01:58 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Frequently Asked Questions > Subject Selection

Old Friday, May 19, 2017

pathfynder is on a distinguished road

Reason for us history selection as optional?
Old Friday, May 19, 2017

maliknaveed25 is on a distinguished road
Default My Optional Subjects

Can anyone tell me that will the following subject selection work or not? I am appearing in CSS-2018 Exam

Political Science 200
Public Administration 100
US History 100
International Law 100
Gender Studies 100

Waiting for your kind suggestions
Old Friday, May 19, 2017

Duxbux is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by pathfynder View Post
Reason for us history selection as optional?
this depends on your combo, if you are opting International relation and international law then US history is best choice among all history subjects as it will complement IR & IL both.

Originally Posted by maliknaveed25 View Post
Can anyone tell me that will the following subject selection work or not? I am appearing in CSS-2018 Exam

Political Science 200
US History 100
International Law 100
Gender Studies 100

Waiting for your kind suggestions
POL Science has very lengthy syllabus and worst part you have to answer comparative question regarding different thoughts of different philosophers and forms of governments, etc..check out yourself, on the other hand International relations is far more easier / scoring and has lesser syllabus than pol sci.

Similarly Pub ADM also has a very lengthy syllabus which will exhaust you aswell, you can replace it with last group subjects like geography/journalism/ sociology all are scoring subjects and easy aswell.

International Law/ US history will complement IR (given you opt that) otherwise go for criminology/philosophy instead of Inter law and indo pak history will help you with Pak affairs(2017 paper was an exception)

gender studies if you know it then fine other environmental sciences showed more score in 2016 exam than GS.
Old Monday, August 07, 2017

ZebraSolutions is on a distinguished road
Default Suggestions required

Please help me to select one subject each from following options.

1) Islamic History and Culture/ Gender Studies/ US History
2) Sociology/ Punjbai.

Thanks in advance.
Old Tuesday, August 08, 2017
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2014 - Roll no. 13077

Thanked 1,135 Times in 364 Posts
hmkashif is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by ZebraSolutions View Post
Please help me to select one subject each from following options.

1) Islamic History and Culture/ Gender Studies/ US History
2) Sociology/ Punjbai.

Thanks in advance.
US History & Punjabi.
Old Tuesday, August 08, 2017

waqarjandran is on a distinguished road

I am going to opt
International Relations 200
agriculture & forestry 100
philosophy 100
Punjabi 100
Is this selection of subjects is good in terms of scoring marks ???
please guide me seniors.
Old Thursday, August 17, 2017

ambreen tofiq is on a distinguished road

i am confused international law and international relationship is in group F how can they be select because we choose only 1 from each group
plz guide me
Old Thursday, August 17, 2017

Farooq baloch is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by ambreen tofiq View Post
i am confused international law and international relationship is in group F how can they be select because we choose only 1 from each group
plz guide me
these are not in the same gruop ..dont confused yourself ...opt both Ilaw and IR...best of luck
Old Monday, October 16, 2017

ASIF javaid is on a distinguished road

good
Old Saturday, October 21, 2017

farmancheema is on a distinguished road

I did BS in Computer Science. Here are the optional subjects that i am planning to opt for CSS 2018:

Computer Science
History of USA
Environmental Science
Criminology
Geography

Kindly let me know if its a good combination. Thanks