11:25 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Wednesday, November 18, 2009
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 3878

hamza is on a distinguished road
Default Book Selection

@ Bhola

I agree with you.
Can you tell me from where i can get that interview of BANOO APA?
By the way i have personally met her at her home.
Waiting for your reply
Seemab (Saturday, October 13, 2012)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - 4th in Sindh UrbanMedal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Arif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the rough

@Arif Rao.
Brother you are doing a fantastic job...Thank you sooooo much for your time.
And by the way Strip search in what sense???? Is it same as done in army recruitment??????
@waseem gurmani, Yes it is somewhat similar to that. Don't worry, it's just a formality.

Choice of favourite books

Arif Bhai:
I want to choose "Raja Gidh" as one of my favorite book.
There is an opinion that its a bit controversial and risky book due to its subject matter.
What is your opinion?
Kindly, Guide me
@hamza, It's a good book and the teachings of morality and values are the essence of our society and religion. There is no harm in choosing it.

favourite book
I want to opt THE SPIRIT OF ISLAM BY SAYYID AMEER ALI as my favourite book. Dear Arif bhaye and others please comment on my choice,
@Noor Ul Haq2009, Your choice seems fine. Read it thoroughly and prepare for questions like, 'what do you like the most in the book?' or 'what is it in the book that you don't agree with?' and if available, try to read some reviews on the book.
hamza (Wednesday, November 18, 2009), Noor Ul Haq2009 (Thursday, November 19, 2009)

bhola is on a distinguished road
Default @hamza

dear if u have chance to meet her again then avail it bcz it ll give u much more info abt her life and Raja gidh as compared to interview. Anyway if u like to listen her interview,search on youtube "Interview of Bano Qudsia and Ashfaq Ahmed ", there u ll find a interview conducted by NAIM Bokahri.it has more than one part.u have to search in which part she has discussed raja gidh.
You tube is nt accessable for me ,otherwise i wud have sent u direct link.
The Following User Says Thank You to bhola For This Useful Post:
hamza (Wednesday, November 18, 2009)
38th CTP (IG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 798

tadap is on a distinguished road
Default selection of Books

can any one opt book of poetry for example khushboo by Parveen Shakir etc
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 3878

Post Books

@ Tadap

"Khusboo" is a good book but in my personal opinion:you should not opt a romantic poetry book.
38th CTP (IG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 798

tadap is on a distinguished road
Default poetry

Iam also a poet and after reading the said book i use to feel emotional and mental depth.as i have written poetry as my hobby so want to be relevant in areas.

correct me if wrong.

Post Poetry

@ Tadap

Dear i think to prove oneself as a future CSP one should have rationale and practical approach. As a poet if you want to go for a poetry book then why not "Faiz Ahmad Faiz, Habib Jalib or Allama Iqbal's poetry. I mean their is objectivity
,purpose and massage in their poetry along with romance.
In my opinion it will engender a much better impression of your personality.
Hope that you will understand my views.
Seemab (Saturday, October 13, 2012)
Old Thursday, November 19, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - 4th in Sindh UrbanMedal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Arif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the rough
Default My Final Interview/viva (CSS-2008):

Date: 13 Nov 2008
Panel: Lt. Gen. (R) Shahid Hamid (Chairman), Mr. Masood Rizvi (Member), Mr. Tariq Bokhari (Member)
Time: 11:15 ~ 11:45 (I was fourth candidate of the day)
Score: 182
Questions:
(By Chairman)

1. Mr. Arif, How are you feeling?
2. How is your moral?
3. Why is your moral high?
4. Are you feeling any tension or pressure? Why not?
5. Are you well prepared?
6. What have you prepared for this interview?
7. Tell me something about your family?
8. Tell us about your career?
9. What can the intelligence agencies monitor from mobile phones (referring my previous job)?
10. You said something about the image of Pakistan, what is the image of Pakistan?
11. That seems to be the image of Pakistan that you wish to see, let me tell you what the image of Pakistan is, “Pakistan is a terrorist country, Pakistan is promoting terrorism, Pakistan is involved in nuclear proliferation, Pakistan is an extremist country”. Now what do you say about it?
12. What do you think is the role of ISI? Isn’t it promoting terrorism?
13. Name four islands in the Atlantic.
14. Name four islands in the Mediterranean.

Questions:
(By Mr. Rizvi)

1. You mentioned in your psychological exam that you remember the day when you came to Pakistan. You was born in Pakistan then why do you mention coming to Pakistan? Explain.
2. What is your opinion about the future of coalition government of PPP and MQM in Sindh?
3. How do you say this will continue when the earlier coalition of PPP and PML-N didn’t prosper?
4. (From my optional subject) when do you think Muslims in sub-continent realize that they can’t live with Hindus and they have to get a separate country?
5. (From my optional subject) Do you know about some specific role Pakistan has played for better relations between US and China? Tell me about some specific event if you can recall.
6. (About my favourite personality) Who is Greg Mortenson? Why is he awarded with “Sitara-e-Pakistan”?

Questions:
(By Mr. Bokhari)

1. You mentioned in your psychological exam that better facilities are needed at CSS examination centers. Which was your center and what facilities are you talking about?
2. You mentioned in your psychological exam that “Russia-Georgia war” was a very important international event of this year. What do you think is its importance?
3. What is the crux of your favourite book “The world is flat”?
4. (About my favourite personality and book) Do you think that micro-credit system can be successful in Pakistan where people do not return loans to banks?

Questions:
(By Chairman)

1. How can we reduce poverty in Pakistan?
2. What are the agriculture related industries?
3. Who will do all this good work of poverty elevation? Do you think those who are in assemblies would do that?
4. Do you think people who have money will care for the poor? How much can asingle man do?

OK. Mr. Arif, you may leave now.
Allah Hafiz.

(The language of questions was both English and Urdu and I answered likewise)

Last edited by Surmount; Wednesday, May 12, 2010 at 01:30 PM. Reason: Merged
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to Arif Rao For This Useful Post:
Abdullah Nayyar (Friday, November 20, 2009), alifuturcsp (Friday, November 20, 2009), aliz_khanz (Thursday, November 19, 2009), azmat ullah (Thursday, December 17, 2009), emmjay (Monday, November 23, 2009), Engineer Lala (Sunday, August 18, 2019), hamza (Saturday, November 21, 2009), Kashif Jamil (Thursday, November 19, 2009), mini boy (Thursday, November 19, 2009), Nate (Sunday, November 22, 2009), SADIA SHAFIQ (Tuesday, September 06, 2011), Sajid Sadeem (Friday, November 20, 2009), Seemab (Saturday, October 13, 2012), Waseem Riaz Khan (Thursday, November 19, 2009), Zahara Alvi (Thursday, November 19, 2009)
Old Thursday, November 19, 2009

qaarjk is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Arif Rao View Post
Some Important Common Questions:

There are a few important questions that one should prepare. Such questions include:

Why do you wish to go for CSS?
What are the three major charms of a this job in your mind?
Don't you think you are depriving you country of a professional (If you are an engineer/doctor/lawyer etc.)?
Why do you prefer to go for __ group?
If we give you some other group, what would you do?
If you fail to get any group in CSS, what would you do then?
There is so much corruption in bureaucracy, what woud you do there?
If you work under a strict but corrupt officer who asks you to do unlawful things, what would you do? (If you reply that I will not do that) Then how will you survive?

Can u please suggest some model answer for these questions as well
Old Friday, November 20, 2009

Originally Posted by qaarjk View Post
Can u please suggest some model answer for these questions as well
Most of these questions are related to your own aptitude and behavior and should be answered naturally, however my answers could be like:

Why do you wish to go for CSS?
It is a dynamic, stable, fast track career giving you pride and prestige where one can serve his country as well as earn a respectable living.

What are the three major charms of this job in your mind?
Serving the people, Honour and prestige, Job security

Don't you think you are depriving you country of a professional (If you are an engineer/doctor/lawyer etc.)?
There are many in the queue and my career switch may come as handy opportunity for some other fellow.

Why do you prefer to go for __ group?
That depends on the group: PSP may be your choice for uniform and adventure, the role of Police in immediate service for common man etc.

If we give you some other group, what would you do?
I will avail my remaining chances (If any more chances left for CSS), however you people are the best judges.

If you fail to get any group in CSS, what would you do then?
Here one should have a well thought out plan-B (e.g. continuing education and then progressing in one’s own field etc.)

There is so much corruption in bureaucracy, what woud you do there?
There are many upright officers and I will follow their footsteps. I believe there is better opportunity for good officers here.

If you work under a strict but corrupt officer who asks you to do unlawful things, what would you do? (If you reply that I will not do that) Then how will you survive?
I will stand by the principles of honesty and uprightness. I have a huge career in front of me and a few hurdles can’t stop me from achieving my ultimate aims to excel.
alifuturcsp (Friday, November 20, 2009), aniya warraich (Sunday, November 25, 2012), emmjay (Monday, November 23, 2009), jadoon khan (Monday, November 23, 2009), Kashif Jamil (Friday, November 20, 2009), Nate (Sunday, November 22, 2009), qaarjk (Friday, November 20, 2009), SADIA SHAFIQ (Tuesday, September 06, 2011), Sajid Sadeem (Tuesday, November 24, 2009), Seemab (Saturday, October 13, 2012), waleed minhas (Saturday, November 21, 2009)