05:44 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions Please read the posts before posting the queries.

Old Sunday, November 04, 2018

vampz is on a distinguished road
Default Computer Science, BIT equivalent to software Engineering?

aoa, dosto aap mein say kisi nay HEC say equivalent certificate lia hei k Software Engineering Equivalent hei computer science aur BIT k?

Kya Software Engineering aur Computer Science Equivalent hein HEC k hisab say? please reply?

psas is on a distinguished road

No these are not equivalent. If you are called for interview for Computer Science or IT related job then you will not be considered with a degree in Software Or Systems Engineering.
The Following User Says Thank You to psas For This Useful Post:
vampz (Sunday, November 04, 2018)

thanks bro...but software engineering walay to phr 99% govt jobs say hath dho baithay.

Sidewinder is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by vampz View Post
thanks bro...but software engineering walay to phr 99% govt jobs say hath dho baithay.
Not sure where @psas is getting his information from but having been in this field for a while, I can assure you that most of the IT jobs, especially in the government sector, all three degrees mentioned above are accepted.

Take SUPARCO for example, there are open posts for AM (IT) and AM (Computer Science) in Lahore and Karachi respectively.

Qualification requirement for AM (IT):

Qualification requirement for AM (CS):

Another example: Assistant Manager IT in intelligence bureau:

Those are just a few examples. As I said, if a CS grad is eligible for a job then most probably an SE grad is also eligible for the same job. This is true in most cases, with very few exceptions.
The Following User Says Thank You to Sidewinder For This Useful Post:
vampz (Monday, November 05, 2018)
Old Monday, November 05, 2018

Originally Posted by Sidewinder View Post
Not sure where @psas is getting his information from but having been in this field for a while, I can assure you that most of the IT jobs, especially in the government sector, all three degrees mentioned above are accepted.

Take SUPARCO for example, there are open posts for AM (IT) and AM (Computer Science) in Lahore and Karachi respectively.

Qualification requirement for AM (IT):

Qualification requirement for AM (CS):

Another example: Assistant Manager IT in intelligence bureau:

Those are just a few examples. As I said, if a CS grad is eligible for a job then most probably an SE grad is also eligible for the same job. This is true in most cases, with very few exceptions.

I do agree sometime they have mentioned BSE in degree requirements but i have seen many jobs uptil now that didn't mentioned SE in prominent might be a reason that organization may think that the word "computer" is added so all are equivalent but HEC doesn't think the same i think FPSC must add SE in their job advertisements even last time in AJKPSE they SE after the final date passed and they sent an amendment with extension of date and now recently in their new job ads AJKPSE again mentioned only computer science. 99% of FPSC jobs demands CS/IT or equivalent but HEC says CS and SE are not equal.
Old Monday, November 05, 2018

Another point is where they demand SE they have mentioned the CS too but where they demand CS they didn't mentioned SE but just wrote equivalent.
Old Wednesday, November 07, 2018

sampanwar is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Assistant Director(MIS) in FBR

anyone know about the syllabus for the Above mention post. If someone know kindly give her/his reply as quickly as possible.?
Old Saturday, November 10, 2018

which post?
Assistant manager IT in IB?

OR AD MIS in FBR?
Old Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Grotius is on a distinguished road

Can people with Bsc Computer System Engineering degree apply for this AD MIS post??

Sent from my CPH1701 using Tapatalk
Old Friday, November 16, 2018

as per what i got is "no". software engineers, Computer system engineers can't apply for a job where only CS is mentioned in required degrees

computer science, hec equivalent