01:00 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing > Arena of Golden Tips

Old Wednesday, July 25, 2012
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 51

Thanked 1,424 Times in 486 Posts
mano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by niazikhan2 View Post
one thing more if i want to sit in css 2013 then i have to start from scratch
..can i do it...
For sure you can do it, you still have more than six months in hands, so start it now, it's not a big deal, best of luck.
MurtazaMalik (Friday, October 05, 2012), niazikhan2 (Thursday, July 26, 2012), sonia5 (Saturday, August 25, 2012)

notoriouseagle is on a distinguished road

Thank You very much Mano Jee for sharing your insight and wisdom with us. You have no idea how helpful it is for young aspirants like us to get tips from our seniors. Allah will give you ajar for this, Ameen.

Stay Blessed and wish you a blessed Ramzan
The Following User Says Thank You to notoriouseagle For This Useful Post:
mano g (Thursday, July 26, 2012)

roijen has a spectacular aura aboutroijen has a spectacular aura about

my question is from essay. actually starting to practice this multicultural exam ... king of papers ... how did you start to practice it, only past papers or also chose topics of like importance from other sources and practised those.

the frequency with which you practised essays must have depleted the list of past papers essays soon

i also want to ask what did it mean to you to feel confident about this paper that yes you've done enough to pass this paper? (although i have gotten your point on expression and presentation)

please narrate you experience of preparing the essay paper. thank you.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to roijen For This Useful Post:
darwaish (Saturday, November 10, 2012), mano g (Thursday, July 26, 2012)
Old Thursday, July 26, 2012

Faisaljd is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by mano g View Post
There will be many ready-made study plans available to you, but ‘’remember’’ that there is no alternate of the one that you made yourself to carry out studies in an orderly manner; same is the case with schedule.

Steps to follow while making study plan:

• Keep syllabus and past papers of the subject in front of you

• Make a list of topics based on these two sources

• Divide the topics in portions, according to the areas/major sub heading and note down the frequency of occurrence in past papers and in this way set up the topics in descending order of their priority.

[For example for Pakistan Affairs paper, there will be key areas i.e, pre-independence and post- independent era. In pre-independence portion, Reformist movements will be sub divided into religious, educational, social movements, then Muslim struggle for independence, events e.g formation of Muslim league, partition of Bengol, Lucknow pact…….in post-independence era starting from initial problems till date, make a sequential list of topics]

• Make a list of general questions that don’t fall under the category of any topic, but similar questions can be asked in the paper.

[For example how to improve education system, problems of Pakistan their solution-(2011), move in a systematic way so that you can easily link together your knowledge]

• Never start any subject haphazardly, it will help in better understanding, now once you have a systematic sketch of topics in front of you, you will be able to start preparing them in a proper way

• Now decide the days for a particular subject and divide topics to cover each day, in this way you will be able to cover each major area in 2-3 days, provided with the condition that you have one subject for preparation in the schedule you have made.

How to make schedule

• There are two options for making schedule,

1. One subject for a specific time period
2. Multiple subject option

• The aspirants who don’t have the ability to concentrate on multiple things and can only give attention to one subject at a time should select the 1st option, as in this way they would be able to prepare in the best way, but the short coming of this schedule format is that, student start thinking that all other subjects are neglected because psychological traumas will keep bothering you till the examination day. The solutions is to shift the subjects on weekly basis, i.e. start one subject, cover some portion of it and in the next week give time to the other subject. In this way you can prepare all the subjects side by side.
• Keep English writing practice in the schedule on the daily basis, you will not need to spare separate time for English then and daily practice will make it more accurate as well.
• 2nd option is simple and self-explanatory, 2 or more subjects at a time, it is difficult to manage and more suitable when exams are near. Once you have gone through all the subjects then make this one, as it will be better option for revising the subjects.
• Make bullet point notes if time is less, if it is abundant then making detailed notes is feasible option.
Assalam-o-Alaikum,

sb sy pehly k aap ka nick name bohut acha ha Mano G aur dosra aapko Mubarik ho aap ki kamyabi k liye aur teesra ye k mera koi sawal nahi ha coz aap k swift responses tu me dekh kr hi thak gya k aap kesy krti ho, aur 4th ye k thanx sb ki madad krny k liye, Allah aap ko aur kamyabi aur izaat day ............
The Following User Says Thank You to Faisaljd For This Useful Post:
mano g (Thursday, July 26, 2012)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 51

mano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by roijen View Post
my question is from essay. actually starting to practice this multicultural exam ... king of papers ... how did you start to practice it, only past papers or also chose topics of like importance from other sources and practised those.

the frequency with which you practised essays must have depleted the list of past papers essays soon

i also want to ask what did it mean to you to feel confident about this paper that yes you've done enough to pass this paper? (although i have gotten your point on expression and presentation)

please narrate you experience of preparing the essay paper. thank you.
Though I have mentioned few points regarding essay in one of my previous posts but as this paper is a source of threat for all the candidates, I am going to share my own experience here regarding essay along with some tips.

I passed this paper in both of my attempts, though I got 40 this time, when I was 100% confidant that I would get 50+ marks, because in previous attempt I got 56 without surety of even passing marks, so the purpose of telling this all is that essay is quite unpredictable, but one should try whatever is in his/her hands, then leave rest to prayers and positive hopes.

When I wrote my first ever essay, I got 6 marks out of 50, it was assessed by the academy teacher, my hopes and confidence both were shaken and I thought I will not be able to pass it, but I learned that what were the loopholes and in the second essay I got 34 out of 50…..so the best thing is to overcome mistakes.But for my second attempt, I worked hard for essay as in second and third chance you don’t have margin of making mistakes, I stated making outlines of topics which were in past papers, starting from 1975. Then I started practicing on the topics that were even pertinent to today’s era, skipping the obsolete ones. I used to take my essays to the teacher for analysis then I tried to cope up with the continuous mistakes, I never had the problem of grammar, handwriting or sentence structure so most of the mistakes were regarding selection o9f points/content. So now you have to decide yourself that at what areas you need to work. One day you will be the master of essay and you would be able to write essay on any topic given to you. Try to work on the target area; this will lead you to write perfectly.

SELECTION OF TOPIC:

For essay, you will have 10 choices in front of you, remember, in css everything is assessed, the purpose of blank answer sheets is to check your ability of writing in straight lines, it will reflect the strength of your personality, if one cannot write in straight lines, how he/she would be able to make decisions after coming in the civil services, so similarly the purpose of giving wide range of topics for essay is to check your ability of taking right decision, everyone has some strong area in which one can produce the target content so you will have to keenly observe the topics and then decide the one which is purely placed in the paper for you. You may spend 15-20 minutes in selecting the topic, it will save you from disaster, once you have selected the right topic, there will be no issue of time at least for managing your essay in 2.5 hours, this is sufficient time for attempting essay.

HOW TO GO ABOUT IT:

After selecting the topic, make outline, it should be logical, sequential, well-managed, self-speaking so that examiner don’t find any difficulty in understanding it. From your outline, examiner will have an idea that you will be able to pass the paper or not so be careful while writing outline,

STEPS TO FOLLOW WHILE MAKING OUTLINE:

1. INTRODUCTION: Always mention this word in the start of outline, then you can narrate in one to two sentences that what will be in introduction, otherwise without even explaining you can go ahead, but first heading in outline should be introduction

2. BODY: (Don’t mention the word body here, the purpose is to tell that in body you will thoroughly explain the topic, covering all the aspects of that particular topic, be to the point and your content should remain relevant, the moment your essay will be distracted, the more will be the chances of failure, make different points, apply heading/sub-heading format……give some main headings in numbers and their sub-heads in bullet points. In outline, way of making outline also matters. Always make an outline whether it is mentioned or not)

3. CONCLUSION: In conclusion, don’t introduce any new idea, justify the given content in conclusion by explain/rephrasing in a few sentences.

ESSAY CONTENT:

After making outline, start your essay according to the outline, the point you have mentioned first should be explained first, otherwise you can face difficulty, Be careful about language, sentence structure, hand writing, relevance, include maximum examples, justify the topic with solid arguments, don’t quote unauthentic facts and figure, if you are sure about their accuracy, only then include them, quotations, statements of famous personalities, examples from contemporary world will add colours to your essay.

Try to create a unique impact among thousands of essays.
Learning tricks and tips and then practicing will give you more benefit, instead of making directionless efforts. Best of luck to all!
darwaish (Saturday, November 10, 2012), kaneezfatimasahar (Tuesday, November 04, 2014), nadiamughal (Friday, August 03, 2012), niazikhan2 (Thursday, July 26, 2012), rabia butt (Thursday, July 26, 2012), roijen (Thursday, July 26, 2012), Sara Arshad (Thursday, July 26, 2012), sonia5 (Saturday, August 25, 2012), Sweet Gondal (Sunday, September 09, 2012), Taimoor Gondal (Sunday, November 04, 2012), Tassawur (Thursday, July 26, 2012), usman khalid (Thursday, July 26, 2012), Waqas77 (Sunday, September 09, 2012), Zoha (Wednesday, April 02, 2014)

niazikhan2 has a spectacular aura aboutniazikhan2 has a spectacular aura about

@mano g..plz.guide that in law paper of tehsildar,will we write in pure law language crammed from book or we can write in our words..?

Sheikh umair is on a distinguished road

@mano g, from where u prepared Islamic history.
plz guide me about its books especially for paper II

mani g will become famous soon enough
Default @ mano g

Sis!
Can I prepare It for 2013 if I start it from scratch and with the fact that I am very weak in English especially I am very weak in English writing ?
Please comment and give your valuable advice.
Old Friday, July 27, 2012

Originally Posted by niazikhan2 View Post
@mano g..plz.guide that in law paper of tehsildar,will we write in pure law language crammed from book or we can write in our words..?
well, this is the domain of Islaw khan so i think he is the best person to guide in this regard.

Originally Posted by Sheikh umair View Post
@mano g, from where u prepared Islamic history.
plz guide me about its books especially for paper II
I made my own notes after consulting various sources, two of which are the books by Mazhar ul Haq, second was M.Arshad's book but the second one is hardly available in the market as it is an old book. Watch documentaries regarding Islamic History, they will really help you in general understanding and it will keep maintaining your interest in the subject.

Originally Posted by mani g View Post
Sis!
Can I prepare It for 2013 if I start it from scratch and with the fact that I am very weak in English especially I am very weak in English writing ?
Please comment and give your valuable advice.
You can start it now, you have 6 months and it's a reasonable time period, focus on improving your language skills and don't let the under-confidence, overshadow your efforts best of luck! Please read the previous posts in detail they will help you for initiating your preparation. Good luck!
mani g (Friday, July 27, 2012), sonia5 (Saturday, August 25, 2012)
Old Friday, July 27, 2012

mani g will become famous soon enough
Default @ mano g

Do you know Saqib iqbal? He is my friend and class mate, he might have talk to you about me.