09:27 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions Please read the posts before posting the queries.

Old Wednesday, March 14, 2018

U nar is on a distinguished road
Default Is it possible?

Hey salam everyone I have one issue I would like if any one of you help me int it... actually I applied for bA in 2017 but exams are scheduled in 2018 and probably the exams of 2018 will accur in 2019 but the degree will be said of year 2018....and the result will be announced in july 2019 probably....and I am a mbbs student as well and I am doing BA PRIVATELY so I really wanted to do css in 2019 but is it possible????
Old Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Anum Zara is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by U nar View Post
Hey salam everyone I have one issue I would like if any one of you help me int it... actually I applied for bA in 2017 but exams are scheduled in 2018 and probably the exams of 2018 will accur in 2019 but the degree will be said of year 2018....and the result will be announced in july 2019 probably....and I am a mbbs student as well and I am doing BA PRIVATELY so I really wanted to do css in 2019 but is it possible????
Not possible. You need your final result sheets to apply for CE-19. Admission process will take place in Sep-Oct 2018. Your result will be announced in July 2019 and you will receive your DMC's after that. You will be able to apply in CE-20.
If you are a MBBS student, there is no need to do private BA as MBBS students can get BSC degree by giving English paper with 3rd year MBBS exam. Moreover, both CSS and MBBS have tough studies. Do one at a time. You can start preparing G.K and English etc. if you want. Rest you should do it during your house job.
Old Friday, March 16, 2018

Default Thanks

Thanyou so much for replying.....
I didnt know abt bsc wala part my father askwd me to apply for ba and I did and I have already given my part 1 and now I feel like loser after knowing this.... but now what can be done about it.... secndly ma 1st priority is CSS to be on safe side I chose mbbs but I dont want to continue it and get rid of it asap... so I wanto give css in 2020 and I have 2 years I have started working on it from now onwards and inshaAllag I ll be giving 4 hours to it daily... what are your views on it?

And I have furthur decided to take evening classes in kips for css in june session this year for understanding of css as for now I dont know much.
More over I studied syllabuses of some subjects and selected psychology
Crimnology
Genderstudies
Public administration
Political science
The reason behind these subjects is that they are very conceptual and person will not stuck in these subjects..
Please guide on this as well

Thanyou so much for replying.....
I didnt know abt bsc wala part my father askwd me to apply for ba and I did and I have already given my part 1 and now I feel like loser after knowing this.... but now what can be done about it.... secndly ma 1st priority is CSS to be on safe side I chose mbbs but I dont want to continue it and get rid of it asap... so I wanto give css in 2020 and I have 2 years I have started working on it from now onwards and inshaAllag I ll be giving 4 hours to it daily... what are your views on it?
You can still give English paper to get BSC degree. There is no guarantee of CSS. Complete your MBBS first. You should not take too tough studies at the same time. I will never recommend you to spare 4 hours daily for CSS along with MBBS studies. As I have said before, just improve your English by reading newspapers and magazines and improve your general knowledge. You should start preparing for MBBS after your final prof.

Choice of subjects is good. Psychology should be a piece of cake for you. It is my optional subject as well. Rest all subjects are a good choice.
About KIPS academy or any other academy, they are just money making machines. Since you are beginner, you should only take 1 month classes instead of full session just to take idea. They do not cover all subjects. They just cover few subjects superficially. Also, in most of the subjects, it is useless to take their classes. I got myself enrolled in KIPS session last year. I paid full fee but had to left the session mid way because after 1-2 months, these sessions lose their productivity. That academy will be helpful in only 1,2 subjects for you like criminology and public ad. One has to self study from recommended books at home by paying special attention to last 3 years papers. English is the only subject in which you need coaching. First improve your English at home by reading and solving recommended books. After that, just attend 2,3 months session to learn creative writing, techniques etc. For English, go for individual coaching but not right now at end stage. I will recommend after final prof. For other subjects, go the threads of scoring trend, DMC's and final result threads of past years. Get in touch with aspirants who have got excellent scores through email. Ask their techniques, which sources, material, books etc they consultant. Also ask them their paper solving techniques and strategies. Prepare them one by one. And go through various threads in this forum to get knowledge about CSS. Read rule and syllabus booklet on fpsc website as well.

.: CSS kahein nhe bhaag reha. 30 years ki age tak 3 chances han. MBBS ker k phr iss taraf ao. Sirf wo stuff prepare ker lo jis say study disturb na ho n baad may faida b ho.
CSS k chakar may MBBS ki barbaadee na lagao.
"A bird in hand is better than two in the bush."
Agay tmhare marzee.

Thanks again for a very honest advise inshaAllah I will discuss this with my father and if he agrees on it then. ..and I will not leav mbbs until I pass my css exams and get selected

One last question frm you
Political science or international relations?
This year in my ba part 1 I slected political science sociology and international relations I found both of them a lil bit time taking

Thanks again for a very honest advise inshaAllah I will discuss this with my father and if he agrees on it then. ..and I will not leav mbbs until I pass my css exams and get selected

One last question frm you
Political science or international relations?
This year in my ba part 1 I slected political science sociology and international relations I found both of them a lil bit time taking
My pleasure. Your father should agree on this. Just prepare the things I have asked you. After MBBS final prof., just give 6-8 months. They should be enough to prepare.

About P.S or I.R, scenario changes every year. In 2016, IR was medium scoring. Average score of selected students was between 100-120. At the same time, P.S was low scoring. In 2017, scenario again changed. According to unofficial results and DMC's of failed students, P.S became high scoring but IR went into low scoring category. Many students failed in IR and only a few got lucky and passed it. Scorers above 100 are even less. This year I.R paper was good but extensive reading was must to solve those questions. Critical analysis is required in papers even in IR part 1. So, right now PS is a good option. So far, IR has produced low to medium low scores but P.S has produced low to medium high scores. I have seen candidates scoring above 140 in it. As you are not appearing anytime soon, hold that choice. See the latest trends before appearing and than prepare. (Yeah subko dekhna perta k ooont kis kerwat bethta...3 saal baad examiner b change ho jata so, CE-19 onwards paper b koi aur mark karay ga....trend dekh lo thoara phr decide kerna)
Other things which you should consider:
1- If you are crammer, go for P.S but if you love to read a lot, write in your own words and critically analyze the topics---------go for IR
2- Your interest in subjects

About time to prepare, normally in CSS 1 optional paper of 100 marks takes 10-20 days for preparation. IR and PS both are of 200 marks. Usually students take 30-40 days to prepare the full subject. Exceptions exist. It will normally take 6-8 months to prepare all subjects.

And never take sociology. Either go for psychology or for anthropology. Anthropology is almost 40-50 % overlapped with gender studies. Right now 3rd best option is journalism and mass communication.

From your choice of subjects, till date public ad. does not have encouraging scores but this year, I am sure it will give students really great marks.

.: CSS ho b gya to MBBS mat chorna. House job ker k degree lay laina. Govt. job na sahi private practice jub dil kia start ho sakte hai. Wo aur b bohat options paida ker detee hai....CSS pass kerna to aim nhe. Usually jo doctors iss tarf atay unko just top three groups he chaheay hotay...
Old Sunday, March 18, 2018

The dream of rain is on a distinguished road
Default Why not sociology??

Originally Posted by Anum Zara View Post

And never take sociology. Either go for psychology or for anthropology. Anthropology is almost 40-50 % overlapped with gender studies. Right now 3rd best option is journalism and mass communication...
i wanna know why you`re saying not to go for sociology. Any point?
Old Sunday, March 18, 2018

Originally Posted by The dream of rain View Post
i wanna know why you`re saying not to go for sociology. Any point?
As compared to other subjects in the group, sociology has low scoring trend at the moment. I have suggested this only for him. Psychology is the best option for him because he is a medical student. I have suggested him Anthropology because it is overlapping with gender studies and also has decent scoring trend. I have recommended Journalism and Mass Communication for him because it is pretty easy and interesting subject and can be prepared in less than a week. Also, it is yielding pretty good scores at the moment.