-   Tips and Experience Sharing (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/)
-   -   Tips (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/45-tips.html)

Argus Monday, March 14, 2005 02:11 PM

Tips

1 Attachment(s)
Assalam-o-alaikum,

[b]1. Gird up your loins today[/b]. For a candidate dear there is no tomorrow. And select the optionals now. By keeping the group fashion in mind and by looking at the complete curricula of each and every subject. The subject you find the most interesting to you and likelihood for its covering up by you in a short time is the best approach towards picking subjects up. If you choose a less scoring subject and do it 100% it is far better than to choose a higher scoring one with which there is no guarentee bound of this sort. If there is a confusion, go for some further advice and pick the one more scoring.

[b]2.[/b] Now commence your preparations by keeping one thing in mind, YOU ARE GONNA MAKE IT UP TO ITS BEST.

[b]3.[/b] Your flow of preparation should be from [b]easy-to-hard[/b] or from short-to-lengthy subject.

[b]4.[/b] Time tables, it is said, are made to be broken. So never make a paper time-table. Just do what you think you MUST HAVE to, management of mind as well as of time is necessary.

[b]5.[/b] Whenever you finish a chapter, don't forget to review it. It is inevitable to do if you wanna keep it for a longer time in your BRAIN'S HARD DISK.

In the end an advice. When you start preparing for CSS, forget everything else that could have a clash with it.

All the best!
(thanx ABK)

[center][IMG]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/attachments/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/35-tips-79.gif?d=1129988912[/IMG][/center]

Muhammad T S Awan Tuesday, March 15, 2005 12:42 PM

AoA,

agreed,ur advices leads to the right direction

adding some thing first of al check for the syllabi and previous papers of the subject then skim the study material enumerated according to the syllabi
after skimming try to make ur own notes, like one page for a topic divided into points then review the study material in the light of ur notes nd previous papers

Zulfiqar Shah Tuesday, March 07, 2006 08:20 PM

Css Prepration Tips

Nice Work Keep It Continue:

I Want To Add Some More Tips:

1 Remember That This Is Ur First And Last Chance:

2 Dont Think For Tomorrow:

3 Be Serious To Ur Study:

4 Be Responsble:

5 Think For Better Future:

Sabak Parh Sadakat Ka Shujaat Ka Adalat Ka
Liya Jae Ga Kam Tujh Se Duniya Ki Imamat Ka

Qurratulain Wednesday, March 08, 2006 03:16 PM

Totally agree Argus, Tabassum and Zulfiqar,

i'd like to add some more
1- make a check list and after finishing a particular topic mark chek on it.
2- before starting a topic, recall yur previous knowlege abt tht.
3- take a short break after every 20 minute study( as a latest research on human brain revealed tht human memory gets fill within 20 minute and if a short break is not taken thn initial facts start removing)
4- whatever yu study, try to share it with others.

Qurat

Muskan Ghuman Wednesday, March 08, 2006 10:45 PM

Salam,
thanx to all of u for sharing these tips...1 thing from my side also.....
1 should make time table & then follow it strictly...becoz time management counts alott...
with regards,
Muskan

cooolideal Friday, March 10, 2006 08:40 PM

i dont think so

salam

there r so many good tips but unfortunately qurrat i m not agree with u bcoz if we take rest after every 20 mins then i think we spend more time in rest as compare to study so i think rest is compulsary but not after every 20 mins :nono so guys concentrate on ur study and also prayers for me.

Qurratulain Saturday, March 11, 2006 10:51 AM

Salam,
thanx cooolideal for feedback.....
let me clear rest after twenty minutes, it doesn't mean to have an outing after every twenty minutes, instead it means to relax for a minute or two so that mind can absorb what yu've learnt.
Hope yu've got my point

Qurat

Jahanzeb khan Saturday, March 11, 2006 11:20 AM

[FONT="Franklin Gothic Medium"]I would like to thank you all for sharing such wonderful and awesome tips at some instant i agree with quratulain but also at the same time i do agree with cool ideal and the reason for my agreeness is that if you take rest after every 20 minutes you will not be able to cope up with requirements of your studies you have so much pressure on your mind that you dont want to take rest you want to continue but at the same time rest is also neccesary to help your mind in order to absorb things which you have read and written.
So keep up the good work and i would also like to ask alll other members to kindly participate and help us share their experience.
Salam[/FONT]

wassie Sunday, April 30, 2006 02:29 AM

Thanx a lot to all the members who posted their comments...I personally believe that you should dedicate yourself completely to this task and take it seriously.There is no tomorrow for commencing the preparation.The sooner the Better.I would also add a tip or two
1. Never feel exhausted n disappointed coz that deviates you from ure target..n come on..ure not the only one to appear for this exam..everyone goes through this feeling.
2. Taking rest inbetween study hours works..(i agree to what qurratul ain said)...so always take breaks in between your study hours.but yea short ones.
3. knowing the pattern is very important, so a proper review of the past papers could do miracles.
I am a student of bachelors myself and havent every appeared for the CSS yet but thats just what i could recall from my past experience..
WISH YOU ALL THE BEST>

free thinker Tuesday, May 02, 2006 08:08 AM

The DOs and DON’Ts....

[B]The DOs and DON’Ts[/B]

DO try to stay on a reasonably regular schedule of reviewing work. Start at least a week or two, before exams begin.

DO allow time for fun and relaxation to avoid burning out. Exercise will boost your energy, clear your mind and reduce stress.

DO take a short break as soon as you notice your mind is losing concentration. Short and regular study periods are more productive than a lengthy single session. Aim to study in 1 to 2 hour blocks and take 10 to 15 minute breaks.

It does not help to put added stress upon yourself by:

[I]Trying to Be Perfect[/I]

Keep things in balance. Aim to do your best, but be reasonable about the
demands you place upon yourself.

[I]Keeping Things Bottled Up[/I]

Confiding in someone you trust and who will be supportive is a great way of alleviating stress and worry.

DON’T exercise too close to bedtime or do mentally intense activities.
DON'T fill up on junk food or eat at irregular hours.
DON’T load up on caffeinated beverages that may make your thinking less clear.
DON’T waste time and energy worrying about things that you can’t change.

[I]Think positive!
Believe in Yourself:)
Take Steps to Overcome Problems

Keep Things in Perspective[/I]

best of luck!!!

hafizziaullah Sunday, June 11, 2006 03:31 PM

Well done & keep it up

I really appriciate all the members who provide us such a beatiful tip

and now one thing from me

tundiay bad-e-mukhalif sy na gabra aay uqqab

yeh to chalty hay tujy uncha uranay k liay

Waseemtabish Wednesday, November 08, 2006 08:21 PM

First \Remember you are preparing CSS
It is not child play to clear CSS exams.So please take pity on you and take it very serious CSS exams
Sec\ Do study more than 8 hours daily
Third\ Visit daily
[url]www.cssforum.com.pk[/url]

Musab Monday, November 27, 2006 05:33 PM

info

salam Guys!!!! any one wnaa help???? i am planning to appear in next year's exams. I have done my doctor of vererinary medicines and considering zoology as one of my optional. Would that be a good idea??? I would also appreciate any of suggestions in relation to chose a high scoring combination.
Currently i am thinking about these subjects.

Mercantine law.
Agriculture
forestry
indo pak history
urdu (100 mark)

I would be thankful if anyone could help me out slect a high scoring combination out of these or any other alternative???? any suggestion along with relevant study material would be highly appreciated.
Kind Regards
Musab

The West Wind Tuesday, November 28, 2006 02:49 PM

AOA!

wanna share my defination of REST n BREAK.
1 switching from one activity to another_reading to writing,writing to speaking(give presentation to imaginary listeners),speaking to listening(news,current affairs).

2 turn from one book to another

3 turn from one paper to another

4 take a walk to a nearby park and try to reconstruct in your mind what you have learnt(DONT TRy TO mEMORiSe)

5 enjoy songs(patriotic,national "Jazba Junoon to Himmat na har".It will work as ur power charger.

6 simply change ur environment:move from one room to another,change ur position(chair to bed to floor).

7 visit css forums and share ur views,tips,experience with other members.

*css is the game of NERVES,a game of wits,master ur psyche,administer ur self and YOU NEED TO BE CRAZY WITHOUT BEING CRAZY.

*The best way to improve ur memory is to pass ur knowledge to others.(HAZRAT ALI)

A CSS aspirant is crazy while working,formidable when sleeps.

HOWs That?

Muhammad T S Awan Tuesday, November 28, 2006 03:28 PM

Dear sister Kiran, dont make haste for subject selection

this is the first obstacle for css battle, you may make up ur mind for the subject selections with peace of mind and in calm manner.. u must check for beginners guide at the top of this page and also must see rules...

wish u the best of luck

as stated by venerable fellow (I M Possible), inshALLAH the css community would b helping u out

sohailpkdr Tuesday, November 28, 2006 04:02 PM

@musab

aoa ,
Bieng a law graduate i dont recomend mercantile law. u can go for const law, or mulim law. best luck

simpleman Friday, December 01, 2006 08:55 AM

ok
this is simple man
subject selection depends on ur interest
it does not bother about that either u have studied that subject b4 or not
just think about ur intention that u hav e4 a subject
second css is not game of covering a specifi syllabus that u would think about
css is game of ur opinion
css is a game of ur ideas
css is a game of ur wrinting an dthinking
so i just say that start writing as much as u can
just write n then see what u have written
n then think about that
ok
so wish u all best of luck

Miss_Naqvi Sunday, December 03, 2006 09:55 PM

Simple man has rightly replied that CSS is not the game of quick choices rather its the play of your expression and your writing skills. If you have opinion, good in understanding and thoughtful in your approach but dont have sufficient mastery over language you will be at losing side so first and foremost thing for CSS is to prepare well for linguistic mastery.

History of Indo-Pak is really I choice I would recomend you. Its what you can study with great interest and I can assure you will love Pakistan more after going through history and you will feel proud for the glorious past of muslims in subcontinent.

As you r MSc Zoology so its suits you to go for forestry caz you must read Botany during your BSc and it will help you to study it. Focus on compulsory rather optionals. You can score well in optional but its big deal to score well in compulsory and mostly failures are caz of compulsory subjects rather optionals.

Sohail rightly guided you that Muslim Law is really easy to handle but the one you r opting will put you in trouble.

Best Wishes for your exam.

usmani_global Thursday, December 07, 2006 01:02 AM

Aslam-o-alikum
Very Much helpful tips for me like guys waisting time in thinking what we have to do. i thank both of u people give tips for new commers in the CSS. A question from my side to all of u that " IS IT TRUE TO CHASE THE CSS IS VERY MUCH DIFFICULT OF IMPOSSIBLE TARGET" give me the reply with full satisfaction.

Yasir S Usmani

Kashinov Thursday, December 07, 2006 03:02 AM

;) Well....nice tips...just one addition....well...it's my point of view anyway:
It is a medical fact that the human brain can only continuously work/memorize/learn for 90 minutes; after which the brain becomes unweary and can not gain and whatever is learnt or read is not that easily comprehended or stored. Therefore a break after 90 minutes of continuous study is absolutely essential. This break can be of 15 minutes or so; so as to recharge the batteries. A break of a minute or so after every 20 minutes isn't a problem...taking a break of 20 min after every 20 min is a problem....if u know what i mean...;)

I M Possible Thursday, December 07, 2006 08:59 AM

usmani_global

Wsalam, janab nothing is impossible for the man who can will and then do because IMPOSSIBLE itself says i am possible. Be optimistic and work harder and smarter, leave the result to God.

All the best

Miss_Naqvi Thursday, December 07, 2006 01:41 PM

[QUOTE=usmani_global] i thank both of u people give tips for new commers in the CSS. A question from my side to all of u that " IS IT TRUE TO CHASE THE CSS IS VERY MUCH DIFFICULT OF IMPOSSIBLE TARGET" give me the reply with full satisfaction.[/QUOTE]

Yes no doubt my tips were for a candidate aspiring for CSS but dont have idea how to start preparing. As I M Possible said its not difficult to make it, I agree to the point.

If you have will power and devoted to your goal you can turn the winds even so what is this CSS. But the thing matter is your devotion to studies.

Once before I said that If you want to flirt with CSS then you will be a loser but if you will develop an ISHQ definately you will be a winner... and you must know what is ISHQ... Its to forget yourself and be what your Mehboob looking for. So if you have decided to make that ISHQ do what CSS demands for.

CSS demands your comprehensive approach and acute observation for acquiring knowledge so do the same... its not imposssible then.

Try it out for a month only you will develop a love for reading and you will feel its for the first time in your life that you are utilizing your time and this is the way to your height of Success.

I hope reply is satisfactory for you.

amy Saturday, December 09, 2006 09:26 PM

im impressed!miss naqvi ur posts are really helpful for new aspirants like me.
GOD bless u and may u always remain happy.

mrtepo Thursday, December 14, 2006 02:52 PM

[COLOR="Magenta"][/COLOR]DEAR FELLOWS! I am a student of 3rd year chemical engineering and i want to appear in css exams in 2009 INSHALLAH TALA,i got this site from orkut and from then i m a regular visitor of it.i extremely appreciate all those people like IM POSSIBLE and MISS NAQVI who are really doing gr8 job.my 1st cousin has passed css in 2002 if i am not wrong.she is now in pak.railways as a DCO.she helps me but as i am studying in multan and she is in lahore so its difficult to share couple of ideas on phone call or by sms.i found this forum extra ordinary helpful 4 me.i wanna study from right now following the saying of our beloved FATHER OF THE NATION " THE BETTER U PREPARE ,MORE WILL BE UR CHANCES 2 PASS".i can,t waite for 2007 or 2008 to start preparation.one thing which is very important is that i am 25 years old right now ALHAMD-U-LILLAH and due 2 age restriction i can only availe the chance of 2009 coz after it i will be overage.i am perplexed what subjects should i opt,from where i should start studying along with my engineering.i am interested in international relations and rest i don,t know.i have seen the syllabi of chemistry physics and maths .they are hell of lenghty and most of the things are new 4 me.i like FOREIGN OFFICE and hence i wanna improve my command on english.at the moment i consider myself at ZERO level.suggest what 2 do.waiting .......
ALLAH hafiz

The West Wind Thursday, December 14, 2006 04:40 PM

WELCOME!

dear mrtepo,its nice to learn about ur passion for css and im all praise for ur practical approach towards ur goal.Yes ur right it is unwise to wait for 2008 r 2009 to begin.Ur concern for the selection of optional subjects is also justified.But optional subjects can not b decided at once.Usually factors mentioned blow influence our selection;

our aptitude,
our academic record,(in case we hav studied the subjects our choice before)
our ability to handle the subject according to css standard and our ability to enhance our capability to uphold this standard,
High marks securing subjects,
Subjects with not so lengthy syllabus,
Subjects selected in coordination with other subjects,for example,Indo-Pak History is selected to complement Pak Affairs,IR is useful for preparing CA,Constitutional Law presents an ideal combination with POL Science,
And finally,we also opt for a combination of subjects keeping the group,we intend to join,in mind.

Check all these options,collect ur plus and minus points,then place ur priorities,harmonise them with ur 'charge sheet' and always consider these points whnever u take final decision.Its a time-consuming job.Believe u me.U shud not b so hasty in this regard.Give urself some time.Meamwhile,an ideal course is to start preparing the cumplosary subjects.English precis and composition,Essay and Everyday Science_all these subjects require regular practice.DONT forget to pay ur daily salam to the trio of English(Precis and Composition),Essay and the Newspaper(any English daily).

Yahya lala's post on beginner's guide will be of great help to u.These are my humble suggestions,i hope some of my other forum fellows will guide u properly.
Wish u best of luck.

With best regards,

I M Possible Thursday, December 14, 2006 07:20 PM

the west wind:

Nice janab, u did not leave anything for me to say. BTW i replied mrtepo on the other thread. Hope he may get that.

mrtepo Sunday, December 17, 2006 07:10 PM

[COLOR="Cyan"][/COLOR]dear THE WEST WIND!
i am really surprised that what a fantastic combination u have suggested for me.i read ur post and again and again i read it.i was astonoished that what a combination it is.it encircle couple of importent points.thanx a lot.once again thanx a lot.i will inshaALLAH TALA keep ur points in my mind while opting any combination.i feel a bit gloomy when i remember that i can,t opt any of these subjects,1:chem
2:phy
3:maths
as i have been a science student from my child hood.alas!....anyways u have opened a new window.be in touch.
ILAHI AMANAT

I M Possible Sunday, December 17, 2006 08:19 PM

mrtepo:

Its is nice to read ur post which is full of appreciation. Hope you will also be a part of us and will have fun over here. Well dont be sad if u cant go for Physics, Maths and Chemistry. there are many others. Tou will enjoy studying some of them. just go thru the syllabus to have an idea. It will really help u out i many ways.

All the best

I M Possible Saturday, December 30, 2006 02:48 PM

the west wind:

Wsalam,

Thanks dear. I am grateul for ur heartfelt wishes. Well u did not tell about ur mom's health in ur last post. Hope things will be ok on ur side soon inshallahtala. Ups and downs r part of the life.

Be brave. Lemme wish u all the best for next year's css exams and whartever u do.

prieti Monday, January 08, 2007 12:19 AM

hi fellows. i hav no idea, about the subjects.how to attempt the paper, and other things. plzz if someone could help me in this regard i would b grateful.plzz some one can provide me wid the basic tips for selection of subjects.
best wishes for every one

I M Possible Monday, January 08, 2007 12:46 AM

pteiti:

Dear u r welcome to forum. Hope u will make ur css hapening. Albeit u are a novice but some help and guidence can give u a bolster. Well have a look of these links, they are generous for u.

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-syllabus.php[/url]

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide.php[/url]

Start with working on ur english and then keeping u up to date. What abt books dear? Have u grabbed them or not yet? They are very pivotal for doing css. Keep discussing with us, don't hesitate ever.

All the best

prieti Monday, January 08, 2007 01:23 AM

thanks im possible for replying. so far i havn't purchased any books.can u plz guide me what should i opt for optional subjects.i am confused wat to opt for from a large choice. plz tell me those subj which are easy to prepare in this short time.
thanks again for replying

I M Possible Monday, January 08, 2007 07:30 AM

Welcome dear, u may opt scoiology, IR, indo-pak history, any language subject, etc. Well there are many ut u have to think that which one u cn do at ur best. U may have dexterities to hold a subject. Have a look of syllabus for that purpose. U might no had studied that subect which u r gonna opt but it woul be easy with the passage of time.

All the best

Miss_Naqvi Thursday, January 11, 2007 12:34 AM

[QUOTE=prieti]can u plz guide me what should i opt for optional subjects. in inter and b.a i hav just studied sociology. i am confused wat to opt for from a large choice. plz tell me those subj which are easy to prepare in this short time.
[/QUOTE]

Well Prieti every subject is easy and marks scoring but all depends upon your interest and background. Sociology will help you alot if you have background. but it scores 100 marks only. I M Possible has guided you so first choose subjects and then make it caz little time left with you.

jahanzeb Sunday, February 18, 2007 08:01 PM

I would like to tell u guys a bit about the compulsory papers. These days, the compulsory papers are scrutinized more than the optional ones. So it's always helpful to concentrate more on the former.

[B][U]Compulsory Subjects[/U][/B]

[B]English Comprehension:[/B] To be honest with you, i dont know if there are any standard rules that u could follow and clear this paper. I mean, our paper was very tricky. The precis was exceptionally difficult. The comprehension was no less difficult. About precis and comprehension, u should read it again and again until u get the crux. I would strongly recommend u guys to check out our paper and u wud know what i am talking about. About vocab, DO NOT try to memorize difficult words, it's useless. I think, it is always better to get urself a digital dictionary, a good one, and use it every time u come across a strange word (u wud come across a lot of alien words if u read ayaz amir).

[B]Islamiat:[/B] Read friday features. Get urself 'Islam at a Glance' or any other text book and write down all the verses and Ahadith relevant to different topics. For example, i jotted down the relevant verses and ahadith for women rights, different systems, Islamic morals etc. It's highly recommended that u guys ahould memorize'em. Because, the kinda questions we r getting these days are highly subjective but if u know the relevant verses and ahadith, u have the flexibility to answer different questions in ur own way.

[B]Current Affairs: [/B]Read dawn and Imtiaz Shahid's quarterly Contemporary affairs. Make your own notes, if u have time. I did.

[B]Pakistan Affairs:[/B] Our seniors would want us to read the 'Formative phase' but the recent papers suggest otherwise. If you check out our paper, u would know what i am saying. So, i think, u should read formative phase but do not waste too much time on it. I think u should read the national news in Dawn about the policies of our government.

[B]Everyday Science:[/B] Oh man, EDS is so lengthy. Memorize units from Imtiaz Shahid's. Memorize abbreviations from every where (note'em down whenever u come across one). Read universe and human physiology from some encyclopedia for kids (i know what ur thinking). If u cant find one, read it from Imtiaz Shahid's. And the most important book, Bhatti's EDS book. This book would help you answer objective type questions.

[B][U]Optionals[/U][/B]

[B]Political Science:[/B] Read constitutions from Kelly and wikipedia. About thoughts, read Jud Harmon for western philosophers and Rosenthal for Muslim scientists. Note: Do not read both, opt for one

[B]Constitutional Law:[/B] Same as Political Science

[B]International Relations:[/B] Ummm, a bit tricky. Go thru Wikipedia and any book

[B]American History:[/B] Read 'Majumdar and Srivastva' (It ends with Nixon years). 'Pocket history of USA' from Nixon years to Bush Senior. And wikipedia for Clinton and Bush Junior.

[B]Pushtu:[/B] Read 'Pohanna'

It is extemely important that you make notes for all the subjects except Essay and English. Notes are very helpful. Infact, i dont think u can clear CSS without ur own notes.
It is also important that u guys should get urself books on MCQ's for each subject. Memorize the objectives.

I know it sounds like an uphill battle but trust me it isn't. I think making notes should take you threeto four months, not more than that. And another three months for reading your own notes.

I hope it is of some help. I would appreciate if u think i have missed something and u feel like adding to it.

afridi99 Saturday, December 15, 2007 01:44 PM

well, no doubt that hard work is the key to success in any field of life BUT dont forget that ur parents can play a handy role in taking u to the heights of success. So alwya ask them to pray 4 u coz their prays can change ur fate as u want. its my personal experience. hope u peple will also agree.

Miss jafri Friday, January 18, 2008 03:00 PM

Assalam-o-alikum
U ppl are giving much more informative tips.
thanks to all of u.
i want to ask about the books....
and selection of the subjects.is this necessory to join an academy for the preparation of CSS exams.
Thanking u in anticipation.

Jafri

Faryal Shah Wednesday, August 27, 2008 01:17 AM

[B][I]Ideas to follow[/I][/B]

The following is a list of items that can summarize a way of thinking toward knowledge:
[LIST][*]Be observant[/LIST][LIST][*]Be curious[/LIST][LIST][*]Take interest in your subjects[/LIST][LIST][*]Be well-rounded[/LIST][LIST][*]Try to apply your knowledge[/LIST][LIST][*]Learn to think logically[/LIST][LIST][*]Read rapidly[/LIST][LIST][*]Have a good memory[/LIST][LIST][*]Create analogies[/LIST][LIST][*]Use graphical outlines[/LIST][LIST][*]Be creative[/LIST][LIST][*]Think "outside the box"[/LIST][LIST][*]Consider ways to gather knowledge.[/LIST]

rergards

faryal shah

anie!! Monday, September 01, 2008 11:34 AM

Optional Courses

I am planning to appear in CSS 2009. i HAVE DECIDED TO choose the following optional subjects. Kindly guide if they are ok.

Accounting & auditing
indo pak history
law

Also tell me the best books to study for all athe subjects. I ll be really thankful

tahirauf Monday, September 01, 2008 11:41 AM

[QUOTE=anie!!]I am planning to appear in CSS 2009. i HAVE DECIDED TO choose the following optional subjects. Kindly guide if they are ok.

Accounting & auditing
indo pak history
law

Also tell me the best books to study for all athe subjects. I ll be really thankful[/QUOTE]

Dear i would like to know your educational back ground before making any comment on the chosen subjects...please mention your academic background....MBA, Lawyer, M.com....etc....?

07:45 AM (GMT +5)