03:29 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Wednesday, February 20, 2013

drfzaidi is on a distinguished road
Red face In need of sincere advice from seniors...

AoA!

Firstly, I must appreciate all the effort and hard work that's been put into this forum to make it an actual platform to give the CSS aspirants a true insight about what they're going to be dealing with... Kudos!

I've just started 4th year of my MBBS and am planning to write the CSS exam around 2015 (and ace it as well, inshaAllah!).

Now, the issues that are nagging me include the following:
1. I have ABSOLUTELY NO knowledge of politics.... I did study Indo-Pak history in F.Sc, but couldn't do justice with the constitutions' chapters...! So, how do you guys suggest I should study for current affairs and pakistan affairs?? I suppose I'd have to begin from the very scratch to build up a foundation, furthermore, what books and era should i start my study from?

2. Since I'm a novice at politics, I've already ruled out the optional subjects that have even the tiniest tinge of politics in them.... So, i have decided following to be my optional subjects:

- zoology
- islamic history and culture
- agriculture
- stats

Agriculture and Stats are indeed new for me, but nothing i won't be able to manage cuz they're easy - atleast they seemed to be when i looked up the past papers... I could solve quite a couple of mcqs - something that boosted me up... And since I'm a science person, I'm positive I'll be able to ace them...
I'm confident about this combo of optional subjects, but need my seniors to guide me if there's something I have overlooked, or missed...

3. Just for the sake of confirmation, have medical doctors been banned from taking the CSS exam? A guy from my class said that, so I was just wondering...

That's it for now, I'll keep bugging my seniors for their help and guidance every now and then, so please bear with me...

Awaiting guidance...
Old Wednesday, February 20, 2013

transition is on a distinguished road

same here!!!!.also 4th year mbbs student and planning to appear in 2015,also need senior,s guidance,my optionals include uptil now are
psychology
geography
journalism
sociology
but i am not sure about the last two and sometimes i also feel insecure by psychology as people are saying that it may be prove fatal in coming years

Last edited by Arain007; Wednesday, February 20, 2013 at 07:09 PM. Reason: avoid net speak

subject combo