-   CSS Competitive Examination (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/css-competitive-examination/)
-   -   Departmental permission certificate (dpc) (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/css-competitive-examination/72151-departmental-permission-certificate-dpc.html)

courageneverdies Tuesday, December 11, 2012 07:59 PM

Departmental permission certificate (dpc)

[B][SIZE="3"]WHAT IS THE DEPARTMENTAL PERMISSION CERTIFICATE?[/SIZE][/B]

This is basically a ‘No Objection Certificate’ from the parent department of a candidate already in government service to appear in a competitive examination for a post of BS-16 or above (including CSS and S.O. promotional examination) advertised by the Federal Public Service Commission. The form can be downloaded from the following link:

[url]http://www.fpsc.gov.pk/icms/admin/documents/forms/DPC%20Form.pdf[/url]

[B][SIZE="3"]WHO SHOULD SUBMIT THE DEPARTMENTAL PERMISSION CERTIFICATE?[/SIZE][/B]

The candidates who are serving under Federal / Provincial / Semi-Government / Government / Corporation / Autonomous departments, holding temporary / permanent / adhoc / contract / daily wages post are required, as per Rules, to submit the Departmental Permission Certificate from their respective department along with their application form for CSS or any post of BPS-16 or above advertised by the Federal Public Service Commission (FPSC).

[B][SIZE="3"]WHY SUBMIT THE D.P.C.?[/SIZE][/B]

Submission of D.P.C. ensures the following:

1. The parent department shall be bound to relieve the candidate upon selection. In case, the candidate has not submitted the DPC, the department reserves the right to not relieve the candidate and even initiate disciplinary proceedings.

2. Submission of DPC is a must for the proper channel application procedure. This procedure ensures the safety of the already payable pay and perks of a government servant.

[Example: A person served 3 years in BPS-16 at a government department. His pays, allowances and other perks would be more than the initial pay admissible to BPS-17 CSP. DPC ensures that the pay the candidate would get after selection is not less than the one he is drawing.]

3. Calculation and Continuation of Service: DPC ensures that the period a government servant served in the department is not wasted. This tenure shall be calculated in his total service afterwards.

4. Pension Contribution: On completion of service, superannuation or voluntary retirement, the department, in which the candidate would have initially served, shall provide the pension contribution.

[B][SIZE="3"]WHAT DO THE RULES SAY?[/SIZE][/B]

Estacode 2007 provides a detail discussion on this issue. Kindly refer Chapter III – Transfer, Postings and Deputations, Sl. No. 20 onwards. Excerpts of these rules are given hereunder:

[QUOTE]
Page 387 - Sl. No. 20

[B]Right of Government Servants to Apply for Higher Posts in Other Offices[/B]

It has been decided that normally officials appointed to a *grade, either by promotion or by direct recruitment should :-

(a) not be considered for appointment to, and
(b) not be allowed to apply for

posts in other offices of government or of statutory bodies to a *grade carrying a higher *grade, till they have rendered an appreciable length of service in the former grade*.

2. This ban will, however, not apply to-

(i) Appointments made through the Federal Public Service Commission or the Central Selection Board;

(ii) Posts within the normal promotion prospects of the government servant concerned, e.g., the posts of Section Officers in the case of Superintendents of the Federal Secretariat; and

(iii) Purely temporary government servants who are not likely to be employed permanently in the office, Ministry, Division, Service or cadre in which they are employed.

3. Departures from the above instructions should be made only in special cases.

4. Attention of all the Divisions is also invited to the fact that the Establishment Division administer the Civil Service of Pakistan*, the Police Service of Pakistan, the G.A.R.** (General Wing), the Economic Pool***, and the Section Officers' cadre. Therefore, cases relating to the deputation to other offices of the officers@ of these categories should not be made by the Division in which they are for the time being posted, but should be referred to the Establishment Division for disposal.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
* Now DMG.

** Means General Administrative Reserve. Not relevant now.

*** Not relevant now. There is an Economists and Planners Group as distinct from the Economic Pool (Sl. No. 5, Chapter 8). For Economic Pool, see O&M Establishment Manual Vol. I, O & M Wing, Estt. Division 1968, Chapter X, pages 445-457.

@ In the present context, it would mean officers of Secretariat Group, District Management Group (DMG) and Police Service of Pakistan(PSP), the three components of All Pakistan Unified Grades
-------------------------------------------------------------------------- [/QUOTE]

[QUOTE]

Page 388 - Sl. No. 22

[B]Appropriate Authority for Forwarding of Applications Through Proper Channel[/B]

The question has arisen as to what should be considered the appropriate authority for forwarding applications of the staff employed in a particular office. As only a responsible and fairly senior officer of a Division etc. is generally in a position to know the staff requirements of his Division, it has been decided, in consultation with the Federal Public Service Commission, that, in the case of a Ministry or a Division, the forwarding authority should be at least a Deputy Secretary and in the case of an Attached Department or a Subordinate Office, it should be the Head of the Department or Office, or an officer of rank equivalent to that of a Deputy Secretary designated by him.

[Authority.– Estt. Division O.M.No.50/1/48-Ests.(ME), dated 3-6-1948]. [/QUOTE]

[QUOTE]
Page 388 - Sl. No. 23

[B]Avoidance of Delay in Forwarding Applications of Government Servants to the F.P.S.C[/B]

Under the existing orders, all government servants, whether in Provincial or *Central Service, have to apply to the Federal Public Service Commission in connection with the examinations/selections held by them, through their respective Heads of Departments or Offices. The last date for the receipt of applications by the Commission is set down in the notice relating to every examination conducted by them and in the advertisements issued in connection with selections to be held by them.

2. The Federal Public Service Commission have pointed out that many such applications are received in their office long after the closing date, and have hitherto been entertained if the Commission were satisfied that candidates themselves were not at fault. The Commission are not prepared to continue this indulgence indefinitely and desire it to be made clear that in future late applications will not normally be accepted whatever the reason. It is, therefore, requested that care should be taken to see that applications of candidates who apply to the Federal Public Service Commission for the Central Superior and Ministerial Services examinations and selections are not delayed beyond the permitted date, since delay in future will not be condoned.

3. To deprive a candidate of his candidature by reason of a negligent omission to forward his application could be a serious act of irresponsibility.

* Federal.

[Authority.– Estt. Division letter No. 25/4/53-SE (I), dated 23-7-1953, to all Provincial Governments and Ministries of the * Central Government].
[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE]
Page 389 - Sl. No. 24

[B]Competitive Examinations/Selections Held by FPSC – Applications of Departmental Candidates[/B]

Reference.-Establishment Division's letter No.25/4/53-SEI, dated the 23rd July,1953 (Sl.No. 23). It has been reported by the F.P.S.C. that in several cases the applications from departmental candidates for the various competitive examinations/selections held by the F.P.S.C. are forwarded by the department concerned very late, without regard to the last date prescribed for receipt of applications announced by the Commission. To avoid that departmental delays, the Commission have decided that departmental delays in forwarding the applications of the departmental candidates will not normally be condoned. They will be condoned only in exceptional circumstances, which will be considered by the Commission on the merit of each case.

2. In view of what has been stated above, it will be very much appreciated if every possible effort is kindly made to ensure that applications from departmental candidates for appearing at the competitive examinations / selections held by the FPSC, are forwarded to the Commission by the due dates. In case of unavoidable delays reasons should please be recorded, otherwise applications received after the due dates will not be entertained by the Commission.
* Federal.

[Authority.– Estt. Division letter No. 8/4/60-E, XIV, dated 18-7-1960].
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
[/QUOTE]

[QUOTE]
Page 390 - Sl. No. 25

[B]Practice of Withholding/Forwarding of Applications of Departmental Candidates to FPSC[/B]

The practice of withholding applications initially and forwarding them at a late stage should also be discontinued as no departmental permission which is granted subsequently will be acceptable to the Commission.

[Authority:– Estt. Div.’s (Training Wing) O.M. No.1/l/84-TR-IV dated 18-6-1985]. [/QUOTE]

For further discussion, refer to the following threads:

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/css-competitive-examination/71972-service-candidates-2.html[/url]

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-datesheets-results/css-result-datesheet/css-2012-exam/58139-departmental-permission-certificate.html[/url]

mohsanfiaz Tuesday, December 11, 2012 08:54 PM

i am punjab govt. servant of BS-17 and i have applied online for CSS.i have a query here that whether we have sent DP along with CSS application or we can send it latter mean after closing date??????i have already move application for DP but it seems to me that it may take a long time

zeeshi361 Tuesday, December 11, 2012 08:59 PM

sir what is meant by the last para withholding applications ?

I have applied for NOC to my department for both the PMS CSS exams SEPARATELY in case if they get late in giving the nocs would my application be rejected , i am nervous about the fact what is my position even i get merit position will i not be selected

kppsc person told me to take out the noc page and if you get selected then you can ask for noc in the back date ,my CEO also told me the same

but I have applied through proper channel but I am worried if NOC is not given shall i then resign ?? can be my application the eligible if in case my department does allow me for noc and i resign from my current post

courageneverdies Tuesday, December 11, 2012 09:01 PM

[QUOTE=mohsanfiaz;525610]i am punjab govt. servant of BS-17 and i have applied online for CSS.i have a query here that whether we have sent DP along with CSS application or we can send it latter mean after closing date??????i have already move application for DP but it seems to me that it may take a long time[/QUOTE]

Yes you can send the application form without DPC. Your department will forward the DPC to FPSC on their own or would hand it over to you. In case of later, you should as soon as possible dispatch the original after retaining a xeroxed copy for record. FPSC would ask for missing documents, if any, during the scrutiny of your application form.

[QUOTE=zeeshi361;525613]sir what is meant by the last para withholding applications ?

I have applied for NOC to my department for both the PMS CSS exams SEPARATELY in case if they get late in giving the nocs would my application be rejected , i am nervous about the fact what is my position even i get merit position will i not be selected

kppsc person told me to take out the noc page and if you get selected then you can ask for noc in the back date ,my CEO also told me the same

but I have applied through proper channel but I am worried if NOC is not given shall i then resign ?? can be my application the eligible if in case my department does allow me for noc and i resign from my current post[/QUOTE]

The last paragraph provides that some departments may initially withhold an application of a candidate but at a later stage forward it (government servants often send an advance copy of application and another through their department for proper channel). The reference is to those applications. Once a department decides as to whether forward or withhold the application of an employee would be considered final.

Your case is different. You shouldn't worry about it. I am sure you will be provided with the DPC. In practice, government departments usually permit their employees to appear in the competitive examination.

zeeshi361 Wednesday, December 12, 2012 04:55 PM

sir I frankly speaking my case is complex ,i made both applications for NOC through proper channel but my immediate senior in gr 19 is giving me departmental permission certificate

i cant understand becz i think only appointing authority can give NOC

hes making delay tactics ,like i asked me about my noc today so office person told me application has been tcs to your home address ,but i still have not got those applications

then upon my further inquiry they told application has come back becoz your home address was not complete

such kinds of thing, I just want to ask you that what should I do in such scenario ; i have left with very less time fr preparation ,our DG (appointing authority ) sits in rwlpindi , director sits in lahore , my station is in other city though my immediate senior has given NOC BUT HE IS IN 19 GRADE further i have not yet received my applications at home address

so what should I do , just concetrate at my studies at this time ?

if i get successfull in written exam then CAN I RESIGN from my current job in that case would still i required NOC ? or my application wold be rejected ??

courageneverdies Wednesday, December 12, 2012 05:34 PM

[QUOTE=zeeshi361;525922]sir I frankly speaking my case is complex ,i made both applications for NOC through proper channel but my immediate senior in gr 19 is giving me departmental permission certificate

i cant understand becz i think only appointing authority can give NOC

hes making delay tactics ,like i asked me about my noc today so office person told me application has been tcs to your home address ,but i still have not got those applications

then upon my further inquiry they told application has come back becoz your home address was not complete

such kinds of thing, I just want to ask you that what should I do in such scenario ; i have left with very less time fr preparation ,our DG (appointing authority ) sits in rwlpindi , director sits in lahore , my station is in other city though my immediate senior has given NOC BUT HE IS IN 19 GRADE further i have not yet received my applications at home address

so what should I do , just concetrate at my studies at this time ?

if i get successfull in written exam then CAN I RESIGN from my current job in that case would still i required NOC ? or my application wold be rejected ??[/QUOTE]

Is the DPC provided by your senior on the prescribed form? If yes, then simply submit it with your application. DO KEEP A COPY OF THE SAME FOR FUTURE REFERENCE AND RECORD. Your emphasis should be on your preparations. Give a damn to the officer who is hurdling the formal DPC. Once appointed InshaAllah they would not matter.

Once again concentrate on your preparations.

zeeshi361 Wednesday, December 12, 2012 07:46 PM

thanks a lot sir,yes he had filled the prescribed form which was to be filled and given to FPSC directly by the department
it was in the prescribed form to send it directly to FPSC ,which they are sending me instead , from last 6 days

but i am sure some hurdle will be made

after your advice I have left calling my office ,wasting time in thinking about the NOC , and just focusing on studies now if I got good marks and position FPSC would not reject me on simple NOC matter, they understand our system, I have now left this matter to Allah

secondly I have already submitted my applications ,in regional fpsc and kppsc ; i have not with me my applications right now to which i can attach NOC

Sulmanpk Tuesday, March 19, 2013 09:20 PM

Sir please tell me if an employee has not employed through proper channel then is there any rule allowing him to get relieving under special circumstances?

Crystal Doll Monday, June 10, 2013 12:55 PM

department permission letter format spsc

[QUOTE=courageneverdies;525587][B][SIZE="3"]WHAT IS THE DEPARTMENTAL PERMISSION CERTIFICATE?[/SIZE][/B]

This is basically a ‘No Objection Certificate’ from the parent department of a candidate already in government service to appear in a competitive examination for a post of BS-16 or above (including CSS and S.O. promotional examination) advertised by the Federal Public Service Commission. The form can be downloaded from the following link:

[B][SIZE="3"]WHO SHOULD SUBMIT THE DEPARTMENTAL PERMISSION CERTIFICATE?[/SIZE][/B]

The candidates who are serving under Federal / Provincial / Semi-Government / Government / Corporation / Autonomous departments, holding temporary / permanent / adhoc / contract / daily wages post are required, as per Rules, to submit the Departmental Permission Certificate from their respective department along with their application form for CSS or any post of BPS-16 or above advertised by the Federal Public Service Commission (FPSC).

1. The parent department shall be bound to relieve the candidate upon selection. In case, the candidate has not submitted the DPC, the department reserves the right to not relieve the candidate and even initiate disciplinary proceedings.

2. Submission of DPC is a must for the proper channel application procedure. This procedure ensures the safety of the already payable pay and perks of a government servant.

[Example: A person served 3 years in BPS-16 at a government department. His pays, allowances and other perks would be more than the initial pay admissible to BPS-17 CSP. DPC ensures that the pay the candidate would get after selection is not less than the one he is drawing.]

3. Calculation and Continuation of Service: DPC ensures that the period a government servant served in the department is not wasted. This tenure shall be calculated in his total service afterwards.

4. Pension Contribution: On completion of service, superannuation or voluntary retirement, the department, in which the candidate would have initially served, shall provide the pension contribution.

Estacode 2007 provides a detail discussion on this issue. Kindly refer Chapter III – Transfer, Postings and Deputations, Sl. No. 20 onwards. Excerpts of these rules are given hereunder:

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/css-competitive-examination/71972-service-candidates-2.html[/url]

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-datesheets-results/css-result-datesheet/css-2012-exam/58139-departmental-permission-certificate.html[/url]

Regards[/QUOTE]

Can you provide a link from where to download spsc department permission letter?

tanker Monday, June 10, 2013 11:42 PM

[QUOTE=courageneverdies;525587][B][SIZE="3"]WHAT IS THE DEPARTMENTAL PERMISSION CERTIFICATE?[/SIZE][/B]

Regards[/QUOTE]
sir ager koye govement department ma cleark hoe tou vo NOC submit kr va sakita hai or kya aus ke service count hoe ge CSS ma

09:42 AM (GMT +5)