05:56 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing

Tips and Experience Sharing Your unique experience and tips can be highly valuable to thousands of them who plan to appear for exams this year or in the future years.You can share your experiences and golden tips with us.

Old Monday, September 30, 2013

alwidah is on a distinguished road

respected sir please guide me regarding psychology prepration as am very confused regarding its prepration as time is short and course is hell vast:-( i will be highly obliged
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit no. 273Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Werewolf will become famous soon enoughWerewolf will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by qqurat View Post
sir after completing your home work did you prepare notes on these topics????
and sir suggest me some ways to hone my writing skills , as after doing MBBS i have lost all my writing skills!
In this exam , we not only have to write but write effectively , courteously and according to the requirements of the question.
keeping in mind time left , suggest some ways or daily tasks to work on this issue.
i already have completed sociology , working on journalism these days but really having difficulty in grabbing its concepts don't know why !
And i am myself more inclined to conceptual learning! i liked sociology for this reason , that by grabbing the concept one is able to answer even the most difficult question.
but in journalism , i am still confused , how to deal with it!
i almost have completed section 1 of journalism.
((
Dear, after completing my homework, i did not made any notes, except for EDS. that too, on insistence of my a few friends.
Actually, personally i considered making notes as nonproductive and wastage of time, because i had only 5 months. but yes, i would advise you to make shorthands. They will help you revise a complete subject within 1 or 2 hours during exam days.

Improve your writing by making shorthands on blank papers (unlined, as in CSS), write clearly though with slow speed, and try to copy your letters wherever they are repeated. i intend to say that you must focus on your individual letters and their proportionate size with respect to the other letters. in the beginning you will be slower than a turtle, but you will improve with time. remember, if your letters are beautiful, they will make your words beautiful which will ultimately make your whole paper beautiful.

To write effectively, be productive and to the point. don't waste your time on unnecessary details. and write in simple english, understandable to both a layman and a specialist. if you have good vocabulary, then only use it if your quality of english literariness suits that level. otherwise, the simpler, the better. and avoid repetition of words frequently.

Journalism. if you are not developing your interest in it, then leave it for now and start something else. do it in the end, and you will find it quite easier to cover at that time than now. this is how our brain works. trust me. when exam time draws nearer, the efficiency of our brains increases dramatically to digest even the driest things quite easily.

hope this will help.
aneeqawaheed (Tuesday, October 08, 2013), Anonymous98 (Friday, November 08, 2013), faith786 (Sunday, October 27, 2013), noaman saleem (Monday, September 30, 2013), paras Sulehri (Monday, September 30, 2013), qqurat (Monday, September 30, 2013)

Saira Nadeem is on a distinguished road
Default @ Warewolf

thanks for your guidance , public administration is good option or else i will go with punjabi.
I just start preparation.
The Following User Says Thank You to Saira Nadeem For This Useful Post:
Werewolf (Wednesday, October 02, 2013)

paras Sulehri is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by jindshahwani View Post
What are your other optional subjects other than Psychology?
my other optionals are punjabi, geography and journalism.

Originally Posted by Werewolf View Post
Dear Paras, Feldman is a good book, but, every 2nd aspirant who has opted psychology studies from it. So i would suggest you to go for sources that are not so common. I have told JINDSHAHWANI about 2 psychology books. those are awesome
consult them too. Easy and far more knowledgeable than Feldman

Ask Jindshahwani, she has their links

Ok here you go, these are the links of both the books,

http://libgen.info/view.php?id=686663

http://dev2.uniba.sk/~gal/files/Unde...Ed)(gnv64).pdf

consider 2nd one as text book, and 1st one + feldman both as reference books.

And yes, the only strategy you require is to be conceptual. If you have concepts, you will never fail to tackle any type of question. Rather, a tricky paper is good for you because it filters out many crammers and brings only the concept-oriented candidates into the limelight
i wont force you to cover the complete syllabus, but i will urge you to grab the concept of whatever you study.

Note that, the above books does not cover the "schools of thought in psychology" portion. so, if you want to study them, then google them, (wikipedia is good for that)

thanks for being so helpful sir.
i am planning to earn maximum marks as much as i can from this subject with no background but its being so interesting to me. i pray my interest will be worthy.
well as far as geography is concerned, it is still very boring+rough. post some tips to tackle this subject in a smooth way with flying colors outcome.

Last edited by Gotam; Monday, September 30, 2013 at 03:02 PM. Reason: merged

angelstar will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Werewolf View Post
I will write about remaining compulsory papers tomorrow inshaAllah,
but before signing out, i will share with you all 3 very important tips.

1. Choose your pen wisely. it is potential enough to
(a). stimulate your brain to recall forgotten things.
(b). make an "stationary field" in your paper that will keep on impressing and pleasing your examiner.

2. Keep in mind, preparing for CSS is not as tough as going through CSS exams. so, for peculiar papers, do make shorthands. This is must!

3. Some read 10 books for 1 subject while others read 1 book for 1 subject, but in the end everyone gets 3 hours to show what he/she did. but, If those 3 hours are utilized wisely, then examiner might confuse a 1-book-reader with a 10-book-reader and vice versa. so, be RESULT-ORIENTED and focus on productive side.

Good night. tata
sir kindly elaborate your point B and
brother can u plz elaborate ur time table of compulsory subjects? As
4 months are left for exams and 12 subjects are yet to prepare
. and please do suggest the most important topics of compulsory subjects'?

alwidah is on a distinguished road

brother the second one you have mentioned to use as a text book is of feldsman so i am not getting ?it is either the 1st one or second one to use as text book??????? please dp reply :-(
41st CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2012 Merit no. 273Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Originally Posted by alwidah View Post
respected sir please guide me regarding psychology prepration as am very confused regarding its prepration as time is short and course is hell vast:-( i will be highly obliged
Dear, 10 year past papers strategy works the best with this subject.
First you need to go through the past papers, also note down the questions, this will make a framework of its complete syllabus in your mind, then arrange its syllabus as given by fpsc, then start your preparation from any good source with the help of these 2 directives i.e fpsc's syllabus + past papers. i have done this and it takes only 10 days per part of psycho: to prepare. so, its affordable
then revise it as many times as you want

Originally Posted by paras Sulehri View Post
thanks for being so helpful sir.
i am planning to earn maximum marks as much as i can from this subject with no background but its being so interesting to me. i pray my interest will be worthy.
well as far as geography is concerned, it is still very boring+rough. post some tips to tackle this subject in a smooth way with flying colors outcome.
See paras, Geography is a conceptual and intrinsically interesting subject for some people. but if you are finding it boring and rough despite your efforts, then i would suggest you to drop it. because it is not wise to risk 200 marks. Geography is quite a typical subject, and if you can't find interest in it then it is suicidal to opt it.
but if you still want to try again to find interest in it then study from foreign colourful books, i have posted links of 2 of them in one of my previous posts. sometimes the sole reason for the dryness of any subject is only the boring and dull source. May colourful text and diagrams invoke your interest

Originally Posted by Zaheer Qadri View Post
I salute you brother! much impressed and motivated by your posts/ guidance.
kindly keep sharing such invaluable tips for aspirants.
Can I have your email ID ?

@jindshahwali Sory sister I bothered your?
Dear, i have already inputted my facebook link in my profile. you can fetch it

Originally Posted by angelstar View Post
sir kindly elaborate your point B and
brother can u plz elaborate ur time table of compulsory subjects? As
4 months are left for exams and 12 subjects are yet to prepare
. and please do suggest the most important topics of compulsory subjects'?
point b, 'stationary field of impression'
its elaboration would be quite lengthy, let me brief it.

1. have you ever noticed that sometimes some text written in a book is a bit boring, than if it is handwritten by somebody with his total interest and good writing? this is because, when you are contended and interested in any subject, your handwritten text reflect that thing and this will form a stationary field that will always joy a person reading it. this happens at the unconscious side of your brain, so you will never sense it consciously.
"A THING OF BEAUTY IS JOY FOREVER" Keats. (and beautiful things are only done if a person is interested and sincere in his work.)

when you are writing, your pen in collaboration with your brain and your mood makes that field on your answer copy. Pen has a significance beyond it being just a writing material. "WE TAUGHT MAN WITH THE HELP OF 'PEN' WHAT HE DID NOT KNOW" (AL-ALAQ) etc. i know that whatever is mentioned in Quran has multi-dimensional meanings.

the rule is not as simple as i have just stated, it has some U-turns and zig-zags.. but i can't elaborate it completely, here. so you have to be contented with it, and explore it yourself. for your ease, you should remember that you only see less than 1% of what really exists in transparency around you.

and as 4 months are left, take guidance from past papers so as to get proper direction

Originally Posted by alwidah View Post
brother the second one you have mentioned to use as a text book is of feldsman so i am not getting ?it is either the 1st one or second one to use as text book??????? please dp reply :-(
simple,
text book should be "Understanding Psychology (glencoe/MCGraw-HILL)"
and reference books should be feldman and "Psychology 4th edition by G. Neil Martin, Neil R. Carlson and William Buskist"
the name of feldman's book is "Essentials of Understanding Psychology"

Compulsory Subjects:

3. Pakistan Affairs:
it has 2 parts, pre-partition and post-partition.
i only prepared pre-partition completely, and post-pastition selectively, only 4,5, topics.
Pre-partition starts with DELHI SULTANATE (past papers wise) and ends at creation of Pakistan 1947.
You have to study this section like a story. you have to understand the links between the events. study in analog (continuous) fashion and avoid digital (discrete) way.
for every event you have to give special attention on role played by the Muslims, the Hindus and the Britishers.
it's very very easy. you just have to be analytic while studying.
Ikram Rabbani, as suggested by many, is not a good book according to me. its very very boring.
study from some good notes + internet
also, make maximum use of quotations in your question paper. even if you don't remember any quotation word by word, write it in your own words beautifully, and if you don't have any quotation in your mind, then fabricate your own quotations cleverly (risky, if not done skillfully). just remember 3,4 names of good books and their writers so that you may put their names as references of your fabricated quotations.

for post-partition, you can study from
1. Pakistan by Anatol lieven (you can find it online), or
2. Pakistan, Eye of the storm, by Owen Bennett Jones (purchase it from some good bookstore)

both books are awesome. their writers have really done a fabulous job
you can also study from any other foreign book e.g oxford books etc

While attempting this paper, keep in mind that Muslims are heroes and Hindus and Britishers are villains
value your own cause, and be critical to the cause of Hindus and Britishers. and yes, do this diplomatically. DON'T BE DIRECT!!

Last edited by Gotam; Monday, September 30, 2013 at 03:04 PM. Reason: merged
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to Werewolf For This Useful Post:
aneeqawaheed (Wednesday, October 09, 2013), Buddha (Monday, September 30, 2013), qqurat (Monday, September 30, 2013), rabiaamjad (Monday, November 11, 2013), sabaas (Thursday, October 31, 2013), sahar abbas (Monday, November 11, 2013), Zaheer Qadri (Monday, September 30, 2013)

paras Sulehri is on a distinguished road
Thumbs down

being from engineering background, i am not left over with any congenial subject. almost every subject is suicidal.
but i have decided to stick on with it.
41st CTP (OMG)

being from engineering background, i am not left over with any congenial subject. almost every subject is suicidal.
but i have decided to stick on with it.
then better change your sources. you may develop interest after studying from foreign colourful books with awesome material

post some tips to tackle this subject in a smooth way with flying colors outcome.
Make good diagrams, as you know "1 picture is better than 1000 words, but a good picture is better than 10000 words"
As it is scientific subject, so during exam, write to the point and don't waste your time on unnecessary details.
write beautifully and straight on those blank papers, and also focus on space between words and line-spacing. these minute (yet important) things make an impression on examiner's mind that the candidate is of high caliber.

hope this will help

Last edited by Z Bokhari; Monday, September 30, 2013 at 06:25 PM. Reason: merged

Ayoob Memon is on a distinguished road
Default @ Sir Warewolf (Subject Selection)

Dear Sir Thumbs up to you for a really big help to all.
I am a final year student of MBBS, starting my preparation now with my final year MBBS and willing to give attempt of 2015.
I have decided two optional.
1. Psychology
2. Zoology
I am in need to finalize my 3rd one so that i may start my preparation with a targeted task.
Awaiting for your reply