Tuesday, April 23, 2024
06:42 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Tips and Experience Sharing > Arena of Golden Tips

Old Thursday, August 02, 2012

naeem abbas bhatti is on a distinguished road
Exclamation

i have also started my preparation a few days ago, so your plan is really helpful for me , i need help regarding idioms, that from which book i should cover it and how to improve english expression, if i dont want to join a tuition??

As you mentioned in plan that 1 month for optional, my concern is that how will i cover an optional like geography having two papers in one month, as i am really scared to see the big books of it. and how much time should i give to optional to cover in one month.
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 51

Thanked 1,424 Times in 486 Posts
mano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by Miss Ayaz View Post
kindly also guide about current affairs..
For current affairs, thorough newspaper reading is the most essential task, maintain your file for important cuttings of articles, read magazines, journals and watch talk shows...make your own notes after consulting these sources, topic-wise.

Originally Posted by Erudite Engr View Post
I am a newbie on this forum and an aspirant of 2013 CSS. I have embarked upon the preparation of pk affairs by consulting ikram rabbani's book which is indeed handy, yet i need some other reference fr making notes thoroughly.
Guide me plx as i got impressed by your ambitiousness.

Erudite Engineer
I also used the same book, but trek to Pakistan is also another book which has more diversified content.

Originally Posted by naeem abbas bhatti View Post
i have also started my preparation a few days ago, so your plan is really helpful for me , i need help regarding idioms, that from which book i should cover it and how to improve english expression, if i dont want to join a tuition??
Please go through the thread you will get tips for English improvement, for idioms Exploring the world of English by syed saadat would work, but i would suggest you to make your own list of idioms, it should contain idioms of last ten years papers and make their sentences.

Originally Posted by naeem abbas bhatti View Post
As you mentioned in plan that 1 month for optional, my concern is that how will i cover an optional like geography having two papers in one month, as i am really scared to see the big books of it. and how much time should i give to optional to cover in one month.
Don't be sacred one moth is enough but if you really feel it tough, i have mentioned that make little changes in this schedule according to your concerns. But one month for one optional is work able, rather sufficient.
naeem abbas bhatti (Wednesday, November 20, 2013), pearlyS (Thursday, August 02, 2012), sonia5 (Saturday, August 25, 2012)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 51

mano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to beholdmano g is a splendid one to behold
Default A few more suggestions

• While attempting any paper, try to include jargons of that particular subject to give the examiner an impression that you have required knowledge of that subject. For example in sociology, there are some general concepts like urbanization, socialization, social change, social problems etc….you will have margin of including all these concepts in most of the questions, for example, in the question of drug abuse you can mention these terms in a way or the other….these kind of tricks can give additional marks for you.

• Try to relax yourself during the 2 hours gap between two papers, this time is not for study and most of the time, you will get confusing state of mind and never listen or bother about what other candidates of the examination centre are saying, these kind of psychological pressures can ruin your result. Have faith in Allah Almighty and try to be confident.

• During the time of solving objective part, don’t try to look at the answer sheets of others as it will not work at all it is probable that you might tick the wrong option while you know the right answer, all the candidates will be competing and feel yourself above all of them. In the uncertain moments, follow your common sense and gut feeling.
amna rafiq (Thursday, August 02, 2012), Kamran Chaudhary (Thursday, August 02, 2012), mani g (Thursday, August 02, 2012), pearlyS (Thursday, August 02, 2012), sara bhittani (Thursday, August 02, 2012), sikander marri (Thursday, August 02, 2012), sonia5 (Saturday, August 25, 2012), Waqas77 (Sunday, September 09, 2012)
Old Friday, August 03, 2012

munim nazir is on a distinguished road

dear amna, plz tell me the way out of preparation and specially how to start with essay as i'm already reading dawn news on daily basis along with jahangir world times for the past 2 years, but always worried about my preparation and strategy, i'm appearing first time in the css 2013 what should be the systematic way to adopt.

Melyckaa is on a distinguished road

what is that one word if it has to be that made you succeed? one word!

Originally Posted by munim nazir View Post
dear amna, plz tell me the way out of preparation and specially how to start with essay as i'm already reading dawn news on daily basis along with jahangir world times for the past 2 years, but always worried about my preparation and strategy, i'm appearing first time in the css 2013 what should be the systematic way to adopt.
I am sure, you will find answers to your queries if you go through this thread thoroughly. One thing to be mention here is that, don't get depressed by extensively thinking about preparation, just do your best and have faith you will surely be succeeded IA.

Originally Posted by Melyckaa View Post
what is that one word if it has to be that made you succeed? one word!
One factor is never involved in one's success but I am still mentioning just two of them
Prayers (specially of parents)
commitment and consistency...!
Melyckaa (Saturday, August 04, 2012), sonia5 (Saturday, August 25, 2012)

Erudite Engr is on a distinguished road
Default Mano,

Thank u so mch, kindly tell me one thing more, what i have decided is to prepare all the questions of 2000-2012 papers of pak affairs, would i be able to get all the questions solved in paper if i adopt this procedure.I am failed to give mch time for preparation because of having 9-5 job and because of many reasons cannot quit my job..another thing, which optional subject is having same topics as of pak affairs so that i will take both parallel.

Erudite Engineer

Originally Posted by Erudite Engr View Post
Thank u so mch, kindly tell me one thing more, what i have decided is to prepare all the questions of 2000-2012 papers of pak affairs, would i be able to get all the questions solved in paper if i adopt this procedure.I am failed to give mch time for preparation because of having 9-5 job and because of many reasons cannot quit my job..another thing, which optional subject is having same topics as of pak affairs so that i will take both parallel.

Erudite Engineer
This procedure will work well for sure, it is more than enough as far as per-partition part of pak affairs is concerned, but do prepare some current affairs topics based on national issues, for example in 2011 paper, question on 18th amendment was asked, so don't skip such topics, other wise solving 12 years is sufficient.

Indo-pak has similar topics with pak affairs but avoid opting this subject, as it has continuous low-scoring trend...
Mystic Enigma (Friday, August 03, 2012), sonia5 (Saturday, August 25, 2012)

satti is on a distinguished road

AOA! i am very inspired by your performance in the css exam.I am feeling that in first attempt you was just easy otherwise u can clear it.And i am new and will appear in 2013 by grace of ALLAH.I found you are very helpful and humble with all.I have proud to have such nice coming heroes in our beloved country.I wish that ALLAH bless you with success ever.ameen.i have the same opt subjects as u have.I did b.com and IT from Quaid-I-Azam university Islamabad.Now am doing MBA from VU.Regarding my opt subjects please need your guidance i don't have background in psychology but i have interest in this subject.Before visiting and reading your comments on Psychology i had a combination of

islamic history and culture
public add
Islamic law
journalism
sociology

but when i went through different threads and red the comments of different successful candidates who have clear css exam i come to know that Islamic law is not scoring subject although it's course is short but scoring is very important at the same time.specially when i check your marks in psychology in both attempts and u said that its very interesting sub which convert my mind towards that and as my personal interest in that sub i am now deciding that i opt psychology instead of public add and islamic law.what do u say that i should go for psychology or should remain in the previous combination.Please guide me which is the best books for my opt subjects also share which were your selected books u found the best and helpful.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to satti For This Useful Post:
mano g (Monday, August 06, 2012), saadi butt (Friday, August 03, 2012)

nadiamughal is on a distinguished road

First of all congratulations to you on your great success your post is really very supporting, motivating, encouraging and giving clear idea about strategies, managment and all in one smart expression and style of dealing papers. The way you started sharing your own experience relevant to the mistakes of all the aspirants are really appreciating. Thanx for your humble concern.
I learnt much about essay paper through this thread the only threat for css aspitant.
mano g (Monday, August 06, 2012)