-   Books Suggestions (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/frequently-asked-questions/books-suggestions/)
-   -   Suggest me books for Urdu (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/frequently-asked-questions/books-suggestions/41188-suggest-me-books-urdu.html)

Eager Wednesday, August 25, 2010 05:29 PM

Suggest me books for Urdu

Salam to all,

I want to appear in CSS 2011 and i have decided to choose Urdu as one of my optionals. All the seniors are kindly requested to suggest me comprehensive books for complete preparation of the subject (along with the names of authors and publishers).

Secondly, those who opted Urdu as an optional are requested to guide me as to how I should prepare for it, how much time would it require, and the most important points to focus on.

And thirdly, do I need to read the text of all the books which are the part of syllabus, if not then what should I read and what should I simply skip??

Thanks in advance.

Soulreader43 Thursday, August 26, 2010 08:25 PM

First of all check out the syllabus of Urdu and its past papers then u will come to know about its difficulty level. Syllabus is lengthy and if u look at past papers u will come to know that objective is tough and there is also a deviation from the recommended syllabus by FPSC.

Books for Urdu:
by
1) Amjad Ali Shakir
2) Sohail Bhatti

oriental Thursday, August 26, 2010 11:59 PM

@ Eager & Sara

Hello

[B]Soulreader43[/B] has already mentioned the names of the books.Both of these books are very good especially ''urdu Adad ki tarekh "by Amjad Ali Shakir is a handy one.I also prepared Urdu from these Books.

Yes the syllabus of Urdu is quite lengthy but with a smart strategy you can easily cover it. More details about the study techniques are available in the Urdu section of this forum.

Apart from the afore mentioned books you should also consult the MA Urdu syllabus or Guide of MA Urdu(PU).A master Guide is available which covers many important topics .

Pay special focus to Ghalib,Mir and Iqbal's poetry.If you can read the recommended books it's good .....in case you couldn't ,no problem.....But try to go through some of the books like,Raja Gidh,Khakm-e-badahan,Zindagi.These are very interesting and valuable books touching different aspects of human life.

Urdu is a subject that requires keen interest and aptitude.If you are inclined towards literature then you will find it easy otherwise it proves to be a hard nut to crack.

oriental

Faseeh Muhammad Wednesday, September 08, 2010 12:35 PM

@Eager

Assalam-O-Alaikum,

There is book for Urdu specific to CSS exam published by FAREDI BOOK DEPOT, KARACHI. This is a single volume book that covers extensively entire sallybus. The writer is the former PRINCIPLE & Prof. of Urdu in DJ Science College Karachi with a book on peotry and criticism on his credientials. I have studied from this book and found it sufficient for the paper.

Problem with Dr. Saleem Akhtar & Amjid Ali's books is that you have to squeeze them alomt. If you really want to read entire book, you will have to burn candle from both ends.

I prepared urdu, and i recommend you too that you should prepare Question-Vise. It will be easier for you to attempt this paper. According to one of my friend who studied at KIPS, in Tashreeh or Sayyaq o Sabbaq, the name & refrence to work bears 2-3 marks so if you make a guess, then write the name in the end of the entire para, it looks odd at first, but it will cause less demage then a wrong guess in the start of your tashreeh.

06:01 PM (GMT +5)