-   Tips and Experience Sharing (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/)
-   -   Is being too obsessed with CSS a bad thing? (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/127444-being-too-obsessed-css-bad-thing.html)

ThrillaInManilla Thursday, June 18, 2020 05:14 PM

Is being too obsessed with CSS a bad thing?

Aoa.
I'm new to this forum. I'm currently in 6th semester of electrical engineering at CEME, NUST. I've always had a passion for CSS but in the recent past that passion has elevated to a new level. I'm particularly ambitious about joining the Foreign Service of Pakistan. The other groups don't fascinate or inspire me that much. (Not even PAS to be honest). Now the issue here is that ever since the result for CSS 2019 came out yesterday I've been hooked. I can't get myself to think about anything else. This isn't quite healthy as I'm not very sound academically. Moreover, what concerns me more is that this insane obsession with clearing CSS and being allocated to a particular group leads me to believe that nothing else in life is meaningful other than becoming a diplomat. This approach is very dangerous as it increases the stakes too much and leads to unnecessary pressure. Also the fact that CSS is a highly unpredictable exam doesn't help much. This might be quite a weird question for this forum, but if someone could give me a few tips to keep my expectations realistic and to wait for the right time to ponder upon these things,i.e. after graduation, I'd be really grateful.

Khahori faqeer Thursday, June 18, 2020 08:25 PM

You have to continue this coz nothing can be expected before happening if you are enthusiastic to appear in css you can qualify any group. Because it is motivation which leads to success
Best of luck

Sent from my SM-G532F using Tapatalk

Muhammadwd Thursday, June 18, 2020 09:26 PM

Channel this passion into habits and activities that slowly help you gather information and guide you in the right direction.
For example: you can start reading newspaper daily, whether in hard or soft copy.
Try arguing with your friends on current affairs and Pakistan Affairs. Watch videos of aspirants who have cleared the exam to gain some insight into the exam, its preparation, and the struggles that go along with it. Try reading books as much as you can. There is no certain genre, anything you like will do. Reading will enhance your vocabulary and help you develop your own writing style.
Another very important thing you can do is look at the syllabi of all subjects and select your optional subjects. The reason being that it saves time, and once you have this initial hurdle out of the way you can focus on your preparation when the time comes.
You can take opinions from people you think can guide you in the right direction.
However, choosing your own subjects is the best practice.
Try to figure out your self before the exam because you need to know your strengths and weaknesses. This is essential because it helps you figure out how many hours you need to study in a day, it helps you choose your optional subjects, and it helps you strategize for every subject.
These are some things that can help you deal with the fire inside you. It's not a bad thing, but you are right: too much obsessions can lead to high expectations. Again, high expectations are not a hurdle but they create an ideal scenario inside your head and without direction this ideal situation can come crashing down.
To stop that from happening, you can undergo the soft preparation process by doing the things mentioned above. This will help you because you will keep telling yourself that even at this stage of my academic career, I am doing something positive and worthwhile to make my planned future a reality- the sort of ideal reality you want it to be.

Hope this helps.
Good Luck.

Muhammad Ali Chaudhry Thursday, June 18, 2020 10:16 PM

[QUOTE=ThrillaInManilla;1111650]Aoa.
I'm new to this forum. I'm currently in 6th semester of electrical engineering at CEME, NUST. I've always had a passion for CSS but in the recent past that passion has elevated to a new level. I'm particularly ambitious about joining the Foreign Service of Pakistan. The other groups don't fascinate or inspire me that much. (Not even PAS to be honest). Now the issue here is that ever since the result for CSS 2019 came out yesterday I've been hooked. I can't get myself to think about anything else. This isn't quite healthy as I'm not very sound academically. Moreover, what concerns me more is that this insane obsession with clearing CSS and being allocated to a particular group leads me to believe that nothing else in life is meaningful other than becoming a diplomat. This approach is very dangerous as it increases the stakes too much and leads to unnecessary pressure. Also the fact that CSS is a highly unpredictable exam doesn't help much. This might be quite a weird question for this forum, but if someone could give me a few tips to keep my expectations realistic and to wait for the right time to ponder upon these things,i.e. after graduation, I'd be really grateful.[/QUOTE]

Well , it seems like you worry too much about this thing. Basically what you have to do is to believe in Allah and then in yourself. It's Allah who can help you pass this exam. And , I don't think it's unpredictable. If you have a strong belief in yourself that you can do it ,then you can. "Can Do" attitude. And , well there are some things that you control, while there are some other things that you can't control . What you can do is to prepare , to study , to keep moving forward in a right direction. Don't worry. Worrying too much is always bad for health , and as you have written some lines yourself that it's not good for a person to make himself obsessed with any thing to this much level.
Well write down your feelings, your fears etc. And then write down that what you can do to remain relaxed etc.
Remember ,everyone in this world has got tentions, fears, worries. It can be a different thing to worry about for others ,but still this is life and things are not perfect here. This life is worth taking worries and pains so that we can gain in afterlife,but it doesn't mean that you really have to worry. You should make your connection with Allah better so that you can handle these thoughts and feelings. And everything is from Allah. We always pray for the good to happen ,and for the evil to go away . Allah is the best sustainer of affairs .Timespan of this life is like for a blink of an eye. For a second ,maybe less than that. And real life is afterlife. So maybe make it a goal to achieve some things there , and then you will get peace in this life too. Basically don't get obsessed with this thing. Try your best , give it a go. And then whatever happens, it's not in your control really.
I have seen dull students clearing CSS PMS . Students with GPA 2.1 , 2.4 etc. It doesnot really matter that you are good with your university studies or not. What does matter is your performance in these competitive exams. And approach for taking these exams is very difficult as that of uni exams. So, you can do it.
Stay focussed. But believe in Allah more than anything else. Even when we take medicines,then we say Allah will cure us then we take medicines. In the same way, prepare , try your best. But, remember that only Allah can give you what you want.
And at the end, well , at this time pass your bachelor's. And try to focus on your papers there at university. With it , you can read newspapers and read some other good stuff. Good books. Write one two pages a day on any topic. If you do these things, your writing skills will improve ,and that's the most important thing to pass these exams.

Farrah Zafar Friday, June 19, 2020 01:37 AM

[QUOTE=ThrillaInManilla;1111650]Aoa.
I'm new to this forum. I'm currently in 6th semester of electrical engineering at CEME, NUST. I've always had a passion for CSS but in the recent past that passion has elevated to a new level. I'm particularly ambitious about joining the Foreign Service of Pakistan. The other groups don't fascinate or inspire me that much. (Not even PAS to be honest). Now the issue here is that ever since the result for CSS 2019 came out yesterday I've been hooked. I can't get myself to think about anything else. This isn't quite healthy as I'm not very sound academically. Moreover, what concerns me more is that this insane obsession with clearing CSS and being allocated to a particular group leads me to believe that nothing else in life is meaningful other than becoming a diplomat. This approach is very dangerous as it increases the stakes too much and leads to unnecessary pressure. Also the fact that CSS is a highly unpredictable exam doesn't help much. This might be quite a weird question for this forum, but if someone could give me a few tips to keep my expectations realistic and to wait for the right time to ponder upon these things,i.e. after graduation, I'd be really grateful.[/QUOTE]

Being ambitious for a goal is not a bad thing so you should be.You should focus on your studies for now.Forget about CSS!
When you are done with your degree then start preparation.Give your best but you must be mentally prepared for the unexpected.CSS is not for those specifically who are the brilliant ,in fact only those get through it who are destined.
There was a time when I was crazy about it and I also had dream to get foreign service.I put my all efforts but in the end I was shattered.There were many amazing people on this forum who motivated me and assured me that it's not my failure ,indeed Allah has planned something else.Time proved that !
A few years back the word CSS used to hurt me as it broke my dreams.But today when I look back I feel it was not written my destiny and Allah has the best plans for us.
And remember your hard work is always rewarded whether it's the honour of being a CSP or any other feather in your cap.

Be optimistic & realistic!

saraforpakistan Saturday, June 20, 2020 03:30 PM

I am gonna be blunt here. You, my friend, are headed for depression if this obsession with CSS and foreign service goes on. Try to control yourself, man.
If this is something you want, Work hard. Pray to Allah to show you opportunities to better yourself and never, ever leave anything to chance or luck.

BUT.. be realistic and don't give yourself any false hopes. Obsession with anything that is not in your control (and nothing ever fully is) will lead you to huge disappointments and mental health problems. Look at the stats and know that every single person who sits in these exams, they too are passionate, hard-working, good people. But not everyone succeeds. Even if you don't make it, know that you tried your best.

The other day I was reading a post where a person asked kinda the same question as you, the question was like 7 years old maybe. All the responses were hilarious. Dismissing any notion or chance of failure and bashing the OP of being a pessimist. Essentially all of the replies were implying that "yeah people fail CSS but we will not if we try really really really hard and if we pray even harder. Nope no chance of failing" One of them even went on to say that "I literally HAVE TO pass this exam or else I will do nothing else. ". SURPRISE, SURPRISE, I went on and checked their post histories. 99% of these deadass dreamers ventured into other government jobs and gave exams. Even the "will do nothing else" bhai sahab gave other Government institution exams and started threads about scholarships and other jobs (i hope he succeeded) and stopped participating in posts related to CSS.

Do not put all your eggs in one basket. Work hard, work your best, but understand the unpredictable nature of the exam and acknowledge facts. Do not resort to confirmation bias and do search up interviews or articles of people who succeeded and did not succeed. Everyone who sits in these exams (even multiple times) takes risks, puts effort, and prays to Allah but Allah knows what is better for us.
Again Work tirelessly towards your goals but also surrender to the will of ALLAH. Whatever it may be.

tabapps Sunday, June 28, 2020 05:38 PM

[QUOTE=saraforpakistan;1111703]I am gonna be blunt here. You, my friend, are headed for depression if this obsession with CSS and foreign service goes on. Try to control yourself, man.
If this is something you want, Work hard. Pray to Allah to show you opportunities to better yourself and never, ever leave anything to chance or luck.

BUT.. be realistic and don't give yourself any false hopes. Obsession with anything that is not in your control (and nothing ever fully is) will lead you to huge disappointments and mental health problems. Look at the stats and know that every single person who sits in these exams, they too are passionate, hard-working, good people. But not everyone succeeds. Even if you don't make it, know that you tried your best.

The other day I was reading a post where a person asked kinda the same question as you, the question was like 7 years old maybe. All the responses were hilarious. Dismissing any notion or chance of failure and bashing the OP of being a pessimist. Essentially all of the replies were implying that "yeah people fail CSS but we will not if we try really really really hard and if we pray even harder. Nope no chance of failing" One of them even went on to say that "I literally HAVE TO pass this exam or else I will do nothing else. ". SURPRISE, SURPRISE, I went on and checked their post histories. 99% of these deadass dreamers ventured into other government jobs and gave exams. Even the "will do nothing else" bhai sahab gave other Government institution exams and started threads about scholarships and other jobs (i hope he succeeded) and stopped participating in posts related to CSS.

Do not put all your eggs in one basket. Work hard, work your best, but understand the unpredictable nature of the exam and acknowledge facts. Do not resort to confirmation bias and do search up interviews or articles of people who succeeded and did not succeed. Everyone who sits in these exams (even multiple times) takes risks, puts effort, and prays to Allah but Allah knows what is better for us.
Again Work tirelessly towards your goals but also surrender to the will of ALLAH. Whatever it may be.[/QUOTE]
Hello, I wanted to say that I'm new in the forum as well and just like the Original Poster, I've become obsessed with CSS while being in my 5th semester of university. This thread gave me a new perspective and your message is very motivating indeed. Indeed Allah has a plan for us all and I will begin working on a plan B in life as well.

07:27 AM (GMT +5)