03:54 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Tuesday, October 27, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - 4th in Sindh UrbanMedal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Arif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the rough
Default CSS Psychological & Interview Exams

As the CSS-2009 result has been announced and the qualified candidates are enjoying the celebrations. I would like to take this opportunity to draw your attention towards the greater challenges lying ahead i.e. the “psychological test and Viva voce (or interview)”. I suggest you people should go through the sub forums of CSS Psychological Test and CSS Interview thoroughly and be acquainted with the ins and outs of the whole procedure to follow the written result. This is a vital part containing 300 marks. In fact, whatever could be done in the written, has been done. Now the only difference you can make is that in your interview marks and you will have to give your maximum effort for it, as the huge number of passing candidates this year are surely going to have a very tough competition to get a slot in their preferred groups.

Remember “Fortune Favors the Prepared Mind”.

In this thread I will try to quote my experiences and tips for all of you regarding the CSS Interview and Psychological tests. Any queries, comments and suggestions are welcome. The purpose is to share with you people what we have already experienced and thus help you avoiding old mistakes (may be trying new ones ).
Abdullah Nayyar (Wednesday, October 28, 2009), abid.mehmood786 (Friday, October 30, 2009), afaq_hunts (Wednesday, November 25, 2009), asad5 (Wednesday, December 08, 2010), azmat ullah (Thursday, December 17, 2009), Danish Waseem (Thursday, July 02, 2020), ebad93 (Thursday, August 16, 2012), emmjay (Monday, November 02, 2009), imama (Thursday, November 12, 2009), KAISER A. RIND (Saturday, October 31, 2009), madiha alvi (Wednesday, August 14, 2013), MAHIKAN (Monday, November 09, 2009), mahwishazharch (Tuesday, October 27, 2009), pisceankhan (Saturday, October 17, 2015), Princess Royal (Thursday, October 29, 2009), Rauf (Tuesday, November 03, 2009), Sajid Sadeem (Wednesday, October 28, 2009), sohailravian (Tuesday, October 27, 2009), versatile_bhutto (Saturday, October 31, 2009), Waseem Riaz Khan (Wednesday, October 28, 2009), Yawer Baloch (Wednesday, October 28, 2009), Zahara Alvi (Wednesday, October 28, 2009), Zohaib Baloch (Tuesday, October 27, 2009)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - 4th in Sindh UrbanMedal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Arif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the rough
Default Schedule

Following the qualification in written exams the FPSC publishes on its site the schedule of Psych/ interview tests all around the country. These tests are conducted in phases covering 6 to 8 candidates per day at FPSC offices (usually) in the follwing order: Quetta, Peshawar, Karachi, Lahore, Islamabad. About two weeks before your psychological test you receive a call letter containing a brief introduction to the psych/ viva voce process and the requirements thereof. Normally there is a gap of a couple of weeks between the psychological exam and final interview.
afaq_hunts (Wednesday, November 25, 2009), asad5 (Wednesday, December 08, 2010), evez (Sunday, October 24, 2010), KAISER A. RIND (Saturday, October 31, 2009), M MAZHAR JADOON (Tuesday, September 06, 2011), MAHIKAN (Monday, November 09, 2009), versatile_bhutto (Saturday, October 31, 2009), Waseem Riaz Khan (Wednesday, October 28, 2009), Zahara Alvi (Wednesday, October 28, 2009)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 8236

Nate is on a distinguished road

Ok mashAllah we guys hav passed and now the written examination is a fait accompli now its time to prepare ourselves for interviews anyways can anyone guide me abt form 2 of css first it was written that it is to be submitted within 15 days from the announcement of the result and now its sayin within 7 days so where we should submit the form whether we shud mail it or give it to our local fpsc branch n where to get the form if one is lacking a printer cause then how he can print it plz guide me awaiting guidance
asad5 (Wednesday, December 08, 2010), Zahara Alvi (Wednesday, October 28, 2009)
Old Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Default @Nate

The form can be downloaded from internet. After filling it up you may send it to the FPSC office Islamabad.
asad5 (Wednesday, December 08, 2010), Nate (Wednesday, October 28, 2009)

Default Psychological Test

The psychological test is a two-day exercise. This doesn’t have a direct proportion in the marking of 300 numbers of viva voce, but the psychological panel’s comprehensive report remains in front of the interview panel when they are interviewing you. At times it can act as significantly as to decide the course of your interview. Moreover, this is the time when the so called ‘suitability clause’ is applied to candidates which can determine one’s (un)suitability for one or more groups/ services.

In the following posts I will first give a brief account of events of Psychological test Day-1 and 2. Then I will discuss in detail all the different tests and suggestions regarding strategies for those tests and also my experiences related to all of these events.
afaq_hunts (Wednesday, November 25, 2009), asad5 (Wednesday, December 08, 2010), Rauf (Tuesday, November 03, 2009), Seemab (Friday, October 12, 2012), Shikva (Friday, November 06, 2009)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 5399

armaghan_arif is on a distinguished road
Default Thanx brother

Thank u Arif bhai for introducing such a useful thread I hope to get a great benefit from it
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to armaghan_arif For This Useful Post:
Arif Rao (Wednesday, October 28, 2009), asad5 (Wednesday, December 08, 2010)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 8236

Nate is on a distinguished road

@arif rao

thanx bro i have done that thank u very much
Arif Rao (Wednesday, October 28, 2009), asad5 (Wednesday, December 08, 2010)

Default Psychological Tests (Day-1)

This day you have a very busy and tiring schedule. First, you are required to do the paper work and submit your documents for review by the commission.

1. You are required to fill the personal information form much like the application form for CSS given by FPSC.

2. After that there are some written tests, which include:

• IQ tests: containing numeric sequence/ series, vocabulary related questions, logical questions, ratios/ proportions etc. these are multiple choice questions.

• This is followed by a test that contains questions having figures/ shapes of various types and you have to either choose the missing/ next in sequence picture/ shape from the given options, or in some cases you have to pick the odd one out. These are also MCQ type.

• Then there is a test for sentence completion. Sentences are like: ‘I love __’, ‘I wonder why ___’ etc.

• Then there is a personality test containing around 200 questions to be answered in Yes or No. You have to answer all of these questions. The questions are directed towards several personality trends, for instance, the questions may include: ‘you are a social person’, ‘you take decisions quickly or give some time to plan’, ‘you like to meet stranger’, ‘you prefer to do new task at your job each day or routine work’ etc.

• The next test contains 20~25 situations like ‘There is a fine for coming late to school. Student A has been late to school but he arrived unnoticed by the teacher. However student B, who is friend of A, is aware of that. Now what is your advice to student B?’ You have to select your answer among options which may include (a) Keep silent. (b) Don’t tell the teacher but talk to student A about it. (c) Inform the teacher after the class in absence of student A. (d) Tell the teacher in front of all the class.

• Then there is a very important test containing 25 questions about your personality etc. which include: “what are your strengths/weaknesses?’, ‘what are your parents’ strengths/ weaknesses and their effect on your personality?’, ‘your favorite books/ personalities’ and ‘most important national and international events of the year and their significance’ etc.

• Then another very vital task is that you have to write an Autobiography in 8 minutes.

This concludes the proceedings of Day-1 of Psychological test.
afaq_hunts (Wednesday, November 25, 2009), asad5 (Wednesday, December 08, 2010), azmat ullah (Saturday, November 07, 2009), Bilal Zamir (Thursday, October 29, 2009), emmjay (Monday, November 02, 2009), Engineer Lala (Monday, July 29, 2019), Hammad.Riaz (Thursday, October 29, 2009), maliasghar (Wednesday, October 20, 2010), mini boy (Thursday, December 10, 2009), Muzammil Jutt (Tuesday, August 12, 2014), nasir azam (Wednesday, February 20, 2013), Noor_2009 (Thursday, October 29, 2009), obaid_gondal (Monday, January 04, 2010), pisceankhan (Saturday, October 17, 2015), Rauf (Tuesday, November 03, 2009), s malik (Wednesday, July 21, 2010), Sajid Sadeem (Wednesday, October 28, 2009), Sp police (Sunday, June 18, 2017), student09 (Wednesday, October 28, 2009), Waseem Riaz Khan (Friday, October 30, 2009), Yawer Baloch (Tuesday, December 01, 2009), Zahara Alvi (Thursday, October 29, 2009)
38th CTP (DMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit  31

Abdullah Nayyar will become famous soon enoughAbdullah Nayyar will become famous soon enough

@Arif Bhai
Thanks for the useful thread and we are looking forward to your tips
I have a query, is it possible that I opt for Islamabad(or any other city) as my center for interview/tests while I am a candidate from NWFP?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Abdullah Nayyar For This Useful Post:
asad5 (Wednesday, December 08, 2010), nasir azam (Wednesday, February 20, 2013)

Default @abdullahkhan5

This is possible, you have to write a letter to the Secretary, FPSC, Islamabad requesting him to change your interview center, say, from Peshawar to Islamabad. This happened in the past for some other fellows also.

But do that before the schedule for psych/viva is finalised i.e. ASAP.
Abdullah Nayyar (Wednesday, October 28, 2009), asad5 (Wednesday, December 08, 2010)