03:26 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Frequently Asked Questions > Subject Selection

Old Monday, March 06, 2017

Samreiyn is on a distinguished road
Default Optional Subjects for Second Attempt

I appeared in CE-2017 with the following optionals:
Accountancy and Auditing
Gender Studies
History of USA
Sociology
Criminology

I have a Finance and Accounting background, the reason for choosing Accountancy. However, I have been advised, time and again, to opt for International Relations in CE-2018, since it helps cover other subjects. It makes sense, naturally, but I am confused since I have already prepared for these subjects and appearing with the same combination in 2018, would help me have a sound preparation.

The question stands, should I opt for the same subject combination as 2017, or is it really more effective to opt for IR with I.Law. I have no history of both the subjects and will have to prepare them from scratch. Also, I lack the ability to cram material, at all.

And also is the current combination a recipe for failure?

Comments and suggestions will be appreciated, thanks.

MI AHMAD is on a distinguished road

YOU SHOULD CHOSE THATS
ACCOUNTING 200
BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION 100
INDO PAK HISTORY 100

OTHERS SUBJ ,YOU LIKE .

Originally Posted by MI AHMAD View Post
YOU SHOULD CHOSE THATS
ACCOUNTING 200
BUSINESS ADMINISTRATION 100
INDO PAK HISTORY 100

OTHERS SUBJ ,YOU LIKE .
So in your opinion, I should change my combination?

Indo Pak History is not something I'd deliberately choose.

Murium will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Samreiyn View Post
Accountancy and Auditing
Gender Studies
History of USA
Sociology
Criminology

I have a Finance and Accounting background, the reason for choosing Accountancy. However, I have been advised, time and again, to opt for International Relations in CE-2018, since it helps cover other subjects. It makes sense, naturally, but I am confused since I have already prepared for these subjects and appearing with the same combination in 2018, would help me have a sound preparation.

The question stands, should I opt for the same subject combination as 2017, or is it really more effective to opt for IR with I.Law. I have no history of both the subjects and will have to prepare them from scratch. Also, I lack the ability to cram material, at all.

opt Punjabi or geography instead of sociology as these are scoring and replace criminology with International law

Greenboat is on a distinguished road

Mujhay ek bat samj nahi ati, CSS sari urdu me to phir kya English paper b urdu me dena parega

Originally Posted by Greenboat View Post
Mujhay ek bat samj nahi ati, CSS sari urdu me to phir kya English paper b urdu me dena parega
CSS will never be in Urdu at least not in 2018 because I will appear next year. Baad mn shaid ho jaaye

Greenboat is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Murium View Post
CSS will never be in Urdu at least not in 2018 because I will appear next year. Baad mn shaid ho jaaye
Senate intimated FPSC & we got "notice" on its website. It means it is going to be implemented by 2018. Now people, belonging to literature family, have to work really hard, since it has been a setback of Urdu paper. So people should work on their pitfalls by now onwards to take CSS in urdu language. So, it is the time to move on. The sooner people realize the gravity of problems, the sooner they will emerge out of their pitfalls in urdu
Old Tuesday, March 07, 2017

RMKamran will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Samreiyn View Post
Accountancy and Auditing
Gender Studies
History of USA
Sociology
Criminology

AoA,

If you are comfortable with Accounting then go with it. Opt business ad along with it. Do not opt Gender Studies as it's not that much developed subject and requires hard work to get material from multiple sources including the internet. Criminology is fine, but it does not yield handsome marks. Sociology is very easy and good scoring subject. Indo-Pak History is better than the US one because it will help in P. A.

opt Punjabi or geography instead of sociology as these are scoring and replace criminology with International law
Well, I disagree. Geography was a 200 marks subject. It's reduced to 100 now. It's a bit technical and you have to memorise a couple of graphs in it. I think a candidate having masters in this subject should opt it and rests should not. Plus, all of the 200 marks subjects are not worth opt except Indo-Pak History because FPSC has made weird changes in their syllabus.

So far I. R and I. L are concerned, both are very good optional subjects. I myself belong to the business administration background. But, I do no think myself good at numbers. Plus, I figured it out that same amount of hard work for Accounting won't help me in other subjects. But, the same hard work will definitely help me in C. A and essay. FPSC has asked many questions directly or indirectly from I. R in other optional subjects.

Make a wise decision.

Good luck.

Stay blessed.
Samreiyn (Tuesday, March 07, 2017)

Thanks for the suggestion. Both Punjabi and Geography are difficult subjects for me. Sociology, albeit requiring critical study, is easier than the two.

Originally Posted by Greenboat View Post
Senate intimated FPSC & we got "notice" on its website. It means it is going to be implemented by 2018. Now people, belonging to literature family, have to work really hard, since it has been a setback of Urdu paper. So people should work on their pitfalls by now onwards to take CSS in urdu language. So, it is the time to move on. The sooner people realize the gravity of problems, the sooner they will emerge out of their pitfalls in urdu
Where is the notice ?? Can you please share link... ?