay home the whole day and keep on preparing as best as i can till a period of 20months to make sure i get into PSP in my initial attempt.
what if i make my way? till allocation i have to wait at home for a huge time will be frusterating too.
Drawback: its like burn all boats behind, if im hit with a bad luck despite of my determination then i may not pursue as a comp engg in field again.

Way2
Dont resign from this million$ precious job n for a period of 20months pursue css prep as part time. Seniors let me believe on this strategy if they think its do-able to study with a long job daily.

Brother i'm also on job as a lecturer at college doing both works, coz job supports me financially so i cant leave it. Allah Almighty will help us..
fitman (Thursday, May 26, 2011)
Old Wednesday, May 25, 2011
40th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 116

Scorpion86 will become famous soon enough

Same was the case with me..Electrical Engineering and a Multinational Teleco Company..I was abale to prepare in 8 months and had no problems what so ever.Its just that it would require more determination and hardwork..my suggestion,just dont leave your job, especially if this is your first attempt!
The Following User Says Thank You to Scorpion86 For This Useful Post:
fitman (Thursday, May 26, 2011)

xaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of light

Originally Posted by fitman View Post
AA all,

Way1

Way2

a simple real life example would make things clear on you.
CSS i not about studying for 20months. people even pas after 2 months' prep (though it's like being too optimistic, but it has worked for people)

There is a 38th Commoner Owais sahab. He tells that he used to do job 9pm-5pm, then do MBA in evening shift from Uni and then in night he used to study and he started prep just half a year ago. before exams, he took off for a week and prepared whole heartedly in that. So, it's not only time. but how smart you are in studying! So, no need to burn your boats. CSS ka kuch pta nahi. ap k marks toper wale hon magar Essay main aik number se fail ho jayen, if you knw what I mean.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to xaara~hussain For This Useful Post:
Abdussamad Chaudhary (Thursday, May 26, 2011), fitman (Thursday, May 26, 2011), Saqib Shah (Wednesday, May 25, 2011)

BOTANY is on a distinguished road

same is the case with me i m doing intership with M.PHILL,so i couldn't found anytime for preperation what i have to do? please help me kindly

xaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of light

Originally Posted by BOTANY View Post
same is the case with me i m doing intership with M.PHILL,so i couldn't found anytime for preperation what i have to do? please help me kindly
it's all about time management.
Once you are settled down with your decision, go for it.
You ave plenty of time to appear in CE 2012.
daily 3 hours would be very decent amount of time for you to prepare.
the point is to be smart and precise in studying!
Old Thursday, May 26, 2011

fitman is on a distinguished road
Default @maliasghar, plz rply this

thx 2 all.

i wish maliasghar reply my query also. coudnt manage to get him on this thread. so sir plz reply...