10:54 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Frequently Asked Questions > Subject Selection

Old Sunday, February 04, 2018

ikhtiar is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Saadia afridi View Post
I'm currently in my final year pursuing a bachelor's degree in mechatronics engineering. I'm willing to appear in the css exam 2019.
The optional subjects I have selected is
1. Accountancy and auditing(200)
2. Physics(200)
3. Business administration(100)
I can't decide the last subject kindly help me out to pick a subject with ur expert advice. And also guide me regarding the above optional subjects that I have chosen.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
One should give proper time to selection of optional subjects. Some subjects may be easy, some may be short, some may be overlapping and some may be interesting for you. Now if you want to choose among them, you have to see the intersection among them. Let me give you an example, if i take accountancy and auditing, physics, environmental sciences and mercantile law or business administration. And I pass all of them with high marks. Also I pass precise and composition as it's specific and Islamiat. Now I decide to work very hard for GSA and score 80 marks and which I get and it also fill the loopholes of my CA and PA papers. Now you can see how one can plan to pass 11 papers with minimum time given to newspapers, websites, magazines etc. But don't forget essay is missing from list which you won't even get if you prepare as mentioned above. That was overlapoverlapping of subjects.
Now if we talk about one's interest then let's be rational, You won't be doing PhD in accountancy and auditing even if you don't clear css, so everyone here is interested in css, not subjects. Now it comes esay subjects, now for someone one may be easy, for others other. That's the choice, you have to make but instead of looking at the syllabus which is indeed very important, you also see past papers atleast of 2016 and 2017. You will see how questions are asked and how they relate to syllabus. Also keep in mind now that making mind for all 600 marks is not important now, you can take time and even some choose till October. So read past papers and syllabus, do it again and again, make some links among them, analyse questions and patterns, choose 100 or 200 marks, get few good books and start preparing.

I hope it clears your mind and you move one step further.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to ikhtiar For This Useful Post:
Saadia afridi (Monday, February 05, 2018)

aliraza6666 is on a distinguished road

Check out EURO HISTORY/Criminology/GenderStudies for your remaining subject.
this is fact that USA history is short and can be covered within weeks but since many candidates are opting USA history so there are chances that paper could be more rational and demands analytical answers as compared to other history subjects.

As far as scoring trends are concerned, i always say that they are aspirants who outline the scoring trends. One should always keeps ahead the interest of his own for a subject rather than being a victim of these myths. Example: IR in 2017

I am also discouraged over my selection of Accounting&Auditing and leaving IR but this is my firm belief and self-confidence which holds me strong that i can do better with my personal favourite subject A&A.

BEST OF LUCK.

Saadia afridi is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Assasin View Post
This is the second time i am telling you to avoid physics .
I wish someone had abstained me from physics the way i am telling u not to opt physics ,i would have PSP with my name .
I didnt pass my first attempt because of physics .
IL ,USA ,IR are safe and complementary subjects .Consider anthropology ,gender studies ,environmental .sciences ,Publ ad, psychology , regional languages ..there are a lot of other good subjects .

But If u still want to opt for physics then Be my guest and opt for it .But it will cost u a lot . I opted it .i made comprehensive and short notes and i can tell u that it is not worthy of that effort and time ..IT IS A RISKY SUBJECT .

And finally yes i am discouraging you from opting physics because it has caosted me my very first precious attempt .

Ab es say zyada me aur kuch nh keh skta .
Thankyou for your honest opinion. I'll consider your advice for sure

Saadia afridi is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by aliraza6666 View Post
Check out EURO HISTORY/Criminology/GenderStudies for your remaining subject.
this is fact that USA history is short and can be covered within weeks but since many candidates are opting USA history so there are chances that paper could be more rational and demands analytical answers as compared to other history subjects.

As far as scoring trends are concerned, i always say that they are aspirants who outline the scoring trends. One should always keeps ahead the interest of his own for a subject rather than being a victim of these myths. Example: IR in 2017

I am also discouraged over my selection of Accounting&Auditing and leaving IR but this is my firm belief and self-confidence which holds me strong that i can do better with my personal favourite subject A&A.

BEST OF LUCK.
Thank you so much, I'm quite satisfied with your opinion of choosing subjects one is more interested in, I was really confused regarding this subject selection thing , so yeah thanks and good luck 🖒

My Pleasure ...

Muhammadabbass is on a distinguished road

If you have accounting background then its best
A&A
Bus-Add
I.Law

ikhtiar is on a distinguished road

Select those, you are interested in.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to ikhtiar For This Useful Post:
Saadia afridi (Monday, February 05, 2018)
Old Monday, February 05, 2018

Assasin is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Saadia afridi View Post
Thankyou for your honest opinion. I'll consider your advice for sure

Welcome
Old Tuesday, February 06, 2018

aliha28 is on a distinguished road

I need help in subject selection.
I have opted for these:
I.R,I.L,Gender studies,psychology.
I am confused in between Indo-pak history and islamic history.
Old Tuesday, February 06, 2018

In between them Indo-Pak History is better.
Otherwise, keeping in view your Optional Subjects, i would recommend you to select USA History.
The Following User Says Thank You to aliraza6666 For This Useful Post:
aliha28 (Tuesday, February 06, 2018)