Thursday, June 25, 2009
|
|
|
|
|
|
Best sociolgy & journalism book at B.A level
Assalam-o-alaikum to all the members and visitors. A member in his post wrote that sociology is a very dry and low scoring subject. Many people got 40, 50 and few end up at 60 marks. Is it true.? or people get good marks in it?
Secondly please tell me the best sociology book in english for studying in BA. Is journalism a scoring subject?
Which is the best book of journalism in English for B.A level? Thanks.
Last edited by Mumtaz Hayat Maneka; Thursday, June 25, 2009 at 08:46 PM.
|

Thursday, June 25, 2009
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Originally Posted by allamgirian_6702
Assalam-o-alaikum. A member in his post wrote that sociology is a very dry and low scoring subject. Many people got 40, 50 and few end up at 60 marks. Is it true.?
please tell me the best sociology book in english for studying in BA.
Is journalism a scoring subject? Which is the best book of journalism in English for B.A level? Thanks.
|
Walekum Salam!
Sociology
The member who opined that sociology is a dry subject is his personal opinion.
It depends from person to person according to his aptitude. For me, sociology is an interesting subject. And may be you will agree with me once you study it.
Book for Sociology:
At BA level, i can safely refer the Punjab Textbook of BA Sociology named, "Sociology" by HORTON AND CHESTER LEE HUNT.
Scoring Subject:
I know a person who has not studied sociology all her life and she scored 73 marks in CSS sociology paper with only 2 months preparation.
So, it's not really a subject which is scoring, it is the technique of attempting the paper in exam.
Journalism:
Yes, it is a scoring subject, but again, it depends on the method adopted for it while attempting it in exam. And it's a very easy subject and interesting, too.
Book for Journalism:
You have asked about its book at BA level, I can refer some books for it:
1. Journalism for All
2. Towards Journalism
3. Exploring Journalism
Nonchalant!
|
|
The Following User Says Thank You to Nonchalant For This Useful Post:
|
|

Thursday, June 25, 2009
|
 |
|
|
Thanked 3,622 Times in 1,426 Posts
|
|
I strongly object on this comment that "Sociology is a dry subject". To me one should go through following subjects in his life apart from exam point of view.
1) Sociology / Behavioral Sciences / Psychology / Anthropology
2) Philosophy
3) Economics
4) History
5) Law
Not for CSS or any other exam but for a better life, for better concepts, for better understanding of human being, nations, cultures and over all world system.
I have never found Sociology as a dry subject and I believe majority of the candidates won’t negate my comment.
As for as scoing/less scoring nature of sociology is concerned yes, in recent years sociology has been penalized in score. FPSC assessment follows some set trends in marking and that trend keeps on changing every third or fifth year. So unfortunately sociology is passing from its decline stage in these years.
Journalism is passing form its golden phase.
|
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Raz For This Useful Post:
|
|

Tuesday, October 20, 2009
|
|
|
|
|
|
Dear Nonchalant
Thank you for your comments which erased alot of doubts in our minds regarding Sociology.I am a student of charted accountancy which i aim to continue even in my service (if I qualify) to satisfy my self.I am new to these subjects but i am quite intrested in them.My combination is :
Sociology
journalism
U.S History
constitutional Law
public administration
Business Managment
Please Comment on this as except Business Management i am totally new to all these subjects.I have skills of writing but if you can suggest any positive changes in the combination it will be really helpful.Because i have only FSP service in my mind.For which i dont only have to qualify the examination,but atleast have to stand in the top 2 in my province ( NWFP ).
I am facing problems in finding good books for journalism.Most books having written BEST BOOK FOR CSS on them filled with grammatic mistakes and odd sentences.kindly please refer books for that and kindly let me know which aurthors have written the following books so that i may purchase them.
1. Journalism for All-AURTHOR
2. Towards Journalism-AURTHOR
3. Exploring Journalism-AURTHOR
2ndly i am refering horton and hunt for sociology but Can you refer me any other books on that of the same caliber.
Regards;
Shahan Ishaq Khattak
Aspirent-Civil Service Examination
|

Tuesday, October 20, 2009
|
|
|
|
|
|
you should take Sociology
as you have studies organization behavior and other sociology related subject so i think u r more close to sociology
|

Thursday, November 01, 2012
|
|
|
|
|
|
Salam people!
Please tell me the best books for Journalism,Social Work & English Literature.
I've done my inter in science subjects But due to some reasons Im doing my bachelors in humanities. so, I know nothing about subjects & books related to BA.
Please refer me books for these subjects in English.
Regards!
|

Thursday, November 01, 2012
|
 |
|
|
|
|
Dear Aspirant
Originally Posted by sundaas
Salam people!
Please tell me the best books for Journalism,Social Work & English Literature.
I've done my inter in science subjects But due to some reasons Im doing my bachelors in humanities. so, I know nothing about subjects & books related to BA.
Please refer me books for these subjects in English.
Regards!
|
For Journalism Exploring the Journalism is good.
Social Work by Advance Publisher...

Friday, November 02, 2012
|
 |
|
|
|
|
Exploring the Journalism is good for BA and also CSS.
|
|
The Following User Says Thank You to aven For This Useful Post:
|
|

Wednesday, February 13, 2013
|
|
|
|
|
|
preparation for B.a Punjabi elective
Slam to all my prestigious senior members ...... Plz guide me which key book you will recommend me for the preparation of punjabi elective...... Punjab university course
|