04:59 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Tuesday, June 11, 2013

kanwala is on a distinguished road
Default CSS - good thing for girls or not?

Dear CSPs,

Since the past few months i have done nothing but follow the CSS forum. All i want is to join the CSP. I am a graduate from one of the best universities of Pakistan and Alhamdulillah Alhamdulillah I have lived a good life so far. No one in my family is a CSS officer and my father tends to believe that the CSP is not a good place to join especially for girls though my mother doesn't agree. I really want to join the CSP, it is like the only ambition i have as of now but i just have ONE concern which is perhaps the biggest obstacle coming in the way of my starting to prepare for the CE of 2014. My concern is regarding the environment, as in 'mahool', of the CSA and the government offices where I might get posted at. I am scared regarding the corruption that happens in our government offices. I am scared that I might have to work under a corrupt officer. Though i don't feel like saying it but i really need to know whether female officers have to face harassment of any sort be it mental, physical or verbal. i have graduated from Lahore University of Management Sciences and honestly the environment at my university was the best i have seen in Pakistan and i fear that the CSA and other government officers where CSPs work do not have the same open environment. Can current CSPs please guide me as to whether I should opt for joining the Civil Services or not. I want the views of both male and female CSPs.

Thanks & Regards,
Kanwal
The Following User Says Thank You to kanwala For This Useful Post:
shahidalileghari (Saturday, December 10, 2016)

BaisAbbasi is on a distinguished road
Default CSS for both Genders

Kanwal,

there are a number of sides of this picture. Firstly attempting CE 2014 is more like testing your self actualization level and working your way up the ladder in the bureaucratic system of Pakistan.

I strongly believe that after graduating from LUMS and having a strong academic background you should absolutely attempt the exams because your would have an edge to competitors. As far as the environment is concerned, the federal departments are organised and properly functional and thus the stigmas attached to them are merely misconceptions.

I have graduated from abroad and came back to Pakistan especially to attempt these because I believe it is one more step towards to explore your options. An amazing job can reward with monetary payments and work atmosphere but dignity, self realization and caliber is something we achieve through attempting these exams. I am up for it and very positive for the CE 2014 and you should employ the same strategy. last but not the least, an atmosphere would not affect you if you have strong values and determined mindset.

Bais

kanwala is on a distinguished road

Dear Bais,

Thanks for your kind reply.

The thing is that my concerns merely arise from the fact that I have always lived in a very protective atmosphere. Despite the fact that my parents live in Karachi and I lived alone in LUMS for four years of my life, I still don't have the guts to go out alone all by myself. Infact I barely go out, I haven't even seen Lahore completely as my parents are very over-protective.
I am very ambitious and driven and trust me the ONLY dream I have had over the past few months is to join the CSP. Even though I strongly believe that one should earn loads of money and I know that the Civil Services is NOT the place for that yet I still want to join the CSP as I keep telling myself that at the end of the day I will get the Rizq that God has decided for me. It's just the people that I am scared of, and the environment - that's all. So I would really like to know whether the officials who the CSPs have to work under are really as bad as they are known to be?

Kanwal

BaisAbbasi is on a distinguished road

I perfectly agree and know where your coming from. I believe change is always necessary. You can always come and live with your parents and study here for exams. But as far as training and on the job atmosphere is concerned , it depends from group to group. Some departments are termed as having some degree of ethical flexibility however some are quite strict in their code. I would would advice not to over think and go for it . Foreign services is a really nice option. I wish your best of luck... and do what you feel is right not considering the after effects.

Bais
Old Saturday, December 10, 2016

shahidalileghari is on a distinguished road

Hi kanwal. Did you get selected or not?

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
Old Sunday, December 11, 2016

imbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of light

Behan you are LUMS graduate. you better try your luck in some national or international organization, even you can start your life as a free entrepreneur. I really can't understand why do you want to be a SARKARI mulazim, who would spend all her life in stupid and meaningless files. trust me, government job is big bore. If you ask me, why am i part of government service, because i had no professional degree. when you go to the field, everything is same, from DC, AC to the Patwaris working in the field.

But if you really want to be a CSP, yes you, being a women you will get more opportunities and rapid promotions as compared to men.
Old Wednesday, January 11, 2017

aqs is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by imbindas View Post
Behan you are LUMS graduate. you better try your luck in some national or international organization, even you can start your life as a free entrepreneur. I really can't understand why do you want to be a SARKARI mulazim, who would spend all her life in stupid and meaningless files. trust me, government job is big bore. If you ask me, why am i part of government service, because i had no professional degree. when you go to the field, everything is same, from DC, AC to the Patwaris working in the field.

But if you really want to be a CSP, yes you, being a women you will get more opportunities and rapid promotions as compared to men.
Imbindas--Dear I am MBA CFA working in Middle East and my monthly salary is around PKR 10lac. But some friends/relatives ask me to do CSS or other govt. job but what they almost always fail is explaining why those jobs have any attraction. Can you give your insights?
Old Wednesday, January 11, 2017

imbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of lightimbindas is a glorious beacon of light

Originally Posted by aqs View Post
Imbindas--Dear I am MBA CFA working in Middle East and my monthly salary is around PKR 10lac. But some friends/relatives ask me to do CSS or other govt. job but what they almost always fail is explaining why those jobs have any attraction. Can you give your insights?
according to Max Weber,one's need status in society for three obvious reasons, wealth, power and prestige. What you want in your life ?
Old Sunday, January 22, 2017

aqs is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by imbindas View Post
according to Max Weber,one's need status in society for three obvious reasons, wealth, power and prestige. What you want in your life ?
I guess the only attraction in these jobs are power or prestige. In your view, what's most attractive jobs after CSS? and what kind of attraction in terms of power or privilige they offer?