06:24 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Saturday, October 01, 2011

Jogezai is on a distinguished road
Default Seniors view and advice required about my future.

Assalam o Alaikum
I have some serious concerns about my future regarding education and career. My humble request is to the seniors and to those who have already gone through this process before to give me an advice, the kind of advice which a brother/sister would give to his/her brother. I was feeling inefficient at making decisions so I came here. I have just done simple private B.A 2nd div this year of 2011 and my age is around 21 or maybe 22. I have an excellent educational base till secondary education. I am still very thankful to those institutions and teachers who evaluated and polished my skills and potentials. After that I became awaara and out of touch from my studies till B.A, I never attended a college and a university and I strongly regret about the mistakes I made these previous years. But like they say “ DAIR AYE DURUST AYE” as I still have some time Inshallah. However I have good observational, analytical and expressive skills due the habit of reading and some social activities like mingling with tribals, bureaucrats and politicians since my childhood. But keeping in mind that I used the word good not excellent I feel I still need to work out a lot more on my skills and knowledge. So respected seniors ahead of me there lies two options to start the journey to the objective that I want to achieve are: 1. To start preparation of competitive examination or apply everywhere I see an advertisement and use whatever capacity my brain has and take chances and forget about further education like we say Allah Malik Hai koi na koi jugaarh lag jaye ga OR 2. Forget about any superior examinations presently, find a good institution, do MSc or maybe more in the relative subject like IR or defence studies as I am fond of social sciences and defence/military subjects and groom myself further to the perfection and maturity. And then maybe CSS or any other service as I would be having more skills, knowledge and probability than present.
Your keenly mature advice and help is heartedly appreciated.
Thank You.
41st CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit 139

sajidnuml is a jewel in the roughsajidnuml is a jewel in the roughsajidnuml is a jewel in the roughsajidnuml is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by Jogezai View Post
Assalam o Alaikum
I have some serious concerns about my future regarding education and career. My humble request is to the seniors and to those who have already gone through this process before to give me an advice, the kind of advice which a brother/sister would give to his/her brother. I was feeling inefficient at making decisions so I came here. I have just done simple private B.A 2nd div this year of 2011 and my age is around 21 or maybe 22. I have an excellent educational base till secondary education. I am still very thankful to those institutions and teachers who evaluated and polished my skills and potentials. After that I became awaara and out of touch from my studies till B.A, I never attended a college and a university and I strongly regret about the mistakes I made these previous years. But like they say “ DAIR AYE DURUST AYE” as I still have some time Inshallah. However I have good observational, analytical and expressive skills due the habit of reading and some social activities like mingling with tribals, bureaucrats and politicians since my childhood. But keeping in mind that I used the word good not excellent I feel I still need to work out a lot more on my skills and knowledge. So respected seniors ahead of me there lies two options to start the journey to the objective that I want to achieve are: 1. To start preparation of competitive examination or apply everywhere I see an advertisement and use whatever capacity my brain has and take chances and forget about further education like we say Allah Malik Hai koi na koi jugaarh lag jaye ga OR 2. Forget about any superior examinations presently, find a good institution, do MSc or maybe more in the relative subject like IR or defence studies as I am fond of social sciences and defence/military subjects and groom myself further to the perfection and maturity. And then maybe CSS or any other service as I would be having more skills, knowledge and probability than present.
Thank You.
2nd Option appears to the best. Go for it, you will never regret the decision. Good luck with your social sciences I am fond of them.
Jogezai (Saturday, October 01, 2011)
40th CTP (MLCG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason:

Suman is a jewel in the roughSuman is a jewel in the roughSuman is a jewel in the roughSuman is a jewel in the rough

Wallaikum assalam

first continue your studies and after doing MSc in your choice of subject then go for competetive exam as you are quite young and have plenty of time to achieve both targets.so start working hard and don't regret over past but learn from it so that you don't have to regret in future.

Good luck.

Default Still waiting for some more of your advice

THanks Suman and sajid for putting your positive and helpfull views.

I am expecting and waiting for some more views so that i could compare and and make it accurate. please seniors contribute !

Samina Malik will become famous soon enough

Go for MSc,studies are more important than any kind of job or activity.
Of course you can prepare for any exam i.e CSS during your studies...like many people out there but don't ever compromise on studies...As studies will never let you down in any way.
Best of luck.

Bozdar Iqbal will become famous soon enough
Above all advices are good for you,first do Master and then prepare for CSS,while doing master in Uni your capabilty will increase more and MashaAllah from your above passage it is clear that you have good ability.i also suggest you apply for different jobs in fpsc from now...

Thank you so much for you sincere view and responce Samina and Bozdar.

Faisal86 will become famous soon enough

I would differ here with the opinion of many of my fellows here who suggested to go for Masters first rather than focusing on competitive examination so far. The reason being that there is a great deal of difference between the pattern of any test conducted by any University and the exams held under any Competitive Examination Board. The former, if reputed it be, just demands required attendance and the memorization of 10 to 15 topics, no matter how randomly one puts in most cases, to reach the level of obtaining of any degree. The latter, whereas, looks for full devotion and hardwork on the part of candidate to be able to go through their process of selection.

Therefore, it's a misperception, I feel, if one thinks that having Masters degree at his/her disposal would be fruitful to take oneself to the calibre of talented students. Moreover, your Masters degree would help you not in more than a single subject out of 12 as is the case with CSS. This mean to say that you shall have to work for the remaining 11 subjects after your two years of Masters program, if you desire to be a CSS aspirant. And the record of qualified candidates of CSS suggest that most of the time the students appear with wholly new subjects. The recent topper in Balochistan is the prominent example varifying this fact. He was a gold medalist in Physics from QAU but he abstained from appearing with Physics in 2009.

Brother this does not mean to say that you should give up the idea of doing Masters. What I am trying to convey is that do earn a Masters degree for yourself but appear as a private candidate. However, your main objective, if CSS it is, than you should take a smart decision.

Devote yourself whole heartedly for the preparation of CSS without wasting the time to get a Masters degree. And do it right now. Take 2 years or 3 years to achieve the aptitude for CSS but don't travel on two boats simultaneously.

Nevertheless, the final decision rests with you. Concentrate on all the parameters. Do evaluate the time and strength before plunging into the ultimate decision. Best of Luck.
The Following User Says Thank You to Faisal86 For This Useful Post:

SARFRAZ KHAN SIAL is on a distinguished road

I also have the same views as mr.faisal have
wish you best of luck
Old Sunday, October 02, 2011

basitpasha is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Jogezai View Post
Assalam o Alaikum
Thank You.
Before we come to a decision, you should first think what your heart says.
We can not suggest you anything and we should not suggest you anything without keeping your pesonal interests in mind.
If your heart says, Competative exams is the best option for you , for this time, you should go for it. If you want to say further, that will be also good for your if you have interest.