03:45 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Thursday, October 29, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - 4th in Sindh UrbanMedal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Arif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the rough
Default Strategies and Tips for Psychological Test (Continued):

Hobbies or Interests:

Suppose, you say that newspaper reading is your hobby, then they can ask you which one is your favorite newspaper and what is the history of that newspaper. What is its editor’s name? Whose columns do you like the most in that newspaper and why? Who is your favorite journalist? Again, this shows that you have to be well-versed with all the details about the things you mention in your psychological test. Naturally, this seems to be a better choice for someone who has Journalism as his optional. Also it’s important that you try to correlate your interest with things happening around you and in your country. Such points can help you in many ways. For instance, if the above example is considered, you are asked about the significance of your favorite newspaper, you can mention that it is not misusing the 'freedom of expression' and it is playing the actual role of 'free and conscious' media. From there, the discussion can go towards the freedom of media and its pros and cons, and if you have prepared it well, it can earn you some good results. By mentioning all this, I mean to say that you can plan to give your interview the direction you choose, and if it goes that way you can benefit from it.

Also, you may expect a question in the beginning of your (psychological) interview, "What would you like to discuss first? or What is your area of interest?" For such questions you should have a clear answer in your mind. Any area from social/ religious/ political/ economic etc. fileds can be mentioned here, but once mentioned, then you should be able to prove that you are well aware of the various details and viewpoints associated with it.
Abdul Sami (Friday, October 30, 2009), Abdullah Nayyar (Wednesday, November 04, 2009), abid.mehmood786 (Friday, October 30, 2009), alifuturcsp (Friday, October 30, 2009), Bilal Zamir (Friday, October 30, 2009), emmjay (Monday, November 02, 2009), Engineer Lala (Monday, July 29, 2019), evez (Sunday, October 24, 2010), Faiqa Anam (Monday, October 08, 2012), fakhera (Friday, October 30, 2009), Hammad.Riaz (Saturday, October 31, 2009), Honour (Friday, October 30, 2009), KAISER A. RIND (Saturday, October 31, 2009), maliasghar (Wednesday, October 20, 2010), morningcloud (Tuesday, September 23, 2014), Nate (Friday, October 30, 2009), pisceankhan (Saturday, October 17, 2015), Rauf (Tuesday, November 03, 2009), riaz_khan_100 (Thursday, October 29, 2009), s malik (Wednesday, July 21, 2010), Seemab (Saturday, October 13, 2012), Sp police (Sunday, June 18, 2017), Waseem Riaz Khan (Friday, October 30, 2009)
Old Thursday, October 29, 2009

riaz_khan_100 is on a distinguished road

God bless u brother Arif Rao
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to riaz_khan_100 For This Useful Post:
Arif Rao (Friday, October 30, 2009), soveen (Saturday, September 20, 2014)
Old Friday, October 30, 2009
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 4498

Honour is on a distinguished road
Default Thanks to Arif Rao

I read all your post, you really did a nice work for the candidates.

I hope you would continue this for us. Again thanks.
The Following User Says Thank You to Honour For This Useful Post:
Arif Rao (Friday, October 30, 2009)
38th CTP (ITG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 62

Bilal Zamir is on a distinguished road

Arif Rao, Bro you are a good Samaritan. Three cheers for you. Hip Hip , Hooray...
Abdul Sami (Friday, October 30, 2009), Arif Rao (Friday, October 30, 2009)

inayatrustamani is on a distinguished road
Default Guidance in IR is required.

Dear Rao Arif,ASP Police,
Aslam O Alekum,
As I appeared in CSS 2009,and failed in GK and International Relations. Failure in GK is understanable but in IR is out of my thinking.My roll number was 1059. I secured just 24 in IR.

Dear Sir,The questions that I attempted and how I attempted are comprehensively put here. Please go through them in detail, point out the errors, guide me where necessary, and suggest me that what I should do now.

INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS, CSS 2009.
Q.3. Discuss the importance of International Relations as a field of Study?

Answer: I.R is the study of relations between the sovereign states of the world. Before World War I and II there was little importance of IR for the most of states were under the subjugation of powerful countries like the UK, Germany, Rusia,etc. But the significance of IR greatly increased after World War II, when the world changed to bipolar from the multipolar, and this way the number of sovereign states swelled greatly.

When more sovereign states created, the foreign plocicy, diplomacy and national interest like matters sprung among these states and IR played a pivotal role in providing a comprehensive detail and study of these terms.

IR has its matter, methodology and theories thus it is a very important field of study. This has stared playing a vital role in world politics also. This is because of the study of IR that whatever changes occur in the world politics, IR experts and analysts are invited to analyse the situation and provide its effects and solution.

There is no denying of the fact that IR has great value owing to have its characteristic of its being as a field of study.

Q.6.What factors were responsible for Creation of the Warsaw and Nato Pacts.Can Nato’s continuing existence be justified.

Answer: After World War II,the world super power order changed. Before this war the world was a multipolar was many superpowers, but with the end of World War II,the world became bipolar, only two super powers existed and these were USSR and the USA. The power struggle increased between both. Both countries started taking each other as her enemy.

The power struggle and fear were the causes that resulted in the creation of Warsaw Pact and Nato Pact. Warsaw pact was established by the USSR in response to the creation of NATO by the US. Warsaw Pact was established in 1955, as a reaction to NATO that was established in 1949. Establishment of NATO was to counterbalance the power of USSR that had blocked the passage of the US supply of water and food to an occupied part of the US.

NATO was established to counterweight the power of USSR, but USSR disintegrated in 1991. There has now remained no USSR and Warsaw Pact, thus the existence of NATO is out of understanding and appears to be as a threat to the sovereign states. NATO has been acting as a puppet in the hands of the US and there are fears that it may be directed to any country and violate the sovereign status of the sovereign conunties. NATO is viewd as a threat by the analysts to the sovereigny of week states of Asia.

For the sake of balance of power in Asia and harmonius relations between powerful and weak countries, NATO must dismantle its functions and the US should terminate its unjustified existence.

Question: 7.Critically Evaluate American Foreign Policy towards Pakistan.

Answer. America has always played a fair weather friend role with Pakistan. Pakistan has always showed sincerity with the US. Now the relations of both countries are some how friendly but are not so good.

The history represents that the US foreign policy was never in favour of Pakistan. Her forign policy every time changed all of sudden ant took a u-turn. In 1965 and 1971 wars of Pakistan with India,the US had distanced herself away from Pakistan. When the USSR left Afghanistan,the interests of the US ended with Pakistan, thus the US departed Pakistan. When India did its nuclear missile test there were no sanctions on it, but when Pakistan did so in 1998,there were economic sanctions on Pakistan.

The US Foreign Policy with Pakistan has always been attached on the basis of the US interests in South Asia. The US never benefited Pakistan, despite the fact the Pakistan always proved herself a true ally of the US. Despite all these grievances of Pakistan, there has been good relations between both countries time by time, although for short term.

Questiion:8. What is Nuclear Proliferation? How for the United States of America is justified in making a nuclear deal with India.

Answer: Nuclear Proliferation means increase and transfer of the nuclear technology. There is a ban at international level in Nuclear Proliferation.

The relations between Pakistan and India have remained strained since the independence of both. There has been fought three Indo-Pak wars so far. The relations between India and Pakistan are still tense. The US nuclear deal would certainly cause imbalance of power between Pakistan and India. And this deal will also have a great impact on already vulnerable security apparatus of South Asia.

There is also ban on transfer of any nuclear technology and this deal also falls within the ambit of violation of United Nations rules that do not allow any kind of nuclear proliferation. And India and Pakistan are already nuclear powers and increase in power of any country may lead atomic war between both. This nuclear war would not be confined to South Asia only, but it will engulf the entire world.

Keeping in view the International rules of the world and tense and vulnerable relations of India and Pakistan, it is clear that such a unilateral nuclear deal is unjustified. The US needs to review its policy and act sensibly. If such a deal is strictly needed, then this sort of deal must me made with Pakistan for the balance and stability of Asia.
38th CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 157

sohailravian is on a distinguished road
Cool the most difficult stage in part 2 css

@ Arif Rao
hi respected Arif bhai
kindly tell me that what is most difficult stage in part , i mean psychological n interview process. to which extent good or poor performance in psycholigical and intelligence test affect the interview score.
thankoooo
Old Saturday, October 31, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - 4th in Sindh UrbanMedal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Arif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by sohailravian View Post
@ Arif Rao
hi respected Arif bhai
kindly tell me that what is most difficult stage in part , i mean psychological n interview process. to which extent good or poor performance in psycholigical and intelligence test affect the interview score.
thankoooo
Dear Sohail,
The final interview is the most crucial part of the whole process wherein your score out of 300 marks is awarded. But the whole psychological process is also very vital due to the fact that the psych panel's feedback and report helps the interview board to assess you. Many a times questions related to your psych part come up in your final interview, I had 5 to 6 questions in my final interview which were asked from psych profile/report.

(I will share with you ppl my psych and viva interviews in the coming posts).
sohailravian (Sunday, November 01, 2009), Sp police (Sunday, June 18, 2017)

Default Strategies and Tips for Psychological Test (Continued):

Your professional experience (if any):

Regarding your professional experience, you should prepare the relevant details of your area of job. You can mention your achievements and any appreciations/ promotions due to your performance. In this respect, it’s good to be quantitative rather than having a generalized view. For example you can state that during your stay at a bank the return ratio or assets increased from level ‘a’ to level ‘b’. Also the role of your relevant sector (e.g. telecom, banking etc.) in Pakistan’s current and future progress, the challenges it faces and its potential opportunity areas should be well prepared. Also, if you are able to link your current job with your preferred group/ service, it is also helpful.

You should also be able to describe a brief overview your city/town’s brief history, its salient features, its issues etc.

Strengths/ Weaknesses:

One should be straightforward about his Strengths/ Weaknesses, it’s always good. Accepting your mistakes is strength of your character. In such cases keep your tone like I have so and so weakness (e.g. due to work load I sometimes get careless about my diet and health, but I am still working on it to improve myself etc.). Avoid having any undue argument to defend yourself on something that you have already accepted as a weakness. Regarding the effect of your parents' weaknesses on yourself, you can say that I help them improve themselves and I also try to avoid those things in my life.
Abdul Sami (Saturday, October 31, 2009), Abdullah Nayyar (Wednesday, November 04, 2009), abeerseh (Saturday, November 07, 2009), Bilal Zamir (Saturday, October 31, 2009), emmjay (Monday, November 02, 2009), Engineer Lala (Monday, July 29, 2019), Hammad.Riaz (Saturday, October 31, 2009), KAISER A. RIND (Saturday, October 31, 2009), Rauf (Tuesday, November 03, 2009), riaz_khan_100 (Saturday, October 31, 2009), Seemab (Saturday, October 13, 2012), Sp police (Sunday, June 18, 2017)
38th CTP (IG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 798

tadap is on a distinguished road

@ Arif Bhai,

Thx indeed for sharing such a useful information.

I have also qualified the written and looking forward for ur valuable guidance.

Iam serving as management Trainee officer grade 17 in National Bank of Pakistan
since Jan-2008. what areas need to be covered by me which could be useful for me in the psy tes/Interview.

Muhammad AFzal Kolachi
38th CTP (ITG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Merit 62

Bilal Zamir is on a distinguished road
Default Help needed

@ Mr Arif Rao

Sir, please tell me a little bit about the Maths portion of the CSS psychological exam. Thanks.