03:02 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Monday, September 24, 2018

Tello is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up my life story and css exam 2018

As many of you would know, when ever you talk to some one who has appeared in css exams or is preparing for one the first question that rises is when should you do it, i mean which qualification you must at least have to even appear. Different people have different opinions regarding this but most people would say you need to have at least a good masters degree or at least an hons degree from some reputable institution .As most of the people don't have access to or have not been admitted into one already face an uphill task.
My experience attending an academy for few weeks made me believe that most of the youth thinks that even if you work hard and bring yforourself up to that level
you wont pass because fpsc has already passed instruction to get down hard on any one who doesn't have at least a good masters degree.

Let me tell you about my background, i did my metric from a semi English medium school where books were taught in English but medium of instruction was Urdu hope you get what i mean to say. i got 542 and was saved why a whisker in maths getting 38 marks

Then i went to a few colleges for fsc pre medical and ,i com but never even game exams for these, then i decided to do private f.a, so when 10 days were left i started preparing for it and got 720 marks.

Then i took admission in Gcu lahore in b.a hons Islamic studies and just studied there for 6 months, then i got admission in same discipline in f.c college Lahore but couldn't stick to that as well and due to unforeseen circumstances i left that too.

Then I spent a few years idle, and after that i started my next journey which was c.a Pakistan or icap ..i passed the first four papers in first attempt but then again i cant stick to that as well so back to home .Mind you never in my life had i ever studied accounting . now it was time for some thing that can be completed in 6 months so i decided that one should atleast do graduation so on the last date of triple fee i took admission in b.a . now here comes the interesting part ten days were left in exams and i still hadnot even brought the books and thought to my self for sure you cant prepare for composite b.a in 10 days becuase i didnot even have any idea about the paper pattern past papers etc then i got some next level scolding (motivation) from my big brother and that put me on the right path next 2 days were spend searching for books there was nothing on internet then i visited a few colleges and some how got hold of the material required,now the next big problem all the books were in urdu and my writing of urdu is second to no doctor.then i started preparing and converting urdu into english in my head and some how just pushed myself enough to not sleep in a few papers and then the result day came on august 25 2017 and i was expecting just to pass somehow but i got 500 marks and first division

Now as every other student the first thing that pops into your head after graduation is doing css but immediately you start to have nightmares like

yaar dictionary ratni parti ha

essay to pass kar hi nahi sakta

itne kum din main tyari nai hoti

hazaron main se chand soo pass hote hain

I was like because my brother whom i told you about previously stood firm and said "tu kar le ga mujhe pata ha" how such simple things could change your mind

so in September i started my journey of css preparation.for a few days i went to academy but then decided its just waist of time and money because i was not able to create my study plan around those evening timings so i started everything myself, after wandering around this form i fought out that i should read foreign publishers books book because that may give me an edge so

"na din dekha na raat na aao dekha na tao" bus lag gaye apne maqsad ka piche

I didnt even open any book in days of exams, i sometimes smiled at people how were holding huge books in hand 5 min before the exams

"abe yaar 6 months main tyari nai hoe to ab kya 5 mint main ho jaye gi"

so i gave all my exams and was quitely confident that i would clear the exams , even if not this a try ball, result came and i got total 659 numbers
but could clear the Islamyat paper by 3 marks and that hit very bad

Yes not a fairytale ending but the reason i am telling you this is, dont lose hope no one gave me a chance to clear even half the papers.I know i didn't succeed but what if i havent appeared in b.a exams. so at least try something may workout for you

here are my marks

essay 55

precis 51

gk 168

isl 37

i.r 123

history u.s.a 69

gender studies 72

i.law 59

sociology 62

total 659 without islamyat

hope this helps some lost soul "mere tarha ka shahzada aur bhi hain
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Tello For This Useful Post:
abrash Durrani (Wednesday, September 26, 2018), Alterior (Wednesday, September 26, 2018), HAMID SALEH LAK (Monday, September 24, 2018), Johnmac (Monday, September 24, 2018), mohsinali303 (Monday, October 08, 2018), Theodosius (Monday, September 24, 2018)

Hassam saeed is on a distinguished road

that is impressive. i have also started my preparation for CSS 2019 but in some groups on fb some people who have managed to clear this exam suggest you should study at least 18 hours out of which 6 hours should be writing practice. and that is supposed to make you feel like you can not do it. that is just first month of preparation and i have covered 3 subjects IR, GS, ISL but i feel like no i'm not going to pass it

anabiya mughal is on a distinguished road

Will you appear in 2019?? I hope you pass with flying colors.

anabiya mughal is on a distinguished road

Please share your preparation strategy of compulsory and optional subjects in detail. And also how did you stay calm during exams??

Originally Posted by Hassam saeed View Post
that is impressive. i have also started my preparation for CSS 2019 but in some groups on fb some people who have managed to clear this exam suggest you should study at least 18 hours out of which 6 hours should be writing practice. and that is supposed to make you feel like you can not do it. that is just first month of preparation and i have covered 3 subjects IR, GS, ISL but i feel like no i'm not going to pass it

I remember one quote from Helen Heller and this has always helped me

"Optimism is the faith that leads to achievement. Nothing can be done without hope and confidence"

Originally Posted by anabiya mughal View Post
Will you appear in 2019?? I hope you pass with flying colors
Yes I will

Originally Posted by anabiya mughal View Post
Please share your preparation strategy of compulsory and optional subjects in detail. And also how did you stay calm during exams??
I am planning on doing that too but please give me around a week or so

Default Stop using social media

I would humbly request every aspirant to stop using social media for at least last 4-5 months . Css is already tough enough to discourage you, dont need further pressure in shape of what your other facbook friend or cousins have achieved and dont follow too many forums there. This forum is more than enough for every information you may require

Theodosius is on a distinguished road

impressive. may you pass in 2019 Ameen
Old Tuesday, September 25, 2018
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 8157Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,849 Times in 1,328 Posts
Tassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdom

The same sort of incident had happened with me in my first attempt of css. I scored better but i failed in Islamiat and that too by scoring just 30 marks. Actually by 2010 people never used to fail in Islamiat and that's why the aspirants never took it that serious . I passed English Essay with 40 while English Precise and Composition with good 71 marks. but Islamiat proved to be a nightmare for me. however, afterwards I took it as a challenge and in the next attempts I was able to score 59 and 68. Thats' why you need not to be disheartened and should take this overall impressive result as morale booster and should focus on Islamiat. With little concentration and extra effort , you may score impressive in it.
I brought the following changes in my strategy after the failure in Islamiat.

The very first thing , i took it as a challenge.
Secondly, I changed the medium from Urdu to English as my Urdu handwriting was pathetic and Urdu handwriting speed was slowest which could not help me write answers of five questions..
Thirdly, I found Ayat e Quran and Ahadith related to various important topics and memorized those in their Arabic without memorizing their translation. I used to create a context while answering , and would quote the Ayat e Quran in their arabic with marker . For instance while I was answering a question regarding women rights in Islam and i had to elaborate my point by describing women's right in inheritance I wrote that Islam has stressed on providing women their share in inheritence as Allah has ordained in Quran ,
"لِّلرِّجَالِ نَصيِبٌ مِّمَّا تَرَكَ الْوَالِدَانِ وَ الأَقْرَبُونَ وَ لِلنِّسَاء نَصِيبٌ مِّمَّا تَرَكَ الْوَالِدَانِ وَ الأَقْرَبُونَ مِمَّا قَلَّ مِنْهُ أَوْ كَثُرَ نَصِيبًا مَّفْرُوضًا" Now I didnt quote the translation and left it to examiner to judge whether the Ayat is in accordance with the context and proves my point or not. And I was able to obtain 68 marks when many other aspirants still failed in Islamiat.
I also showed obsession towards reading various books. Prof Arshad Chadhar's book by JWT was one of them. It provided my with good number of Ayats and Ahadith as well as some good concepts. I used to read a topic from 4 to 5 books and would understand the crux of all of them and would note down the main points.
Another thing which i did was , I prepared objective portion of this paper with an obsession. For this i solved past 15 years css Islamiat papers objective and also solved last 5 exas' PMS past papers Islamiat Objective. Moreover, importantly , I obtained Prof. Zaka sahb 's 1000 point Islamiat Objectice notes which proved highly instrumental in helping strengthen my objective part preparation.

Thats how , I was able to score 68. Had I been possessed with speedy handwriting , i would have crossed 70 . Believe me , memorizing Ayat e Qurani is far far far far easier then memorizing their translation and the impact the original ayat create on examiner is far strong then that created by the translation.
Moreover, one may quote poetic verses also. Like in one of the question the examiner asked thge difference between jihad and Fitna and i started the question with the following poetic verse.
Na Haq Kay Liay Uthay Tu Shamshir Bhi Fitna
Shamshir Kya , Naara e Takbir Bhi Fitnah
I felt if i were examiner , I would definitely had been impressed.

This is the method which really worked for me.
imran25dec (Tuesday, September 25, 2018)