-   Subject Selection (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/frequently-asked-questions/subject-selection/)
-   -   Guidance required on selection of subjects (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/frequently-asked-questions/subject-selection/116006-guidance-required-selection-subjects.html)

Life Hacker Wednesday, June 21, 2017 09:52 AM

Guidance required on selection of subjects

[FONT="Arial"][SIZE="5"][COLOR="Navy"]Assalam o Alaikum Everyone..![/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]

I have newly joined this prestigious forum. By profession I am an electrical engineer and working in private company on a good salary package. I am planning to appear in CE-2018 In shaa allah. In this regard, please guide me on my following selected subjects about different variables like scoring trend (if any:shy), difficulty level etc. Please also share any other useful information pertinent to said purpose:-
a. Geology
b. Town Planning and urban management
c. Agriculture & Forestry
d. Criminology
e. Geography

Anum Zara Wednesday, June 21, 2017 07:32 PM

[QUOTE=Life Hacker;1027561][FONT="Arial"][SIZE="5"][COLOR="Navy"]Assalam o Alaikum Everyone..![/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]

I have newly joined this prestigious forum. By profession I am an electrical engineer and working in private company on a good salary package. I am planning to appear in CE-2018 In shaa allah. In this regard, please guide me on my following selected subjects about different variables like scoring trend (if any:shy), difficulty level etc. Please also share any other useful information pertinent to said purpose:-
a. Geology
b. Town Planning and urban management
c. Agriculture & Forestry
d. Criminology
e. Geography[/QUOTE]
Wa Alaikum Salaam
You have selected only 1 subject from group 2 and you need to select either 1 subject of 200 marks or 2 subjects of 100 marks from group 2.
For level of difficulty I am not going to comment because I have no common subject. What I can do is to guide about your chosen subjects according to latest scoring trend.
1- Geology: It is a good subject for scoring and you can score above 90 in it. Go for it.
2- Town planning & Urban management: Not a good subject for scoring. Almost 98% of candidates failed to pass it in CE-16. So, forget about it.
3- Agriculture and forestry: Again not a scoring subject only 3 students had crossed 60 in Ce-16.
4- Criminology: This is extremely high scoring and an excellent choice. You can score above 90 in it.
5- Geography: Scoring level is good and you can score as high as 80 in it according to scoring trend of CE-16.

For your ease I am attaching scoring trend document with it.
[IMG]http://i1266.photobucket.com/albums/jj537/Iylaaffatima/19148923_884078518406247_3762420519256090292_n_zps7lz6toib.jpg[/IMG]

Life Hacker Thursday, June 22, 2017 04:07 AM

Thank you for your guidance...

What are your subjects? And secondly please tell that whether joining academy is benificial or not?

Anum Zara Thursday, June 22, 2017 10:00 AM

[QUOTE=Life Hacker;1027691]Thank you for your guidance...

What are your subjects? And secondly please tell that whether joining academy is benificial or not?[/QUOTE]
My optional subjects are:
International Relation 200
International Law 100
US History 100
Environmental Sciences 100
Psychology 100
(Not a single subject related to my academic background). I am going with interest, aptitude, scoring trend and strategy of choosing subjects with overlapping syllabus.
In my previous attempt I did not have any time to join academy and I had appeared with only 1 and half month preparation. Now I am seriously considering to join 1 after mid July. I am going to test the academy for one month first and I will decide If I should continue or not. I think academies help specially if one is a beginner but one should never rely on these academies. They only guide & teach but for CSS you need to study everything yourself as academies do not cover each and every topic. For beginners like you it will be beneficial. Majority of the qualifiers had joined academies in past years and there are only a few people who have not joined any academy for preparation. Now its time to study 12-15 hours a day to cover the entire syllabus and to give at least two revisions. It is easy for those who are not doing any job. It will become hectic for you to go to academy, spare a lot of time for study and carry out your job along with it. Even if you do not join any academy English coaching is must. You need a teacher who have experience with CSS coaching so that you can get your work check. Make your decision quick. Choose subjects, gather material and start studying.

Life Hacker Thursday, June 22, 2017 10:02 AM

could you please send another copy of scoring trend document as this one is not visible properly. Thanks though..

kingfalcon Friday, August 04, 2017 12:16 PM

[QUOTE=Anum Zara;1027711]My optional subjects are:
International Law 100
US History 100
Psychology 100
(Not a single subject related to my academic background). I am going with interest, aptitude, scoring trend and strategy of choosing subjects with overlapping syllabus.
In my previous attempt I did not have any time to join academy and I had appeared with only 1 and half month preparation. Now I am seriously considering to join 1 after mid July. I am going to test the academy for one month first and I will decide If I should continue or not. I think academies help specially if one is a beginner but one should never rely on these academies. They only guide & teach but for CSS you need to study everything yourself as academies do not cover each and every topic. For beginners like you it will be beneficial. Majority of the qualifiers had joined academies in past years and there are only a few people who have not joined any academy for preparation. Now its time to study 12-15 hours a day to cover the entire syllabus and to give at least two revisions. It is easy for those who are not doing any job. It will become hectic for you to go to academy, spare a lot of time for study and carry out your job along with it. Even if you do not join any academy English coaching is must. You need a teacher who have experience with CSS coaching so that you can get your work check. Make your decision quick. Choose subjects, gather material and start studying.[/QUOTE]

I really like your selection but instead of Psych, I am thinking of Geography. Comp Sci and Physics was also on the list and I have their background but I think they are dangerous and do not compliment other subjects.

sarmad raza Friday, August 04, 2017 05:38 PM

[QUOTE=kingfalcon;1032819]I really like your selection but instead of Psych, I am thinking of Geography. Comp Sci and Physics was also on the list and I have their background but I think they are dangerous and do not compliment other subjects.[/QUOTE]
I think there should be atleast a subject related to our Educational background.....

smartsaadii Wednesday, August 09, 2017 05:27 PM

[QUOTE=Anum Zara;1027711]My optional subjects are:
International Law 100
US History 100
Psychology 100
In my previous attempt I did not have any time to join academy and I had appeared with only 1 and half month preparation. Now I am seriously considering to join 1 after mid July. I am going to test the academy for one month first and I will decide If I should continue or not. I think academies help specially if one is a beginner but one should never rely on these academies. They only guide & teach but for CSS you need to study everything yourself as academies do not cover each and every topic. For beginners like you it will be beneficial. Majority of the qualifiers had joined academies in past years and there are only a few people who have not joined any academy for preparation. Now its time to study 12-15 hours a day to cover the entire syllabus and to give at least two revisions. It is easy for those who are not doing any job. It will become hectic for you to go to academy, spare a lot of time for study and carry out your job along with it. Even if you do not join any academy English coaching is must. You need a teacher who have experience with CSS coaching so that you can get your work check. Make your decision quick. Choose subjects, gather material and start studying.[/QUOTE]
I need a little help here. What about selecting physics (200), CS (200) USA history (100) and Public Administration or Business Administration. (100)

As you have already appeared last time. I need some guidance related to exam material and syllabus. From where I can get related material.

A positive feedback from your side or any appeared candidate will be appreciated.

Nayaab Friday, August 11, 2017 09:36 AM

guidance needed

AoA: i am new here and need guidance in choosing subjects as i studied sociology and pol. Science (urdu medium) . I am much worried about my english vocabulary because i studied as private candidate.

03:28 AM (GMT +5)