-   Tips and Experience Sharing (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/)
-   -   Qualified Members(CE-2015) kindly Ans these Questions & share your experience (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/109054-qualified-members-ce-2015-kindly-ans-these-questions-share-your-experience.html)

Farhan Kaif Friday, April 29, 2016 06:52 AM

Qualified Members(CE-2015) kindly Ans these Questions & share your experience

Dear all [B]qualified Members[/B],
First of all bht bht mubarak ho...:bow:bow:bow
ok now lets guide us. kindly share your experiences. tell us:sad:
[B]1)[/B]how much time(months) did your preparation take? how many hours /day ?how many days per week ?
[B]2)[/B]did you do some kind of job along with your preparation ?
[B]3)[/B]what was your daily routine ?
[B]4)[/B]how you prepared essay ?
[B]5)[/B]how you prepared optionals and compulsory ? I mean did you prepare it side by side or first optionals then compulsory .

If possible make a separate thread in [URL="Tips and Experience Sharing"]Tips and Experience Sharing[/URL]
but kindly Answer all the queries above

Thanks in anticipation:8:

Asked by Assasin(junior member)

Innocent Heart Friday, April 29, 2016 08:59 AM

kindly do reply ..
JAZAK ALLAH

M Awais Malik Friday, April 29, 2016 09:23 PM

It would be of great help if some suggestions or experiences are shared for aspirants having 9 hour job like myself. Most of the posts I went through recommend studying 6-8 hours daily but that seems a bit arduous task considering the fact that one has to take some time to recover from exhaustion caused by intense mental work (programming in my case).
So far I've been unable to spare more than 3 hours daily. What more can be done to maximize daily hours so that It may not have adverse effects on either work performance on job or preparation for exam.

Furthermore most the seniors recommend taking a month or two off from job before examinations. Do we have some examples who didn't take leaves from their jobs and still managed to secure a career in prestigious civil services?
Much appreciations.

Farhan Kaif Sunday, May 01, 2016 02:59 PM

There was a time indeed when Senior used to Help and support theirs juniors but and now that time has gone:(

Sent from my LG-F320K using Tapatalk

Mashaaal Sunday, May 01, 2016 07:56 PM

[B]1)how much time(months) did your preparation take? how many hours /day ?how many days per week ?[/B]

I started my preparation on 1st of august 2014 and appeared in the exam with 6 months preparation.

in the first 3 months i studied for 4 to 5 hours daily.... and in the last 3 months my study hours varied from 6 to 8 hours.

although i was somehow regular in studying on daily basis, yet there came some days in which i didn't study at all. usually i gave a gap of a day or two after every 8 to 9 days....(and that gap was not at all scheduled, rather that was something automatic)

anabiya mughal Sunday, May 01, 2016 08:26 PM

[QUOTE=Mashaaal;932869][B]1)how much time(months) did your preparation take? how many hours /day ?how many days per week ?[/B]

I started my preparation on 1st of august 2014 and appeared in the exam with 6 months preparation.

in the first 3 months i studied for 4 to 5 hours daily.... and in the last 3 months my study hours varied from 6 to 8 hours.

although i was somehow regular in studying on daily basis, yet there came some days in which i didn't study at all. usually i gave a gap of a day or two after every 8 to 9 days....(and that gap was not at all scheduled, rather that was something automatic)[/QUOTE]

What were your optionals?

Mashaaal Sunday, May 01, 2016 09:23 PM

[QUOTE=anabiya mughal;932874]What were your optionals?[/QUOTE]
my optionals were
psychology
american history
public administration
sociology
journalism

Mashaaal Sunday, May 01, 2016 09:27 PM

[B]2)did you do some kind of job along with your preparation ?[/B]

i didn't do any job when i was preparing for my written exams,but when my written exams were over I started the job of visiting lecturer ship at university level. this job really helped me in improving my command over my spoken language, in developing confidence and in improving my communication skills to a great extent, and all this finally helped me in my psychological tests and interview.

ursula Sunday, May 01, 2016 09:28 PM

[QUOTE=Mashaaal;932891]my optionals were
psychology
american history
public administration
sociology
journalism[/QUOTE]

Could you like to explain me up to what extent my answer is pertinent to examiners cuisine of tasting the paper ink, since I posted one of my answer in Us history portion as asked from sir naveed to put in his nice complement.
I hope you will consider this.:)
Link is here
[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-iv/history-usa/74966-questions-their-asnwers-outlines-6.html[/url]

CommittedSoul Sunday, May 01, 2016 09:32 PM

psychology
american history
public administration
sociology
journalism[/QUOTE]

hey Mashal! firstly I want to congratulate you on your allocation. though you were not allocated in any leading group/service yet I believe you you are satisfy with IRS. the topper of this year Usman Ghuman was also allocated in IRS earlier so you don't need to lose your heart.
now I also want to thank you for being here to guide new aspirants. so my some questions are ;
was it your first attempt ?
how did you prepare essay and English paper? what steps you will recommend us?
can you please share your marks of public Adm along with your strategy and the journey of preparation?

Mashaaal Sunday, May 01, 2016 09:41 PM

[QUOTE=CommittedSoul;932894]hey Mashal! firstly I want to congratulate you on your allocation. though you were not allocated in any leading group/service yet I believe you you are satisfy with IRS. the topper of this year Usman Ghuman was also allocated in IRS earlier so you don't need to lose your heart.
now I also want to thank you for being here to guide new aspirants. so my some questions are ;
can you please share your marks of public Adm along with your strategy and the journey of preparation?[/QUOTE]
thank you ....
IRS was one of my top preference... although PCS was the first one...
i am perfectly satisfied with IRS... FBR was something i really longed for...

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic-section/humorous-inspirational-general-stuff/105137-one-your-favourate.html[/url]

and yes this was my first attempt, alhamdollillah i made it :rrolleyes

[QUOTE=CommittedSoul;932894]hey Mashal! firstly I want to congratulate you on your allocation. though you were not allocated in any leading group/service yet I believe you you are satisfy with IRS. the topper of this year Usman Ghuman was also allocated in IRS earlier so you don't need to lose your heart.
can you please share your marks of public Adm along with your strategy and the journey of preparation?[/QUOTE]
[B]how did you prepare essay and English paper? what steps you will recommend us?[/B]

i left science after my bsc and did MA English for the sole purpose of having a command over my written expression , so that i can pass essay and composition paper in my first attempt. i will share my strategy soon, step by step,
1 important thing is to do written practice on any given topic on regular basis.

Mashaaal Sunday, May 01, 2016 09:47 PM

[B]can you please share your marks of public Adm along with your strategy and the journey of preparation?[/B]

74 in public ad,
i followed public administration by sultan khan...
(just this book, no other reference material)

CommittedSoul Sunday, May 01, 2016 10:00 PM

[QUOTE=Mashaaal;932897]
74 in public ad,
i followed public administration by sultan khan...
(just this book, no other reference material)[/QUOTE]
wow great! I am also thinking of to opt te said subject but the paper of ce-16 was quick different and difficult.
were you appeared in ce-16? if yes then can you please suggest us some books for revised syllabus and stragety to get good marks?

[QUOTE=Mashaaal;932899]

i left science after my bsc and did MA English for the sole purpose of having a command over my written expression , so that i can pass essay and composition paper in my first attempt. i will share my strategy soon, step by step,
1 important thing is to do written practice on any given topic on regular basis.[/QUOTE]
hmmm! so English grammar isn't a only thing that matters in essay paper. one should knows ample knowledge of a chosen essay.
we shall wait for our strategy. :)
it's so kind of you.

RMKamran Sunday, May 01, 2016 10:24 PM

psychology
american history
public administration
sociology
journalism[/QUOTE]

AoA,

Heartiest congratulations mam for wearing the crown of a CSP. :clap

Kindly let me know which book did you consult for sociology and USA history ?

Plus, what do you think which subject could yield more marks between I. R and political science ? I don't have academic background in both of them.

Jazak'ALLAH Khairan.

May the glorious Lord bless you more than your prayers in both the worlds. Ameen sumameen.

RMKamran

Mashaaal Monday, May 02, 2016 10:37 AM

[QUOTE=RMKamran;932913]AoA,

Heartiest congratulations mam for wearing the crown of a CSP. :clap

Kindly let me know which book did you consult for sociology and USA history ?

Plus, what do you think which subject could yield more marks between I. R and political science ? I don't have academic background in both of them.

Jazak'ALLAH Khairan.

May the glorious Lord bless you more than your prayers in both the worlds. Ameen sumameen.

RMKamran[/QUOTE]
first of all thank you so much ...
as far as [B]US history[/B] is concerned, i prepared some part of it from those handouts which were provided by our professors in my masters program, before studying american literature ' we studied american history in a summarized way. apart from it, i followed the two books by majumdaar. i did practice some maps, flow charts and mindmaps for this very subject, as they give a comprehensive look to your answer.

WhisperingShadow Monday, May 02, 2016 11:15 AM

[QUOTE=Mashaaal;933029]first of all thank you so much ...
as far as [B]US history[/B] is concerned, i prepared some part of it from those handouts which were provided by our professors in my masters program, before studying american literature ' we studied american history in a summarized way. apart from it, i followed the two books by majumdaar. i did practice some maps, flow charts and mindmaps for this very subject, as they give a comprehensive look to your answer.[/QUOTE]

Many thanks for sharing your experience. People nowadays don't bother to share their DMCs even. Peace and Happiness !!

Mashaaal Monday, May 02, 2016 11:31 AM

[QUOTE=WhisperingShadow;933052]Many thanks for sharing your experience. People nowadays don't bother to share their DMCs even. Peace and Happiness !![/QUOTE]
you are welcome.
i was discussing US history and u mentioned dmc , so let me tell you that my score in this subject was 56 .

WhisperingShadow Monday, May 02, 2016 12:27 PM

No No, you took it wrong. I was talking about it in general. Check up the DMCs thread in CSS 2015 section and you'll see hardly 7,8 people have shared.

RMKamran Monday, May 02, 2016 09:47 PM

[QUOTE=Mashaaal;933029]first of all thank you so much ...
as far as [B]US history[/B] is concerned, i prepared some part of it from those handouts which were provided by our professors in my masters program, before studying american literature ' we studied american history in a summarized way. apart from it, i followed the two books by majumdaar. i did practice some maps, flow charts and mindmaps for this very subject, as they give a comprehensive look to your answer.[/QUOTE]

Jazak'ALLAH Khairan. Thanks a lot mam for your time and reply. You also opted sociology as I asked earlier, please tell which book did you consult for the said subject ?

RMKamran.

khanhamna252 Monday, May 02, 2016 10:29 PM

Mam plz also tell the best way to attempt papers....

Sent from my SM-G531H using Tapatalk

CommittedSoul Monday, May 02, 2016 11:14 PM

[QUOTE=CommittedSoul;932901]wow great! I am also thinking of to opt te said subject but the paper of ce-16 was quick different and difficult.
were you appeared in ce-16? if yes then can you please suggest us some books for revised syllabus and stragety to get good marks?
.[/QUOTE]

Dear madam, please guide new aspirants in public adm. we have made a thread for the public adm. please help us in general whenever you find some leisure. I'll be grateful to you.
[url]www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-iii/public-administration/108290-please-give-your-views-guide-about-public-administration.html[/url]

Redefiner Monday, May 02, 2016 11:51 PM

[QUOTE=Mashaaal;932895]
1 important thing is to do written practice on any given topic on regular basis.[/QUOTE]

Sorry, my question might sound you a bit awkward and irritating but please try to reply after tolerating my silliness.

How to chose any topic and what should be the source?
Secondly, how much amount should be written?
Additionally, who I should get it checked by? or who you used to get it checked by?

Yours Sincerely

Mashaaal Tuesday, May 03, 2016 06:45 PM

@RMkamran

sociology by taga brothers(major portion)
social problems of pakistan by shahbaz anwar(with latest data from net)
sociology by hortun and hunt(some topics)

Mashaaal Tuesday, May 03, 2016 07:19 PM

[QUOTE=Redefiner;933350]Sorry, my question might sound you a bit awkward and irritating but please try to reply after tolerating my silliness.

How to chose any topic and what should be the source?
Secondly, how much amount should be written?
Additionally, who I should get it checked by? or who you used to get it checked by?

Yours Sincerely[/QUOTE]

your question was not at all awkward and irritating...
*choose any topics from the past papers that seem attractive , because in the start you would need some extra motivation for writing practice so start from the easy and interesting topics then later move to the difficult ones.(an argumentative topic would be the beast choice)
*2 - 3 paragraphs a day would be enough( each para ranging from 80 to 100 words)
*any senior friend,teacher or colleague can check it for you who lives nearby,

Mashaaal Tuesday, May 03, 2016 07:21 PM

[QUOTE=CommittedSoul;933333]Dear madam, please guide new aspirants in public adm. we have made a thread for the public adm. please help us in general whenever you find some leisure. I'll be grateful to you.
[url]www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optional-subjects/group-iii/public-administration/108290-please-give-your-views-guide-about-public-administration.html[/url][/QUOTE]
ok inshaAlLah

thinxrain2 Tuesday, May 03, 2016 07:41 PM

[QUOTE=Mashaaal;933665]ok inshaAlLah[/QUOTE]

Madam 1st of all hearty congratulations!
In this thread, I got a bit devious query as it pertains to general recruitment (mcq) exams. Madam, your detailed tips in regard of mcqs preparation will be highly appreciated. I know it is a little irrelevant in this thread to ask about this but as you are visiting this place/thread more often than not so I got no other option. Your personal experience regarding mcqs preparation is requested please.

courageneverdies Tuesday, May 03, 2016 07:41 PM

[B]How much time(months) did your preparation take? how many hours /day ?how many days per week ?[/B]

In total 3 months (remember it was my third attempt so I hadn't prepared from the scratch).

[B]Did you do some kind of job along with your preparation ?[/B]

I did my job (i.e. teaching) while written (8 hours full time job).

[B]What was your daily routine ?[/B]

I used to study in the evening (in fact at night, after Isha). Used to study for 4-5 hours daily.

[B]How you prepared essay ?[/B]

I prepared Essay from my MA books and notes on Essay Writing.

[B]How you prepared optionals and compulsory ? I mean did you prepare it side by side or first optionals then compulsory .[/B]

For all the compulsory subjects and some optional subjects I had books. I had prepared a complete timetable distributing time for compulsory and optional subjects. I extensively consulted online resources as well.

Innocent Heart Tuesday, May 03, 2016 08:19 PM

[QUOTE=courageneverdies;933672][B]How much time(months) did your preparation take? how many hours /day ?how many days per week ?[/B]

In total 3 months (remember it was my third attempt so I hadn't prepared from the scratch).

[B]Did you do some kind of job along with your preparation ?[/B]

I did my job (i.e. teaching) while written (8 hours full time job).

[B]What was your daily routine ?[/B]

I used to study in the evening (in fact at night, after Isha). Used to study for 4-5 hours daily.

[B]How you prepared essay ?[/B]

I prepared Essay from my MA books and notes on Essay Writing.

[B]How you prepared optionals and compulsory ? I mean did you prepare it side by side or first optionals then compulsory .[/B]

For all the compulsory subjects and some optional subjects I had books. I had prepared a complete timetable distributing time for compulsory and optional subjects. I extensively consulted online resources as well.

Regards[/QUOTE]
Respected sir
Kindly share your notes for essay??
CE-2017 will be my third attempt
I can't face failure now.... Css is everything for me please share your outline with introduction.
Mam mashaal same request to you too.
Please help me
Jazak Allah

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk

courageneverdies Tuesday, May 03, 2016 08:38 PM

[QUOTE=Innocent Heart;933689]Respected sir
Kindly share your notes for essay??
CE-2017 will be my third attempt
I can't face failure now.... Css is everything for me please share your outline with introduction.
Mam mashaal same request to you too.
Please help me
Jazak Allah

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

Just let me upload my notes and relevant material about essay on a sharing site so that I may send you the links for them.

Innocent Heart Tuesday, May 03, 2016 08:40 PM

[QUOTE=courageneverdies;933695]Just let me upload my notes and relevant material about essay on a sharing site so that I may send you the links for them.

Regards[/QUOTE]
Thank you so much
Jazak Allah

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk

courageneverdies Tuesday, May 03, 2016 09:16 PM

[QUOTE=Innocent Heart;933697]Thank you so much
Jazak Allah

Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk[/QUOTE]

Here is the link sir. I hope this helps. The notes are assorted but all relevant to essay writing.

[URL="https://www.dropbox.com/sh/7v8iigakx5sgsji/AADzfvKxsLiqeRydBJK682Jva?dl=0"]https://www.dropbox.com/sh/7v8iigakx5sgsji/AADzfvKxsLiqeRydBJK682Jva?dl=0[/URL]

Innocent Heart Tuesday, May 03, 2016 10:25 PM

[QUOTE=courageneverdies;933708]Here is the link sir. I hope this helps. The notes are assorted but all relevant to essay writing.

[URL="https://www.dropbox.com/sh/7v8iigakx5sgsji/AADzfvKxsLiqeRydBJK682Jva?dl=0"]https://www.dropbox.com/sh/7v8iigakx5sgsji/AADzfvKxsLiqeRydBJK682Jva?dl=0[/URL]

Regards[/QUOTE]
Bht Bht shukria :) :)
JAZAK ALLAH

Farhan Kaif Wednesday, May 04, 2016 01:25 AM

[QUOTE=courageneverdies;933708]Here is the link sir. I hope this helps. The notes are assorted but all relevant to essay writing.

Regards[/QUOTE]

Worth sharing!!!
May ALLAH bless you:)

Aameen

Magus007 Wednesday, May 04, 2016 01:52 AM

i think these are basic questions asked by every other aspirant.. to me crux of css lies in ones own self.. how you mold yourself toward this gigantic task.. first essential ingredient is time management.. we often lose most of time in reading those things with which we have nothing to do.. smart work is needed.. what to study and what not to study are important.. however, to reply about time is that when you feel that you can attempt at least 90% of question paper that means objective has been earned.. the sophisticated pathway to crack the hard nut of essay is organisation and relevance to the topic.. it is rightly said that essay is not studied it is practiced.. optionals should be followed by compulsory.. in a nutshell techniques vary from person to person..

Redefiner Friday, May 13, 2016 01:11 PM

[QUOTE=Mashaaal;933664]your question was not at all awkward and irritating...
*choose any topics from the past papers that seem attractive , because in the start you would need some extra motivation for writing practice so start from the easy and interesting topics then later move to the difficult ones.(an argumentative topic would be the beast choice)
*2 - 3 paragraphs a day would be enough( each para ranging from 80 to 100 words)
*any senior friend,teacher or colleague can check it for you who lives nearby,[/QUOTE]

Since, you attempted in 2015 and at that time Expansion was part of the English Precis & Composition paper but from 2016, it is no more. So writing paragraphs of 80 to 100 words, this advice is for expansion or essay? If its for essay, don't you think its insufficient. I guess, I am unable to comprehend what you tried to convey me. Please explain a little bit more.

incrediblex Monday, May 16, 2016 12:31 AM

[QUOTE=Farhan Kaif;932077]Dear all [B]qualified Members[/B],
First of all bht bht mubarak ho...:bow:bow:bow
ok now lets guide us. kindly share your experiences. tell us:sad:
[B]1)[/B]how much time(months) did your preparation take? how many hours /day ?how many days per week ?
[B]2)[/B]did you do some kind of job along with your preparation ?
[B]3)[/B]what was your daily routine ?
[B]4)[/B]how you prepared essay ?
[B]5)[/B]how you prepared optionals and compulsory ? I mean did you prepare it side by side or first optionals then compulsory .

If possible make a separate thread in [URL="Tips and Experience Sharing"]Tips and Experience Sharing[/URL]
but kindly Answer all the queries above

Thanks in anticipation:8:

Asked by Assasin(junior member)[/QUOTE]
1)I started my prep in September. 10-12 hours daily.
2)I did job till December, then I took leave for 2 months for exams.
3)No fixed routine, I had divided my work on days so I had to complete a day's work in anyway possible.
4)I prepared essay material on my own, wrote a few and get them checked. In short I practiced writing essays.
5)I prepared side by side.

I hope all the questions have been answered. :)

ACROBATIC Thursday, May 19, 2016 01:48 AM

[QUOTE=Mashaaal;932869][B]1)how much time(months) did your preparation take? how many hours /day ?how many days per week ?[/B]

although i was somehow regular in studying on daily basis, yet there came some days in which i didn't study at all. usually i gave a gap of a day or two after every 8 to 9 days....(and that gap was not at all scheduled, rather that was something automatic)[/QUOTE]
salam... congratulations on ur brilliant success in css and that too in ur first attempt. i also have taken css for three consecutive time but could not succeed... failed in islamyat and essay 2014-15 by 4 marks and scored well in all other subjects, excepting psychology. i have fieldman book and top 20 and other books.. please tell me what was ur strategy for this subject..!!
regards..!!

Aaiza Jadoon Thursday, May 19, 2016 03:15 PM

[QUOTE=incrediblex;937415]1)I started my prep in September. 10-12 hours daily.
2)I did job till December, then I took leave for 2 months for exams.
3)No fixed routine, I had divided my work on days so I had to complete a day's work in anyway possible.
4)I prepared essay material on my own, wrote a few and get them checked. In short I practiced writing essays.
5)I prepared side by side.

I hope all the questions have been answered. :)[/QUOTE]
Can u please share the strategies of preparation means how u prepared in just 4 mnths and what were ur optionals

Aaiza Jadoon Thursday, May 19, 2016 03:21 PM

[QUOTE=Magus007;933803]i think these are basic questions asked by every other aspirant.. to me crux of css lies in ones own self.. how you mold yourself toward this gigantic task.. first essential ingredient is time management.. we often lose most of time in reading those things with which we have nothing to do.. smart work is needed.. what to study and what not to study are important.. however, to reply about time is that when you feel that you can attempt at least 90% of question paper that means objective has been earned.. the sophisticated pathway to crack the hard nut of essay is organisation and relevance to the topic.. it is rightly said that essay is not studied it is practiced.. optionals should be followed by compulsory.. in a nutshell techniques vary from person to person..[/QUOTE]
well my question is about smart work means what are the tips for smart work as i observed that peoples who used to study whole day and night failed so how one can do smart work to qualify css.

Muhammad Ahsan Shah Monday, June 13, 2016 09:41 PM

First of all thanks, sir.
I really appreciate that you shared your experience with us. I have a few questions if you don't mind.
The only pressure I faced during my preparation is a continuous thinking about covering all the topics along with relevant maps, graphs, quotations etc. Should I focus on the repeated ones?
Secondly, is there a need for subheadings in essay?
Thirdly, what should be the length of an answer in other papers? ( In terms of words, approximately)
Fourthly, what should be the best way to prepare objectives? (Should I buy a separate book for each subject?)
Last but not the least, the term 'scoring trend' has gone extinct for the next 3-4 years due to the change in syllabi, so what should be the best strategy? Isn't it now a waste of time to think about scoring trends?

01:21 AM (GMT +5)