07:04 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Subject Analysis

Old Sunday, September 25, 2016

navidali is on a distinguished road

AOA. I have done BCS . i want to opt the following subjects
Computer Science (200)
Pure Maths (100)
Applied Maths (100)
Gender Studies (100)
Muslim Law (100)
Please guide me that how is my selection and what will be the scoring trend. Thanks in advance
Old Monday, September 26, 2016

quantumX is on a distinguished road

Why are you selecting Muslim Law? Have you studied it before?
The Following User Says Thank You to quantumX For This Useful Post:
navidali (Monday, September 26, 2016)
Old Monday, September 26, 2016

navidali is on a distinguished road

no i haven't studied it before? but i am confused to whether select muslim law or history of usa, i heard from someone that most of people dont opt computer science and thats why scoring trend is low? is it right
Old Wednesday, October 12, 2016

quantumX is on a distinguished road

In your case, I'd suggest you to go for USA History not for the Muslim Law, and you can get good marks in computer science provided that you cover everything which you have studied in the BS. I recommend you to opt for CS because if you don't opt it then it's going to give the interview panel a bad impression.
Old Saturday, January 12, 2019

Aniba is on a distinguished road
Default Optional Subjects

Salam!
I have done my bachlors in Mathematics.
I have choosen Applied Maths, Pure Maths and indopak history.
I am very confused what should i select for other 300 marks.
I was thinking of chosing accounting because i have intrest in that subject. But not sure if its worth it or not.
Plesse help me in selection of optionals.
Thankyou!
Old Monday, January 14, 2019

MMani is on a distinguished road
Post Suggestion

Originally Posted by Aniba View Post
Salam!
I have done my bachlors in Mathematics.
I have choosen Applied Maths, Pure Maths and indopak history.
I am very confused what should i select for other 300 marks.
I was thinking of chosing accounting because i have intrest in that subject. But not sure if its worth it or not.
Plesse help me in selection of optionals.
Thankyou!
I would suggest you following

1) Choose one language if you are good at one viz Punjabi, Sindhi, or Balochi, etc.
2) Have a look at the minuscule syllabus of Gender Studies.

Hopefully, this will help you. If still uncertain, please go through the syllabus and the past papers of multiple subjects to ease your process and progress.
Old Saturday, May 09, 2020

waqasafz is on a distinguished road
Default Need Suggestion

Salam!
I done MS Software Engineering and wants to appear in CE-2021 and i am confuse to select the optional subjects. As consult one of the academy and take first free class about optional subjects and then chooses the following subjects

Governance & Public Policies (100)
Gender Studies (100)
Criminology (100)
Sociology (100) or Journalism & Mass Communication (100)

and this cover 400 marks respectively but still 200 marks are awaiting to choose between Political Science or International Relation?

In my student life i am just a average student and done MS 2 to 3 years back so that's why i am not choosing computer science and its lengthy as well.

Kindly suggest me about optional subjects because i am really worried about this. And secondly tell from where to start the preparation (like compulsory or optional subjects).
Old Thursday, May 14, 2020

AmmaraKhan678 is on a distinguished road
Default Subject choosing

ASLAM ALAIKUM.
AMMARA KHAN here.
I am also a beginner in CSS preparations but hopefully I can guide you for subject selection in better way.
As you have chosen following subjects;
Governance and Public policies, group 3
Gender studies , group 5
Criminology ,group 6
Sociology , group 7
But as you mentioned that these all subjects only acquire 400 marks out of 600 marks of optional subjects. So, I will suggest you to take following subjects;
political sciences: group 1
indo-pak history : group 4
But remember the subjects you choose should be of your taste and interest.
BEST OF LUCK
Old Saturday, May 16, 2020

RoadBlock is on a distinguished road

The other day, I was watching an interview of a retired civil servant. The explanation that he offered for the so called conundrum of high vs low scoring was quite plausible. On periodic basis, papers of certain optional subjects in CSS are made easy and aspirants find it a whole lot easy to secure good marks despite having degree in the related field. Based on this connection, other aspirants select that particular subject even when neither they had not studied this subject at university level nor do they have any slightest interest in it. When these aspirants are exposed to a deep analytical and knowledge based paper of the same subject the next year, they choke down and fail it just because of the lack of detailed knowledge in the subject. And the so called theory of high vs low scoring subject arises. The ‘herd response’ of aspirants to a seemingly evident connection in scoring trend of a subject lands them in hot waters.

Please select the subject based on you degree and your level of interest so that you could prepare for the paper in a detailed manner with the ability to satisfy the examiner in a multifaceted way in your answers. Try to synthesize the information and knowledge and develop linkages of your subject to other areas to better grasp the concepts.