-   Tips and Experience Sharing (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/)
-   -   CSS Psychological & Interview Exams (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/28221-css-psychological-interview-exams.html)

Arif Rao Tuesday, October 27, 2009 10:49 PM

CSS Psychological & Interview Exams

As the CSS-2009 result has been announced and the qualified candidates are enjoying the celebrations. I would like to take this opportunity to draw your attention towards the greater challenges lying ahead i.e. the “psychological test and Viva voce (or interview)”. I suggest you people should go through the sub forums of CSS Psychological Test and CSS Interview thoroughly and be acquainted with the ins and outs of the whole procedure to follow the written result. This is a vital part containing [B]300 marks[/B]. In fact, whatever could be done in the written, has been done. Now the only difference you can make is that in your interview marks and you will have to give your maximum effort for it, as the huge number of passing candidates this year are surely going to have a very tough competition to get a slot in their preferred groups.

Remember “Fortune Favors the Prepared Mind”.

In this thread I will try to quote my experiences and tips for all of you regarding the CSS Interview and Psychological tests. Any queries, comments and suggestions are welcome. The purpose is to share with you people what we have already experienced and thus help you avoiding old mistakes (may be trying new ones :) ).

Arif Rao Tuesday, October 27, 2009 10:59 PM

Schedule

Following the qualification in written exams the FPSC publishes on its site the schedule of Psych/ interview tests all around the country. These tests are conducted in phases covering 6 to 8 candidates per day at FPSC offices (usually) in the follwing order: Quetta, Peshawar, Karachi, Lahore, Islamabad. About two weeks before your psychological test you receive a call letter containing a brief introduction to the psych/ viva voce process and the requirements thereof. Normally there is a gap of a couple of weeks between the psychological exam and final interview.

Nate Tuesday, October 27, 2009 11:04 PM

Ok mashAllah we guys hav passed and now the written examination is a fait accompli now its time to prepare ourselves for interviews anyways can anyone guide me abt form 2 of css first it was written that it is to be submitted within 15 days from the announcement of the result and now its sayin within 7 days so where we should submit the form whether we shud mail it or give it to our local fpsc branch n where to get the form if one is lacking a printer cause then how he can print it plz guide me awaiting guidance

Arif Rao Wednesday, October 28, 2009 10:08 AM

@Nate

The form can be downloaded from internet. After filling it up you may send it to the FPSC office Islamabad.

Arif Rao Wednesday, October 28, 2009 10:09 AM

Psychological Test

The psychological test is a two-day exercise. This doesn’t have a direct proportion in the marking of 300 numbers of viva voce, but the psychological panel’s comprehensive report remains in front of the interview panel when they are interviewing you. At times it can act as significantly as to decide the course of your interview. Moreover, this is the time when the so called ‘suitability clause’ is applied to candidates which can determine one’s (un)suitability for one or more groups/ services.

In the following posts I will first give a brief account of events of Psychological test Day-1 and 2. Then I will discuss in detail all the different tests and suggestions regarding strategies for those tests and also my experiences related to all of these events.

armaghan_arif Wednesday, October 28, 2009 01:48 PM

Thanx brother

Thank u Arif bhai for introducing such a useful thread I hope to get a great benefit from it

Nate Wednesday, October 28, 2009 02:22 PM

@arif rao

thanx bro i have done that thank u very much

Arif Rao Wednesday, October 28, 2009 03:09 PM

Psychological Tests (Day-1)

This day you have a very busy and tiring schedule. First, you are required to do the paper work and submit your documents for review by the commission.

1. You are required to fill the personal information form much like the application form for CSS given by FPSC.

2. After that there are some written tests, which include:

• IQ tests: containing numeric sequence/ series, vocabulary related questions, logical questions, ratios/ proportions etc. these are multiple choice questions.

• This is followed by a test that contains questions having figures/ shapes of various types and you have to either choose the missing/ next in sequence picture/ shape from the given options, or in some cases you have to pick the odd one out. These are also MCQ type.

• Then there is a test for sentence completion. Sentences are like: ‘I love __’, ‘I wonder why ___’ etc.

• Then there is a personality test containing around 200 questions to be answered in Yes or No. You have to answer all of these questions. The questions are directed towards several personality trends, for instance, the questions may include: ‘you are a social person’, ‘you take decisions quickly or give some time to plan’, ‘you like to meet stranger’, ‘you prefer to do new task at your job each day or routine work’ etc.

• The next test contains 20~25 situations like ‘There is a fine for coming late to school. Student A has been late to school but he arrived unnoticed by the teacher. However student B, who is friend of A, is aware of that. Now what is your advice to student B?’ You have to select your answer among options which may include (a) Keep silent. (b) Don’t tell the teacher but talk to student A about it. (c) Inform the teacher after the class in absence of student A. (d) Tell the teacher in front of all the class.

• Then there is a very important test containing 25 questions about your personality etc. which include: “what are your strengths/weaknesses?’, ‘what are your parents’ strengths/ weaknesses and their effect on your personality?’, ‘your favorite books/ personalities’ and ‘most important national and international events of the year and their significance’ etc.

• Then another very vital task is that you have to write an Autobiography in 8 minutes.

This concludes the proceedings of Day-1 of Psychological test.

Abdullah Nayyar Wednesday, October 28, 2009 03:38 PM

@Arif Bhai
Thanks for the useful thread and we are looking forward to your tips
I have a query, is it possible that I opt for Islamabad(or any other city) as my center for interview/tests while I am a candidate from NWFP?

Arif Rao Wednesday, October 28, 2009 03:52 PM

@abdullahkhan5

This is possible, you have to write a letter to the Secretary, FPSC, Islamabad requesting him to change your interview center, say, from Peshawar to Islamabad. This happened in the past for some other fellows also.

But do that before the schedule for psych/viva is finalised i.e. ASAP.

09:13 AM (GMT +5)