07:55 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing > Arena of Golden Tips

Old Tuesday, June 07, 2011
39th CTP (DMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit  09Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

maliasghar is a glorious beacon of lightmaliasghar is a glorious beacon of lightmaliasghar is a glorious beacon of lightmaliasghar is a glorious beacon of lightmaliasghar is a glorious beacon of light

Originally Posted by Suzane Khan View Post
I hoe u understand that css-aspirants always have so many questions in their minds, especially people like me.

Please tell me whether ur success was a surprise for u or u were expecting it,

and if u were expecting it, was it on the basis of ur written exam or on the basis of ur interview.

And is it css, the ultimate career achievement, for u, or there is something else as well.
Dear Suzane,

I guess, it would be very hard for any one to predict success, especially more so in Competitive Examination. However, I was certainly hopeful that I should be able to pass the exam, and when I passed, I was hopeful to get one of my first three preference. But as I said, I was 'hopeful' and in no way certain about it.

CSS for anyone, who is serious about it, is an ultimate career achievement, and so is it for me. I wouldn't be ashamed to say that I waited two years for this time to feel this happy.
Hamza Salick (Sunday, August 14, 2011)

UltimateCSP will become famous soon enoughUltimateCSP will become famous soon enough

I do not know why... But it seems to me that you put your full effort in interview and did not prepared well for written examz...
am i right?
39th CTP (DMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit  09Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

maliasghar is a glorious beacon of lightmaliasghar is a glorious beacon of lightmaliasghar is a glorious beacon of lightmaliasghar is a glorious beacon of lightmaliasghar is a glorious beacon of light

Originally Posted by Ultimate CSP View Post
I do not know why... But it seems to me that you put your full effort in interview and did not prepared well for written examz...
am i right?

I would not like to describe my attempt that way. I did give in my best effort to prepare for the written too, but owing to a couple of serious structural mistakes (mentioned in one of my other posts where I have detailed the DMC), I got the hit in written.

Having said that, indeed I took the interview seriously.

UltimateCSP will become famous soon enoughUltimateCSP will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by maliasghar View Post

I would not like to describe my attempt that way. I did give in my best effort to prepare for the written too, but owing to a couple of serious structural mistakes (mentioned in one of my other posts where I have detailed the DMC), I got the hit in written.

Having said that, indeed I took the interview seriously.
sorry sorry... I was not meant this...
I guess i read your that post. And may be i concluded this from that post as how can one forget to make outline in begning of essay paper???
39th CTP (DMG)

1. In your opinion, what do you think, what do the Panel look for in the candidate?
In my very own personal opinion (again, others might hold a different viewpoint), your knowledge has already been tested at the written stage which has a 4/5th weightage in the 1500 total marks. At the interview stage, the Viva pannel as well as the Psychologists are looking at the overall personality outlook of the candidate, his/her mannerism, to an extent his/her general understanding of national and world affairs, his/her way of conveying this knowledge, his/her argumentative style and most importantly his/her approach towards things, life and Civil Services. It is around these aspects that the entire three day interview process is structured.

2. Do we have to revise our optional Subjects for the interview? Did you?
Yes, you do have to revise the optional subjects. But this revision does not have to be really really in-depth as done at the time of written examination. You need to know the major concepts/events/incidents etc. Frankly the amount of questioning that takes place on the optional subjects varies from candidate to candidate. In my case, I was not asked about optionals at all (if I recall correctly). What I have figured out is that if a candidate has other things to talk about and the pannel has other things to ask him/her, then the questions on optionals are usually kept at a lower priority.

3. What kind of language, Tone, Stance (esp with regards to sensitive issues like Blasphemies, Army, Islam and other religions) should one adopt while giving Interview?
The language should always be mature, tone should be firm but polite. Stance should be moderate. This applies to interview with the pannel, interview with the Psychologists, group discussions and command tasks. There is no need to adopt hardliner attitudes. Your knowledge, facts and arguments should speak for themselves without your attitude and behaviour. Always give respect to what your colleagues say.
andleeb Akhter (Wednesday, October 24, 2012), Antalpur (Tuesday, March 31, 2015), Ms Emyra (Tuesday, June 07, 2011), niazikhan2 (Friday, July 01, 2011), Sajjad Magsi (Sunday, December 02, 2012), SYEDA SABAHAT (Wednesday, June 08, 2011)
Old Wednesday, June 08, 2011

bassu is on a distinguished road
Default thnks..

well thanks to u all,,i find this forum very effective specially for beginners.
Kindly guide me to select optional subjects, m finding this quite difficult to decide.
i have done civil engineering ,also have passed B.A (private) with journalism n sociology.

Looking forward for kind and sincere response.
best regards,
ABBAS ARIF
Old Thursday, June 30, 2011

m.furqan08 will become famous soon enough

@maliasghar

Please share your public admin notes.
Old Sunday, July 03, 2011
39th CTP (DMG)

Originally Posted by m.furqan08 View Post
@maliasghar

Please share your public admin notes.
Dear Furqan,
I did not specifically prepare any notes apart from scribbling any special point occassionally. This was so for I was already studying the same subject in my Masters degree so the study there helped me here.
Old Sunday, July 03, 2011
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 Merit 36

muhammad imran sethi is on a distinguished road

Maliasghar bhai kindly answer these 2 queries of mine.first do u recommend joining an academy specifically NOA,.My purpose of joining academy is to polish myself ,will academy serve this purpose. Secondly pl evaluate the precis of 2011 which i have posted
Old Tuesday, July 05, 2011
39th CTP (DMG)

Originally Posted by muhammad imran sethi View Post
Maliasghar bhai kindly answer these 2 queries of mine.first do u recommend joining an academy specifically NOA,.My purpose of joining academy is to polish myself ,will academy serve this purpose. Secondly pl evaluate the precis of 2011 which i have posted
Dear Imran,

Joining or not joining an academy shall always be your own decision. Neither can I endorse any particular academy over the other. This shall not be wise of me.

One good thing about academies is that you get to have a guided tour of what CSS is about, what subjects to take, what books to study, and outlines of syllabi etc. Secondly, you also get to have a fair idea of who would be the people with whom you would be competing in the exam. Some people find academies quite useful, whereas others do not.
muhammad imran sethi (Monday, July 11, 2011), silza (Monday, December 15, 2014)