07:43 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Thursday, March 21, 2013
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 8157Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,849 Times in 1,328 Posts
Tassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdom
Default How to start the preparation for CSS.

My fellows ! There prevails an ambiguity among the beginners as how to start the preparation for CSS. And the aspirants keep on wasting time in the quest of knowing the initial steps and do not take the right initiatives. Here I am going to share my personal experience with the intention of helping the new aspirants.

My Dears ! After having decided firmly to go for css and having made up mind to invest time and energy in this exam , the first step one has to take is to decide the optional subjects. Selection of an effective and a sound subject combination is one of the most important rungs in the ladder to success in this prestegious competitive exam. While finalizing the combination , one has to consider the following factors :
One's Acedemic Background.
One's Aptitude and Imterests.
The scoring trend. ( Though it is debatable issue whether scoring trend is myth or reality. However , I believe in it's being reality. )

After having selected a better combination of the optional subjects , one needs to search for effective and standard books , notes and relevant study material for the preparation of both elective and compulsory subjects. In this regard , the experience of experienced seniors , subject specialists and CSPz needs to be sought.

Now when this step also has been taken , one thinks as from where to take the start.
Well my personal experience suggests that one should start from one optional and one elective subject simultaneously. Set your time table in a way that you can give time to both of these.

Secondly , CSS is more the exam of better English Expression. Not only there are the papers of Essay and Composition but in all other papers sound English expression , speaks volume for one's maturity and attracts the examiner. Therefore, improvement of English Languge expression and preparation of English as subject for css , needs to be given time on daily basis.
Reading English newspaper , preferably Dawn, necessarily needs to be made a habit. Not only it would bring improvement in English expression but also will equip you with knowledge and material regarding current happenings which would be extremely helpful for the preparation of essay , C.A , P.A as well as for Islamyat.

Moreover, I would also advocate another thing. I believe , the CSS aspirants should start from the easier subjects.
In this regard from compulsory subjects one can start from Islamyat or Pak affairs . The reason is very simple that we all have the basic knowledge of both of these subjects. And we feel quite comfortable while preparing those things with which we already have familiarity.

And as I said earlier that one should start one compulsory and one elective subject simultaneously. Therefore , the elective or optional subject from which we have to tale the start should be the one of which we have background or for which we have relatively better aptitude and better level of interest . Like if someone has Masters in Mass Com and has one of his elective Journalism , he should start from it. Or if someone has opted some history subject and has interest in history , then he should go for that. Or if one has better aptitude for some particular language , one needs to start from that. In this way , one needs to keep going with one elective and one compulsory subject at the same time. And along with these the exercise for evolving an impressive and correct English Language expression and the preparation of English as a subject has to be given time on daily basis.

As well as joining an academy is concerned, I do not think it needs in the presence of this forum. I believe , one may think of joining an academy for basic guidance . But after that it is more a waste of time energy and money . However , If one already has basic knowledge of the requirements of CSS, has chosen a sound subject combination and has got good and relevant books of the subjects, one should not join any academy.
aafia (Thursday, March 21, 2013), Abid khan Achakzai (Wednesday, May 29, 2013), Abrar Javed (Sunday, August 04, 2013), Ana Arif Raja (Monday, July 30, 2018), aneeqawaheed (Sunday, August 04, 2013), aqdas (Thursday, July 10, 2014), Asma Rasool (Tuesday, September 28, 2021), Call for Change (Thursday, May 23, 2013), Codename Hijazi (Friday, March 22, 2013), Cute Badshah (Thursday, March 21, 2013), eshaaladan (Monday, May 20, 2013), fahad hidayat jokhio (Saturday, July 05, 2014), fahid tariq (Thursday, May 23, 2013), FARRUKH FIDA (Saturday, February 20, 2016), Ghulam Farid Asad (Thursday, March 21, 2013), Gotam (Friday, August 02, 2013), imran25dec (Tuesday, September 25, 2018), informer59 (Monday, July 14, 2014), iqra saleem (Monday, April 01, 2013), iranibilly (Monday, March 25, 2013), Irum Siddiqui (Thursday, March 21, 2013), isha saeed (Thursday, March 21, 2013), Junaid Tunio (Sunday, January 03, 2016), Kamran Chaudhary (Thursday, May 23, 2013), khaliqniz (Friday, February 28, 2014), khankhajjak (Thursday, March 21, 2013), madiha alvi (Saturday, May 11, 2013), maher awan (Tuesday, July 01, 2014), mobi786 (Tuesday, April 16, 2013), mohsinali303 (Monday, May 27, 2013), Muhammad Kashif Khoso (Tuesday, July 22, 2014), MUHAMMAD TAIMOUR (Wednesday, December 25, 2013), MuhammadShahzad25 (Thursday, March 27, 2014), Muzzamil (Thursday, March 21, 2013), Mystic Enigma (Saturday, July 13, 2013), naeemgul (Friday, August 29, 2014), naqvi syed (Sunday, August 04, 2013), nice grl (Tuesday, September 03, 2013), parwarsha (Monday, March 25, 2013), pisceankhan (Thursday, August 14, 2014), Raat ka musafir (Tuesday, September 03, 2013), Rehman Arain (Sunday, July 06, 2014), RJ STYLE (Saturday, October 12, 2013), Robina Ashraf (Friday, August 02, 2013), Romana baig (Thursday, November 14, 2013), rubab farooq (Thursday, March 21, 2013), Sabaerum (Saturday, July 27, 2013), sabahatbhutta (Tuesday, July 30, 2013), salman champ (Saturday, April 30, 2016), SAMEYA AROOJ (Tuesday, November 19, 2013), saqqal gondal (Friday, January 16, 2015), sonia shaikh (Thursday, March 21, 2013), Srasool (Tuesday, September 03, 2013), Taimoor Gondal (Thursday, March 21, 2013), Tehreem Biya (Thursday, March 21, 2013), UltimateCSP (Thursday, March 21, 2013), Urma Waqar (Thursday, March 21, 2013), Usman Afridii (Thursday, May 23, 2019), Usman Daha (Thursday, October 24, 2013), Wajahat Hussan (Thursday, May 11, 2017), Zahid Ujjan (Tuesday, July 02, 2013), zazu (Wednesday, May 29, 2013), Zubair Rahim buneri (Tuesday, July 29, 2014)
Old Thursday, March 21, 2013
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 8157Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Tassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdomTassawur is a bearer of wisdom

Originally Posted by Pearl013 View Post
thanks for ur valuable tips... my query is how to improve English written expression.i mean what is the best way to practice writing (other than writing expansion of idea on daily basis)
The maxim " Practice makes a man perfect " does not prove more true to anything else , then to develop a sound and impressive language expression. Therfore , practice and only practice is the only panacea. But before practice , one needs to read standard language which one keeps in consideration while having the practice. And the standard English Language expression we have in the form of Dawn Newspaper. Almost all the aspirants read this newspaper , often called the bible of the CSS. However , Simply reading a newspaper brings about little improvement both in knowledge as well as in improving language and enriching expression. Therefore it is highly recommended to have writing practice and make use of that vocabulary and those expressions which you read in newspapers. Only in this way you can make those words and expressions , your own. Otherwise , they would get lost in oblivion. Beaides rewriting the things from the newspaper , expansion of phrases or writing anything else i.e about anything from daily routine is also a good exercise So either rewrite the things from newspaaper or write something else for improving your language. But Do have writing practice on daily basis . Yes if you write important things from newspapers , not only your language expression would be enriched but also you would have consolidated what you have read. And in this way you also can keep the record of importan events and things , in your own words. Mark my words , mere reading the newspaper is far bigger investment of time and energy then the gains what one gets. Therefore , make the writing practice as yo ur habit as it proves to be a panacea for developing a sound and impressive writing expression
aneeqawaheed (Wednesday, August 14, 2013), aqdas (Thursday, July 10, 2014), Call for Change (Thursday, May 23, 2013), empty brain (Sunday, July 27, 2014), eshaaladan (Saturday, July 27, 2013), GREEN STAR (Thursday, March 21, 2013), imran25dec (Tuesday, September 25, 2018), informer59 (Friday, May 16, 2014), Intifada (Thursday, March 21, 2013), iqra saleem (Monday, April 01, 2013), Irum Siddiqui (Thursday, March 21, 2013), jazi (Thursday, March 21, 2013), khaliqniz (Friday, February 28, 2014), khankhajjak (Thursday, March 21, 2013), madiha alvi (Friday, August 02, 2013), Muhammad Kashif Khoso (Tuesday, July 22, 2014), Muhammad Muazzam Bilal (Saturday, May 04, 2013), naeemgul (Friday, August 29, 2014), parwarsha (Monday, March 25, 2013), pisceankhan (Thursday, August 14, 2014), RJ STYLE (Saturday, October 12, 2013), Robina Ashraf (Friday, August 02, 2013), sabahatbhutta (Tuesday, July 30, 2013), Sahrish Butt (Friday, March 22, 2013), SAMEYA AROOJ (Tuesday, November 19, 2013), sonia shaikh (Thursday, March 21, 2013), Srasool (Tuesday, September 03, 2013), Taimoor Gondal (Thursday, March 21, 2013), Tehreem Biya (Thursday, March 21, 2013), Urma Waqar (Thursday, March 21, 2013), Zahid Ujjan (Tuesday, July 02, 2013)
Old Friday, March 22, 2013

zeekaay is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Tassawur View Post
The maxim " Practice makes a man perfect " does not prove more true to anything else , then to develop a sound and impressive language expression. Therfore , practice and only practice is the only panacea. But before practice , one needs to read standard language which one keeps in consideration while having the practice. And the standard English Language expression we have in the form of Dawn Newspaper. Almost all the aspirants read this newspaper , often called the bible of the CSS. However , Simply reading a newspaper brings about little improvement both in knowledge as well as in improving language and enriching expression. Therefore it is highly recommended to have writing practice and make use of that vocabulary and those expressions which you read in newspapers. Only in this way you can make those words and expressions , your own. Otherwise , they would get lost in oblivion. Beaides rewriting the things from the newspaper , expansion of phrases or writing anything else i.e about anything from daily routine is also a good exercise So either rewrite the things from newspaaper or write something else for improving your language. But Do have writing practice on daily basis . Yes if you write important things from newspapers , not only your language expression would be enriched but also you would have consolidated what you have read. And in this way you also can keep the record of importan events and things , in your own words. Mark my words , mere reading the newspaper is far bigger investment of time and energy then the gains what one gets. Therefore , make the writing practice as yo ur habit as it proves to be a panacea for developing a sound and impressive writing expression
sir rewriting from news paper won't be time consuming?
Old Friday, March 22, 2013

Originally Posted by zeekaay View Post
sir rewriting from news paper won't be time consuming?
My Dear ! Yes it would demand investment of time but here is no short cut to improve the English language expression overnightly . Without a good quantity of practice one can not develop an impressive and correct command over a language. Therfore, there is now way out except for doing writing practice. And rewriting the things from the newspaper provides a better exercise where one can make use of the vocabulary and expressions which one had read in newspaper. In this way, on one hand one's grip on language gets strengthened and on the other hand one also keeps on collecting notes of important events and happenings which prove to be instrumental inthe preparation of C. A as well as the essay.

Last edited by Tassawur; Friday, March 22, 2013 at 11:52 PM. Reason: Removed errors and explained further.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to Tassawur For This Useful Post:
Call for Change (Thursday, May 23, 2013), huda1 (Friday, April 26, 2013), Imad khan (Friday, April 26, 2013), imran25dec (Tuesday, September 25, 2018), Muhammad Kashif Khoso (Tuesday, July 22, 2014), parwarsha (Monday, March 25, 2013), pisceankhan (Thursday, August 14, 2014), RJ STYLE (Saturday, October 12, 2013), Robina Ashraf (Friday, August 02, 2013), rozeb70 (Saturday, March 23, 2013), sabahatbhutta (Tuesday, July 30, 2013), SAMEYA AROOJ (Tuesday, November 19, 2013), sidra tarar (Thursday, May 09, 2013), theknight (Friday, March 29, 2013), zeekaay (Tuesday, October 22, 2013)
Old Friday, April 26, 2013

Imad khan is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Depressed

Sir I agreed no doubt Dawn and Jahangir World times gives us the valuable inputs but sir each issue that may be in Dawn or JWT takes round about 4 to 5 hours along with writing practice. Another problem that I have I go in the very depth of each issue even I search it on the web. Is it good or wastage of time.
Old Monday, May 20, 2013

Tehman Khan is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Imad khan View Post
Sir I agreed no doubt Dawn and Jahangir World times gives us the valuable inputs but sir each issue that may be in Dawn or JWT takes round about 4 to 5 hours along with writing practice. Another problem that I have I go in the very depth of each issue even I search it on the web. Is it good or wastage of time.
Dear same problem here
have you found any soultion to it if yes please guide me also
Old Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Lily is on a distinguished road
Question when to start cramming?

aoa can u pls guide me whn shud 1 start cramming? i mean i have roughly 7-8 months (planning to appear in 2014) left yet so if i start cramming now, will i b able to retain it till exam???

isha saeed has a spectacular aura aboutisha saeed has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by Lily View Post
aoa can u pls guide me whn shud 1 start cramming? i mean i have roughly 7-8 months (planning to appear in 2014) left yet so if i start cramming now, will i b able to retain it till exam???
understanding is better than cramming.
don't waste your time, select your optional and do work hard insh ALLAH you will prepare in short span of time.
stay happy and best of luck
The Following User Says Thank You to isha saeed For This Useful Post:
RJ STYLE (Saturday, October 12, 2013)
Czar

Thanked 4,064 Times in 1,854 Posts
Arain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant futureArain007 has a brilliant future

Originally Posted by Lily View Post
Avoid use of "Netspeak" or other "cute" grammar or spelling (For example: writing "R U a woman?" instead of "Are You a woman?").

Read and Follow Forum Rules
The Following User Says Thank You to Arain007 For This Useful Post:
informer59 (Thursday, March 20, 2014)
Old Thursday, May 23, 2013

zeejay is on a distinguished road

MashaALLAH Nice sharing Bro

Please help me if you can, Em New here,

My name is Zohaib Ali And Em from karachi Sindh.
I have done Graduation in BS(IT),
This is my First attempt, Some tips for Choosing subjects..?

#I'll really appreciate for your Kindness
PS Please Do reply.