-   Tips and Experience Sharing (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/)
-   -   How to start the preparation for CSS. (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/tips-experience-sharing/77150-how-start-preparation-css.html)

Tassawur Thursday, March 21, 2013 12:33 AM

How to start the preparation for CSS.

[B][I][COLOR="Sienna"] My fellows ! There prevails an ambiguity among the beginners as how to start the preparation for CSS. And the aspirants keep on wasting time in the quest of knowing the initial steps and do not take the right initiatives. Here I am going to share my personal experience with the intention of helping the new aspirants.

My Dears ! After having decided firmly to go for css and having made up mind to invest time and energy in this exam , the first step one has to take is to decide the optional subjects. Selection of an effective and a sound subject combination is one of the most important rungs in the ladder to success in this prestegious competitive exam. While finalizing the combination , one has to consider the following factors :
One's Acedemic Background.
One's Aptitude and Imterests.
The scoring trend. ( Though it is debatable issue whether scoring trend is myth or reality. However , I believe in it's being reality. )

After having selected a better combination of the optional subjects , one needs to search for effective and standard books , notes and relevant study material for the preparation of both elective and compulsory subjects. In this regard , the experience of experienced seniors , subject specialists and CSPz needs to be sought.

Now when this step also has been taken , one thinks as from where to take the start.
Well my personal experience suggests that one should start from one optional and one elective subject simultaneously. Set your time table in a way that you can give time to both of these.

Secondly , CSS is more the exam of better English Expression. Not only there are the papers of Essay and Composition but in all other papers sound English expression , speaks volume for one's maturity and attracts the examiner. Therefore, improvement of English Languge expression and preparation of English as subject for css , needs to be given time on daily basis.
Reading English newspaper , preferably Dawn, necessarily needs to be made a habit. Not only it would bring improvement in English expression but also will equip you with knowledge and material regarding current happenings which would be extremely helpful for the preparation of essay , C.A , P.A as well as for Islamyat.

Moreover, I would also advocate another thing. I believe , the CSS aspirants should start from the easier subjects.
In this regard from compulsory subjects one can start from Islamyat or Pak affairs . The reason is very simple that we all have the basic knowledge of both of these subjects. And we feel quite comfortable while preparing those things with which we already have familiarity.

And as I said earlier that one should start one compulsory and one elective subject simultaneously. Therefore , the elective or optional subject from which we have to tale the start should be the one of which we have background or for which we have relatively better aptitude and better level of interest . Like if someone has Masters in Mass Com and has one of his elective Journalism , he should start from it. Or if someone has opted some history subject and has interest in history , then he should go for that. Or if one has better aptitude for some particular language , one needs to start from that. In this way , one needs to keep going with one elective and one compulsory subject at the same time. And along with these the exercise for evolving an impressive and correct English Language expression and the preparation of English as a subject has to be given time on daily basis. [/COLOR][/I][/B]

[B][I][COLOR="Sienna"]As well as joining an academy is concerned, I do not think it needs in the presence of this forum. I believe , one may think of joining an academy for basic guidance . But after that it is more a waste of time energy and money . However , If one already has basic knowledge of the requirements of CSS, has chosen a sound subject combination and has got good and relevant books of the subjects, one should not join any academy.
[/COLOR][/I][/B]

Tassawur Thursday, March 21, 2013 10:10 AM

[QUOTE=Pearl013;575466]thanks for ur valuable tips... my query is how to improve English written expression.i mean what is the best way to practice writing (other than writing expansion of idea on daily basis)[/QUOTE]

[B][I][COLOR="Sienna"]The maxim " Practice makes a man perfect " does not prove more true to anything else , then to develop a sound and impressive language expression. Therfore , practice and only practice is the only panacea. But before practice , one needs to read standard language which one keeps in consideration while having the practice. And the standard English Language expression we have in the form of Dawn Newspaper. Almost all the aspirants read this newspaper , often called the bible of the CSS. However , Simply reading a newspaper brings about little improvement both in knowledge as well as in improving language and enriching expression. Therefore it is highly recommended to have writing practice and make use of that vocabulary and those expressions which you read in newspapers. Only in this way you can make those words and expressions , your own. Otherwise , they would get lost in oblivion. Beaides rewriting the things from the newspaper , expansion of phrases or writing anything else i.e about anything from daily routine is also a good exercise So either rewrite the things from newspaaper or write something else for improving your language. But Do have writing practice on daily basis . Yes if you write important things from newspapers , not only your language expression would be enriched but also you would have consolidated what you have read. And in this way you also can keep the record of importan events and things , in your own words. Mark my words , mere reading the newspaper is far bigger investment of time and energy then the gains what one gets. Therefore , make the writing practice as yo ur habit as it proves to be a panacea for developing a sound and impressive writing expression [/COLOR][/I][/B]

zeekaay Friday, March 22, 2013 11:11 PM

[QUOTE=Tassawur;575474][B][I][COLOR="Sienna"]The maxim " Practice makes a man perfect " does not prove more true to anything else , then to develop a sound and impressive language expression. Therfore , practice and only practice is the only panacea. But before practice , one needs to read standard language which one keeps in consideration while having the practice. And the standard English Language expression we have in the form of Dawn Newspaper. Almost all the aspirants read this newspaper , often called the bible of the CSS. However , Simply reading a newspaper brings about little improvement both in knowledge as well as in improving language and enriching expression. Therefore it is highly recommended to have writing practice and make use of that vocabulary and those expressions which you read in newspapers. Only in this way you can make those words and expressions , your own. Otherwise , they would get lost in oblivion. Beaides rewriting the things from the newspaper , expansion of phrases or writing anything else i.e about anything from daily routine is also a good exercise So either rewrite the things from newspaaper or write something else for improving your language. But Do have writing practice on daily basis . Yes if you write important things from newspapers , not only your language expression would be enriched but also you would have consolidated what you have read. And in this way you also can keep the record of importan events and things , in your own words. Mark my words , mere reading the newspaper is far bigger investment of time and energy then the gains what one gets. Therefore , make the writing practice as yo ur habit as it proves to be a panacea for developing a sound and impressive writing expression [/COLOR][/I][/B][/QUOTE]

sir rewriting from news paper won't be time consuming?

Tassawur Friday, March 22, 2013 11:46 PM

[QUOTE=zeekaay;576286]sir rewriting from news paper won't be time consuming?[/QUOTE]

[B][I][COLOR="Sienna"]My Dear ! Yes it would demand investment of time but here is no short cut to improve the English language expression overnightly . Without a good quantity of practice one can not develop an impressive and correct command over a language. Therfore, there is now way out except for doing writing practice. And rewriting the things from the newspaper provides a better exercise where one can make use of the vocabulary and expressions which one had read in newspaper. In this way, on one hand one's grip on language gets strengthened and on the other hand one also keeps on collecting notes of important events and happenings which prove to be instrumental inthe preparation of C. A as well as the essay. [/COLOR][/I][/B]

Imad khan Friday, April 26, 2013 12:13 AM

Depressed

Sir I agreed no doubt Dawn and Jahangir World times gives us the valuable inputs but sir each issue that may be in Dawn or JWT takes round about 4 to 5 hours along with writing practice. Another problem that I have I go in the very depth of each issue even I search it on the web. Is it good or wastage of time.

Tehman Khan Monday, May 20, 2013 10:06 PM

[QUOTE=Imad khan;591295]Sir I agreed no doubt Dawn and Jahangir World times gives us the valuable inputs but sir each issue that may be in Dawn or JWT takes round about 4 to 5 hours along with writing practice. Another problem that I have I go in the very depth of each issue even I search it on the web. Is it good or wastage of time.[/QUOTE]
Dear same problem here
have you found any soultion to it if yes please guide me also

Lily Tuesday, May 21, 2013 06:17 PM

when to start cramming?

aoa can u pls guide me whn shud 1 start cramming? i mean i have roughly 7-8 months (planning to appear in 2014) left yet so if i start cramming now, will i b able to retain it till exam??? :thinking

isha saeed Tuesday, May 21, 2013 06:27 PM

[QUOTE=Lily;600950]aoa can u pls guide me whn shud 1 start cramming? i mean i have roughly 7-8 months (planning to appear in 2014) left yet so if i start cramming now, will i b able to retain it till exam??? :thinking[/QUOTE]
[B]understanding is better than cramming.
don't waste your time, select your optional and do work hard insh ALLAH you will prepare in short span of time.
stay happy and best of luck:)[/B]

Arain007 Tuesday, May 21, 2013 08:36 PM

[QUOTE=Lily;600950]aoa can [COLOR="Red"]u pls [/COLOR]guide me [COLOR="red"]whn shud 1 [/COLOR]start cramming? i mean i have roughly 7-8 months (planning to appear in 2014) left yet so if i start cramming now, will i [COLOR="red"]b [/COLOR]able to retain it till exam??? :thinking[/QUOTE]

Avoid use of "Netspeak" or other "cute" grammar or spelling (For example: writing "R U a woman?" instead of "Are You a woman?").

Read and Follow [URL="http://www.cssforum.com.pk/general/forum-policies-rules-regulations/4443-forum-rules-policies.html"]Forum Rules[/URL]

zeejay Thursday, May 23, 2013 11:16 AM

MashaALLAH Nice sharing Bro :)

Please help me if you can, Em New here,

My name is Zohaib Ali And Em from karachi Sindh.
I have done Graduation in BS(IT),
This is my First attempt, Some tips for Choosing subjects..?

#I'll really appreciate for your Kindness
PS Please Do reply.

02:37 AM (GMT +5)