02:07 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Tuesday, June 11, 2013

bathoor is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by ayeshha View Post
I think it is useless even to think about age relaxation.
Ayesha atleast join us on Skype as you people are not even able to come online and talk about it directly. Ofcourse it becomes a far cry once we sit and do nothing about it.

@All: Please join us. Next meeting will be held on Friday 10 PM InshaAllah. You people are requested to join us.

P.S. No offense please

Last edited by Z Bokhari; Tuesday, June 11, 2013 at 03:11 PM. Reason: correction

Code Decode is on a distinguished road
Default Suggested Roadmap. Kindly consider this.

Salam to all brother's and sister's. This is my obedient suggestion to respectable Age relaxation thread members in the form of a suggested road map (Beta Version). You may agree or disagree with me. Kindly initiate your idea's also since we all are here for the same common cause. Positive and healthy critique always welcomed but we all must have to take some concrete fruitful steps now since the time is running and running and running. If one must need age relaxation suggest some road map or plan of action otherwise must consider my suggestion below. Here i also want to mention that i was observing this thread from it's inception and here i want to appreciate Mr. Asif Amin, Mr Raees, Scorpion King, Do the Due, Mystic, Xplodec, bathoor and all the other contributor's (sorry if you did something and i am not mentioning your name) who contributed to this cause in their ways. Hats off to you all.

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Code Decode For This Useful Post:
bathoor (Tuesday, June 11, 2013), Qaisar Jamshed (Thursday, June 13, 2013), scorpion king (Friday, June 14, 2013), syedzafar (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), urfa khan (Wednesday, June 12, 2013)

bathoor is on a distinguished road

@Code Decode: Your suggestion is very good. But you must join us on skype. So far we are 7-8 candidates on skype for the same cause. Need more of them to strategize and take actions. You are also invited
The Following User Says Thank You to bathoor For This Useful Post:
Code Decode (Wednesday, June 12, 2013)

xplodec is on a distinguished road

@Code Decode:

I, like other members, appreciate the soundness of your arguments. It is a good omen that coordination among the aspirants is being emphasized as the cornerstone of the struggle. In order to initiate this coordination and to make it productive and result oriented, we have established a discussion forum at Skype. Yesterday, we tried to discuss the issue in its entirety and received encouraging response as far as its way forward is concerned.

We are again meeting over Skype on Friday at 9:30 pm onwards.

I am requesting all aspirants please join us at Skype.

All aspirants, whether junior or senior, are encouraged to present their point of view and possible solutions. Every decision will be taken unanimously.

Please Join:
Skype id:

Last edited by Shooting Star; Tuesday, June 11, 2013 at 07:52 PM. Reason: Share contact info. through your profile only.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to xplodec For This Useful Post:
Code Decode (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), Syeda Tehreem Rizvi (Thursday, June 13, 2013)

Gul Khan is on a distinguished road
Default Appeal for revival of upper age limit of css

Dear Fellows AOA,One of my friends has dispatched the below letter to the PM and his team.I would request all of you to follow the same pattern and write it to the quarter concerened as time is short.Does common sense cosider it feasible that below 21 years of age aspirants would be able to take CSS exam so be active and immediately dispatch the letters to the relevant authorities.

To
The Honorable Prime Minister
Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif Sb.
Islamic Republic of Pakistan
Islamabad.

SUBJECT: APPEAL FOR REVIVAL OF UPPER AGE LIMIT OF CSS
EXAMINATION.
Honorable Sir,
With due reverence, I intend to procure your good attention on the above cited subject but prior to it I would like to congratulate your good self on gaining the brilliant success in general elections-2013 and humbly pray to Almighty Allah to enable you and your good team to bring this country out of the prevailing chaos. It was the greatest desire of the youth of middle class families to have a dynamic and charismatic leadership in the country who can pay a heed to their legitimate demand and fortunately the day of 11th May, 2013 provided us a ray of hope.
The coup of 1999 not only demolished the democratic structure of the country but also shattered the dreams of thousands of aspirants of Civil Service of Pakistan who intend to serve the country by taking CSS examination. The upper age limit for taking CSS examination prior of CSS-2001 was 30 years for general candidates, 33 years for the candidates belonging to backward areas and 35 years for those having 02 years continuous government service. But unfortunately, former military ruler General(R) Pervez Musharaf through an ordinance abruptly lowered the upper age limit to 28 years for general candidates and 30 years for backward areas candidates including government servants having minimum 02 years continuous service in the year 2000, which has been in force since CSS-2001 till now. The lowering of age had hit hard those belonging to the lower middle and middle class segments of society. The severe economic hardships of candidates belonging to this segment of society after graduation/post graduation compels them to have an honorable earnings as their top priority in order to sustain their families and it becomes very difficult for them to spare time and energies to take part in the competitive examination.
The transition from dictatorship to democratic rule in 2008 provided a sigh of relief to the hardworking and talented youth but to their dismay the former PM Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani himself twice rejected the summaries for increasing the age limit of CSS examination. However, PPP government on the recommendation of Senate Standing Committee only granted five years age relaxation for recruitment to all the posts except through CSS examination which is a clear negation of Article 25 of the constitution of our country. Since then, the aspirants of Civil Service of Pakistan have been continuously demanding through print media and in the form of appeals to the former PM Syed Yousaf Raza Gilani to repeal the dictator’s irrational decision but of no avail.
The worthy Prime Minister, it is pertinent to mention here that the age limit for taking similar examinations in the South Asian countries including India and Bangladesh is 30-35 years. The United Nations Competitive Examination also grants an opportunity to the aspirants all over the world up to 32 years of age and even among the developed countries such as USA there is no such bar of age and any one can be a part of Civil Services on the basis of his/her academic credentials.
The Federal Public Service Commission Director (Research) in 2009 informed the passing graduates at the University of Agriculture Faisalabad that the FPSC has recommended to the government to grant 05 years age relaxation for CSS examination but with the qualifications of Master instead of Bachelor level and this policy would be effective from CE-2011 but the unfortunately policy never materialized.
At last, I would humbly request to your good self to pay a patience look into legitimate demand of the talented and hard working youth of the middle class families by reviving the age limit of 30-35 years as it used to be prior of CE-2001. The newly elected government has to approve CE-2014 age relaxation policy and I am optimistic it will certainly provide a relief to all the aspirants of middle class families so that the maximum number of aspirants can take CSS examination and enjoy the fruits of democracy.
Yours Obediently

CC:
1. The Honorable Chief Minister Govt. of Punjab Main Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif Sb.
2. The Honorable Senator Raja Zafar-ul-Haq Sb.
3. The Honorable Federal Minister of Finance Ishaq Dar Sb.
4. The Honorable Federal Minister of Information & Broad Costing Pervez Rasheed Sb.
5. The Honorable Federal Minister of Anterior Chauhdary Nisar Khan Sb.
6. The Honorable Federal Minister of Water & Power Development Authority Khawaja Asif Sb.
7. The Honorable Federal Minister of Pakistan Planning & Development Ahsan Iqbal Sb.
8. The Honorable Federal Minister of Pakistan Railways Saad Rafique Sb.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Gul Khan For This Useful Post:
ayeshha (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), bathoor (Thursday, June 13, 2013), Code Decode (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), Hope of success (Monday, June 17, 2013), jahangeerkhan2000 (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), mohsinali303 (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), Muzzamil (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), Qaisar Jamshed (Thursday, June 13, 2013), Syeda Tehreem Rizvi (Thursday, June 13, 2013), xzzlingsidd (Thursday, June 13, 2013)
Old Wednesday, June 12, 2013

sadaf ambreen is on a distinguished road

its only fpsc drama as bachelors is required and 2 years bachelors is acquired mostly at the age of 20 years and 4 years bachelors at 22 years. previously the minimum age was 21 years so 1 year won't make any difference.
FPSC ne humari 7 naslon per jo ehsaan kia he minimum age limit khatam kr k thats meaningless

writing letters, making tweets to politicians/ high ups or even meeting them wont help. print media wont help. until/unless something appears on tv news nothing would happen. some protest/ some hunger strike/some movement with black ribbon on arms would help to wake up the high ups. otherwise keep sending millions of letters, unless the general public see your efforts for cause nothing would happen.
people are protesting against load shedding not writing letters to PM.
young doctors protest , laborers protest. no one of these wrote letters
people who cant gather on skype for a cause, how will they unite against fpsc

Last edited by Z Bokhari; Wednesday, June 12, 2013 at 12:16 PM. Reason: merged
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to sadaf ambreen For This Useful Post:
ayeshha (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), dms664 (Friday, June 14, 2013), Gul Khan (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), jahangeerkhan2000 (Wednesday, June 12, 2013), Waqas77 (Saturday, June 15, 2013)

Gul Khan is on a distinguished road
Default CSS Age Relaxation.

Dear Fellows AOA, I have been in touch with various persons of media and one of them have contributed in the form of below mentioned article in The Nation 1st June ,2012 & The News on 31st May,2012.
Take care.
The Following User Says Thank You to Gul Khan For This Useful Post:
bathoor (Thursday, June 13, 2013)

xplodec is on a distinguished road

@Gul Khan:

I am very pleased that storms are steering the ships. Giving up hopes and efforts would be, certainly and unavoidably, a dilemma. Now the FPSC is in news, being criticized over its ill conceived decisions. It is a high time for advancing with a new zeal and enthusiasm.

You have done a wonderful job. It must be appreciated. I, being an ordinary member of this forum and age relaxation striver, request everyone for writing letters to all high-ups in the government, bureaucracy, judiciary, and print media on consistent basis.

This activity must be done by every member at least twice a month as consistency of the activity is very important.

I also have written a letter to the selective sitting senators. Everyone is at liberty to use its or Gul Khan’s letter references with modifications. However, it would be wise that each letter should address the issue with another angle.

I am also writing a detailed letter to the print media I hope it would be published soon.

@ All

Once again, I am inviting you for joining us at Skype. Only one member or a small group of a few members, despite having potential and desire, cannot turn the table. This task requires coordinated and consistent efforts. Those candidates who are writing letters or approaching the government high-ups should not be discouraged. Notwithstanding, there is no free lunch in business; everyone has to move a head shoulder-to-shoulder.

Please join us at Skype: next meeting is going to be held on Friday at 9:30 pm.

Honorable Senator:
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx,
Islamabad, Pakistan.

Dear Sir:

Subject: victimization with the potential CSS candidates over illegitimate age restriction

I am writing this letter on behalf of thousands of those potential CSS candidates who were disqualified in the last decade from taking part in the competitive examination as they had crossed maximum age limit of 28 years. The maximum 28 years of age restriction, for participating in the competitive examination, was enacted by former President Pervez Musharraf in 2001, on the pretext of bringing young blood in the bureaucracy. Prior to this decision, the maximum age limit was restricted at 30 years.

At that time this decision seemed appropriate as all universities were awarding only two years graduation degree; consequently, candidates had ample time for preparation and utilization of their three chances. However, much has changed since that time. Now almost all universities are awarding four years graduation degree, instead of two years. Therefore, candidates have lesser time for preparing themselves for this prestigious examination, and most importantly, they have almost negligible chances to avail all three opportunities. They hardly make one or two attempts and come to know that they have crossed 28 years of age, hence they are disqualified.

The Federal Public Service Commission has consistently commented on deteriorating standard of education in the country and difficulty in attracting competitive candidates. For this purpose, former chairman FPSC, Rana Bhagwandas, approached Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gliani and moved age relaxation up to 30 years summaries twice. Unfortunately, the PM turned them down on the pretext of old argument: ‘bringing young blood in the bureaucracy.’ (Ref# 1; Page # 3)

The argument of ‘young blood’ is also not legitimate if examined in the light of available demographic statistics of Pakistan. It is agreed that majority of the population of Pakistan is composed of youth; how many graduates among them and their age structure should be considered before making such policy decisions. According to UNESCO, majority of graduates are in the age cohort 25-35. (Ref# 2; Page # 4)

It is also very interesting to note that the same Prime Minister who turned down the CSS age extension summery to 30 from 28 years of age, himself awarded five years general age relaxation for all federal jobs (BPS-17-21) in 2011. It is quite discouraging and permeating a sense of victimization among potential CSS candidates; the BPS-17 ex-cadre is given 5 years general age relaxation up to the age of 35 years, but CSS is even not granted 2 years legitimate relaxation up to 30 years of age.

It is agreed that it is a competitive examination which should be governed under strict rules; notwithstanding, what the rules will do if they are meant to set aside potential competitive candidates. If something wrong was done in the past, its sustenance in the present would not make it right. Moreover, in all South Asian countries, except Pakistan, the maximum age for participating in the competitive examinations is 30 years, not 28 years.

Majority of CSS candidates belong to middle and lower middle class families. They have to continue their studies while supplementing their family income. When they decide to take part in this competitive examination, they not only have to work hard but also have to resign from their jobs for its preparation. Ask any second candidate and he will tell that he had to remain jobless throughout the year in which he was preparing himself for the competitive examination. They hardly avail one or two chances and come to know that they are debarred from this race due to 28 years illegitimate age restriction. They become frustrated as their numerous sleepless nights, while they were preparing for it, brings nothing, except futility.

To whom they complain! At whose door they knock! They are poor. They do not enjoy the liberty of approaching the Supreme Court due to financial constraints. If the maximum age limit is extended to 30 years of age, which is a longstanding demand, and they still become unsuccessful in their all three attempts, then they will focus on their shortcomings instead of blaming the prestigious institutions their whole life.

Now this is a high time to raise this matter again with the new Prime Minister on the grounds of changed circumstances and arguments. Maximum age limit for participation in CSS examination should be extended to 30 years of age for those who have acquired 16 years of education or masters degree; 28 years of maximum age restriction should be enacted for those who have acquired 2 years graduation degree or 14 years of education. (Ref# 3 Page # 4)

We have trust in your authority and we hope that initiations form your side will bring back this issue in the mainstream. We hope that your high authority will certainly not tolerate such injustices and play its part in reversing the maximum age limit for participation in CSS examinations to its previous level i.e. 30 years of age. We expect that due to your sincere efforts, we will soon hear that the honorable Senate is going to discuss the issue asking the FPSC about the matter.

It is also pertinent to mention here that in 2010, Senator Haji Ghulam Ali raised the issue, but unfortunately, it was set aside on the basis of illegitimate ‘young blood’ like arguments which were contradicted by the former PM himself by awarding 35 years of general age relaxation to all federal jobs.

We are ordinary people having no approach to the power corridors; you are our only hope. Your prompt action will enable numerous potential over-aged candidates to come out from the state of despair and take active part in making their as well as this country’s future bright.

It is concluded with the hope that your efforts will enable us to take part in the CE-2014.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx,
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.

Enclosures: References
Cc: the PM, pm secretariat, Islamabad
Secretary, Establishment Division, ISBD
Secretary, FPSC, ISBD

(Reference # 01)
http://www.thenews.com.pk/Todays-New...-of-candidates
(Reference # 02)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Education_in_Pakistan
(Reference # 03)
http://archives.dawn.com/archives/136097
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to xplodec For This Useful Post:
bathoor (Thursday, June 13, 2013), Syeda Tehreem Rizvi (Thursday, June 13, 2013), Waqas77 (Saturday, June 15, 2013)
Old Thursday, June 13, 2013

aneela insha is on a distinguished road
Unhappy css/pms age relaxation

After coming news in Jang Newspaper of css age limit by Chairman of FPSC, can we hope of css age relaxation ??????? Because he give very clear cut statement that age limit will remain 28 years. AB KIA HOGA..... It means hum hope chor dy ????? so sad..........
Old Thursday, June 13, 2013

mohsinali303 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by aneela insha View Post
After coming news in Jang Newspaper of css age limit by Chairman of FPSC, can we hope of css age relaxation ??????? Because he give very clear cut statement that age limit will remain 28 years. AB KIA HOGA..... It means hum hope chor dy ????? so sad..........
Today IHC has summoned FPSC lets see,hope for best

sonu malik