-   Subject Selection (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/frequently-asked-questions/subject-selection/)
-   -   CSS Optional Subjects selection ISSUE (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/frequently-asked-questions/subject-selection/104860-css-optional-subjects-selection-issue.html)

mohsinnaqvi Thursday, October 15, 2015 01:28 PM

CSS Optional Subjects selection ISSUE

Hi,
I want to attempt for CSS exams but i am really confused about the subject selection, can somebody please guide the subjects selection for the person like me who has no technical background just passed B.A but possess moderate level of English writing and communication skills, i am looking for following things:

- Subjects which are in trend of getting good marks.
- Subjects should be least technical.

I have searched myself from last two days and i have also read lot of polls and forums, i got following options:
Option # 1
1- Political Science 200
2- History of Pakistan/India 100
3- Agriculture & Forestry 100
4- Criminology 100
5- Punjabi 100

Option # 2
1- IR 200
2- Town planning and Urban Management 100
4- Criminology 100
5- Persian 100

Please suggest me the best and guide me that is it compulsory to select 200 marks subjects from Group I & II , can we select 100 marks subject and select rest 500 marks from other groups...????
Need help from experienced members as i am not getting any coaching stuff ..

Expecting a positive response :vic

Monk Thursday, October 15, 2015 03:18 PM

I think your option 1 is better except History of Pakistan and India

Yes you can choose 100 marks subject from group 2 and select 5 subjects from other groups.

mohsinnaqvi Thursday, October 15, 2015 03:45 PM

[QUOTE=Monk;871908]I think your option 1 is better except History of Pakistan and India

Yes you can choose 100 marks subject from group 2 and select 5 subjects from other groups.[/QUOTE]
Dear "Monk" thanks for the reply. Now i am going with following combinations:

Option # 1
1- Political Science 200
2- Town and Urban Management 100
4- Criminology 100
5- Punjabi 100

Now i need some kind suggestions for the study material, official fpsc suggestions are too intense which cannot be covered, i want to follow a selective approach. Is that a good idea...?
please paste a link if there is any other thread with the same issue, so i can study that.

Monk Thursday, October 15, 2015 04:02 PM

[QUOTE=mohsinnaqvi;871915]Dear "Monk" thanks for the reply. Now i am going with following combinations:

Option # 1
1- Political Science 200
4- Criminology 100
5- Punjabi 100

Now i need some kind suggestions for the study material, official fpsc suggestions are too intense which cannot be covered, i want to follow a selective approach. Is that a good idea...?
please paste a link if there is any other thread with the same issue, so i can study that.[/QUOTE]

For political science:

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-i/political-science/104682-political-science-paper-complete-material.html[/url]

For Punjabi:

Punjabi for Css by Jahngir publishers

For others subjects consult relevant sections on this forum

Malik Bilal Ahmad Thursday, October 15, 2015 04:15 PM

Dear monk, I changed my optional after checking your suggestion for different aspirant on different threads. Kindly have a look at my optional. Is it a good combination?
1.physics 200
2. Criminology 100
3. Gender studies 100
4. Governance and public policies 100
5. Sociology 100

Monk Thursday, October 15, 2015 04:35 PM

[QUOTE=Malik Bilal Ahmad;871926]Dear monk, I changed my optional after checking your suggestion for different aspirant on different threads. Kindly have a look at my optional. Is it a good combination?
1.physics 200
2. Criminology 100
3. Gender studies 100
4. Governance and public policies 100
5. Sociology 100[/QUOTE]

I think your previous combination was better just replace political science with physics

Malik Bilal Ahmad Thursday, October 15, 2015 04:52 PM

[QUOTE=Monk;871932]I think your previous combination was better just replace political science with physics[/QUOTE]

I am opting physics in any case Because I already devoted 2 months to physics and I am confident to fetch good mark in it and Also I am using physics to make difference in my overall aggregate. Other than physics which subject Should I replace?

Monk Thursday, October 15, 2015 04:54 PM

1- Physics 200
4- Criminology 100
5- Punjabi 100

CommittedSoul Saturday, October 31, 2015 03:42 PM

Pol Science is a very deep subject whereas INDO-Pak history has a vast syllabus. Criminology is a new subject. I don't think , books with good material are available in markets.
I'm going to suggest you a combination which I have opted myself too!
I.R
US Histroy
Gender Studies
I.L
Punjabi

Muhammad nadeem hussain Tuesday, June 06, 2017 04:25 PM

subject selection

is we can select two subject of 200 marks that is
IR = 200
and
chem = 200

04:09 AM (GMT +5)