Tuesday, April 16, 2024
09:36 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Frequently Asked Questions > Subject Selection

Old Wednesday, May 27, 2009

bibliophile is on a distinguished road
Post Sociology & Journalism Are Scoring Subject

Dear Members.

I herewith write to ask you ppl. I'm willing to take Sociology and Journalism for optional papers. Either they are scoring or not. I hope all senior members will help me as soon as possible.

I Banker.
Old Wednesday, May 27, 2009
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no. 2638Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 3,870 Times in 1,441 Posts
Raz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant futureRaz has a brilliant future

Originally Posted by bibliophile
Dear Members.

I herewith write to ask you ppl. I'm willing to take Sociology and Journalism for optional papers. Either they are scoring or not. I hope all senior members will help me as soon as possible.

I Banker.

Journalism is scoring

Sociology was scoring.

Hope to see revival of sociology in the near future.

The Following User Says Thank You to Raz For This Useful Post:
Artemis (Thursday, May 28, 2009)
Old Thursday, May 28, 2009
Khadim-e-Fareed
Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Roll Number 3208-CSS 2008Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best Mod 2009Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2009Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,189 Times in 442 Posts
Mumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to behold

Dear Members.

I Banker.

AOA.

Things keep on changing.A subject which is scoring one year can cause a major disaster the next.Take History of India And Pakistan for example. In css 2007 Average score in this subject was 110-125 some candidates even getting 156.In css 2008 it recieved a sever hammering and the average score came down to 75-90.A large segment of students even failed to get 66 marks ie passing marks.

Well coming back to your query.

Sociology and Journalism are generally considered as High scoring subjects and their second plus point is that one does not have to put in much effort to prepare these two subjects. Journalism has been among the few high scorers this year with candidates getting even 83/100 in this subject. But do not assume that this trend would continue for long.The general trend in between 60-70 in this subject.Sociology was fine till 2007 with candidates like Dr.Khalil Bhutta ( 2nd Position ) scoring 80/100 in sociology but then came 2008 and candidates really struggled to bag 60 in the subject and majority came in the bracket of 45-55.

As i have said that nothing is permanent in Css as the examiners keep on changing.These two subjects are comparatively safer than the others.So i guess you should fasten your belt and go for them or for better idea you can wait till the result of css 2009 in announced and you can see some DMS's for a better idea.

Best of Luck

Last edited by Mumtaz Hayat Maneka; Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 12:20 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Mumtaz Hayat Maneka For This Useful Post:
Artemis (Thursday, May 28, 2009), Surmount (Thursday, May 28, 2009)

Lightbulb

Dear Mumtaz Hyat Maneka.

Thanks for your earlier respense. What about Merchentile Law? Because I have already studied in my previous graduation Contract,Sales, Agreement,Dislove Party, Partnership Act etc. Should I rely on it?

Last edited by Viceroy; Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 07:12 PM. Reason: Name Correction
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - 4th in Sindh UrbanMedal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Arif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the rough

Dear Members.

I Banker.
I agree with the views above and also I think you should not only consider the scoring trend of last year and this year but also look at the past papers as well. If you find those interesting then you should decide to go for these subjects. The past papers, when I reviewed them, revealed to me that they didn't have much to surprise the candidates, but still things can change drastically, as mentioned earlier. I suggest you to keep all these factors in mind, then go for these subjects with good spirits. All the best.
Khadim-e-Fareed
Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Roll Number 3208-CSS 2008Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best Mod 2009Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2009Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,189 Times in 442 Posts
Mumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to behold

Dear Mumtaz Hyat Maneka.

Thanks for your earlier respense. What about Merchentile Law? Because I have already studied in my previous graduation Contract,Sales, Agreement,Dislove Party, Partnership Act etc. Should I rely on it?
AoA.

Mercantile law is a very good but technical subject. I would suggest to opt mercantile law only if you are well acquainted with the Basic law and its application that is expertise in case study type questions. Candidates have scored as much as 85-90 in this subject. But this year the question pattern has changed again so lets wait for the result and see what the marking trend is this time around.

Last edited by Viceroy; Thursday, May 28, 2009 at 07:12 PM.

Dear Sir,

aslamalykum.

Thanks for your kind response. I'm not fully practioner so. I have just basic study idea during my graduation. As far as my mind is concerned that Marchentile Law subject would be most convenient for me, I can do it very easily, and may get good marks in exam. Besides this, I'm already working in a financial institution this subject is also a little bit pertains to it. Inshallah my hard work will take me to the top! At the end I'm really thankful to all members, who are encouraging me on this precious forum. I'm not well in english because I'm not adept in writting. How can I improve my writting skill either.

Always remember you in my prayers

JazakAllah.

I Banker.