03:09 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Tuesday, June 12, 2012
EiNstEiN

Umer is a name known to allUmer is a name known to allUmer is a name known to allUmer is a name known to allUmer is a name known to allUmer is a name known to all

Luck in CSS can get you passing marks, but luck can't get you among toppers who are most likely to get allocated.
You might score some marks in MCQ's portion of the paper trying your luck, you might have prepared 10 topics and major portion of the paper luckily is related to those 10 topics, but can luck get you whole 60/100 marks? Never ever in my opinion.
You have to earn 55 marks yourself and luck might favor you in reaching to 60 marks.
The Following User Says Thank You to Umer For This Useful Post:
samia fakhar (Friday, June 15, 2012)
Old Wednesday, June 13, 2012
43rd CTP (PAS)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Merit 13

Thanked 1,551 Times in 674 Posts
Bilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to beholdBilal Hassan is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by Malmeena Khan View Post
How can you mix up the meanings of luck with Tukka. Tukka is something else. CSS examination is not an objective paper that can be solved by tukka, it all depends on hard work. No doubt luck plays an important role but merely in a case.

If you say so then it means that all those aspirants who succeeded in CSS, made a tukka. That is named thier mere luck ?
well malmeena to inform you, this is not my opinion, people take luck and tukka as synonyms...this is what people think which just undermine the potential of CSPs as well as their talents which gets them through...see it is not a dice game when you roll the dice and keep your fingers crossed to have good results, this is what people call luck and tukka...got it...i also am against this luck factor in CSS...
Originally Posted by Gulrukh View Post
There is no tuka and luck factor in CSS.Atleast in my case I got what I deserved.just WORK HARD..you'll get reward.
yup this is exactly what i mean, there is nothing like luck and tukka in CSS..you can be lucky enough to get through in an essay paper by securing 40 marks as even a 1 mark short will seal your fate but you cannot come off with flying colors in all 12 papers and then viva and allocation, it is all ALLAH's blessing and your true potential..that's all..
Originally Posted by mukt View Post
There is no such thing as "LUCK" in CSS, LUCK is a fantastic word often used as a defense mechanism in order to achieve self satisfaction -- That's just what I think, I can be wrong, but that's how I see it
Thank you mukt for seconding me....i also believe that there is no such thing in CSS atleast...
Originally Posted by Umer View Post
Luck in CSS can get you passing marks, but luck can't get you among toppers who are most likely to get allocated.
You might score some marks in MCQ's portion of the paper trying your luck, you might have prepared 10 topics and major portion of the paper luckily is related to those 10 topics, but can luck get you whole 60/100 marks? Never ever in my opinion.
You have to earn 55 marks yourself and luck might favor you in reaching to 60 marks.
yes Umer bhai this is exactly what i meant, we just disgrace the people who qualify and get allocation by calling it a win that is gained by chance...
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,339 Times in 1,259 Posts
Maha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud ofMaha Khan has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by Bilal Hassan View Post
Dear all,
since iv'e joined the forum, iv'e been listening a lot about the element of luck in one's success in this most prestigious exam. there would be many who would disagree with me but truth be told...there are 12 papers in CSS, then psychological assessment and ultimately viva voce and even one is not sure of his success until he/she gets the final allocation...the other name of luck is "TUKKA" so it means that one who goes through all these stages and successfully pulls off in the end been able to do so by mere good luck...
Don't you guys think that we underestimate somebody's hard won accomplishment by calling it tukka...??? is it justified?...it is not like a shot in the dark, one strives for that and strives hard...kindly comment on that without being prejudiced...
i think first of all it is ALLAH's blessing then our hardwork and that's all..no more than that...
CSS is a matter of hardwork not luck..
szkhan05 (Monday, July 16, 2012)

Thanked 1,122 Times in 674 Posts
mhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by Bilal Hassan View Post
Dear all,
since iv'e joined the forum, iv'e been listening a lot about the element of luck in one's success in this most prestigious exam. there would be many who would disagree with me but truth be told...there are 12 papers in CSS, then psychological assessment and ultimately viva voce and even one is not sure of his success until he/she gets the final allocation...the other name of luck is "TUKKA" so it means that one who goes through all these stages and successfully pulls off in the end been able to do so by mere good luck...
Don't you guys think that we underestimate somebody's hard won accomplishment by calling it tukka...??? is it justified?...it is not like a shot in the dark, one strives for that and strives hard...kindly comment on that without being prejudiced...
i think first of all it is ALLAH's blessing then our hardwork and that's all..no more than that...
Luck kee zarurat to zindagi ke har qadam pe parti hai chahe karobar ho chahe rozgar ho yaa chahe do mulkon ke darmian jang ho magar karobar bhi karna parta hai aur rozgar bhi aur jang bhi larni parti hai tabhi jeet milti hai . insan har kaam ke liye aik strategy banata hai aur us strategy ke kamyab yaa nakam hone kaa daromadar luck pe hai, yehi kuch CSS ke saath bhi hai

Atif Supermacy will become famous soon enough

harkat mai barkat hoti hai...so if you work hard it will going to be your lucky day at your exam...

Nazi Orakzai will become famous soon enough

LUCK count much....
I can prove it...
for example, a person "A" has opted sociology,journalism,islamic history, Public Ad. and IR as his/her optional... "A" is very hardworking and has throughout remained topper....

Person "B" opts political science,const. law,forestry ,indo pak history etc...Whereas this guy is an average student..comparatively less hardworking than person "A"...

Now,if scoring trend goes in favor of person "B" and the subjects which he has opted prove much scoring than person "A" ???than???
So,its hard work or luck???????

DMC of a guy who secured 109 position overall (Pakistan)(few years back) ,i do not want to mention his name...but i am mentioning his dmc....His score : english essay 40, composition 42, eds 42, etc etc ...while his score in optional isl history 88-77 ,sindhi 88, etc etc ....only these 3 subjects paved his way for fsp.....hahahaha.... similarly,i can mention a number of examples where talented and genious students got failed by 2 or three marks while their score exceeded 730 -740.....Luck or not?????/ However, we cannot wholey soley neglect the importance of hard work...On the whole,the share of luck is much greater than hard work..tc taataa...

mukt will become famous soon enoughmukt will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Nazi Orakzai View Post
LUCK count much....
I can prove it...
for example, a person "A" has opted sociology,journalism,islamic history, Public Ad. and IR as his/her optional... "A" is very hardworking and has throughout remained topper....

Person "B" opts political science,const. law,forestry ,indo pak history etc...Whereas this guy is an average student..comparatively less hardworking than person "A"...

Now,if scoring trend goes in favor of person "B" and the subjects which he has opted prove much scoring than person "A" ???than???
So,its hard work or luck???????

DMC of a guy who secured 109 position overall (Pakistan)(few years back) ,i do not want to mention his name...but i am mentioning his dmc....His score : english essay 40, composition 42, eds 42, etc etc ...while his score in optional isl history 88-77 ,sindhi 88, etc etc ....only these 3 subjects paved his way for fsp.....hahahaha.... similarly,i can mention a number of examples where talented and genious students got failed by 2 or three marks while their score exceeded 730 -740.....Luck or not?????/ However, we cannot wholey soley neglect the importance of hard work...On the whole,the share of luck is much greater than hard work..tc taataa...
I seriously don't believe the "scoring" and "non scoring" story. It is again just all for self satisfaction which is merely a defense mechanism. If you write the answers properly and correctly then you will obviously get good marks. The examiner has nothing personal with you so he/she has no good reason for reducing your marks, he/she will award you marks according to the material you have written and obviously the way you have presented it.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mukt For This Useful Post:
azure (Thursday, June 14, 2012), Malmeena Khan (Wednesday, June 13, 2012)

alimanzoor10 is on a distinguished road

Luck is not only associated with CSS it is related to our life as a whole.If one belongs to the category of 'lucky ones' it is sure to get through in life smoothly .we all have have this experience in our lives that some people achieve great achievements with a little handwork,other work very hard and get little .it is the level of luck that makes the difference between these two people.

The mysterious power that is called luck cant be eliminated from our life even if we deny to accept it.

YaSiRzUlFiQaR is on a distinguished road
Default Luck Factor

Its all about your ability which matters in thick and thin.

Nazi Orakzai will become famous soon enough
Thumbs down

Originally Posted by mukt View Post
I seriously don't believe the "scoring" and "non scoring" story. It is again just all for self satisfaction which is merely a defense mechanism. If you write the answers properly and correctly then you will obviously get good marks. The examiner has nothing personal with you so he/she has no good reason for reducing your marks, he/she will award you marks according to the material you have written and obviously the way you have presented it.
Dear you don't believe the scoring and non scoring...its your view..i cant impose mine on you..but its reality....Fpsc every year discourage some subjects while encourage others -maintain balance by high and low scoring criteria.....