11:39 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Frequently Asked Questions > Subject Selection

Old Monday, April 11, 2016

saba jamil is on a distinguished road
Default need guidence for appropriate subject combination

salaam
I'v done MBA banking & finance recently & i'v chooses accounting & auditing , business management' mercantile law and stats for css examination.
can any one guide me about appropriate combination? is this combination appropriate or need some other subject??
Old Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Daisy has a spectacular aura aboutDaisy has a spectacular aura aboutDaisy has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by saba jamil View Post
salaam
I'v done MBA banking & finance recently & i'v chooses accounting & auditing , business management' mercantile law and stats for css examination.
can any one guide me about appropriate combination? is this combination appropriate or need some other subject??
Welcome to the forum Saba!

Well, I never opted Accounting and Auditing but I made extensive research on these subjects once, so I feel obliged to share with you what I learnt from others' experiences then. Look! You should opt A&A only if you have good expertise in this subject. It is a lengthy, time consuming and risky subject. Let me explain you how? It is a combination of many subjects. You have to be best in each of them to fetch good score. Although you can prepare Business and Auditing portion by yourself but for Advanced, Cost, Taxation etc. etc. you may need some tutor too at some point. Because (I suppose you did B.Com) your knowledge of Accounting will not be as fresh as it was in your bachelors and one, just one odd item, can ruin your whole solution if you don't know its adjustment, say in balance sheet making. Also, you would have seen its syllabus, its way too different and difficult than accounting that is taught at MBA level. In fact it is easier for those who have recently completed their B.com or ACCA etc..
Lastly, what aspirants compliant about this subject is that even if you prepare it well, you will be in utter confusion and stress the night before this paper because of hell of contents and adjustments to store in mind that time. You have to practice it again and againnnnn.

I didn't mean to discourage you, but, I want you to keep these issues in mind too before finalizing your choice. If you think you can overcome these barriers, then must opt it, because it would be way better than opting IR/Pol science, which majority are forced to opt due to these weird new combinations. And if you have the aptitude and expertise, you can get exceptionally good score in this subject e.g. you can see the marks of Sir "Raz" and his suggestions here on forum regarding Accounting.

Stats: I assume you have studied it before and gone through its syllabus and past papers. If its not the case, then Don't opt it. I know one of my friends who flunked only in Stats in her attempt. She told me that it was the biggest mistake to opt stats as she thought it would be easy to grab like the one she studied in B com. Its different and technical subject.

Mercantile Law: Easy and Scoring one! You have to search some newly added contents too, but, good choice!

Business admin: Although lengthy, but Scoring, easy and interesting for you.
saba jamil (Tuesday, April 12, 2016)

thanks Daisy
i'v no issue for A&A because it was studied thoroughly in MBA as financial acc managerial acc cost acc FRS & advanced accounting but yep i was confused for stats because i'v no proper grip on it even i also studied it in MBA so now aftr your warning i'll drop it. now will you please guide me some better option?

what about history of indo pak?

or urdu???

Last edited by Last Island; Thursday, April 14, 2016 at 02:28 AM. Reason: Merged

Insaf Sindhu is on a distinguished road

what about history of indo pak?
Although, it is not asked to me, well. It is good to opt History of Indo-Pak.

Daisy has a spectacular aura aboutDaisy has a spectacular aura aboutDaisy has a spectacular aura about

Thats great! Now after Accounting, Merc. law and Biz ad you need to opt 2 more subjects. Indo Pak history is good in a way that it will cover many contents of Pak affairs too, but on the other side it is generally considered a low scoring subject. Result of CE-2016 will help to analyze better the current trend.
I will not recommend Urdu because firstly, it demands much effort from a person having little background in it (Urdu adab, poetry sections especially). Secondly, it is not considered a scoring subject.
You can easily opt a subject of your personal interest from Group 7 like psychology, geography, sociology etc. If you can prepare regional language then must go for it, evergreen scoring subjects!!
Plus there is a wild guess that new subjects will be granted more marks to encourage aspirants to opt them so you can also think about gender studies. Avoid Environmental Sciences because of its bit technical nature. Forestry and Agri is also a good choice if you have interest in nature, trees and plants etc.

thanks guys for your intrest
and i'm feeling honored to have your advice in personl.

i think i should go for psychology becuase i have intrest in it in my free time studied it in general also but not in my acadamic career.
and second is history of indo pak is quite better option then urdu because pak affairs will also helpful for it and i just need to prepare before partition era.

after analyzing diff subjects i have 4 subject
history of indo pak & psychology are of my interest but only in general not too much
but when i chk syllabus and subject outlines of sociology and gender studies i found these quit easier then previous and more interesting.
what you guys think 'is sociology & gender studies better choice then history of indo pak & psychology?????
waiting for precious advice from seniors
Daisy & Insaf Sindhu again thanks.

Insaf Sindhu is on a distinguished road
Default No Thanks!

history of indo pak & psychology are of my interest but only in general not too much
but when i chk syllabus and subject outlines of sociology and gender studies i found these quit easier then previous and more interesting.
what you guys think 'is sociology & gender studies better choice then history of indo pak & psychology?????
I think second choice is much worth than the first one because it will also help you in Pakistan Affairs. And about Psychology, it was the only subject in 2012 opted by most of the toppers. So, I would suggest you to opt Indo-Pak History and Psychology. Stay blessed!

Below is the link of subject combination of toppers of 2012 in which most of them have opted Psychology. Well, it is not sure that it works for everyone but ratio shows that it really works, if someone prepares carefully for it.

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners...n-toppers.html
Daisy (Tuesday, April 19, 2016), saba jamil (Tuesday, April 12, 2016)

You are welcome dear! If you find Psychology interesting, must opt it. You'll enjoy it!
Can't say anything about Gender studies, seriously no idea, but......... I'll say spend some time studying its few chapters, you'll get better idea then. If you don't find it suitable, replace it with Indo Pak then.
Old Wednesday, April 13, 2016

aksi is on a distinguished road
Default TP or ES?

I need suggestions whether I should opt for Environmental Sciences or Town planning and urban management please?
Old Thursday, June 09, 2016

Amaz is on a distinguished road
Default Css

Aoa...i am the student of fsc part 2 i got interested to do css in future i have some idea about css i have started my preparation ....but i got confused that which subjects i select ? Please anybody guide me .....that which subjects are good scoring and how i prepare for css? And recommend me the books for study...your recomendatiotn oblige me a lot thanku