05:14 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing > Arena of Golden Tips

Old Wednesday, June 01, 2011
39th CTP (DMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit  09Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

maliasghar is a glorious beacon of lightmaliasghar is a glorious beacon of lightmaliasghar is a glorious beacon of lightmaliasghar is a glorious beacon of lightmaliasghar is a glorious beacon of light
Default Muhammad Ali Asghar (DMG)

Allah has indeed been kind upon me for my success in the CE-2010, and even more so at the interview part. I am humbled by the honor Almighty has given me. I would briefly share a few of my observations:

1. Clarity of Purpose: As a first step, I consider that it is extremely important to be very clear right at the start of this journey as to why do you want to join the Civil Service or even why do you wish to attempt for the Competitive Exam. Different people have different motivations. You need to be really sure about yours. If you want to join the Civil Service for prestige, honour, power, authority, ‘dandda’, public service, then so be it and own it. There is no need to be ashamed of your reasons, be they knightly/saintly or knavish/selfish. If you are just following others in the lead, even then be clear about it. This brings us to our second point:

2. Motivation: Once you have the clarity of purpose, you should evaluate that whether you have a desire sufficient enough to sustain you through a two year long duration. You need to be really motivated enough to work hard, motivated enough to sit back at home and indulge in a really non-interesting activity of studying boring stuff. You need to be motivated enough to counter all arguments of friends and relatives who would try to dissuade you from joining Civil Service on the way. And lastly you should be motivated enough to be persistent throughout two years in face of all adverse news you would hear and read in media about Civil Service. In short, motivation is your manna and fuel which will keep you going throughout this time. Many people do not give adequate importance to this aspect, but to me, it is the single most important element which feeds into others.

3. Dedicated Activity: I find it really hard to buy the idea that one can continue to do a job and prepare for CSS simultaneously and ultimately score a high merit. If the aim is just to pass and get any allocation then probably yes, one can do it. But if the aim is to get the allocation of your choice and that too in a crystal clear respectable manner then you have to quite all other things, including your job, sit back home, develop a routine and seek agreement from parents and other family members that you would not be disturbed for one year at least. This leads to Point 4:

4. Commitment of Parents/Family: It is very important to bring your parents and family on board. If they are committed to your cause and believe in it, then they must not only provide you with a conducive environment, but should also be a source of encouragement to you. This translates into you not being disturbed for routine household chores or you being forced to attend family dinners, parties and weddings etc. Your routine should take preference over all family matters for one year, unless once in a while you yourself want to get out and relax a little. This feeds into Point 5:

5. Room for Relaxation:
My father once told me that no horse in a Gymkhana can run 4 circuits of the race consecutively. The horse ultimately runs out of breath. Some horses make a sprint at the start and take the lead and then level off; others save it for the end. This means, you need to continuously release pressure during the preparation. You would be a fool to expect that you can lock yourself in a room for one year and study 10 hours per day. You will soon run out of steam. So, continue to meet friends and socialize, at least once a week. Plus, keep some energy for the end months when it would be most required.

6. Subject Selection: I am not at all a believer of the idea that some subjects can be scoring and others not. I took Indo-Pak History and Journalism, the two most beaten subjects in the CE-2010, and still I managed to score into single digit merit. And I stand vindicated in my stance. So, select a subject which first of all interests you and at the same time lessens your load. Go for those subjects which overlap like Indo-Pak with Pakistan Affairs, and Public Administration with Political Science.

7. Be Simple: I am a Computer Engineer but I never opted Computer Science, although it would have been fairly easy for me. Also someone might ask, if I can’t clear the Computer Science paper, who can? But selecting Computer Science as a subject would have meant revising a 4 year syllabus for only a 100 marks paper. I didn’t need to prove any one by selecting the subject that I am good at Computer Science. My aim was to become an officer and I opted subjects which are in the mainstream chosen by almost everyone, for whom adequate material is available in the market and elsewhere, and for which I can always seek help.

7. Current Affairs is the key: Although Current Affairs is a 100 marks subject, but in recent times, it can be very easily observed that every paper has at least a couple of questions relating to current situation in our country and society. So, the more time you spend on current affairs, the more you would ultimately benefit in almost every paper. My suggestion would be to keep a 65-35 ratio with almost 35% of your entire CSS preparation focused on current affairs and 65% on routine books for subjects. Diversify your source of Current Affairs knowledge beyond DAWN (which is definitely the best newspaper for CSS). This would include journals from IPS, PIPS and IRS etc.

I think it would be a mere repetition if I say what everyone else has said time and again that there is simply no short cut to success. Hard work is the key. An average of 8 hours per day and an almost same number of months is what would get you to your dream occupational group with certainty and respect.

But, I must admit that this preparation has brought me a lot closer to the Almighty, and I would not be ashamed to say that I believe, the Almighty listens to my prayers. Closeness only comes if you get close to God, for He is always there to accommodate you.

Apart from the above, please keep in mind the following for preparation of interview:

1. First of all, everyone must understand that the Interview part (Viva + Psychological) is almost as important as the written portion, if not more. Whereas we all tend to work really hard for the written, spending almost a year preparing it, we take the interview very lightly. Some people even say, there is simply no need to prepare at all. I beg to differ with them for Interview does require preparation. The reason I say interview is very important is that all the candidates who clear the written examination have their scores lying in a narrow band of around 100 marks (between 610 and 710 marks). This means that at this stage 300 marks of interview gives you a good leverage to make the difference. A high score of above 200 could very well land you in top 20~30 positions even if your written score is just an average one along with 600 or so other candidates.

2. The second reason I emphasize on interview is that in my opinion it requires almost as much hard work as the written part. A dedicated preparation of 2~3 months, preferably even before or immediately after the announcement of written result would be my recommendation. Again, you must understand that by scoring 240 marks in interview, you can take a lead of almost 100 marks from a candidate who did just average in interview scoring around 150 or so.

3. The third most important thing to realize is that Psychological assessment is a very significant component of the whole interview part. In my personal opinion it is even more important than the viva voce. The reason I say this is that the Psychiatrists spend two complete days judging almost every single aspect of your personality in depth. The personality profile prepared by them is given a lot of weightage by the FPSC panel, increasing so in recent years. They sort of go along with the advice of the professionals, and only reconfirm their assessment through different questioning techniques. The variation between the psychologists and FPSC panel cannot be markedly large. So, give you best effort to prepare for this part so that the psychologists draw a good personality profile of you and recommend you as an officer material. 

4. Prepare for group discussions and command tasks with your friends and other qualifiers. At this stage, you can also join an academy where you would have a chance to interact with many students at one place, something you cannot do on your own. Within the group discussions, adopt a stance which is moderate (not to extremist on either side). Your argument should be backed by logic and evidence. Your choice of words should be mild, but your tone should be firm and give an aura of seriousness. There is no need to shout and raise your voice unnecessarily merely to capture attention or drive your point. If your point is valid, it will be registered even with a soft voice. This way, an even better impact would be created that you are confident on your knowledge and argument and do not need the support of your oratory.

5. For the Command Task take time to properly explain the problem to your team members instead of rushing through at this point. If your team does not fully understand your problem, they would be unable to help you or contribute in your problem. A few seconds saved at this stage can in fact cost you later. Once the problem is explained to team members, ask them if they have completely understood it. If any member is unclear on any aspect of the problem, this would be a good time to clarify things. This would also give a positive impression that as a leader you take care of how your subordinates comprehend you. In my frank opinion, there is no need to pre-assign designations and appointments. While wrapping up the discussions, you can simply point to your team members and assign them tasks.

6. Try to think through different questions which might be asked on your personality both in the proforma as well as by the psychologist panel. Instead of these questions coming to you as a surprise, it is better that you have done some working on them. Questions like, your fondest childhood memory, things you like and dislike about your parents and friends, your domiciled district etc need to be prepared before hand. The forum would contain lots of questions asked by the psychologists to different batches.

7. For the viva voce, try to build the opinions on different issues. Try to ask yourself questions. Read one or two newspapers. If possible start reading TIME and NEWSWEEK. Again, on your own, work out small questions on any issue that can be asked from different angles. You should have answers to cover these angles. At this stage, also go through actual statutes, laws and provisions of constitution that are often referred to in news item and articles. For instance, if Section 295 (Blasphemy Laws) of CrPC is mentioned repeatedly in press and media, you should read and understand the actual provisions verbatim. One good online source for such documents is: The Constitution of Pakistan and Pakistan's Legislative History

I hope it helps. You can ask me about specifics, which I might have missed out.

Again, it is a personal belief, but God is the One Who has helped me beyond my capabilities. I was able to do CSS and an MSc from LSE UK in parallel. I got such high marks in interview and passed the essay paper on edge. So, get close to Him!

Regards, and Best of Luck
Aaiza Jadoon (Friday, June 29, 2018), Abar e Rehmat (Thursday, June 30, 2011), abdul kalam (Sunday, September 25, 2011), adeel abdullah (Wednesday, November 21, 2012), Adeel Afzal (Monday, October 27, 2014), aghaadnan (Wednesday, April 09, 2014), Ahmed Faisal (Monday, March 19, 2012), Ahmedmalik (Sunday, June 30, 2013), Alexkahn (Tuesday, June 19, 2012), AmeerAnas (Sunday, August 26, 2018), Antalpur (Thursday, January 12, 2012), arbab01 (Friday, June 22, 2012), arsalanmk12 (Tuesday, May 01, 2012), Asad Shoaib (Thursday, September 06, 2012), ashfaq mushtaq (Wednesday, November 21, 2012), BALOCHISTAN (Saturday, September 08, 2012), beinghuman (Tuesday, July 10, 2012), Call for Change (Tuesday, October 23, 2012), candidguy (Thursday, October 13, 2011), Chattha Sahab (Monday, July 23, 2012), cssravian (Sunday, June 24, 2012), doli (Wednesday, June 20, 2012), Eager (Sunday, December 18, 2011), Faisal86 (Tuesday, December 27, 2011), Fatima47 (Tuesday, September 06, 2011), hafiz ishtiaq ahmad (Friday, October 14, 2011), hassamniazi (Friday, October 07, 2011), imranazeem (Wednesday, February 18, 2015), inayatali (Monday, June 25, 2012), Intifada (Thursday, November 15, 2012), jadoon khan (Friday, September 07, 2012), junaidd (Wednesday, June 20, 2012), khalidusman (Monday, October 29, 2012), khaliqniz (Thursday, March 06, 2014), Last Island (Thursday, November 22, 2012), M MAZHAR JADOON (Saturday, August 13, 2011), madiha alvi (Sunday, April 14, 2013), Mahvish Shahid (Tuesday, June 07, 2011), Malik Iqbal (Thursday, June 28, 2012), Malik Nadeem 06 (Monday, July 09, 2012), mani g (Friday, January 18, 2013), marycop (Wednesday, November 02, 2011), Mazhar Ali Khokhar (Wednesday, December 21, 2011), mudasr (Tuesday, October 23, 2012), Muhammad Irfan ullah jan (Sunday, June 30, 2013), Mumtaz Hayat Maneka (Monday, December 05, 2011), Murshd (Wednesday, April 10, 2019), niazikhan2 (Friday, July 01, 2011), nustian (Wednesday, July 04, 2012), Obsessed With CSS (Friday, July 22, 2011), pisceankhan (Wednesday, October 08, 2014), prince93 (Saturday, September 08, 2012), qamar83 (Thursday, December 22, 2011), rashid126 (Thursday, September 06, 2012), redmax (Saturday, December 17, 2011), RoadBlock (Tuesday, December 23, 2014), sabahatbhutta (Friday, June 22, 2012), Sajjad Magsi (Sunday, December 02, 2012), samia fakhar (Tuesday, July 03, 2012), Sara Arshad (Monday, July 09, 2012), Sasha Fierce (Wednesday, April 03, 2013), Seemab (Tuesday, October 23, 2012), shanimba1 (Thursday, June 28, 2012), Shaw (Monday, June 25, 2012), siddiqui88 (Wednesday, October 24, 2012), sikander marri (Tuesday, June 19, 2012), silza (Monday, December 15, 2014), Suman (Sunday, June 12, 2011), Sweet Gondal (Saturday, August 18, 2012), Syeda Bukhari (Sunday, December 18, 2011), Syedfawadalishah (Saturday, September 01, 2018), unsolved_Mystery (Friday, December 23, 2011), waleedbaig (Wednesday, March 13, 2013), waqas Nawaz (Sunday, June 24, 2012), wchs (Monday, December 15, 2014), xeesabir (Saturday, December 31, 2011), Zohaib786 (Monday, September 19, 2011)
Old Friday, June 03, 2011

Thanked 1,417 Times in 749 Posts
SADIA SHAFIQ has a brilliant futureSADIA SHAFIQ has a brilliant futureSADIA SHAFIQ has a brilliant futureSADIA SHAFIQ has a brilliant futureSADIA SHAFIQ has a brilliant futureSADIA SHAFIQ has a brilliant futureSADIA SHAFIQ has a brilliant futureSADIA SHAFIQ has a brilliant futureSADIA SHAFIQ has a brilliant futureSADIA SHAFIQ has a brilliant futureSADIA SHAFIQ has a brilliant future

Thanx for your precious tips regarding interview. Ok we people have 3 mnths and you gv us hint that each fact has multitude cofactors or angles.that meant for gross study .and magnitude of this study should be more than as compare to written exam? Plz tell us your own books which u used in this 300marks exam..
39th CTP (DMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit  09Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

maliasghar is a glorious beacon of lightmaliasghar is a glorious beacon of lightmaliasghar is a glorious beacon of lightmaliasghar is a glorious beacon of lightmaliasghar is a glorious beacon of light

Originally Posted by SADIA SHAFIQ View Post
Plz tell us your own books which u used in this 300marks exam..
As I said, newspapers (DAWN, The News), Newsweek, Time, and Journals from IPS, PIPS, IRS etc.
Eager (Sunday, December 18, 2011), niazikhan2 (Friday, July 01, 2011), SADIA SHAFIQ (Friday, June 03, 2011), topsyturvy (Sunday, September 16, 2012)

camran will become famous soon enough

Dear Ali Asghar

You are right that the interview needs to be prepared thoroughly. From the posts that i have seen so far, it seems that the interview questions come from

1. Your Background (Educational)
2. Current Affairs
3. Optional Subjects Opted
4. Top 3 Groups

[Please correct me if i am wrong]

But there are certain things in Psychological tests that I want you to kindly explain in detail.

I gave the exam of 2011 and didnt went to Academy. If I passed in the written, I wont go to academy for interview preparation either. So there are certain things in Psychological test that I would like you to explaine. How can a person sitting in home can better prepare the following

1. IQ tests
2. Personality Tests
3. Command Task (Which appears most difficult to me as most of the command task require some knowledge of the occupational group as well)

Kindly share how we can better prepare if we dont go to academy

P.S: Did you prepared for the 2011 exam after 2010 exam or did you prepared for Interview straight away??? How you managed time after the 2010 attempt?

Dear Ali Asghar,

Another trend that I've seen in the Interviews is the questions from Economics and Policies. I have a background of IT and barely understand Economic Jargon. Will reading the Yellow Pages of Dawn on Monday suffice or something else is also needed?

Last edited by Chauhdary12; Tuesday, June 07, 2011 at 05:44 AM. Reason: Merged
The Following User Says Thank You to camran For This Useful Post:
Eager (Sunday, December 18, 2011)

Thanked 1,387 Times in 547 Posts
SYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to beholdSYEDA SABAHAT is a splendid one to behold

sadia i think for css 2011 candidates,they should pull up thier socks for interview right now.

sadia why dont we start with performa and interview related topics time by time. is tarha hamen bohat help miley ge interview me. bcoz agar is forum pe kisi bhi topic ka koi angle discuss hone se reh gaya hua to qualifiers han na guide kerne k lea,baad me ye log training ma busy ho jain ga.

what do you say?

@ali asghar sahab zabardast itni gehrai se apne interview k lea prepare kya tha.isi lea apke itne acha marks aye han. thnk you apne mere confusion door ker de bcoz muje bhi kisi ne yehi kaha tha k interview k lea itni tyari nhi kerne parte.per ab pata chala k iska lea to double tayari kerne parti ha.

we will inshallah act upon your strategies. BEST OF LUCK FOR YOUR FUTURE.

Maza deti han zindagi ki thokerin unko,jinhen NAAM-E-KHUDA le kar sanbhal janey ki adat ho.
The Following User Says Thank You to SYEDA SABAHAT For This Useful Post:
maliasghar (Monday, June 06, 2011)

mujipak is on a distinguished road
Default @Muhammad Ali Asghar

Dear can I know your email address, so I can email you and ask some things?
Old Monday, June 06, 2011
39th CTP (DMG)

Dear Camran,

Please see below:

Originally Posted by camran View Post
Dear Ali Asghar

You are right that the interview needs to be prepared thoroughly. From the posts that i have seen so far, it seems that the interview questions come from

1. Your Background (Educational)
2. Current Affairs
3. Optional Subjects Opted
4. Top 3 Groups

[Please correct me if i am wrong]
You are right to an extent that this is the general scenario and candidates experience questions from these areas. However, if I remember correctly, in my case, I was not asked questions on optional subjects, and apart from a brief question on my current job in the development sector, nothing else was asked from the background either. I was indeed quized a lot on the national policies, governance models and public sector reforms etc. I think, this was more so because I have a degree in Governance & Public Policy so perhaps the pannel wanted to get my insight and understanding of Pakistan's Policy issues too. As for the Top 3 groups, again, I was repeatedly asked about my ideas for DMG (which was my top preference), but was not asked about the order of my preference or the second and third choice. In fact they could have asked me why I placed FSP so low on priority list (7th or 8th if I recall), but again nothing was asked there even.

But there are certain things in Psychological tests that I want you to kindly explain in detail.

I gave the exam of 2011 and didnt went to Academy. If I passed in the written, I wont go to academy for interview preparation either. So there are certain things in Psychological test that I would like you to explaine. How can a person sitting in home can better prepare the following

1. IQ tests
2. Personality Tests
3. Command Task (Which appears most difficult to me as most of the command task require some knowledge of the occupational group as well)

Kindly share how we can better prepare if we dont go to academy
For the IQ tests, you can easily find a lot of help material from the local market. This include books written for ISSB preparation, some books specifically written for the CSS interview, and some foreign books for IQ preparation. Go through them. They are all the same. What you need is a sufficient amount of practice to get you going on these sort of questions.

For the Personality tests, you should think through hard on all possible aspects of your personality, recalling and noting down small incidents from your life, which you can quote in response to different questions - verbal or written. Different batches have posted on this forum a large number of questions that were asked to them in their Psychological Assessments. You can compile their list and prepare them before hand. The actual questions asked to you on your psychological assessment would be a variation of these same ones.

For Command Task, you do not need to have any cadre specific knowledge to perform well. It requires simple common sense and general knowledge. What is more important, as I have mentioned before, is your attitude towards your team: how you make them understand the problem, how you take them along, etc. You should practice this activity with your friends and other qualifiers.

P.S: Did you prepared for the 2011 exam after 2010 exam or did you prepared for Interview straight away??? How you managed time after the 2010 attempt?
Not to sound too confident or haughty at all, I had decided to attempt for the Competitive Exam only once. I decided that I would give in my best the first time, and if I am capable enough for the service, and if God wants me to be of any value to the public, He would Himself make arrangements to take me there. In my opinion I could not have done any better in the second attempt, for I do not regret having left any weak corner the first time. Thus no point making an attempt again. Therefore, after my first attempt in 2010, I did not prepare for 2011 attempt and instead sat down working for my interview. In the end, it was the interview that paid me off.

Best of luck

Originally Posted by camran View Post
Dear Ali Asghar,

Another trend that I've seen in the Interviews is the questions from Economics and Policies. I have a background of IT and barely understand Economic Jargon. Will reading the Yellow Pages of Dawn on Monday suffice or something else is also needed?
Dear Camran,

Yellow pages is a good source to get an understanding of basic economics and policy issues. At the interview stage, you should take up and read any thing that comes to your way.. be it newspaper, journals or magazines. That should be enough for interview purposes. The panel does not expect you to be an economist unless you have a background education in economics or accounting etc.

Originally Posted by mujipak View Post
Dear can I know your email address, so I can email you and ask some things?
Dear,

You can find that on my profile page. It is written there.

Last edited by Chauhdary12; Tuesday, June 07, 2011 at 05:46 AM. Reason: Merged
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to maliasghar For This Useful Post:
andleeb Akhter (Wednesday, October 24, 2012), Antalpur (Monday, March 30, 2015), camran (Monday, June 06, 2011), drvalentino (Saturday, December 31, 2011), imranazeem (Thursday, June 04, 2015), Intifada (Thursday, November 15, 2012), niazikhan2 (Friday, July 01, 2011), prestigious (Saturday, August 13, 2011), SYEDA SABAHAT (Monday, June 06, 2011)

Suzane Khan is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb plz reply this thread actually it was posted yesterday

To all Honourable CSP members

We, the new css aspirants, mostly search for tips and experience sharing posts by CSP members on cssforum.

So please do very frequently post new threads, containing as much of css related talks as possible, including :

ur experiences of written exams,
ur number of attempts,
all details of ur medical examination, psychological test,& viva voce,
the difficulties faced,
alongwith ur feelings & emotions during that whole period of time,
those 3 things u would like to attribute as behind ur success,
& experiences at CSA.

This thread is especially for female CSPs.
39th CTP (DMG)

Dear Suzane,

Apart from this very thread on which you have posted, a few other observations have been made on your very concerns in the following threads:

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners...ualifiers.html

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners...ful-story.html

Kindly go through them and you will find useful information there. However, if any thing specific, you can surely ask so.
imranazeem (Saturday, October 31, 2015)

Suzane Khan is on a distinguished road
Default Thankyou

I hoe u understand that css-aspirants always have so many questions in their minds, especially people like me.

Please tell me whether ur success was a surprise for u or u were expecting it,

and if u were expecting it, was it on the basis of ur written exam or on the basis of ur interview.

And is it css, the ultimate career achievement, for u, or there is something else as well.