Tuesday, April 16, 2024
03:58 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Monday, March 04, 2013

stranger498 is on a distinguished road
Default Our Experience of Css 2013

Ever since the dawn of 2013,i wanted to write this thread.I have revised the text of this thread in my head some dozen times but all that was before the CE-2013 attempt.
04th march 2013 is the day that my exams ended but trust me all that i thought to write in this thread is HISTORY.the real story is much more "Realistic" and "hopeful". Honestly,at the start of the exams i thought that may be hardly i can be able to pass the examination but now when the exams have ended i am Hopeful that either i am going to be Thrashed Out of the pass list or i "can" get some good marks.

General over view was that FPSC is getting real nasty in the sense of "Examining" its candidates. People say that days of crammers are over in CSS and may be they are true because most of my paper were analytical and required my own understanding of the subject,apart from Physics.

ESSAY: First time sitting in exam hall for css,tensions are high and i am late too.Anyways got the list of essays "Provided" to test our mettle.First writte able topic is "Meaning and Purpose of EDUCATION" but wait. Isn't everybody going to attempt it?Prospects are low to get good marks and that too from a Topic that most people are going to Attempt.I started looking for topics that were least likely to be written and among "if the gold rusts,what'll happen to the iron" and "take care of today,tomorrow shall take care of itself" i chose the latter.it was hard to even think of some points for an appropriate outline,so i started my favorite habit of brain storming and after making a rough draft of points at the last paper i completed my essay at almost 120pm.Conclusion was almost at the end when my paper was almost snatched.i wrote about 2700+ words in 16 sheets.
My outline is given as http://www.cssforum.com.pk/563095-post8.html

COMPREHENSION: i had no preparation for synonyms and Antonyms but still thanks to Allah i was able to do 10 out of 20 right.Precis was easy for me because it was related to Sociology and it was one of my optional and apparently there was no difficult word in that paragraph.Comprehension wasn't even as "frightening" as i thought it to be.Wrote an expansion of "Revolution v/s Evolution" and a thread of same name on CSS FORUM helped me a lot as i carried out a heated debate here with some fellows.tried to keep it unbiased by giving merits and De-merits of both although i had strong opposition to the idea of "Revolution". It was my preparation of English for BA that helped me with idioms.correction,pair of words and direct & in directs. As a whole i had completed 50% of my CSS as both these exams were my nightmares and i quite convincingly was able to over come them by Grace of ALLAH and all the little knowledge he had bestowed upon me

Everyday Science: i wished to do at least 70+ in this exams but really this was not an easy nut to crack. MCQ's were real tough and i was only able to make 36 correct out of 50 and that too just because of my concepts from biology that i read in my matriculation. subjective paper was much more tough for me as there was no question from Muslim scientists or solar system.

Current Affairs: After an awful EDS paper in Morning i was more then ready for even a worse paper of CA in spite of the fact that i have great understanding of both international and national issues and i was all boxed up with "Facts & Figures" but luckily questions were asked with much more understanding and analysis and even much of unexpected origins and it was a great pleasure to give a real and honest opinion about ROLE of political parties,situation of Afghanistan,Pak China relations and causes and remedies for increased Militancy in Pakistani Society.

Pakistan Affairs:This paper really paid off for my knowledge and love for Pakistan history.Imagine out of 7,4 questions had historical background and that too with a demand of analytical approach from the examiner

Islamiat: Truly,i had an inspiration from Dr. Qadri and his speeches in my paper.I was astonished to see such a Mullah in myself who was going writing like real life Molvi sahab(no insult intended) with typically quoting Hadees,Ayat and ashaar from Iqbal and Akbar Allahabadi. Honestly i had memorized some 10 ayats and 5 ashaars and i was astonished when i was even able to write more then that in my exam. Really Improvisation of my head saved my days in CS-2013.

Journalism:Another Paper defying the so called rules of paper setting and going up with analytical approach to judge the caliber of the student and really that approach helped me a lot.

SOCIOLOGY
: All those who consider it a piece of cake should re visit their stand after watching the paper of 2013.It was not only analytical when asking about Pakistani society but also even about the theories and ideas of famous sociologists were even analytical and needed an in depth study to be answered.

INDO-PAK HISTORY: paper I was again not something very traditional but needed a muc over the edge approach from the Candidates to examine the Muslim Rule.Apart from two questions on Balban and Firuz shah Tughlaq there was no direct or typical questions about Sultans or Mughals.
Paper-II was somewhat a typical amalgam of history of Pakistan starting from Aligarh Movement and ending at Foreign relations wit Muslim countries.

Physics: I was amazed to see only 2 people attempting this paper in the exam hall containing almost 500+ students and i was among the two of them.Paper was quite much easy and carried most questions from the syllabus of inter level.i did a blunder in part II where i wrote the answer of wrong part in the question that resulted in direct loss of 10 numbers apart from that Paper went Fabulous.

Over All it was a life time experience,it was the first time and this first time shall never come again.I am much more prepared to appear in CE-2014 even with slight change in subjects but to all those who are going to join me in CE-2014,remember one thing.Its not just the exam of your knowledge.its exam of your nerves,your intellect and your power to handle the difficult and unseen circumstances
You never know whats going to happen to you when paper appears in front of you.So key is Handwork and confidence on your handwork.Leave the habit of getting more by doing less.its a game where you might get something in opposite i.e Working more and getting less.learn to Improvise.Teach yourself to remain compose and calm even in the darkest of situations.
people have done CSS and so can you but it's all matter of your ability

Last edited by stranger498; Monday, March 04, 2013 at 10:26 PM. Reason: Formatting of text
The Following 24 Users Say Thank You to stranger498 For This Useful Post:
alirazakh (Saturday, March 09, 2013), aneeqawaheed (Sunday, September 29, 2013), antigenius (Sunday, March 10, 2013), Ayoob Memon (Saturday, September 28, 2013), candidguy (Monday, April 15, 2013), darwaish (Tuesday, March 05, 2013), Farah Zaidi (Monday, March 04, 2013), Fazal Muhammad Khan (Monday, September 02, 2013), Furquan592 (Monday, March 04, 2013), Ghullam Sarwar (Tuesday, March 05, 2013), ilyas sowdad (Tuesday, March 05, 2013), Irum Siddiqui (Monday, March 04, 2013), madiha alvi (Sunday, September 08, 2013), Man Jaanbazam (Thursday, March 07, 2013), mariajameel (Monday, March 04, 2013), mohsinali303 (Tuesday, March 05, 2013), mudasr (Monday, April 15, 2013), parwarsha (Thursday, March 07, 2013), Raat ka musafir (Saturday, November 16, 2013), sajjad786 (Tuesday, March 05, 2013), sara bhittani (Thursday, March 28, 2013), Shaikhu (Thursday, March 07, 2013), Urma Waqar (Tuesday, April 16, 2013), uzmauzi (Saturday, September 28, 2013)

aleeha is on a distinguished road

thanks for shearing your experience.i m also appearing in 2014.will you appear with indopak again?or some other subject?as i also opted indo pak but confused for its marking trend

Last edited by Arain007; Tuesday, March 05, 2013 at 10:50 AM. Reason: avoid net speak and use of no. of punctuation marks

Irum Siddiqui will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by stranger498 View Post
Ever since the dawn of 2013,i wanted to write this thread.I have revised the text of this thread in my head some dozen times but all that was before the CE-2013 attempt.
04th march 2013 is the day that my exams ended but trust me all that i thought to write in this thread is HISTORY.the real story is much more "Realistic" and "hopeful". Honestly,at the start of the exams i thought that may be hardly i can be able to pass the examination but now when the exams have ended i am Hopeful that either i am going to be Thrashed Out of the pass list or i "can" get some good marks.

General over view was that FPSC is getting real nasty in the sense of "Examining" its candidates. People say that days of crammers are over in CSS and may be they are true because most of my paper were analytical and required my own understanding of the subject,apart from Physics.

ESSAY: First time sitting in exam hall for css,tensions are high and i am late too.Anyways got the list of essays "Provided" to test our mettle.First writte able topic is "Meaning and Purpose of EDUCATION" but wait. Isn't everybody going to attempt it?Prospects are low to get good marks and that too from a Topic that most people are going to Attempt.I started looking for topics that were least likely to be written and among "if the gold rusts,what'll happen to the iron" and "take care of today,tomorrow shall take care of itself" i chose the latter.it was hard to even think of some points for an appropriate outline,so i started my favorite habit of brain storming and after making a rough draft of points at the last paper i completed my essay at almost 120pm.Conclusion was almost at the end when my paper was almost snatched.i wrote about 2700+ words in 16 sheets.
My outline is given as http://www.cssforum.com.pk/563095-post8.html

COMPREHENSION: i had no preparation for synonyms and Antonyms but still thanks to Allah i was able to do 10 out of 20 right.Precis was easy for me because it was related to Sociology and it was one of my optional and apparently there was no difficult word in that paragraph.Comprehension wasn't even as "frightening" as i thought it to be.Wrote an expansion of "Revolution v/s Evolution" and a thread of same name on CSS FORUM helped me a lot as i carried out a heated debate here with some fellows.tried to keep it unbiased by giving merits and De-merits of both although i had strong opposition to the idea of "Revolution". It was my preparation of English for BA that helped me with idioms.correction,pair of words and direct & in directs. As a whole i had completed 50% of my CSS as both these exams were my nightmares and i quite convincingly was able to over come them by Grace of ALLAH and all the little knowledge he had bestowed upon me

Everyday Science: i wished to do at least 70+ in this exams but really this was not an easy nut to crack. MCQ's were real tough and i was only able to make 36 correct out of 50 and that too just because of my concepts from biology that i read in my matriculation. subjective paper was much more tough for me as there was no question from Muslim scientists or solar system.

Current Affairs: After an awful EDS paper in Morning i was more then ready for even a worse paper of CA in spite of the fact that i have great understanding of both international and national issues and i was all boxed up with "Facts & Figures" but luckily questions were asked with much more understanding and analysis and even much of unexpected origins and it was a great pleasure to give a real and honest opinion about ROLE of political parties,situation of Afghanistan,Pak China relations and causes and remedies for increased Militancy in Pakistani Society.

Pakistan Affairs:This paper really paid off for my knowledge and love for Pakistan history.Imagine out of 7,4 questions had historical background and that too with a demand of analytical approach from the examiner

Islamiat: Truly,i had an inspiration from Dr. Qadri and his speeches in my paper.I was astonished to see such a Mullah in myself who was going writing like real life Molvi sahab(no insult intended) with typically quoting Hadees,Ayat and ashaar from Iqbal and Akbar Allahabadi. Honestly i had memorized some 10 ayats and 5 ashaars and i was astonished when i was even able to write more then that in my exam. Really Improvisation of my head saved my days in CS-2013.

Journalism:Another Paper defying the so called rules of paper setting and going up with analytical approach to judge the caliber of the student and really that approach helped me a lot.

SOCIOLOGY
: All those who consider it a piece of cake should re visit their stand after watching the paper of 2013.It was not only analytical when asking about Pakistani society but also even about the theories and ideas of famous sociologists were even analytical and needed an in depth study to be answered.

INDO-PAK HISTORY: paper I was again not something very traditional but needed a muc over the edge approach from the Candidates to examine the Muslim Rule.Apart from two questions on Balban and Firuz shah Tughlaq there was no direct or typical questions about Sultans or Mughals.
Paper-II was somewhat a typical amalgam of history of Pakistan starting from Aligarh Movement and ending at Foreign relations wit Muslim countries.

Physics: I was amazed to see only 2 people attempting this paper in the exam hall containing almost 500+ students and i was among the two of them.Paper was quite much easy and carried most questions from the syllabus of inter level.i did a blunder in part II where i wrote the answer of wrong part in the question that resulted in direct loss of 10 numbers apart from that Paper went Fabulous.

Over All it was a life time experience,it was the first time and this first time shall never come again.I am much more prepared to appear in CE-2014 even with slight change in subjects but to all those who are going to join me in CE-2014,remember one thing.Its not just the exam of your knowledge.its exam of your nerves,your intellect and your power to handle the difficult and unseen circumstances
You never know whats going to happen to you when paper appears in front of you.So key is Handwork and confidence on your handwork.Leave the habit of getting more by doing less.its a game where you might get something in opposite i.e Working more and getting less.learn to Improvise.Teach yourself to remain compose and calm even in the darkest of situations.
people have done CSS and so can you but it's all matter of your ability
*Sigh*
Nice experience especially Essay,Comprehension &C.A
Best of luck.
Stay blessed.
Rememeber us (CE-2014 aspirants) in prayers
The Following User Says Thank You to Irum Siddiqui For This Useful Post:
Mamoona Zaidi (Thursday, March 07, 2013)
Old Tuesday, March 05, 2013

Originally Posted by aleeha View Post
thanks for shearing ur experience.....i m also appearing in 2014....will you appear with indopak again????or some other subject???as i also opted indo pak but confused for its marking trend
no.I am dropping History although i love it but still i am looking for Higher scores next year thats why i am going for App Maths and Psychology.if you love the subject and have an aptitude for it then surely go with it...
just follow some genral techaniques.
1.try to relate stories and happenings of Era with personality of Kings
2. Maps(no high-fI but) giving a genral and correct understanding of dominion
3. Quotes are must to be memorized
4. make notes in the form of bullets

follow above rules and work hard and with current tides you can get somewhere between 130-140 but only if you like the subject

Originally Posted by Irum Siddiqui View Post
*Sigh*
Nice experience especially Essay,Comprehension &C.A
Best of luck.
Stay blessed.
Rememeber us (CE-2014 aspirants) in prayers

thanks and yeah ALL three really tested for what i really think and analyze and whatever i learned till the age 22
Sure as i am with you in this quest as well
Irum Siddiqui (Tuesday, March 05, 2013)

Muhmmad Ali Raza is on a distinguished road

ce-2013 was first time for me as well and i have appeared in this exam with purely a purpose of gaining experience and my preparation for each paper was based on completely one night study even not one night as i have to divide night if there were two papers next day. but guys i tell you css is not a nightmare as we all have been told.it might have been in past but the paper pattern of ce-2013 aimed on testing analytical approach and writing skills of candidate has denied this rumor.
dear aspirants i am inshaAllah going to appear in ce-2014 with full zeal and commitment and encourage you as well to not to be afraid of it and i am quite hopefull that Almighty Allah will reward our hard work.
good luck

Apocalypse is on a distinguished road

Ali Raza is right, all papers were manageable and if one has the writing skills and basic awareness of current affairs then the exams were very easy. Little or no preparation can also yield a passing result in CSS this year. Inshallah I hope to pass this year, on my 1st attempt as all the exams so far have went very good.

SehrishKanwal is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Experience

Hello

this is such a nice post so i would like to reply it.
Appearing in CE2013 is my first attempt. I work with a foreign NGO as Manager Finance so it was too hard a nut to crack to sit in CE2013 and do well. By the grace of Almighty, I did well in all the papers. There were loopholes but that was only due to my lack of practice in Business Ad numerical part. Rest, all was general sort of trend in papers and as I am a professional ; so i work on reports and analysis as a part of my job. It was not really difficult to write up using my conceptual skills especially in Current and Pak Affairs and Journalism. Essay was also great. However, I must say this time papers were really tough especially for fresh graduates and enrolled students because the paper demended pure analysis in 90% of its contents. This is the first time in history of CSS that such trend was adopted so i wish all candidates all the very very best

Guys and girls who are aspirants in 2014 and in coming years must leave cramming ,study hard, develop analytical approach and read on contemporary issues to perform well in all exams.

BEST OF LUCK
CHEERS
The Following User Says Thank You to SehrishKanwal For This Useful Post:
Imrantm (Sunday, September 29, 2013)

misbah62 is on a distinguished road

how to be analytical. everyone says to adopt it.bt please clear it what is analytical and how to be?what is difference between cramming or analytical please all seniors guide me?:
Old Wednesday, March 06, 2013

Originally Posted by misbah62 View Post
how to be analytical. everyone says to adopt it.bt please clear it what is analytical and how to be?what is difference between cramming or analytical please all seniors guide me?:
dear its simple actually.if you have crammed your subject then you only know what was written in the book and nothing else but when you write with an analytical approach then you provide a very personal analysis of the question asked.
simple.if i ask you How you have Cooked BIRYANI and you'll tell me the crammed recipie but may be when i'll ask you WHY have you cooked it?why not some vegeterian dish or why haven't you cooked Qourma or Karhahi.now here your analysis shall come into play.now its chance for you to make me realize that WHAT was you thinking while cooking Biryani and WHY were you thinking to make it??
Analytical approach is very helpful to judge the caliber of candidates when the case is of "ek anaar,sou beemar" as in the case of CSS.its the "Survival of the Fittest" according to the words of Darwin.It shows how much rational thinking you posses and how much genuine knowledge and intellect you have.
As the answer of how to create this analytical sense,you have to be rational in your thinking and analytical in your reading.try to find the reason,logic and actual cause of the events.concepts and texts you read. Why Pakistan need to carry independent foreign policy?
Why Pak-China partnership in Gawadar is un disgestable to India??
why Iran is not being bombarded like Iraq and Afghanistan?

Hope it answers your query.if any further query feel free to ask.Sorry if you find that Biryani example a bit odd
Man Jaanbazam (Thursday, March 07, 2013), Shaikhu (Thursday, March 07, 2013), Urma Waqar (Tuesday, April 16, 2013)
Old Wednesday, March 06, 2013

misbah62 is on a distinguished road

thanks it does not look odd . make it more clear as biryani example concern i will rell u the reasoms behind to cook biryani and its advantages may be?or regarding biryani cooking i will tell you my experience recpie not crammed recipie is it analytical?and do you want to say that our opinion is analysation?
e.g why should pakistan adopt independent forign policy?
what will be your analytical answer?
The Following User Says Thank You to misbah62 For This Useful Post:
Khanum (Saturday, September 28, 2013)