06:30 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Friday, June 08, 2012
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 22Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2012

Thanked 2,147 Times in 983 Posts
usman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant future
Default CSS-The most unpredictable exam in the world!

I have started this thread to share my experience regarding CSS exam. ALHAMDULILLAH, I have cleared it for the second time in my three attempts. During all my attempts, what I observed was uncertainties and surprises. CSS is an exam of nerves, it really exhausts you and demands a lot of patience due to its lengthy process. After a long wait, when result is not as expected especially after putting so much effort, obviously it hurts a lot. Although, it requires hard work, determination, commitment, patience and what not to secure a good position in this exam but at the same time, there are somethings which are not in our control. Some of these are ALLAH's will and Luck. These two things are very important along with hard work for success.

To start with, I appeared in CSS for the first time in 2008 with 3 months preparation along with a job at a bank. Before this, I didn't know ABC of CSS. Although, it was a naive attempt but I put in my best and qualified the written. But unfortunately, a thing 'scoring trend' threw me out of the race. I appeared for the second time in 2010 with much better preparation. This time I was sure about my success and gave my CSS books / notes to other aspirants because I thought I would not be needing them now! But, again this time essay paper sealed my fate. Thus, despite scoring very good marks in written, everything was multiplied by zero. I did not intend to go for the third attempt after this failure but my family and friends mustered up my courage to give it an other try. So, I made up my mind in December 2010 to reappear when few days were remaining to apply for the exam. I was not well prepared, did not have any books/notes (because I already had given them to other aspirants). So, I appeared on the basis of experience gained from previous attempts! This time I got what I deserved!

I have made a DMC taking out best scores from my three attempts!!!

Essay: 47 (2008)
Precis: 78 (2010)
EDS: 75 (2008)
CA: 69 (2011)
PA: 53 (2011)
Islamiat: 64 (2008)

IR: 61 (2010)
Sociology: 76 (2010)
Journalism: 64 (2010)
Punjabi: 81 (2010)
Arabic: 153 (2010)

Total: 821
Viva: 203 (2011)

Grand Total: 1024

This shows that one cannot be perfect at one time. Sometimes, things go in your way and next time same thing with a better performance may not go in your way. This is where luck plays its part which is as equally important in CSS as any other thing. (If things had gone my way and I had obtained above marks in one particular year, I would have been topper and record holder for highest ever marks in CSS )

What I want to convey to aspirants is to never lose hope. Nothing is impossible if you are determined and consistent. Also, hard work should be accompanied with smart work. Aspirants should know what to read and what not to read, how to make maximum out of short period of time, how to attempt paper, how to make presentation attractive to fetch maximum marks. Make a strategy for each paper by looking at the past papers. Make points which may help them in revision during exams. Examiner is not much concerned about one's hard work of one year or more, he/she is only concerned what one has produced on pieces of sheets in 3 hours. CSS is full of uncertainties and surprises. If one is not successful in the first attempt, keep trying with same zeal and zest and INSHALLAH you will find yourself successful one day.

Having said all this, remember ALLAH is the best planner. HE surely does what is best for us. Despite all hard work, smart work and other things, if result is not in your favour, surely HE will have better plans for your future. It is HIS will which Will win in every matter of our life.

May ALLAH bless you all with splendid success in all exams of your lives!
JAZAKALLAH!
The Following 50 Users Say Thank You to usman khalid For This Useful Post:
Abdullahkhaan (Wednesday, July 30, 2014), Adeel Afzal (Monday, December 29, 2014), Ainee zulfiqar (Monday, June 11, 2012), Ainuddin Kibzai (Sunday, June 10, 2012), ali emraan (Friday, June 08, 2012), Anees Khan (Wednesday, July 18, 2012), ArifAwan (Saturday, June 09, 2012), BALOCHISTAN (Saturday, September 29, 2012), bilal solangi (Wednesday, September 10, 2014), Chattha Sahab (Tuesday, July 24, 2012), Ella (Friday, October 17, 2014), Engr Shahid (Saturday, January 12, 2013), Faisal86 (Friday, June 08, 2012), Farrah Zafar (Saturday, June 09, 2012), geefarid (Tuesday, July 24, 2012), hafiz mubashar (Monday, September 29, 2014), Haroon523 (Friday, June 08, 2012), Hassan Razzaq (Friday, June 08, 2012), hassanshariq (Friday, June 08, 2012), jadoon khan (Sunday, June 10, 2012), Junaid Javed (Thursday, February 06, 2014), mani g (Monday, July 23, 2012), mano g (Tuesday, July 17, 2012), Masira Baloch Djarian (Thursday, April 03, 2014), mjkhan (Saturday, June 09, 2012), munim nazir (Wednesday, September 26, 2012), nadiamughal (Monday, July 23, 2012), ouneeb (Friday, June 08, 2012), pearlyS (Friday, July 27, 2012), rabia sulehri (Monday, July 23, 2012), Raheel Mughal (Monday, December 31, 2018), raja najam (Monday, July 23, 2012), redmax (Friday, June 08, 2012), SADIA SHAFIQ (Wednesday, September 26, 2012), Saleha Jamil (Thursday, August 28, 2014), sanguine hope (Saturday, June 09, 2012), Seemab (Wednesday, October 10, 2012), Shazi76 (Tuesday, October 09, 2012), siddiqui88 (Saturday, June 09, 2012), sikander marri (Friday, June 08, 2012), Student2k12 (Wednesday, June 13, 2012), Sumaira Saleh Mohammad (Friday, November 07, 2014), sumyra (Monday, July 23, 2012), Sweet Gondal (Tuesday, September 04, 2012), Syeda Bukhari (Tuesday, June 12, 2012), useful (Thursday, October 16, 2014), Wali Ahad (Friday, June 08, 2012), Xeric (Tuesday, July 24, 2012), Zoha (Wednesday, April 16, 2014), zuhaib ahmed (Wednesday, July 18, 2012)
Defence Award: Awarded to serving ISI, FIA Officers - Issue reason:

Codename Hijazi will become famous soon enough

Great - That should be the spirit. May I ask about your merit # brother?

Congratulations!!!
The Following User Says Thank You to Codename Hijazi For This Useful Post:
usman khalid (Saturday, June 09, 2012)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 22Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2012

usman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant futureusman khalid has a brilliant future

@Sarwar Khokhar

Thanks brother! My Merit No. is 22
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to usman khalid For This Useful Post:
Ainuddin Kibzai (Sunday, June 10, 2012), BALOCHISTAN (Wednesday, June 13, 2012)

ali emraan will become famous soon enough

@usman khalid
thnx for your encouraging statement. me too had to suffer from the same kind of obstacles.
in 2005 i left B.E. ENGINEERING (ELECTRONICS) in 3rd professional. and did b.a. In 2008 i appeared in css exams. got prepared myself in 42 days. and scored 579 marks with all papers passed.so, that attempt brought a bit disappointment.
next time i appeared in 2010.unfortunately suffered from food poisoning just one day before the ESSAY PAPER. scored 598 in written. but low scoring trend in URDU, INDO-PK HISTORY and JOURNALISM,PUBLIC AD. brought catastrophe.
also i have a pms attempt on record (2009) with 588 marks in written.

so, a series of failures in all walks have inked dark lines in my life.
Now, i am having no job, career and success in life.
still, appearing in PMS 2012 with last hope to do something.
still waiting for my day.
44th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2015 - Merit 160Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,161 Times in 660 Posts
courageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to behold
Thumbs up @ Usman Khalid

Heartiest congratulations on your success. CSS is indeed a very unpredictable exam, wherein luck plays the major part. As you yourself have mentioned that not at all times things show up the same. Once a subject is good for you, next time mortifying. I still remember how brilliant were your score in CE 2010 and yet still you fell short of 7 marks in essay. And where you stand now, proves that consistency, hard work and determination have finally paid off.

The Following User Says Thank You to courageneverdies For This Useful Post:
Old Saturday, June 09, 2012

Originally Posted by ali emraan View Post
@usman khalid
thnx for your encouraging statement. me too had to suffer from the same kind of obstacles.
in 2005 i left B.E. ENGINEERING (ELECTRONICS) in 3rd professional. and did b.a. In 2008 i appeared in css exams. got prepared myself in 42 days. and scored 579 marks with all papers passed.so, that attempt brought a bit disappointment.
next time i appeared in 2010.unfortunately suffered from food poisoning just one day before the ESSAY PAPER. scored 598 in written. but low scoring trend in URDU, INDO-PK HISTORY and JOURNALISM,PUBLIC AD. brought catastrophe.

This is the spirit man! INSHALLAH your hard work and determination will pay you off and you will see shining light very soon May ALMIGHTY make things easy for you and bless you with wonderful success! AMEEN
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to usman khalid For This Useful Post:
ali emraan (Saturday, June 09, 2012), sanguine hope (Saturday, June 09, 2012), Sweet Gondal (Tuesday, September 04, 2012)
40th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 290

sanguine hope is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by ali emraan View Post
@usman khalid

After reading your story one can say that there are some unknown faultlines in your academic career which you are not able to identify. For example most of the time you are short of few marks from your successful goal. I think if you invest some time in analyzing where u went wrong u will definitely get productive results. Always rememember that every person has flaws even the toppers have. They too are common people but they become special only after realizing their strengths and weaknesses. What they do is that They try to strengthen their strenghts and improve their weaknesses. The more you go through trial test the more you become strong.

There are few effective suggestions which will definitely help you.

Bertrand Russell said "Hope and apprehension are equally important but hope is more likely to be beneficial therefore I continue to hope....".

1-Try to be realistic but optimistic because pessimism cannot give you anything except distress. Its possible that optimism can give you something.
2-Try to look at beautiful aspects of your life. Every person has beautiful qualities, what he needs is beautiful insight to look at.
3-Love others and you will be loved.
4-Always be thankful of whatever you have.
5-Try to be a silent believer and you will automatically become articulate speaker.
6-Always pray because prayers are always heard and answered.
7-Always look at the people who are less privileged than you and try to learn lessons from them.
8-Always read because all leaders are not readers but all readers are leaders.
Read whatever fascinates you. Quran is the fabulous book to read. I suggest you to recite quranic verses daily it will throw away all curses in your life.
Poet once said
Flowers have sweet smell
Grass has cheering look
Distress is often runaway
When you have your own book
Wide reading stimulates thinking process and widens your scope of understanding life and its peculiarities. and it will definitely bring success in your life.
9-Always get inspiration from nature.
10- Try to be self-introspector. The greatest and best advisor resides in you. YOU only have to wake him up.Once he is awake you will be able to conquer
everything.
11-Hard work always pays off. Just look at the living example of Usman Khalid.
So never give up.
Anton Chekhov said "Don't tell me that moon is shining, show me the glint of light on broken glass"
12-Do not take these words as impractical. Read it, concentrate on it and then work on it.
13- After adopting these advices you be will be surely successful, progressive and enlightened.The winds and waves will be in your side. THE CONDITION IS THAT YOU SHOULD FOLLOW THE ABOVE MENTIONED SUGGESTIONS.
14-Good luck and have a bright future.

Many many congratulations to Usman Khalid for his brilliant struggle and brilliant result. May Allah give you more succeses like this.

Last edited by Shooting Star; Saturday, June 09, 2012 at 02:13 AM. Reason: posts merged/write in sentence case only.
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to sanguine hope For This Useful Post:
ali emraan (Saturday, June 09, 2012), hafiz mubashar (Monday, September 29, 2014), mani g (Monday, July 23, 2012), nadiamughal (Monday, July 23, 2012), rabia sulehri (Monday, July 23, 2012), SADIA SHAFIQ (Wednesday, September 26, 2012), Shehla malik (Wednesday, January 14, 2015), usman khalid (Saturday, June 09, 2012), Zaid Lodhi (Saturday, October 05, 2013)
Defence Award: Awarded to serving ISI, FIA Officers - Issue reason:

Codename Hijazi will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by usman khalid View Post
@Sarwar Khokhar

Thanks brother! My Merit No. is 22
That's simply great. I am wishing you good luck brother, as you have achieved 1st Goal, but still lot of goals are waiting for you
The Following User Says Thank You to Codename Hijazi For This Useful Post:

ali emraan will become famous soon enough

@usman khalid
bundle of thanks bro.
@sanguine hope
thanks alot. i agree that there can be a few flaws either in strategy or technicalities. i will try to revisit my strategy.and,definitely keep ur precious suggestions in mind.thanks again

nazarcsp is on a distinguished road

usman bhai iam really inspire by you.........god will give lot of happiness and sucess
The Following User Says Thank You to nazarcsp For This Useful Post: